Used 2010 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74 reviews
List Price Estimate
$4,093 - $6,787

Used Golf for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

tdi is a secret

cdlargo, 11/15/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

My little TDI has a secret. It drives like a sports car and gets 40 real world mpg. I usually get tired of new cars fast. I didnt want to give up my 3 series, but I had to..-$ On the bright side, I love this car. It handles very well, has great seats, outstanding steering feel, plenty of grip and 236 ft lbs RIGHT NOW, its sooo entertaining. For my 35 mile one way commute, I can't imagine a better car. I was afraid I would miss my bimmer and I do... a little. But this car makes driving fun the way no japanese car can. My only criticism is that 1st gear is short and not very usable. This car is quicker than the numbers say once you get out of 1st, HEHE.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Must drive!

astropsychic, 07/12/2014
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have the 2010 2.5L 3-door gas version and it is excellent. It is very practical, spacious, and fast. I got mine used for 6,500 less with no mechanical defects whatsoever. Even with only 3 doors, there is still plenty of space in the back for passengers. It does come standard with heated seats, AC, electric door mirrors, electric windows, two 12v charging slots, and an AUX IN port for your music playing device. The radio is very good and weather resistant. Build quality is very good. Nothing feels cheap or out of place. Even though mine has only 170 horsepower, it can still overtake pretty much anyone and anything on the road. Acceleration is very quick and the noise isn't too loud.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A Solid Little Car

Joe, 03/12/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I'm surprised by the smooth ride and the low end torque.The gas mileage is alot better than my 2008 Mazda 3 and absords bumps better and the engine is quiet. It handles great as it corners nice and the steering is tight. The cabin is topshelf like a cockpit with nevery thing in you line of sight. I tried the Civic and my Golf rides so much smoother and the Mazda was bad, too much road an engine noise.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Bestnof both world

Samberken, 11/16/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Purchased mine in June to take advantage of Fed incentive. Very happy with the car so far after 3000 miles. Good pick up, good range in city driving, easier access than A3.good leg room, seats are more upright than A3. Only option I took was the xenon light. I find this car has most of the convenience in luxury cars. Tilted tele steering wheel, temporary turn signal, adjustable centre armrest, adaptive light, automatic lock.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Far and away the best in class

vwgolf420, 03/01/2011
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
20 of 25 people found this review helpful

This is my third VW. I traded a 2005 Hyundai Elantra, which was a competent car, but having had a 1969 Beetle and a 1997 Jetta before, I felt called back into the VW fold, so to speak. The only car in the class that comes close to offering the same lively character in driving is the Mazda 3, but it lacks the refinement in ride quality. Having had an 03 Mazda Pr5 and the aforementioned Hyundai in between VWs, it's odd seeing that the revs are so low as I'm driving. The ummph comes in low. I'm seeing 25/26 in the city and 31/32 on the highway. Build quality appears impeccable and the material quality is on par with MB, BMW, and, most obviously, Audis in which I've ridden or driven.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Had

sfoust, 06/20/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car. What a blast to drive, and it's quite practical for carrying passengers and cargo too! Styling is great IMO inside and out, but I wish there were more color options for the interior besides black. Still, the quality of the interior is unmatched in this price range. It feels like I'm driving something much more expensive which brings me to my next point. Yes, this car may have a starting price above other rivals, but it also comes with more standard features. An equivalently featured civic will run you almost as much money. This car is super solid and handles great. Even with it's sporty intentions, the ride is comfortable and compliant. I Love My Golf!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Hole in One

jclaxton, 06/25/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Exterior: - aggressive looking face - styling not overdone - lustrous metallic paint - perfect size for city driving - wide stance for a small car - dual exhaust - no door moldings (sleeker look) - hidden lift gate latch interior: - soft touch materials/padding - stitched bolstered sport seats - cool red lighting instrument cluster - tilt/telescoping steering wheel - height adjustable seats - lumbar driving experience: - quiet (low road and wind noise) - great steering feel and agile handling - hugs corners, no body lean - accelerates nicely misc: - solid for its size (great crash test scores) - graphite coated wiper blades (quiet swipes) - galvanized steel body panels (resist rust)

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

chuck54633, 02/22/2011
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I traded my 2008 VW Rabbit 2.5L 4dr in on this car. What an improvement, the interior and exterior changes are great improvements over the '08. The diesel engine was the primary motivation for the change. Who would have thought that a car that gets much better fuel economy would be so much faster and more fun to drive. I like that they changed back to the name golf and made the car more masculine looking. The rabbit was such a chick car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I love my new VW!

Sarah, 11/10/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

My dad's first car was a 1983 Volkswagen Rabbit GTI that he still drives and it still runs great, so I knew exactly what I wanted when I was looking for my first car (GTI was my first choice, but a little pricey :/). First time manual driver, but the car is so forgiving and so fun once I figured it out. I test drove the Fit, Fiesta, Sonata, Focus, Nissan Versa, and Fusion. No other car in this price range even came close. You just can't beat the styling and drive of a German car. Has tons of room for the rear seats, drives solidly and quietly at 80+ on the highway, and also is really maneuverable in city traffic. I'm getting about 33 mpg driving on highways about 70% of the time.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

VW beat 'em out

VW, 08/05/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well after searching for 2 months and driving Honda, Toyota, Mazda, Kia, Nissan, Subaru and Suzuki, the VW Golf made it number one. It was the funnest to drive and had the best ride from my perspective. With traveling almost 90 miles a day, I was looking for Blue Tooth, Cruise and smooth ride. The Mazda was definitely very close and the Toyota was there too (too many recalls). The steering is pretty good. There is some road noise but you hardly feel the bumps. Also there is some hesitation however when in sport with the 6-spd tiptronic you hardly notice it. I drove the Jetta as well, but the ride from my perspective was better in the Golf. Great car. The 2 door was exceptional also.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

No regrets

motorstreet, 11/03/2011
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a great car, it's roomy, fun to drive, really well built, pretty fast, and incredibly fuel-efficient. I get 43-45 mpg in my commute, mid 50's on the highway (I got 59 mpg recently), and mid 30's in the city. The Golf is surprisingly good in the winter (I put snow tires on it), it got through over foot of snow in my driveway pretty easily last winter. This car constantly surprises me with its talents.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

In a class all it's own.

Denster2u, 09/22/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've read many reviews about this car and price keeps coming in to play regarding the market this car competes in. I'd have to say this is a truly premium, upscale compact car with engineering and sophistication unmatched by the likes of the Mazda 3, Honda Civic, and others not worth mentioning. The execution of the VW Golf from top to bottom, including materials and build quality, refinement, comfort, and ride and handling is in a class all it's own. I thinks it's worth every penny extra over it's competitors. This is truly a driving enthusiast's car, with fuel efficiency that rivals many hybrids.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Amazing value!

Sin, 06/18/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

You really get a lot for your money with the 2010 Golf. The VW is a bit pricier than its competition, but you get what you pay for, because unlike its competitors it's no tin can! Everything about this car is top notch. It handles well with very tight, and responsive steering. The Golf is well isolated from road noise, suspension soaks up bumps, and wind noise is so subdued it's almost nonexistent. The overall fit and finish is a cut above previous generations and feels more 3-series than corolla. After all, it didn't win "World Car of the Year" award for nothing. Let's be honest, the Golf is the only car in its class that you wouldn't be ashamed to take your date in to a 5-star restaurant.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Volkswagen makes a profit at this price?

Kris K, 07/27/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was driving an '08 HCH, and I couldn't help but think something was missing- any sense of driving excitement. I then test-drove this car, and that was it. I can't believe that I'm achieving the same frugality as my previous car, only with a healthy dose of fun-to-drive, freeway-passing torque to go with it (I describe it as "my old car, but with stones (edited)"). I've heard stories about VW reliability, but at 4,100 miles (and a lead-footed average of 40mpg), I have yet to see something go wrong. From the solidity to the materials to the robust powertrain, I find it hard to believe VW is making a profit at this price. It's an excellent car that covers all points of debate favorably.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My first VW!

dmo, 08/18/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After searching all the other cars in its class I decided the Golf was in a class of its own. So far I have had the car for a month and a half. I love the styling and drivablility. I have put 4200 miles on it going to work and a long road trip and it has been phenomenal. All driver controls are nice and trip computer was awesome on the road trip. I am getting better mileage than what is average and I drive it like it is supposed to be driven not babying it at all. So far couldn't ask for a better car. The only thing I have added since buying is the adjustable arm rest. I am 6 ft and 230 lbs and the car fits me fine

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car Bad Clutch

Jeff, 11/14/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Test Drove Mini Cooper, VW Golf TDI, and Jetta TDI. I bought the Golf TDI with the six speed, and returned it a week later for a Jetta TDI with the DSG. Loved everything about the Golf except for the clutch. The RPM's drop so low when starting that the car is easy to stall on mild hills. Hill hold brake assist would really make the car an absolute perfect car to drive. This feature is standard in the Mini Cooper. If mini can do it for $21K, then I think VW can do it in all of their cars. Hill hold is only available in the Pasaat. Other than the clutch, the performance, comfort, and styling were amazing. Essentially it is the GTI with a diesel engine!

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

20,000 mile update

fcwarrior, 01/23/2012
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been generally amazed at how much I like my Golf TDI. I came from an Audi S4 so less power is very obvious but the diesel torque curve is so good this car is really enjoyable up in the Rockies. MPG is about 36-38 in winter and 38-40 in summer. Longer trips will average 41-44 but I have seen 52 mpg on a 120 mile freeway trip and 5-8 mpg on a really cold morning commute:} I think the Fuel Injection and Engine Management electronics are very rudimentary and you can feel it compensating all the time for hills and other situations. Turbo lag is nothing like as bad as in a Mini but is still very noticeable. Putting it in Sport certainly helps but then mpg plummets.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Fuel Tank Swooshing Sound

Marco, 04/03/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Enjoy everything about this car except quality problems. Car door was misaligned when purchased and Fuel tank makes a swooshing sound, when one comes to a stop. Dealer says potential baffles defect and/or other?????

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

10,000 Update

deusexmaxima, 12/17/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

After 10K miles in 7 months (drove from Atlanta, where I bought it, to Los Angeles), I'm happy to say that my TDI has exceeded my expectations. Reliability has been excellent, other than the TPMS warning light that was fixed with a software update. My best mileage has been 52.5 mpg, and the solidity has held up pretty well, even over rough LA freeways. Acceleration is as spirited as ever, and I still marvel at the sport seats every time I sit in them (I'm almost 6'3", and achieving this kind of comfort in a small car is no easy feat). Does anyone (who doesn't have ten kids or weigh more than 400 lbs) really need more than this car offers? In my opinion, no.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2010 Golf

Ricky, 10/23/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

The car is great. I picked it up for under 20,000 OTD and my dealership threw in rims, tint, and floor mats (couldn't drive off the lot with hubcaps). Bottom line is my car is getting around 27MPG with a lot of my driving being in the city. I have less than 1k miles so the car run as expected, perfectly. The new VW carefree maintenance program is great, covers all scheduled maintenance including oil changes until 3yrs/36k mi. Compared to other economy cars it is far beyond anything in its price range. All of the little things and build quality made the 2010 GOLF the clear choice for me, instrument panel, interior build, seats are great all & its half the price to insure (compared to civic)

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

$11,000 rolling time bomb

jammicpia, 06/01/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
7 of 15 people found this review helpful

Welcome to my nightmare. Vehicle: 2010 Golf TDI, DSG Mileage: less than 5,000 Ownership: four months The initial symptoms: humming sound from the engine, flashing glow plug light, and reduced power. Dealer diagnosis: Destroyed fuel system due to contaminated diesel fuel. The upshot: $11,000 damage NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. Massachusetts Division of Standards show no other reports of problems from the 4 stations where I had fueled my car. Would not have bought the TDI if I'd know that there was a chance, even a remote one, that during the warranty period and operating the vehicle according to instructions I might incur $11,000 damage that is not covered by the warranty.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Heat, 01/17/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I owned a 2007 Mazda 3 Grand Touring prior to the Golf. I was test driving the new Mazda 2010 5 Door hatch, and I almost bought one until I test drove the golf. Well the Golf beats the Mazda 3 hands down. The build quality of the Golf is absolutely better. The interior nothing but pure quality and design. The 170hp 5 cylinder is very powerful, more powerful than the new Mazda 3's 2.5. If your considering a Mazda3, test drive a Golf. You will be quite surprised.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Never Look Back

mrtoad, 08/01/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've driven this car for five full months now and it has performed beyond my expectations. Around the neighborhood or across the state, wonderful! I initially thought the seats too firm. Negative. I've got a bad back and for the first time in years, I can make a six hour drive and still walk standing straight-up. Performance is excellent for 170 HP motor and the build quality far exceeds the Asian rivals. The quiet on the highway is almost eerie. It is quite amazing how much gear you can store in the cargo area WITHOUT laying the seat-backs down. All of this and the Golf comes with a functional rear seat, 26 mpg in town and 35 on the highway. Such a deal!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fast, frugal and fun!!!

jbartuski, 03/27/2013
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought early December 2012. Had only 27k on the odometer. Mine is a silver 5-speed 2.5L... base everything... only option is the Cold Weather package. So far I absolutely love this thing. It's sharp looking without being too flashy or attracting unwanted attention. Sub 8 second 0-60 times... and a huge grin every time you take a corner. Tiny outside but will swallow giant items. It's very safe, cheap to insure, and economical at the gas pump. No problems to report after 5,000 miles with the car itself. El cheapo standard equipment Conti tires are garbage, and will soon be replaced. They do not hold air in cold weather.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2010 Golf TDI 4dr Silver

Tom, 10/09/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was in market for a bit 'more' than a Civic or Corolla (last car I owned). The Golf seems more solid, quiet, smooth, I mean it's very smooth, no engine vibration. Seats are firm, handling is good, but, if you really push it, you will want the GTI - which I considered, but wanted the TDI (for the mileage). I am getting 44.1 mpg (so far), city/highway. Had minor problem with oil leak - dealer said bad O-ring on intercooler. Had to wait 2 days for part, but dealer set me up with (free) loaner. Not all bad I guess. This car is FUN to drive. Hit the radio, open the sunroof, and Drive! It simply has a much better driving feel when compared to similar cars, and the 6 speed manual is VERY smooth!!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2010 Golf TDI Endures

berner, 02/13/2014
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Those of you with new Golf TDI's, you did the right thing! I bought mine new in May 05, 2010 and am constantly reminded that I did the right thing! City/highway mpg is 37/43. On interstates with the cruise at 77-mph, I average 43-mpg. On secondary roads with cruise at 60-mph, I average 45-mpg! Have had NO warranty issues - a well-built car! Aug 2016: Still extremely pleased with car. With VW settlement plan to buy a new TDY with all bells & whistles. Emission issue way overblown! Aug 2017 Update: Sold car back to VW USA. They made me an offer I could not refuse. Unfortunately, VW is no longer selling diesels in the US or I would have bought a new VW diesel. The Golf never failed me and delivered everything I wanted. FYI, with the buy-back money I bought a CPO 2016 BMW 328 xDrive DIESEL wagon. Great car! Aug 2019 Update: Just noticed that the heading is for a "2013 Volkswagen Golf". It's a 2010!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Love - Hate Relationship

casper42, 03/09/2011
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
9 of 23 people found this review helpful

This is my very first love-hate relationship and it's with my TDI Golf. VW clearly has design problems. The most dangerous issue is the engine can occasionally lose all power under hard acceleration for 3-5 seconds followed by engine roaring to life with a cloud of white smoke out the tailpipe. VW can not diagnose or replicate complaint, but NHTSA has many complaints of this for the 2009-2010 diesel. The seat fabric is inferior and frays, the clutch on the 6 speed manual is very easy to stall with long clutch travel but very short engagement. I also suspect inferior glass in windshield, as today I have a total of two rock chips and one huge crack...1st crack in 32 years of driving!

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

3300 mile Update

FCWarrior, 08/01/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have the cloth standard seat which are very comfortable but several threads are ripping already after only 3300 miles. Incredible. Don't know how this compares to other vehicles but it's a really bad start. I am only 190 lbs and am careful on how I get in and out since I saw this as a potential trouble spot early on. I have yet to take it to the Dealer for the 90 day checkup. If I go even very slowly over neighborhood speed bumps there is a loud metal-on-metal bang as the suspension tops out. The sunroof switch is very counter-intuitive with no obvious detent for 'closed'. So far I get 55 mpg @ 45 mph 43 mpg @55 mph

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Sadly, it was a lemon

Fred P., 09/09/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought car and at 900 miles it went into "limp mode" where the turbo would not work. Took car to Dealer who replaced MAF sensor despite there were no fault codes at all. At 1200 miles it did it again. Dealership put us in a rental for 3 months as they waited for VW of America to release a computer update that needed EPA approval before applying. After 3 months, we worked with dealership to trade in the Golf TDI for a 2010 Jetta TDI.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Value/Performance in Class

Professor, 11/18/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I would disagree with the first reviewer's comments on how quiet the little car is. One of the things I enjoy most about driving the stout and zippy little car is hearing the 5cyl, 2.5L, 270hp engine wind up as I'm manually shifting through the gears. Gone are the days of anemic VW base- model engines; this engine is more than ample. From my research, it's only approx. 1 second slower 0-60mph than the 200hp GTI. What I like about the base model Golf is that it gets its power honestly, via a naturally- aspirated engine (no turbos needed). The ergos and handling are very similar between my Golf and the 2010 GTI I test drove. Being able to run 87 octane instead of premium is a plus too!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

overall an excellent car

leuparaleu, 12/14/2009
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my little car; but a few things still have to be improved. The seaters and the stearing wheel have a limited adjustment. The radio loose some time the reception and the arm rest is a too inefficient. The outside mirror adjustment is inconvenient to use

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

From a Focus to a Golf.......

Dave H, 01/25/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2010 Golf as a replacement for a 2006 Ford Focus. Going from the little Ford to the Golf is the difference between night and day. More power, better ride, tighter feel on the road - I mean really..... it's a whole different car. I wanted a three door hatchback so that meant either a Yaris, an Accent or the Golf. There is no comparison between the three cars - The Golf is the clear winner even though it costs more and gets less miles per gallon. The VW is just simply a much better value for the money.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Not bad, but the cost-cutting is obvious

LA Golf Leasee, 02/10/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The good: Exterior styling, particularly in silver is pretty nice and an improvement over the last gen. Performance is ok for the class, but definitely go with a stick. Interior design generally a step above competition, but there is some definite and annoying cost-cutting. The not-so-good: No covered interior storage outside of the glovebox, junky radio with sat option - touchscreen with Sirius only available on TDI, no armrest - seems small, but gets annoying quickly. I got the base Golf only because I couldn't afford a TDI and there are no Mazda dealers close to me to get a 3. With a few upgrades, it could be a great compact, but the skimping makes it better than avg, but not great.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Finally A VW owner

Pom, 05/11/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've always wanted to own a VW ever since I started driving back in '01, now that I am an owner of the '10 golf I'm very satisfied. First day I put 140 miles with a bright smile on my face, I feel very safe in this car than my Honda Civic Si 2 dr. I do miss driving manual transmission, but its for the best for now.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A BMW 3 Series disguised as a hatchback

City Boy, 05/26/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Tornado Red 4-door Golf is a delight. Drives like a much larger car. Has lots of power and rides/handles great. Amazing but the quality of interior materials is of a $35,000 car. Also, has great stereo sound and rides quietly on the road (more so than my wife's 07 Accord). Test drove most compact hatchbacks and this one is superior, i.e. Hyundani Elantra Touring, Subaru Impreza, Mazda 3, Toyota Matrix, Kia Rhondo and a few more. Try it and you'll buy it.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Excellent desing, questionable quality

Karaya, 05/26/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car after happily driving 95 Golf for 10 years, so this '10 Golf has very big shoes to fill. The car looks sharp, feels very comfortable and very confident on the road. It has just right amount of power not to be sluggish and not to waste fuel at the same time. What I am not so exited about is workmanship quality. It does not live to the hype so far. First, there was annoying air hissing from the door, because the rubber seal does not fit well. The dealer had to tighten the door lock. Then the b-pillars trims started crackling and clicking at ~2k miles. Other people on WV forums also reported water draining issues from the doors. I really hope problems stop here.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

love my golf

Haley, 06/01/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first brand new car and I could not be happier. It's extremely fun to drive, gives a very solid ride, and has a million little things about it that I just love, like the entertainment from watching people try to open the hatch. Plus, the back seats are very spacious and easy to get into, even though it is a 2-door. And I love getting 30 mpg on average.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly good car

FCWarrior, 06/20/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Better seats than my 04 Audi S4 Recaro seats and more than double the mpg! Handles very nicely and is surprisingly quiet down the road. Part throttle surging, especially when cold is diabolical and should have a factory fix. The lag on full throttle take-offs is ridiculous too. Factory touch screen radio sounds amazingly good and the Xenon lights are a real safety boon. Averaging 38-42 mpg with a light foot:} Very impressive.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

A subjective review by a tall driver

Chris, 06/30/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The GOLF is a very comfortable car. I say this as a 6'6" driver. As usual VW seems to offer the most room even if the mere numbers on the fact sheet would not suggest it. The range up/down range for the driver seat is huge. The steering wheel has great range both for up/down and telescope. The larger fwd windows of the 2 dr offer great visibility, although for the shoulder view the smaller rear windows can be an obstacle. Handling is tight, precise yet very smooth. The Sport Mode is aggressive and a joy to drive in. Gas mileage is better than advertised so far. The materials are seamlessly connected and the car feels upper scale. However, a few annoying interior noises have yet to subside.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

Jackie, 07/13/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

So far I love my car! I bought this after driving a 1991 Toyota Land Cruiser to 330,000 miles, but needed a more fuel efficient car for my commute @ 90 miles/day. This has been a great little car, I average 50.5mpg per 15 gal tank - highway and city driving combined. It has a decent amount of pick up and go and it's a TON of fun to drive! The only real complaint I have is that it isn't completely sealed and it whistles > 45 mph, it doesn't leak water,just bothersome. The seats fold pretty flat and the cargo area can hold ~3 large bales of hay + 3 bags of feed with room to spare and the back seats are pretty comfortable even for people over 6'. I'd buy another for sure!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Texas Tornado (Red)

Kevin, 07/29/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have about 1,700 miles on my ride. Love going 500+ miles per tank before even thinking about fueling. Avg mileage since purchase is 41.4 mpg although mostly highway. Best leg on a 31 mile one way commute is 46.8! Plenty of power and if more is needed, all I need to do is downshift. I got the cloth seats...car is comfortable, and remarkably quiet. Summer in Texas has been plenty hot, and the A/C cools fast and keeps me comfortable on low fan. Build quality appears to be rock solid, love my VW!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Car

M.A., 11/19/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car back in July,2010 and love it. It is my very first car and I was deciding between the VW, Honda Civic, Nissan Spectra, and a KIA. I decided to go with VW because of the excellent fuel economy, german engineering, and quality that VW puts into their vehicles. I drive all highway and put approximately 700km/week. Already I have put on 13,000km in 5 months. Car is super quiet. I bought the higher edition with sunroof, touch radio, fog lights, etc.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

2010 golf

johnmck, 07/25/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

The interior is nice, but with a gap in the center console.The engine has good torque, but runs out of steam on the top end.The ride is firm, but there is body lean. This car starts to feel a little "floaty" at higher speeds on the highway (above 85). There was some initial quality issues. Shifting is better than some, but not as nice as my 2000 celica, which I do miss more than I thought I would since buying the Golf. I do like this car though, and I thought it was nicer than the civic or the tc I test drove. In closing I feel the need to be critical about the throttle by wire. It lacks any real feel.It seems like it could be calibrated much better.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT VALUE in TDI form

mtlangley, 12/01/2009
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Fit and finish is great, as with most german made autos!! Drives like a sports car, but feels like a luxury car on the inside. If your going to buy one you should opt for the TDI it gets real 48 mpg on the highway!! The TDI also comes loaded, the only options I added was moonroof and bluetooth at 1200 extra for both. If your thinking hybrid, take a look at this clean burning diesel (WORLD CAR OF THE YEAR) you won't be disappointed!!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

Esbusa, 10/16/2017
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent ride, comfort and performance.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Nice car, great mileage, no quality.

Hercules, 09/29/2010
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is a nice little car. The interior is very user friendly and the exterior is about as good as you can get with an economy car. Downsides, dealers mark up from MSRP because of tax credit of the TDIs. The build quality seems lacking. Within 3,000 miles it had a small oil leak which turned out to be a faulty crankshaft seal. Also the side marker lamp went out and the dealership (Lewisville VW) claimed something hit it yet the lens was still intact and undamaged. Bought the car for dependable long didtance rides but having serious doubts about it now....

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Jetta is great, excellent car.

Barry Fisher, 06/28/2016
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

TDI has great performance and MPG, especially on the Freeway, I enjoyed the car until I found out the truth about its emissions. I sold the car back to VW in Sept 2016. I will say that VW was very generous and I was pleased with the settlement. I turned around and bought a Jetta at a great price, and I'm absolutely pleased with it. Update: Much the same as before. I wish VW hadn't blown it like they did and the emissions weren't the problems they were. I still might be driving it today. And the Jetta is great. A coulda shoulda woulda moment for VW USA, plus pretty calculated scam as well. I'm glad they realized they better roll over quickly or run real risk of losing their American market.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Wow, what a joy to drive

adstein, 12/12/2009
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is an amazing blend of efficiency and performance. Fit and finish is fantastic. Handling is superb, like a go cart. The only drawback is that no upgrade options are available for the interior - no leather or color options just black cloth.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned

perkins77, 04/17/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently bought a 4 door TDI and it's the best car I've ever owned (8 other vehicles). The handling is nimble and responsive, and there is plenty of power. The immediate stomp on the accelerator from a dead stop is not as quick as a gti or bmw e46, but it's very good for a diesel and for what you pay for. The mileage is awesome and the ride is smooth. There aren't too many extras, but they are key ones: bluetooth, paddle shift, sport mode, sunroof. I'm 6'6" and have tons and tons of room in the front. Cold weather package is great.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Good so far

paskinel, 07/17/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I now have 10k miles, trouble free. Excellent handling, great mpg (43avg). There is light noise coming from drivers side door, dealer says they tighten but still there. Be careful where you buy your diesel, make sure it specifies ULTRA-LOW sulfur and stay away from the LOW sulfur fuel. Gas stations can continue to sell LOW sulfur fuel until the end of 2010. Dealer didn't mention that when I purchased the vehicle.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050