Used 2015 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$16,900 - $21,303

Used Colorado for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

One of the WORST vehicles I ever owned

Joe, 04/28/2016
LT 4dr Crew Cab LB (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

As I write this, the truck is back in the repair shop AGAIN. Problem with the air conditioner freezing up...and in Georgia, the AC is a MUST. Have had the truck for 8 months. AC froze up last year and they replaced parts and thought it was repaired. But, this season we are back to the same problems as last year. We are also experiencing the same problems as others with the vehicle shuddering as you try to accelerate while already moving. Of course this is after you press down on the accelerator and nothing happens...until it downshifts and throws you back in your seat. Really not impressed with the gas mileage either. Small truck with 6 cyl should do better. Thought about trading it in on a full sized truck...Best offer is $6,000 less than we paid. If you really want a small truck, the interior and features are nice...but if you want performance GO BIG. We are extremely unhappy with the reliability of this vehicle.......UPDATE: We dumped this vehicle. Totally UNRELIABLE.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Waited a long time - Awesome Truck!!!

Brad Heath, 11/02/2015
LT 4dr Crew Cab LB (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I researched this truck for months before seeing in person and test driving. I didn't want a full-size due to my urban lifestyle but wanted the benefits of having a truck for towing/hauling when the time comes. The truck is amazing, no complaints at all. The engine, drive-train, mileage, ride, technology...etc all speaks for it self. I'm 6'3 (200 lbs) and I can fit in the truck easily with great comfort. I constantly receive compliments about her, she's a real GM gem.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

T. Wallin, 12/30/2015
Z71 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

First the good: The look of the Colorado is excellent. I think it is a very attractive truck. The options are great also. The one that I owned was loaded with all of the bells and whistles. The Dealership and Service Department was great also. (I just had to see them too much.) Now the bad: I also experienced the crazy shifting and total under powering of the truck as mentioned in other posts (The one I owned had the 6 cylinder in it). Several safety recalls, and having the torque converter changed out at 3,600 miles to try to correct the shifting problem, left me very disappointed in the Colorado. The dealer that I worked with was very understanding when I informed them that I did not buy a new vehicle to stay in the Service Department. I had an old car that was paid off if this was what I was interested in. Unfortunately, I decided to trade the truck in on a different vehicle. I had the truck 8 months, and felt like I would be better off just getting rid of the headache. Hopefully Chevrolet will get the bugs worked out in the coming years, but they totally missed the mark on this truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ok.... But just ok not worth the 36 K I paid!

Pascal Walker, 09/25/2015
Z71 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

This was my dream truck I waited for a long time and saved and worked and saved and finally after I found it at my local dealership with everything I wanted I finally got to take it home and I've just been mildly impressesd all the electronics extras cost extra. Now my $500 a month truck payment is $600 a month. Ive taken it to the dealership 5 times in 4 months. Ill be honest my last car was a used BMW 325i. Maybe Im new to the truck market and this is to be expected. My buddy who has the Top of the Line Ford F150 Platinum 4 x4 says my truck is awesome but Ive had so many problems and for a 4 month old truck Im wondering how the hell is this thing going to make it 60 months????? My seats are ripping after 4k miles on a Z71. I would have take leather for what I'm paying. The rear end clicks when I push the gas pedal at a stand still.... answer from chevy "oh thats normal there needs to be play in the rear end" really because the 3 other late model El Camino's Ive owned never had play in the rear end! They were built 20 years ago!! I'm still a proud Chevy owner but I'm just pissed that the brand has fallen so far. Do I need to buy the Silverado Z71 that doesn't look off road worthy at all? Am I crazy The Z71 Silverado doesn't look like it could handle any sort of off road conditions. Don't even get me started about the wind damn in the front of the truck. Ive almost ripped that thing off on curbs. You want me to get this thing stuck Ill come back missing half the damn plastic just from my normal hiking spot. I asked the dealership hey can you take that off? His reply was " Oh you wanted to take this truck off road"? Well it might void your warranty? Really? Because the whole reason I bought this damn truck was to get to the trailheads I couldn't get to with my damn foreign car! Im Legitimately concerned about my truck making it to the 60 month mark. Thats not what american cars, especially trucks are built on and I feel cheated. This might be my reality, but Ill tell you this I didn't work [non-permissible content removed] to cheated for some hard earned steal and muscle that I feel I deserve.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Use caution when buying a 2015 Chevy COlorado Z71

Steve Clendenin, 10/20/2015
Z71 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

I ordered a 2015 Chevy Colorado back in August 2014 and waited 93 days until it was delivered. I received my 2015 Z71 Extended Cab 3.6L on December 3 2014 and as of October 20, 2015 I currently only have 7,300 miles. I am right under 6'3" and the truck is not designed for anyone over 6' tall. I can not have my arm and elbow out the window when the windows are down and the aero dynamics makes you feel like your in a wind tunnel with the slightest breeze with the windows down. I still have not had over 19 MPG in the 10+ months I have owned this truck and the transmission is a completely new issue with not enough room here to write about. It will randomly shift between gears when driving on a flat plane. It will drop down 2 gears when you try to pass another vehicle, resulting in the RPM's to redline and the MPH not even increasing all while jerking you around the cab. I also purchased the leather - fully adjustable seats which leaves much to be desired. The seat will only lower so far and of lowering farther, it will just lean back resulting in a very uncomfortable sit and blind spots from the rear view mirror. I would not recommend anyone to buy one of these trucks without test driving it for at least a full 24 hours in every imaginable scenario you would ever be in. I am just trying to pay mine down enough and keep miles off to sell it and not loose the 3 1/2 years of saving of $14k I put down on it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: