Used 2010 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74 reviews
List Price Estimate
$4,093 - $6,787

Used Golf for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

tdi is a secret

cdlargo, 11/15/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

My little TDI has a secret. It drives like a sports car and gets 40 real world mpg. I usually get tired of new cars fast. I didnt want to give up my 3 series, but I had to..-$ On the bright side, I love this car. It handles very well, has great seats, outstanding steering feel, plenty of grip and 236 ft lbs RIGHT NOW, its sooo entertaining. For my 35 mile one way commute, I can't imagine a better car. I was afraid I would miss my bimmer and I do... a little. But this car makes driving fun the way no japanese car can. My only criticism is that 1st gear is short and not very usable. This car is quicker than the numbers say once you get out of 1st, HEHE.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Must drive!

astropsychic, 07/12/2014
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have the 2010 2.5L 3-door gas version and it is excellent. It is very practical, spacious, and fast. I got mine used for 6,500 less with no mechanical defects whatsoever. Even with only 3 doors, there is still plenty of space in the back for passengers. It does come standard with heated seats, AC, electric door mirrors, electric windows, two 12v charging slots, and an AUX IN port for your music playing device. The radio is very good and weather resistant. Build quality is very good. Nothing feels cheap or out of place. Even though mine has only 170 horsepower, it can still overtake pretty much anyone and anything on the road. Acceleration is very quick and the noise isn't too loud.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A Solid Little Car

Joe, 03/12/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I'm surprised by the smooth ride and the low end torque.The gas mileage is alot better than my 2008 Mazda 3 and absords bumps better and the engine is quiet. It handles great as it corners nice and the steering is tight. The cabin is topshelf like a cockpit with nevery thing in you line of sight. I tried the Civic and my Golf rides so much smoother and the Mazda was bad, too much road an engine noise.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Bestnof both world

Samberken, 11/16/2010
TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Purchased mine in June to take advantage of Fed incentive. Very happy with the car so far after 3000 miles. Good pick up, good range in city driving, easier access than A3.good leg room, seats are more upright than A3. Only option I took was the xenon light. I find this car has most of the convenience in luxury cars. Tilted tele steering wheel, temporary turn signal, adjustable centre armrest, adaptive light, automatic lock.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Far and away the best in class

vwgolf420, 03/01/2011
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
20 of 25 people found this review helpful

This is my third VW. I traded a 2005 Hyundai Elantra, which was a competent car, but having had a 1969 Beetle and a 1997 Jetta before, I felt called back into the VW fold, so to speak. The only car in the class that comes close to offering the same lively character in driving is the Mazda 3, but it lacks the refinement in ride quality. Having had an 03 Mazda Pr5 and the aforementioned Hyundai in between VWs, it's odd seeing that the revs are so low as I'm driving. The ummph comes in low. I'm seeing 25/26 in the city and 31/32 on the highway. Build quality appears impeccable and the material quality is on par with MB, BMW, and, most obviously, Audis in which I've ridden or driven.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Had

sfoust, 06/20/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car. What a blast to drive, and it's quite practical for carrying passengers and cargo too! Styling is great IMO inside and out, but I wish there were more color options for the interior besides black. Still, the quality of the interior is unmatched in this price range. It feels like I'm driving something much more expensive which brings me to my next point. Yes, this car may have a starting price above other rivals, but it also comes with more standard features. An equivalently featured civic will run you almost as much money. This car is super solid and handles great. Even with it's sporty intentions, the ride is comfortable and compliant. I Love My Golf!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Hole in One

jclaxton, 06/25/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Exterior: - aggressive looking face - styling not overdone - lustrous metallic paint - perfect size for city driving - wide stance for a small car - dual exhaust - no door moldings (sleeker look) - hidden lift gate latch interior: - soft touch materials/padding - stitched bolstered sport seats - cool red lighting instrument cluster - tilt/telescoping steering wheel - height adjustable seats - lumbar driving experience: - quiet (low road and wind noise) - great steering feel and agile handling - hugs corners, no body lean - accelerates nicely misc: - solid for its size (great crash test scores) - graphite coated wiper blades (quiet swipes) - galvanized steel body panels (resist rust)

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

chuck54633, 02/22/2011
TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I traded my 2008 VW Rabbit 2.5L 4dr in on this car. What an improvement, the interior and exterior changes are great improvements over the '08. The diesel engine was the primary motivation for the change. Who would have thought that a car that gets much better fuel economy would be so much faster and more fun to drive. I like that they changed back to the name golf and made the car more masculine looking. The rabbit was such a chick car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I love my new VW!

Sarah, 11/10/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

My dad's first car was a 1983 Volkswagen Rabbit GTI that he still drives and it still runs great, so I knew exactly what I wanted when I was looking for my first car (GTI was my first choice, but a little pricey :/). First time manual driver, but the car is so forgiving and so fun once I figured it out. I test drove the Fit, Fiesta, Sonata, Focus, Nissan Versa, and Fusion. No other car in this price range even came close. You just can't beat the styling and drive of a German car. Has tons of room for the rear seats, drives solidly and quietly at 80+ on the highway, and also is really maneuverable in city traffic. I'm getting about 33 mpg driving on highways about 70% of the time.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

VW beat 'em out

VW, 08/05/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well after searching for 2 months and driving Honda, Toyota, Mazda, Kia, Nissan, Subaru and Suzuki, the VW Golf made it number one. It was the funnest to drive and had the best ride from my perspective. With traveling almost 90 miles a day, I was looking for Blue Tooth, Cruise and smooth ride. The Mazda was definitely very close and the Toyota was there too (too many recalls). The steering is pretty good. There is some road noise but you hardly feel the bumps. Also there is some hesitation however when in sport with the 6-spd tiptronic you hardly notice it. I drove the Jetta as well, but the ride from my perspective was better in the Golf. Great car. The 2 door was exceptional also.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050