Skip to main content
12345...11

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2013 Tundra, so we've included reviews for other years of the Tundra since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

2016 Limited Crewmax from 2013 Rock Warrior

fullbug, 05/11/2015
updated 11/18/2019
2013 Toyota Tundra Tundra 4dr CrewMax 4WD SB (5.7L 8cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

After test driving four (COUNT EM FOUR) Silverados with driveline vibration and one ecoboost F150, I drove a Tundra. What a difference. The interior design isn't the best. The head unit(stereo) is majorly flawed. I replaced it with a Kenwood after it just stopped working with my Android phone. Wind noise at speed is BAD for a $48000 truck. Other than that, the best truck on the road imo. Gas mileage is heavy, but so is my foot, so I don't care. At 55 mph downhill and no ac I can get 21 mpg, but above or below that speed, forget it. A couple more cons: Fuel float on 38 gallon tank shows empty with 6 gallons left. The remote start shuts off when you unlock the door. I cannot figure out why it would do that. I also miss the rear seats sliding and reclining. You have to be a contortionist to reach the jack because the seat won't move. All in all, I wouldn't trade it for anything currently on the market, but I'm stoked for the redesigned Silverado.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

2012 Tundra defective air valves causing limp mode

CJ, 03/25/2020
2012 Toyota Tundra Tundra 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
33 of 35 people found this review helpful

I purchased a truck from Germain Toyota, a 2012 Tundra (4.6L). I recently brought the truck back to this dealership when the check engine light came on, and it began losing acceleration while driving it. The truck received a diagnosis from them for $130. It was diagnosed with a p2440 code. Germain said it can be fixed for a repair cost of $2800-$3000. They said air injection valve bank was stuck, has debris and possible water intrusion. Toyota said the truck can go into limp mode as a result which causes the truck to not shift correctly and loss of acceleration. This nearly caused an accident. I was changing a lane in heavy traffic and suddenly there was no acceleration. It seemed like the truck wasn't shifting into gears correctly. First I thought the transmission was failing. Toyota issued a recall on the 2007-2010 Tundras and Tacomas due to the defective air valves/air pumps, extending the mileage on these years to 10yr/150k. Then extended same in 2011 but stopped there. The valves and pumps are made out of some cheap alloy, causing them to corrode easily and the system allows water to get into them. The repair parts offered for the repair apparently are made of the same metal so replacing then will probably only get you more time before they go bad again. The truck has under 100k miles on it. I've always taken great care of the truck and have taken it into a Toyota dealer for all scheduled maintenance dates. Germain Toyota said it was out of warranty by about 5 months. Germain Toyota was helpless to do anything other than repair it for the insane repair cost. They didn't know why the warranty/recall was not extended to the 2012. Seems there are alot of other 2012 tundra owners with this problem as well so I'm not alone. Toyota should own up to their defective parts and Germain Toyota should have some solutions other than offering to reinstall defective parts for a lot of money. I doubt I will buy another vehicle from Toyota again.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Tough, reliable truck.

Colin Melville, 11/03/2016
updated 05/08/2017
2013 Toyota Tundra Tundra 4dr Double Cab SB (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

As reliable as they come. Normal maintenance is of course needed but other than replacing the battery, tires, and 10,000 mile oil changes this truck has been incredibly reliable. We regularly towed a 4,500lb. trailer up steep Colorado mountain roads with no problem. Hauled a lot of detritus from a home remodel and put 80,000 miles on in 3 1/2 years without a hitch. Traded in for the bigger engine Tundra recently.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.25 out of 5 stars

Alignment Issues From Day One

dontbuytoyota, 12/08/2013
2013 Toyota Tundra Tundra 4dr Double Cab SB (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
39 of 43 people found this review helpful

I was so proud when I was able to purchase this truck new, but the feeling didn't last long. After 100 miles of driving, I started to notice excessive wear on the outside edges of the front tires. Then, I started noticing a pull to the right, and hard pull to the right when braking. I went to the dealer with 300 miles on the truck and was told it was an air pressure issue. The pull continued to get worse, so I had the alignment checked, and it was out bad. The front end was aligned, but is not fixed. Now 5 more alignments have been done, and the front tires replaced at 3,500 miles. I contacted Toyota and was told there was nothing they would do because my truck has the TSS package.

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

2012 Tundra 4.6 double cab P2440 code / expense

catndahats, 04/07/2019
updated 04/09/2021
2012 Toyota Tundra Tundra 4dr Double Cab SB (4.6L 8cyl 6A)
35 of 39 people found this review helpful

Great truck up until last week. All the good things about Toyota Tundras are true---great ride, pulling power, large dealer base nationwide. This "weak link" however can endanger you and your family, and is a very expensive repair. This is my 4th Toyota since 2002 and 2nd Tundra, and I consider myself a Toyota fan. My complaint is both towards the vehicle, the dealership base, and Toyota corporation. Purchased this 2012 as a CPO from the dealership in 1/2016 with 35k miles. I have always believed it was a good company and product. Felt good knowing it was covered by Toyota's Certified Pre-Owned Warranty and had passed an intensive inspection prior to sale. Buyer beware. Secondary Air Pump Failure: At exactly 72,000 miles, the check engine / trac off lights came on and the truck went into limp mode. Just know that this well documented defect in Toyota Tundras still continues. Toyota claims the problem was corrected with the 2010 models, but acknowledges there are plenty of dissatisfied customers posting all over the internet. I've talked to 2 dealers, and many emails and phone calls to Toyota corporate regarding the defect and seeking assistance. They know the defect is common in all Tundras, and will tell you the defect with the AIP continues, but will not help. All dead ends. The Toyota corporation absolutely refuses to assist the customer even though we have the extended 7yr/100,000 mile power train warranty. Buyer beware, not if, but WHEN the repair WILL come, and it will cost you out of pocket anywhere from $2,000 - $4000. If you buy a 2010 Tundra or later, budget for this repair. I expect this defect will have a negative effect on your resale or trade value when you try to get rid of the vehicle. It is a safety issue. The symptoms: Code: P2440 -- The truck now has exactly 72,000 miles, and has gone into "Limp" mode with the Check Engine / Trac Off lights flashing. Limp mode means no acceleration, no ability to drive uphill. Even though they extended the warranty on this weak link in the vehicles built between 2007 - 2010, they do not acknowledge there is a manufacturing defect in later models. Extremely dangerous as the vehicle becomes sluggish and will not drive uphill or accelerate. UPDATE 10-8-20: Since this first AIP breakdown, had the tundra repaired out of pocket. Subsequently made the repair again after 6 months, very expensive twice. I still consider it a safety issue. Now our tundra has 83k miles. We went to our local dealer and their solution was to sell me a new Tundra. We were offered a favorable trade for a new tundra, but declined since I did not want a car payment for another 5 yrs. This year Toyota eliminated the 4.6 motor as an option, so who knows if the defect is fixed. I'm keeping mine and will just budget for additional repairs. Otherwise the 2012 Tundra is a jewel. It rides great on long trips, and overall has held up very well, gets great gas mileage (18-20mpg) and sometimes better on the highway. Update 4/21: Still driving the tundra. Paid for, still rides good, looks good...no further repairs. Toyota still has not addressed the defect on post 2010 models, and has eliminated the 4.6 motor. Still gets 18-21mpg so we are going to keep on driving it.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: