Used 2004 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
90 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,252 - $4,960

Used GTI for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Affordable Sports Luxury

A VW to BMW owner, 07/06/2010
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is the nicest car I've owned and I have owned plenty of American as well as foreign cars. It's nice to have every amenity possible including a cold weather package that included heated leather seat, heated mirrors, and head washer nozzles. The tilting & telescopic steering along with the fully adjustable seats make this car fit like a glove. The premium stereo is up there with high-end luxury models as well as the overall performance. The 200 h.p. VR6 runs perfect and with the paired smooth shifting 6-speed transmission, the drive is anything but dull. Congrats to making an affordable autobahn bred sports car obtainable by the working class.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2004 VW GTI VR6

Adam, 02/02/2005
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

From the day I owned this car it has been a pleasure to drive. VW has a knack for incorperating 'feel' into thier cars. My GTI has more 'feel' than almost any non german car I have driven. Some people do not like to feel the road while they drive and just want to be as disconnected from the driving experience as possible. If you are one of these people do not get a VW. But if you are passionate about driving you will not be dissapointed with this car.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2004 Volkswagen GTI

Turbonium Commuter, 09/25/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

My 2004 Volkswagen GTI has been first rate from the moment I took it off the lot. It is a considerable improvement in build quality over early models. I traded in a 2002 Golf for this GTI. The turbo, 17" wheels and sport seats make a huge difference. If you need one car to do it all, and you don't want to blow a ton of money, this is it. Romp on the pedal and this car will take off like a rocket. Lay off the pedal for good gas milieage. Need to haul some junk, just fold down the seats. The manual five speed is fun to drive even in traffic. The paint and materials look better than other cars in its class. There is a ton of aftermarket parts available for this car. I've driven Porsches, and yes, they're better, but for the money you can't beat the all around champ, GTI.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Great car

tom, 09/27/2007
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best cars I have owned. I came from an Integra GS-R that was nice but this car out does it in almost every way. The interior is wonderful, the materials used are top notch. Think of it as an Audi without the price. It is solid as a rock as well as being quick and torquey (I know it's not a word). I couldn't recommend it more!!

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

It does nothing wrong

clarkma5, 11/06/2012
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had my '04 GTI since it was new and I've just ticked over the 80k mark (this is my second GTI, after a '02 Tiptronic). It has never once had a mechanical or electrical problem. I've done just about everything in it...5 people and their stuff, track days, commuting, long road trips, backroad drives, snow, rain, sun, traffic, moving...short of towing or off-roading there's nothing it doesn't do competently or better. It's such a delightfully well-built car, it's no surprise that VW didn't actually profit from the MkIV Golf. Yes maintenance is important, but isn't it with every car? Do it on schedule and it's unbeatable!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Hot-hatch, Cheap Speed, All kinda fun

jwestie85, 09/02/2012
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm only 27 yrs old, but have gone through cars like water because i suffer from, "Gotta have the next thing-itis", and yeah, it's terminal. But anywho, this little car has got to be one of the best values for any one who REALLY loves to drive, and drive fast. This car fells uber strong 1st through 3rd gear, and the higher gears aren't too shabby either. (In 3rd at 6500 RPM, you're doing 85mph) The gas mileage isn't great if you stay in it, but is capable of getting 26 mpg or so on interstate. The 6 spd manual is an absolute dream to drive, takes learning to drive it right, but when you and the car agree, it's a beautiful thing. Summary: The German's build driver's cars.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

firsttimeVdub

firsttimevdub, 06/10/2012
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first VW. Bought it used with 41K on it, and it's now got 123k and still going strong. This car is probably the most under-rated vehicle I've ever owned. It's super quick off the line, and even makes a nice cruiser on the highway. I drive quite a bit for work and have always had sufficient power I need to get around the freeways of Southern California. It's been a great car with no major issues. I feed it synthetic oil and 91 octane gas and it in turn, gets me where I need to go every single day. I'm sorry to have to sell it and get a 4 door, but if you're looking for a great car and don't need room for say, a child seat, I'd definitely check it out.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Triumphant Pocket Rocket

M, 10/30/2009
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had my GTI for right at 6 years now. Thus far I have only had one problem with it, and it was my fault. (I damage the clutch switch whilst I was installing an aftermarket sound system.) The car is quick - not fast, a title I reserve for vehicles that are actually fast, comfortable, and fun to drive. The leather seems to be of relatively high quality, and is quite supple. For an economical two door compact this one is great.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

7 VWs and I love each of them

TheRaven, 05/29/2010
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2004 GTI is number 7 on my list of VWs I have owned. Aside from the ridiculous place of the cup holders (which I am now over) I love all of this car. I have 76k on it now and it runs great. Everyone who complains about the quality of their VW does not follow the directions provided by VW. You must use full synthetic oil, preferably from the approved oil list from VW. You must do routine maintenance when it is supposed to be done. I always do my maintenance on time and I have had a variety of VWs go to nearly 300k miles. Treat the car nicely, drive it nicely, fix whatever breaks. If a person acts like they like the car and takes care of it, it will last.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Best used car I've ever had

rooyax, 07/11/2011
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this in 09 with 91k, now have 105k. The quality of the interior is top notch, love the feel of the switch gear. Shifting and clutch action on the 5 speed is very smooth. Get around 24mpg mostly city driving, 30mpg hiway. I have the 17" rims which really look sharp. Great stereo too. Only repair besides tires in 2.5 yrs was coil modules that caused it to run like it was on 2 cylinders, was able to limp to shop in that shape. Check engine light is persistent for coolant temp, but confirmed that actual temp matches gauge, not hot. Just enough fun to drive with a couple blasts through 1st & 2nd with great cornering, but not too much power to get in trouble. Broke console hinge

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

The best car i have driven

Wilbert Volson, 10/31/2003
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

the best car i have driven

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

the best

JAY, 11/03/2003
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

THE BEST CAR OUT THERE IN THE MARKET TODAY BEST LOOKING TOO ! NO ONE CAN BEAT THAT

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Review

DDP, 11/22/2003
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great car which is super reliable. The styling is a little plain but and outdated. The VR6 engine is great though a little more power could be needed. But, a great car overall.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Overpowered ;^} Underbraked :-(

BanjoMike, 07/21/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My last two cars before this were Porsches. I wanted something practical and fun. The GTI fit the bill. Out of the box the GTI's handling is sporty but not overly reasurring. The shocks seem a bit soft. But when pushed hard it really does very well. It is predicatble, powerful, controllable, tossable, and fun. The limiting factor in the performace is definately the brakes. Extended hard driving will lead to noticble brake fade. It will seat adults in the back seat comfortably; has lots of cargo space; has power everything (almost); and is FAST. The GTI proves to the US that a hatchback can be a luxury car! Finally the motor. It just loves to go. It's all about the tourque! Wow.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

robby mcie, 12/11/2003
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this vehicle has all you want in a german sports car at a very good price

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

great fun, comfort

Robert H, 12/31/2003
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for almost a year and love it. Its daily driveability but sporty nature make this the perfect sports car for the man who wants fun but doesn't want to sacrifice comfort for it. I love the styling and how it separates this car from others on the road. the performance is great as well. Stay away from automatic transmissions - in VW's stable they are horrible. the 1.8T i test drove felt the same as the VR6, but with some lag. they say there is "almost no lag", but i felt some. the VR6 is a charm. get the VR6! price wasn't favorable compared to the competition either...

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Original hatch is still hot

Auggie6, 01/03/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No other hatch performs or feels as good to drive as the Gti. Even after 25 years VW still knows how to get it done with the styling, performance and the quality of craftmanship. No other hatch can compete with the power of the Gti VR6 nor can they compare to the big car comfort of this small hatch. R32 with its AWD and bigger 240hp engine will compete with subaru's WRX STI and Mitsubishis new AWD lancer

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

1.8T GTi

ABarr412, 01/03/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The VW GTi is an exciting car for a daily driver. The stock GTi gives you decent handling and a good amount of ponies under the hood, which makes it the fun car it is.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

GTI VR6...Love at first sight! :-)

William Braddock, II, 01/13/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I honestly think this is a great car. Truthfully the 20th Anniversary Edition Rabbit has the best sport-tuned suspension out of the three: Rabbit, 1.8T, and the VR6. However the VR6 delivers the most bang for your buck and is only around a thoughsand more U.S. dollars than the 4-cyclinder model. With a supercharger and a chip and maybe a custom grill this car is definately holds a spot in the "Fast and Furious" sequil. I love it and wouldn't trade mine for the world. I got rid of my 1999 BMW 328i to drive this car, I figured what the heck, they are made by Audi right?

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

VW

ALFRED, 01/17/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have always owned VW and they are very reliable so i give the classy yet sporty VW an overall 10

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car despite some problems

bradleyland, 01/30/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since the day I drove my off the lot, I have enjoyed every moment behind the wheel. The ride is stiff enough to provide a sporty feel, but doesn't punish you over less than perfect roads. I chose the VR6 because of it's smooth, quite operation. The addition of two cylinders goes a long way toward smoothness. This is especially noticeable when you start the car in the morning. My only complaint would be the fact that I've had a few problems even though I normally have very good "car luck", as I call it. I still enjoy the car so much that I don’t mind the fact that it’s spent a total of maybe 5 days at the dealer since I purchased it. I’d still recommend this car highly!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Pocket Rocket

Ratbert, 02/07/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3rd VW along with a current BMW. Solid construction, great amenities. Leather, stereo system excellent. While I use it around town, would not have a problem with a lengthy trip.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car!!

Jon Vowel, 02/20/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I wouldn't change anything about this car!! I have never had this much fun driving before. The interior build quality is excellent. Although its not as pretty as the Mini, I still like the styling.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

unbelievable cool car

Erwin, 03/24/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You have heard it all by now, and it's true. The car is way cool. This car is calling my name all day from the parking lot! VR6 is the way to go. Smoother engine (I also tested the 1.8T), and more torque at lower RPM's. The sound of the VR6 around 4000 RPM is killer! Sounds like a Porsche. Handles like a racecar. Doing 100 mph on I-95, not even realizing it. Every gear has same torque so accelarating is easy and a blast. Get it, you won't regret it!!

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Great Value

pdxtomct, 03/31/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car after owning two GTIs with the 1.8t engine. The VR6 gives the car a completely different feel...much more stable, but decidely heavier through turns. The GTI is a fantastic road car, fun to drive and very solid. It's part sports car and part work horse.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GTI brothers live again!!!!!

Gti Brother 1, 05/08/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Fastest HOT hatch on the market. R32 is king but my vr6 gti gives me all the pleasure and performance i need. p.s. Great Aftermarket for this car so i will make this car a total BEAST!!!!!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

such an awesome car!!!!

jessisd77, 05/09/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my GTI VR6 for 9 months and I love the ride!!! It's so much fun! The stick shift is so easy to use and I wouldn't give it up for any other car. I actually have one of the only ones made in cosmic green so it defintely calls atention. Everything is so great about this car, but if you drive a lot of people around, a two door might not be the best thing, but I manage anyways. So I hope you consider this car, you won't regret it!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Have your cake and eat it too

bobbyjim, 06/06/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car offers a great blend of safety, economy and performance. The interior is well designed and very ergonomic. The car is deceptively fast, and passes in 6th gear are effortless at highway speeds. Economy is good, with 30MPG using regular grade gas. Safety features, handling and brakes are up to the engine in the car, which is not the case in competing Honda or Nissan products. It is hard for me to think of a more balanced vehicle.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Great Car

jeepsterk6, 07/17/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great Car! Lots of power, and the VR6 does not over-power the front wheels as the 1.8 tends to do. Reliable, have had one problem which was with the ignition coils. This was a general recall and replaced under warranty. Great car in the snow. This car is really designed for 2 people, even 3 adults have a hard time in this car. Overall an excellent choice for a quick, sporty, personal luxury vehicle.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

I love my GTI

fussa, 07/17/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car has been everything I've hoped it would be.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

2004 GTI 1.8T Automatic

SF-Aaron, 07/21/2004
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have been quite happy so far with this vehicle. This car is way fun to drive, and has a nice roomy interior for a small car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Real Deal

PaladinVW, 10/04/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

There is no substitute for a fully equipped GTI. While the R32 is a little much for most drivers, the Vr6 offers the experienced driver power and comfort, while showing taste and refinement missing from Japanese and American sport hatchbacks. This car is most certainly not a toy, and is absolutely inappropriate for a first car. This car gives incredible feedback, and a driver must have enough experience to be able to interpret what the car is telling him to operate this one safely. Having owned each previous version of the GTI, I can say that this is decidedly familiar, yet greatly improved. Drivers of MkIII VW's who miss the hard sporty suspension of last generation will LOVE this car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing VW Pride

Volkswagen Pride, 10/06/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What an awesome car to drive. I have always been into Volkswagens, and if you cant afford the new R32 GTi then the next best thing would be the VR6, but the 1.8T is just as much fun!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

The Best Original Sports Hatchback!

UK73, 10/15/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

More power than I expected, especially in the 3000-5000 RPM range. Build quality is very good for the price. Added a K&N air filter, a nice noticeable upgrade for less than $50.00, + tons of other aftermarket stuff available. Couldn't justify $10K more for the R32, the VR6 has plenty of torque and the handling is very solid, even without the AWD.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

I Like it a Lot

steve, 03/07/2006
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i bought my 2004 VW GTI with some hesitation, I was concerned about the reliability. It has had some minor issues with reliability in the electrical department. I knew going in too that this car takes premium gas. This is not a great thing with a car that averages 19-24 mpg and the current cost of gas. Having said this, I do declare, that this car is wonderful. It is not a hot rod, but it is very fun. if I need the horses or torque, they are there. It is very solid, and the most comfortable car that I have ever owned. The hatchback is great, easy access and roomy. I don't see myself coming and going on the highways and byways of this town. I strongly recommend this funky little car.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

M NINE, 03/31/2009
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing car if you want an affordable, convenient, all-purpose, luxurious daily driver that's fast enough to have some fun in. I bought it at 42k, have driven it on many road trips as well as LA daily traffic, which has brought me up to 59k in a year and a half.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Actually a Really Great Car

JSC, 12/28/2009
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car in 2007 at a VW dealership that had sold and serviced the car since new. It came to me with 24k miles, and I'm now unfortunately selling it (blame it on the economy) with 63k miles. I honestly have to say that I'm already regretting selling it - I love this car! It's a complete sleeper - it appears as a small econo-box to unsuspecting motorists, but it's really, really quick and can handle surprisingly well for a front-wheel drive car & the interior is up there with Audi/BMW/Mercedes/etc... Parts and labor charges at the dealer are up there also, it is a German car, so keep that in mind. If you cringe at $80 oil changes, do it yourself, or find a mechanic that does VW's.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Gsmshepherd, 01/17/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

its the best car i have ever driven. it has exceptional handling, beefy v6, smooth shifting

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

good looks but bad service and engine

gtidude03, 03/14/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

master cylinder went out at 15000 miles the clutch was sticking from the time i got it. the dealers kept telling me nothing was wrong. sounds like a diesel when until it is warmed up. climate control went out at 25 k miles.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Perfect

bradley_earl, 04/06/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my second VW, the first being a 2002 Passat. Like the Passat, the build quality on this car is impeccable. Unlike the Passat, this car zips around corners parks in small places. I have the leather interior, which is of better quality than my brother's 3 series bmw. The six speed transmission is quick, and precise - not as much as a Miata- but very good nonetheless. The trunk space is surprisingly effective. In short, this car is perfect for the city dweller that hauls his or her self and a friend along with a keen desire to enjoy the ride along the way.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Worst Car I've ever owned

Sylvan, 01/02/2009
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I'm the second owner of this car and have had it a little over a year. It has no gaps in the service history, and has always been dealer-serviced. So far, the fuse box, both electric fans, and the transmission have failed (bearing). Total cost not covered under warranty? $4,000. My Ford Maverick was more reliable than this car! My Subaru has 130,000 miles on it and has never had a part fail!! Save yourself, and don't buy this or any other VW. For God's sake it's the 21st Century and they can't make a transmission last 65,000 miles!!!

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

2004 Volkswagen GTI VR6 - Big Mystery

rainman, 01/10/2005
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2004 Volkswagen GTI VR6 is a beauty of a car. I have been in love with it since I was a kid. It is very nice to drive and has great acceleration. I commute to work and this car can get you out of trouble if you have to pass someone. I have to say though that Volkswagen's customer service stinks. My Monsoon stereo system went out a month ago and it still hasn't been replaced. Now something is wrong with some other electrical device in my car. Up untill a month ago I was very happy with this car. I paid too much money for it to have these stupid problems.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

The Audi of VW's

jessla, 03/19/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The AWD R32 is the car VW had to build to give it it's own Audi TT. Smooth, fast, no tire spin, great handleing. What more could you ask for? Maybe a lower price.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

VR6

Robbo, 06/30/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Performance with everyday applications...Very good around vehicle with lots of aftermarket goodies.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I love my 2004 GTI

Steven A. Smith, 09/17/2009
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my 2004 GTI as much as when I first bought it. I have owned it for almost five years and put almost 100000 miles on it. It has been in the shop twice for repairs, AC and blown cam gasket, It has never left me on the side of the road.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Bangin' for the Buck

DubWise, 02/02/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my '04 in May of '04. Immediately installed a chip. Noticeable jump to 215 horses still with good gas milage. Excellent handling I take turns confidently well above the posted mph (have to know the car and its limits). K&N Also a must. Easily modifiable without going into the engine block. Was going to buy a BMW. Wife has 328 5 spd. Believe it or not I like my GTI more. May still buy a 5 series or a 3 convertible but a VW may still be in the future. I would buy VW again. Knock on wood, no mechanical failure. Did have a sun roof problem resolved and under warranty.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

VW GTI

altimateimports, 12/16/2004
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, this is a great car. The engine is smooth and powerful. And the car feels very solid. A little too much performance is sacrificed for comfort.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Cheap Thrill

Darshi Sen, 11/08/2003
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Although its not exactly 'cheap', the $19,000 + tax I payed for my brand new GTI 1.8T was definitely worth every penny. The engine, if not the smoothest in its price-range, is probably the most powerful all- around. The broad powerband (max torque at 2000-5000 RPMs) is perfect for everyday driving thrills. My buddy who has a BMW 325i thought there was something wrong with his car's engine after driving mine.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Patrick's GTI

GTI Man, 12/03/2003
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have experienced many cars of a variety of makes and models. The VW Gti is one of my favorites, and as far as an affordable economy goes this is by far the best. A true masterpeiece of German engineering (that of which is constantly taking new strides) and in motion this car is quite a performance. From my experiences this car can be a total adrenalin rush given the proper conditions. On my scale for an economy stock car I'll gladly give the Volkswagen GTI a 10!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Rocket that leaves change in your Pocket

Diggerdive75, 12/03/2003
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

An incredibly fun car to drive, with a solid feel and quality styling. The backseat is a bit tight.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050