Used 2012 Subaru Legacy Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,688 - $11,995

Used Legacy for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

First Subaru Experience

member23, 03/20/2012
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

I came out of an SUV into a Subaru for fuel economy. While there are many good car choices in this class (Fusion, Accord, Altima) the driver seat comfort and AWD won me over. After 4500 miles the new car thrill is gone and I have a car that I like driving, is reliable, and gets good mpg's. The decision to buy a new car is personal and I'm not knocking any other cars, as there are some great choices. But this car works for me and I'd recommend it to a friend.

Report Abuse

One of the Nicest Cars That No One Talks About.

simy, 11/26/2012
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

This car is about as practical as you can get. AWD doesn't sacrifice MPG & comes in handy in snow. It's not flashy, but it looks nice, esp. w/tinted windows. My mechanics love Toyota & Lexus mechanically, but recommended the Legacy, it won me over. Got a good price, a little over $22K, practically 0% financing & Costco cash card. The PZEV reduces smell when starting up in the garage. Heated mirrors, wipers & seats in the Premium model. Rocker panel lights up when doors open. Hazard light button placed pefectly so when you shift the car to Park, just depress w/index finger. Little stuff that no one talks about, but it's been thought out. It's really a nice car that doesn't draw headlines.

Report Abuse

Fabulous Car

san_san, 04/08/2013
2.5i Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I always feel this is one of those less talked about cars in the market. I own this year for more than an year now and extremely happy with the performance. Subaru's AWD delivers when needed in snow driving conditions and I feel safe when coming to abrupt stops on icy roads.

Report Abuse

Perfect

ziptiecloud, 01/13/2012
2.5GT Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

I love this car. Period. Went from An Audi A4 and don't miss a thing; especially the repair bill! VERY smooth ride, great sound system, TONS of space, great power, awesome handling.. everything about this car is just fantastic.

Report Abuse

Everything I Wanted In Car

pepperdog13, 02/15/2012
3.6R 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 5A)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a new car that had excellent safety ratings, excellent reliability, plenty of room for my family (especially good legroom in the back), good fuel efficiency (at least 30 mpg highway), comfortable seats, was a joy to drive/ride in for my long commute, nice interior with satellite radio/bluetooth, iPod hookup, and had AWD to help me drive on snow covered roads in the winter. I am happy to say that the Subaru Legacy nailed each one of my requirements. Not only it is a top safety pick but it was the best AWD system out there. I enjoy driving it. It is roomy. The 10 way power drivers seat is very comfortable and heated thanks to the All Weather Package.

Report Abuse

Manual Transmission Defect

Joe, 05/22/2019
2.5i Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have had 5 Subarus, all manual transmission. At 80K this one lost reverse. Dealer said the bushing in the shifter wore out prematurely which damaged the reverse gear. $2K to fix. Corporate agreed it was a defect but since car past warranty (80K) they would not make good. Met another person with exact same issue. Recommend you do NOT buy the manual transmission any more as Subaru does not make good on their manufacturing defect. It is reoccurring problem i am told.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Car I almost Overlooked !

diehard080, 06/25/2012
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
64 of 83 people found this review helpful

I had been shopping for a good week and I wanted something that would work for our family of three ( 9 year old boy ) and my wife . I didn't want to waste ridiculous time examining all the possibilities as it gets to the point where your life is consumed in details and these car sites and magazines , dealers , commercials all are the fuel for this confusion and frustration in that what ever car is :the best " or whatever spin they have that day . I wanted the every thing car but NOT an SUV , NOT a crossover but a Reasonably priced sedan that would be a errand runner , dinner limo , tahoe cruiser and more. Well It was Camry, Accord , Chevy Cruise , Ford Fusion . Then I am watching TV ...

Report Abuse

It gets better with age

ET, 07/20/2017
3.6R Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought a a 2012 Subaru Legacy 3.6r new and now am approaching 50k miles. Great all weather handling and more interior room than competitors in its class, especially the rear seat make it a hit when hauling passengers on extended trips. The 3.6 l flat six is torquey and powerful and loves to fly on the interstate. My son-in-law who is a deputy sherriff borrowed it for a vacation trip and was very impressed with how well it handled, how fast it was and how effortlessly it crused. Fuel mileage which I check religiously has continued to improve as the miles have increased. On a recent trip between Asheville, North Carolina and St. Louis, Missouri I averaged 29 mpg driving in fast traffic traveling between 70 an 90 mph. Not too shabby for traveling in hot weather with two people and a trunk full of luggage.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Undercarriage Rust Issues

HudsonBob, 08/22/2017
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My Legacy is 5 years old and have had to replace the exhaust system and the oil pan due to bad rust. My catalytic converters will have to be replaced soon due to rust. Luckily mine did not have the oil ring issue that other Legacy owners have had. Going back to Toyota.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Confidence

Edward, 08/26/2017
3.6R Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Traded a 2009 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon for the 2012 Legacy 3.6R Limited. Two very different contraptions I will admit. Other than the loss of ground clearance, I do not regret the vehicle trade at all. In fact, I am very pleased. The Subaru AWD has proved itself here in the SOCAL desert region. Driving on a busy/congested freeway, surface street or traversing dirt roads …. this car handles like a champ. As mentioned, I do miss the Jeep’s ground clearance but the Subaru handles the soft sand here very nicely. I particularly enjoy the confidence in knowing the car’s AWD system and taught steering precisely and predictably move the car safely to where I want it to go. The braking system is more than adequate. The car’s CVT took me a while to appreciate. In short, the Subaru AWD system is very effective and offers road handling confidence I have not experienced since I began driving in 1975. The car is sound and firm (I’ve had cars that rattle both inside and outside while being driven upon rough roadways). Note: I will acquire either a Subaru Forester or Outback so I can again visit the renown Mojave Road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

103k miles and not one problem yet!

cbobbett, 11/27/2019
2.5i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This review may now jinks me, but my 2012 base model Subaru Legacy 2.5i has literally had zero problems. I have had 2 minor part recalls but not one breakdown in my 103k miles. The only things that have occurred with age is a small rattle that has developed when I accelerate at a very specific rate (not too fast, not too slow) and the seat cushion/lumbar support on the driver's side has lost it's loft. The passenger side seat cushion feels much better. Also worth noting, I am not an overly heavy individual (5' 10", 180) so I expect the cushion to hold up better than it has. But if a rattle and some seat cushion support loss is all I have to complain about, then that's pretty amazing! This is my first Subaru and I am beyond impressed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This one does it all!!

Bob Diebold, 08/27/2016
2.5i Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I average 35 mpg per tank! AWD gets me in and out of rough weather. I live on a steep hill that a 2 wd can only make in good weather. Flawless for value and quality. Not a very fast car but I drive using the fuel coach gauge and get excellent fuel economy. Been a Honda fan for years but the Legacy is an AWD sedan that meets or beats the Accord and Civic for my situation. Love this ride! I drive 30k miles a year and have only had to replace the battery and wearables. Honetly, this is a dream machine...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Alternative to the masses

pwsubielover, 03/01/2012
2.5i Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I got my 2012 Legacy shortly after Christmas, and couldn't ask for a better present. The sedan is smart looking and gives me lots of confidence while facing the rigors of winter roads in Wisconsin. The Subie is roomy and comfortable, without feeling pretentious. It is replacing an older model Infiniti, so I wouldn't say the Legacy is the most luxurious car I ever drove, but it is solid and well equipped. Love the heated seats and iPod port. Gas mileage has been as promised, which is a blessing based on the direction gas prices are heading.

Report Abuse

2012 Legacy Buyers Check Steering Before Buying

bill497, 11/01/2014
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

Don't make the same mistake I did. I was totally unaware of this issue when I bought. Do some searches on steering wander. You will mostly find the problem on the Outback, but I think that's because there are more Outbacks out there. My 2012 Legacy was very annoying to drive. You had to constantly correct from the left to the right. The car was still under factory warranty, but they couldn't fix it. New tires, alignments, rotations, nothing worked. The car had never been wrecked. Also it had a heavy wheel, so between the constant correcting and that, it made for very fatigued driving. Test out your Legacy or Outback first and check for this problem before buying!!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Good Driving, Serious Flaws

desertsubaru, 12/16/2014
2.5i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 16 people found this review helpful

Roomy interior - previous years couldn't fit a rear-facing infant carseat between driver's seat and second row - the 2012 can. Smooth ride. No engine temperature gauge. Just a "cold" and a "hot" light. Of course, by the time the "hot" light comes on you're screwed. A standard temperature gauge would give some warning as to gradually increasing engine temperature. Check engine light turns off traction control and emergency brake (and cruise control), so if you live on a hill and forget to tighten your gas cap...good luck parking. Turning off traction control is a major safety flaw.

Report Abuse

Mechanic told me its a great car!

canadianman, 12/02/2011
2.5i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
21 of 38 people found this review helpful

I must say that this car has easy to operate functions and is very smooth on the road. It has very good acceleration and fun to drive. Very spacious, in fact 10/10! I picked the cloth interior for my 2.5i and it has heated seats. The handling is satisfying and the car itself is the best out of all the competition. It's almost exotic!

Report Abuse

Almost a limo!

Dr.M., 07/29/2019
3.6R Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Buy this car for comfort, space, easy driving, and power (6 cylinder). Don't expect high mileage or low insurance or repair costs.

Report Abuse

Reliable Red

john clark, 01/17/2018
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Don't leave the key in the ignition with the headlights on and the motor not running. They turn off only when the key is removed. If you turn the overhead map light on while looking for something remember to turn it off before you exit the car. I have experienced 3 dead batteries. 8 1/2 years of operation coming up on 90K miles. No issues. Car seems to be related to a cross between a timeX watch and the energizer bunny.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Legacy 3.6R limited with Navigation

senseless1, 04/21/2012
3.6R Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 5A)
23 of 66 people found this review helpful

Between the Infiniti G37, Audi A4, Ford Fusion and Lexus IS250, I decided that the Subaru Legacy 3.6 Limited was the best AWD value. I have to parallel park this car often, so the relatively short length was important. Speaking of which, it's EASY to park this car, especially with the backup camera and the general visibility overall. I drove the 2.5 four cylinder and then the 3.6 six and it's like 2 different cars. The Boxer 6 is smooth, quiet and effortless. I prefer the conventional 5 spd automatic that comes with the six cylinder, even with the small trade-off in fuel economy. The leather seating is awesome and the drive is secure and peaceful. There's some highway wander over 70mph.

Report Abuse

legacy GT limited

Michael, 03/30/2017
2.5GT Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No one will ever appreciate this car as much as those who drive it in Summer, Winter, Fall and Spring in the Northeast. Last spring major work on engine bearings - Dealership confused by problems but gave us very good discount. Now at 140000 miles running well since bearing work 1 year later A year later still running well. Over 150000 miles still going in 2021

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission tanked after 8yrs

Chris, 02/28/2021
2.5i Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Extremely disappointed with my 2012 legacy. Did all of the scheduled maintenance, purchased brand new. Car lasted 155k miles before transmission issue. Was going to cost 8k to fix, worth more than car. Apparently transmission is an issue with 2010-2014 legacy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Torque converter needs replacement @ 130k miles

Emily, 03/05/2021
2.5i Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Why would anyone buy a automatic transmission these days if your just going to need a new torque converter at a 130,00 miles. Better off buying a manual. Absolute B.S. nice job Subaru 🤬

Report Abuse

"O say can you see MY Legacy"

L. landino, 05/02/2018
2.5i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

PERFECT SHAPE

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Numerous electronic issues

sikacars, 11/04/2019
2.5i Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The car itself is pretty awesome. Drives nice, rides nice, great mpg and very versitale. Rap your head around all of the electronic issues you're going to have. The electronic emergency brake being the worst. You set it and the only way it will release is if you disconnect the battery. Very embarassing when you have other people blocked in. Subaru finally sent a letter they would repair it, 7 years later!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome so far...

joesweetsox, 01/27/2012
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Recently became disenchanted with Honda over a seemingly endless string of mechanical failures on two cars I bought in '06. I traded the Civic in on a Legacy 2.5 Limited mostly because I've never heard anything bad about Subaru, and the 2.5 Limited appeared to get slightly less mileage than the Civic. Now comparing a Civic to a Legacy isn't exactly fair, as they are different classes of car, but the build quality seems to be similar, the CV transmission is a little odd at first but given it's goal is to find the optimum engine rev, not necessarily the quickest it's just something to get used to. I've put about 40 miles on it, and the fuel gauge has yet to budge.

Report Abuse

3rd in the family

mpople, 11/17/2013
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

The third Subaru I have adopted, The first was a 2009 Forester, the second was a 6 cylinder Outback 2012, and now a 2012 Legacy. Yep, I guess we have become a Subaru Family

Report Abuse

False MPG

monkey21, 02/12/2012
2.5i Limited PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
3 of 28 people found this review helpful

I purchased a new 2012 2.5I Limited. I was told the average mpg was 30., this is false. I have put 500 miles on it in the first week. I drive 80 miles a day highway miles to and from work. My average is 23.7 mpg. I would not recommend this car if you are looking for decent to good gas mileage. I live in Denver CO. and thought the AWD would be nice. It is ok but would never have bought if I new the true MPG. I had I 2004 Chevy Impala prior getting 27 mpg. You would think I new car with posted 31 mpg would do better but it does not.

Report Abuse

Loving Legacy

cribley, 09/15/2014
2.5i Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2012 Red Subaru Legacy from Onion Creek Volkswagen in Austin, TX on August 8,2014. I feel in love with the All-wheel drive boxer engine of the Subaru. I also love the package that included the sunroof and power seats with Lumbar support. I do have to say the lumbar support can use more work. I drive 30 mile to work every day. When I get to work and get out the car, I have a pain in my lower back. The hands free blue tooth unit is extremely difficult to set up. I also wish that the Legacy had the same ground clearance as the Outback. I feel that I will be happy with my 2012 Subaru Legacy for years to come.

Report Abuse

subaru is a great car for every day driving

Shirley Kincaid, 03/31/2016
2.5i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fundriver

Lee , 07/04/2019
2.5i Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It honest safe car

Report Abuse

nice grocery getter

old John, 09/17/2020
2.5i Premium PZEV 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice handling car even in bad weather

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050