Skip to main content

2021 Volvo S60 Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$38,950

Save as much as $3,983
Select your trim:
12345...8

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 S60, so we've included reviews for other years of the S60 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2 out of 5 stars

I loved my car, until I didn't.

NG, 08/14/2019
2019 Volvo S60 T5 Momentum 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
48 of 52 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2019 Volvo S60 brand new and it has already been in the shop twice for multiple days (I had actually previously scheduled what would have been a 3rd appointment but ended up missing it). From the day I bought it, the media console was a bit glitchy. However, the first time I took it in was when the car died as I was switching lanes causing a "service needed" light to turn on. I took it in to Volvo, they had it for 2-3 days and told me that there was a computer system glitch where multiple signals went to the fuel tank at the same time, causing the car to die. They said they reset my computer system and that it would take care of 90% of problems (the other 10% was the rear suspension recall, which they fixed without prompting while it was there). I asked if they could guarantee the car wouldn't die again because it was a safety issue, and they said 98% guarantee. When I got the car back, I was still having issues with media console...mainly Apple CarPlay text features and radio volume issues so nothing major but still annoying. I scheduled an appointment, but ended up missing it, then a few days after, my check engine light came on. This is about a month (or less) after the car was in the shop the first time, and the vehicle currently has less than 4,000 miles on it. I haven't gotten the car back yet, but they said it will be in the shop for a minimum of 2 days and told me at the desk that it is likely a computer issue, again. The other bummer to me is that Volvo does not give Apples to Apples loaners like BMW (the other brand of luxury car I have experience with). They give you a voucher for Hertz (for which you have to pay a deposit). Last time, I was able to rent a Cadillac. This time, they put me in the crappiest, least equipped Toyota Corolla. I am so beyond frustrated and disappointed. My dad actually recommended Volvo to me and I really loved the car. I test drove BMWs and Audis before getting in this car, and I was just sold immediately after my test drive of this vehicle. The interior is just okay, but I love the look of this version of S60, I love the drive, I love the safety features, I love that it has just has enough power (I didn't want a sports engine but I wanted something with pick-up), it's comfortable, and I love the tech (when it works). Gas mileage is just okay and the trunk space is actually terrible (which would've been the biggest negative about the car), but overall, I was so thrilled with this vehicle that I was on board to be a Volvo enthusiast and my only "regret" prior to now was that I opted for the sedan over the SUV. I have now talked to multiple late-model Volvo owners (XC90's) who have both had to have their car replaced in the past and I keep getting told by sales that "well this version of the car is brand new" and "any car can have computer issues" as if that's an excuse. I've also read accounts of similar issues on forums pertaining to S60's from like 2016 on. I no longer have faith in this car brand and am just extremely disillusioned by this experience.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Definitely Buyer’s Remorse

Leila, 03/25/2021
2020 Volvo S60 T6 Inscription 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I love the interior, technology, and exterior styling. What I hate is the unreliability and nagging little alerts that require a service visit. Purchased new in June 2020, the T6 Inscription model massage, heated and cooling seats. As of March 2021, I’ve driven a total 2600 miles. I’ve had service lights to come on three times and one being URGENT SRS Failure—take immediately to shop. After driving Lexus vehicles for the last 20 years, I’m rally disappointed. Also the depreciation on the car is huge.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Total Package

Paisa Surfer, 04/22/2019
updated 04/27/2021
2019 Volvo S60 T5 R-Design 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

The all new S60 is a wonderful ride, satisfying and sure-footed. So many features come as standard equipment that are only available as upgrades in its competitors (BMW 3 series, Audi A4, AR Giulia, MB C-class), like for example paddle shifters and blind spot monitoring. And the premium package includes equipment that would cost much more in the other brands. My wife and I traded in our 2017 S60 Inscription for this new R-Design, and this is her daily driver, so we can make a fair comparison to the prior model, which we think is a wonderful automobile. What we notice first about the 2019 model is that Volvo listened to its owners and responded with greater attention to details, like for instance the seat memory buttons. In the 2016, you would have to hold the memory button down while the seat moved to its position (yes, I know, a tedious First-World problem). In the 2019, one press of the button and the seat re-positions (along with the mirrors), letting you do other stuff to get ready and going. The stereo system (600 watts Harmon-Kardon with 14 speakers) is vastly improved and can stand up to just about any other sound system in the segment. The leather seats and the bolstering are incredible and having nappa leather seating hands down is so much nicer than having the chemical odor of faux leather so pervasive in the BMW 3 and Mercedes C classes. The T5 power plant is superb. With butter smooth shifting, almost no turbo lag, and more than enough horses and torque to get up and go, the punchy response and acceleration will please most around town drivers--and the car MOVES gracefully on the highway. The S60 is not large, but feels solid and connected to the road at low and high speeds. Comfort and interior styling get an A+. A tall adult will fit fine in the back seat, having far more leg room than in the BMW 3 series and far more headroom than the MB CLA. The standard panorama sunroof is also a nice feature you won't find as standard equipment in the competition. Even though some criticism has been raised about the large touch screen control interface, it is not an burdensome learning curve to become adept at interacting with the car. Having both Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are also new standard features we really missed in the 2017 model. We do not find the steering to be lackluster or detached from the road at all (as some critics have said), the car is whisper quiet, the suspension and 18 inch wheels soak up urban highways without an issues (also contrary to some reviews), and driver visibility and driving confidence are superb. If you are looking for a compact luxury ride (although it is hard to imagine the S60 as compact), we encourage you to put the S60 on your test drive list. It is uniquely Volvo, like nothing else on the road, a driver's car while at the same time an executive's show horse. Volvo has definitely arrived in the small luxury sedan line-up with a car that meets and exceeds the competition in so many ways. This is a car that lets you run in the pack without running with the pack.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

2019 S60 T6

MRush, 02/27/2020
2019 Volvo S60 T6 Inscription 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger 8A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

I’ve recently purchased a 2019 S60 T6 which is a first model year of the new S60. I am very happy with interior and exterior finish of the vehicle but my likes stop there. The 2019 S60 T6 is built on the SPA platform with awd and the car has some serious vibration problems. It is well documented online in Volvo forums, I am not sure if the T5 fwd suffers from the same issues. On the T6 awd at about 75 mph the car vibrates and the ride is unpleasant, my work truck rides better than this car. Volvo has tried addressing the problem by balancing tires and replacing rims but the ride in this 45k automobile is unacceptable. There is also a Technical service bulletin about the Vibrations but from what I hear it does not correct the issue. If you search online there are a lot of complaints on new Volvo SPA platform with vibration issues especially the awd vehicles.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2020 s60 review inside info

Brian mc, 11/07/2019
2020 Volvo S60 T5 Momentum 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
28 of 31 people found this review helpful

This is my second Volvo S 60 in a row. I’ve had BMWs and Audi’s before but like the Volvo driving, transmission, and safety. I purchased a white t5 momentum with the premium package and heated seats and the blonde leatherette interior. It drives much nicer than my 2013 s60 and much more rear leg room. Overall it feels like a bigger smoother version. Here’s my buying advice. Blond leatherette feels and looks Exactly like the leather model. I mean I had two two cars sitting side-by-side and was feeling both materials and couldn’t tell the difference. That being said, Black leatherette definitely looks and feels different. If your thinking blond go with leatherette. YOU CAN ADD THE ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL AFTER THE FACT. No one ever mentioned this until one person who did the ordering at the dealership did. It was a must have for me, so it restricted my search quite a bit. But, for a couple of grand you can add it on and it saves you from having to buy the multi media and advanced driving packages saving you a few thousand. HUD is a novelty. Navigation isn’t needed since Apple CarPlay works seamlessly and Google map on the display works even better than the purchased nav. I found the actually T5 drove better than the T6. I found it was smoother and quieter but still had plenty of power. Would like the 4 wheel drive but I’ve had fwd Volvo’s in the snow in the past and they were fine.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: