Used 2009 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,950 - $7,989

Used Impala for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...9

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

great value

jtaft, 07/14/2012
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Got this car because it was roomy (I'm 6'4") and a solid price - I've owned since new, now have 42xxx miles on it - did have one warranty repair, had to replace the pass. side airbag, but other than that...no issues - the in car computer said I was averaging 26.5 mpg, I thought that was a little high, so I tracked it for a month myself and did the math, and I came up with 26.3, great milage with decent power...look, it doesn't handle the best, but it's not a sports car, it's not the most attractive car, but it's not a caddy - this is just simply good, solid, reliable transportation at a great price - love this car and would buy again in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Great Daily Driver!

Michael George, 04/29/2016
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've been using my 2009 LT impala for the past 4 years and other than a minor problem where one tire would consistently lose air pressure at a faster rate than the other tires I have not had a single problem. Fixing the tire issue also only took 1 day at the shop at an out cost of around $100. It definitely could be worse. Overall this car has served me extremely well whether I'm going to multi-day roadtrips or just driving in the city to school/work. I can't image what more I could ask for from a hand-me-down and I fully expect to use this car for atleast another 2 years before I look to trade it in for something a little faster and more fun.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It delivers

Joe Novak, 06/10/2016
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

It isn't sexy, it isn't fast. Fuel economy is ok but not great. More importantly, it's very comfortable, reasonably quiet, and spacious. Most eimportantly, it's been reliable and inexpensive to operate. It’s been turned in (company car) but never left me stranded and was reliable and exciting as your morning cup of coffee

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Best Impala since 1996

BigJon85, 08/06/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I got a Impala SS it was that or a Dodge Charger R/T for their fuel management systems. I love the car the gas mileage is awesome for a V8. I want a car that got the same gas mileage or better than my old car (3.0 L V6) with more power this car is it. The only regret I have is buying it where I did. The ride is great my and when you get into the gas it is so smooth it doesn't throw you back in seat but you can tell the power is there. I can get on the highway with a rough on ramp and never wake up my kids in the back. If you like power and mileage this car is it. The wheels are nice but I wouldn't prefer them. I love it so much I want a Monte Carlo SS same style and give the Impala to my wife.

Report Abuse

100% Pure Love!

levwop, 05/22/2013
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love this car it is so much fun to drive, it is an eye catcher! Have not done anything major to it besides oil changes etc the normal. The get up and go in this is amazing! When i found out they are not coming back with Impala SS in 2014, Very upset with Chevy on this! I will keep this car as a collector now bc they are not made anymoe 2009 was the last year this car was produced..

Report Abuse

No complaints, unexpected value

mhoffman2, 03/15/2011
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

After owning American, Japanese, Swedish and German automobiles, I unexpectedly purchased a 2009 Impala sitting on the dealer's showroom floor. The discount (25%with rebates) was too good to pass up. Included leather, moonroof, Sirrius radio, full power, traction control and 4 wheel disc brakes, remote start, upgraded alloy wheels. After 23,000 miles with only routine maintenance, the car has been great. According to the computer, we have averaged 25 mpg (29-31 on the highway). The trunk is huge and with the rear seat down is like a mid sized wagon. Reasonably smooth and quiet, has not changed since new. Would definitely recommend as a used car, particulary if under power train warranty.

Report Abuse

so far so good

Warren, 06/20/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Even though I just bought an SS model I found it to be very comfortable and quiet during driving. Gas mileage appears to be fair for now and my only hang-up would be the call for 91 octane for the best mileage/performance. On-Star system is tops in my book and the entire radio system is more than enough for the average adult. General quality is MUCH improved from these guys and no door rattling of any kind.

Report Abuse

Disappointed with Impala AGAIN . . .

drvmn, 01/27/2013
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 09' Implala new in February 2009. At around 50,000 miles, the head gaskets started leaking (fixed under GM's 100,000 mile warranty - faulty gaskets used by GM). Had to replace a transmission cooler line, I'm now on my third pair of front brake rotors, and even after a front-end allignment at the dealership, the front tires continue to wear out along the outer edge. I thought GM was better than this. Now at 66,000 miles, Check Engine light comes on due to a "gunked up" fuel injection system. Why put the fuel filter inside the tank where it can't be serviced on a regular basis??? This is my second Impala (my 05' had intake manifold gasket issues). I'm done with Impalas.

Report Abuse

Awesome SS

smczack1, 06/14/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my favorite car that I have ever owned! Combination of comfort and performance is just perfect. Fuel mileage is very good, considering there is 303 HP small block V-8 under the hood. I have significant back issues, and I am very comfortable after a couple hours in the drivers seat.

Report Abuse

Fun car to drive

Pat, 09/20/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Chevy SS is a great handling and performance car I am 71 yrs old but driving SS you fell like a teen again.

Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page:
51050