Used 2003 Subaru Baja Consumer Reviews

List Price
$8,995

Used Baja for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Car I've Owned

John V., 08/20/2015
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I dislike reviews of this vehicle/truck hybrid that say it is limited in functionality. If one needs to haul drywall, then get a truck. The Baja is an amazing vehicle with no problems after 12 years and 90,000 miles. It's fun to drive and looks great. I get offers to buy my car all the time, even though it is not for sale. My wife encouraged me to treat myself to a new car. I won't trade this Subaru in for even a Mercedes. I owned a business for 10+ years and this was the perfect vehicle to take the kids back and forth while hauling boxes and landscaping equipment in the back. The Baja is a collector's car. I own the yellow, which is sporty and fun. Oh yeah, other drivers can't miss seeing it.

Report Abuse

Just wouldnt die

Trent, 02/15/2016
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I had a 2003 baja which I bought at 100,000 miles. Over the next two years, I added on 60,000 miles using it as a commuter car. I bought the car with few mechanical problems, and over the long commutes and two years on an already dated car, I was rather impressed with its reliability. Over the course of those miles, the only repairs were brake pads, rotors, muffler repair, sealing an oil leak and a lower ball joint. I finally trades it in once an O2 sensor failed at 162,000 miles. All in all, pretty respectable considering it is 13 years old in the rust belt. The bed was very useful for moving washers, dryers, beds, etcetera. I got my use out of it. I would buy another if they were still making them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I wish I had your Baja :(

kch5, 12/19/2010
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

90k miles M/T. If only the engine reliability was as great as the ride. Consistent 1Qt oil consumed per 1k miles driven since got at 60k (and I'm assured by Subaru this is normal and not to worry about it, just fill it up every third gas fill up, no problem). Both head gaskets just blew, along with failed battery and failed water thermostat. To repair all problems, we're talking new battery, head gaskets, thermostat, new piston rings or short block replacement=$5500 at dealer (about equal to trade in value), which means good-bye or home rebuild. Heartbroken trying to find a non-Subaru manual AWD replacement.

Report Abuse

versatile communter

Fredd, 09/19/2015
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Engine gaskets and CV boots only real issues over 12 years. I have taken it cross country (Wash to Maine), non turbo struggles up hills at higher altitudes (Idaho, Montana), gearing is great for best gas mileage @ 65 mph, drops considerably when up at 75 mph handles rain or snow with aplomb. Subaru need to update design and make a newer model within the next few years so I can buy my final BAJA

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A serviceable multi purpose stylish truck

Debora in Augusta, 01/22/2017
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I adore this Japanese ElCamino and hope Subaru will make another one soon. . The bed height is perfect for loading wood, groceries, mulch and Christmas trees... and the back seat lies flat for transporting pets. Downside is the quality of the exterior materials...Seems like something is always getting loose or falling off. ... but I can’t wait for my next one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great concept, lacking execution

Dave, 01/08/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

With 40k high speed and around town (yes, Home Depot!) driving, I have fallen out of love with the Baja, but still respect it. Love the versatility and carrying capacity (quite amazing really, with some creativity). Handling at higher speeds is very good after replacement of the awful OEM tires. Fold down seats, bed extension, poke through door into bed, all great with signature AWD. With the base 2.5l, acceleration is by appointment only. Tranny seems confused and gets in its own way. Wind noise has been a consistent problem, even after service that helped, some. And at 40k this has had more "little" failures and issues than seems characteristic of Subaru.

Report Abuse

What a great surprise!

2 Bees, 04/18/2009
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My husband brought his Subaru down to the states from Canada 10 years ago.In South Florida it was an "oddball" to say the least. When we moved to Las Vegas it was in much better company but getting old. While in the dealership for service we watched the Baja's get unloaded, once I saw the yellow one I was hooked! Between the quality and finish I love this car. (No, it's not a truck!) What a blast dashing through the Las Vegas wash in this vehicle, great for off road adventures! I now participate in art festivals and only a minivan will out do this baby. We had a kayak carrier built we love everything about our Baja!

Report Abuse

Great vehicle

AZ, 05/30/2009
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned. 167000 miles and no troubles, do all the maintenance myself. Very easy to change oil, plugs, belts, and fuel and air filters. I have hauled a variety of things - trencher, lumber, eight 5 gallon paint buckets - very versatile vehicle. Feels like a car but has some truck utility. Get average of 27mpg. Drive 6 miles of dirt road every day and it is still holding up - all neighbors have had to replace their cars but my Subaru keeps going and going.

Report Abuse

Excellent vehicle

BajaMan, 07/09/2009
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle as a replacement for my 1994 Jeep Wrangler in December 2002. I was attracted by the fact it was a car and a truck and it's all wheel drive. So far the only major problem was the battery went flat about a year ago for no apparent reason.

Report Abuse

I love my Baja

mcharmon, 10/23/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my Baja. I plan to drive it until the wheels fall off, but from what I hear, that will never happen. My Baja gets good gas mileage, it's sharp looking and it's really fun to drive. Mine is a 5-speed manual, and it will really get up and go. In the mountains, I lock in the cruise at the speed limit and pass everybody else on the road because they can't make it up the mountain, and I go right up as if it were level ground. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

4th time around

UrABus, 12/24/2008
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my 4th Subaru, my 1st was a GL- 10 loaded 5 speed w/4wh pneumatic air lift shocks 22 mpg. I bought one for each of my kids for safety and dependability, and wanted this vehicle since the BRAT hit the street. I'm glad I waited, this is better. 22 mpg. 6 mile commute. 98,000 miles runs like a top. My GL-10 could air lift 3 inches for more ground clearance. A great feature for this one. Air noise, yep, it's a truck not a limo. Shift slock between 15 and 20, yep, but it makes up it own mind. AWD yep, but I'm not so sure about reverse. Maybe that why it has the hooks on the back. Michigan snow,no problem. Gawkers, yep,it's a guy thing. Not a babe magnet. I would buy another one in a minute.

Report Abuse

Head gaskets from hell

Ben G. Jhump, 12/14/2015
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought this 2003 Baja with 105,000 miles on it because of Subaru's supposed reliability. Thought it would be a good car for my college bound kid. Ran fine for 6 months then I got a misfire code that turned out to be scorched exhaust valve (Subaru uses subpar valves according to my regular mechanic, who used to work at a Subaru dealership). $4000 later (at this reputable mechanic) I had new valves, head gaskets, valve cover gaskets, water pump, thermostat, throw out bearing, rear struts (yeah they went bad) and so on and so on. Within 1300 miles after the new head gaskets, started having overheating problem when I had been on the highway about 2 hours. never did it in town. never had overheating problem before all that work. took it to local Subaru dealership and their tests indicated hydrocarbons in the coolant (diagnosis: bad head gaskets), bad turn signal switch assembly. Took it back to original place and they warranted the head gaskets and throw out bearing and flush (including heater core - no blockages and no charge). Got the car back, replaced the turn signal switch assembly and flasher relay just for kicks and ran it up our local mountain pass (highway) for about 45 minutes. Ran great no problems. 1 day later, after driving on the highway for about 2 hours on relatively flat highway, temp gauge crept up to about 3/4. Pulled off and let it cool down before overheat could occur. Time to pull the bandaid off and kick this one to the curb. Do yourself a favor. Avoid subarus. Known cooling problem that causes head gasket failure. If I'd only know before I bought it from that guy....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Bought two of them

AnbAnimal2, 05/30/2009
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

In 2003 I first drove a Baja, liked it so much my son and I each bought one. This car has been a blast, from driving in a Blizzard in Vermont, to the rains of Hurricane Ivan in VA., to the north woods of Canada, the Beaches of Assateaque Island, and through the Rockies in Yellowstone for 5 months. Last year I got 35 mpg in the Rockies and up to 37 mpg on the way back to PA. It still amazes me that people still stop and look at the car. I have the differential cage added, tow package, an alpine stereo system, and a tonneau rear cover, + off Road light bar. This car is one of my favorites, both my son and I refuse to part with them. Mine is red and silver, his the yellow only produced in 2003.

Report Abuse

No one seems to worry about it but me

painshot, 07/17/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I own a 03 Baja. I have an engine knock that just won't go away. I have reported, with every trip to the dealer, and I get the same response, "We know about but there is anything to do about it. It is the way the engine is mounted." Sounds like a lot of BS to me. I also have complained about a damp musty smell, like wet towels left in the sun, and again they cannot find the problem. I plan to sell my Baja ASAP

Report Abuse

Love My Baja!!

yellowblaze, 02/04/2009
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When we wanted to trade our gas sucking Bronco, this was the only option. Car like performance, truck like utility and unique looks combined into one. We've gotten up to 31 mpg highway and average 23-24 mixed city/suburban driving. We're looking for a new "car" now, but our only option is an 06 Baja (since sadly, Subaru discontinued these in 06). We love the Subaru AWD and reliability but won't settle for a station wagon or minivan which is all they really offer now. This was the BEST of all automotive worlds!

Report Abuse

My little Baja

Diana, 09/20/2009
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My little car has averaged 26-28 mph around town and 30-32 traveling. Today it was rear-ended by a large SUV and may well be a total loss. Fortunately the passenger cab was safe though the truck bed was left much shorter and I am fine. The disappointment is that should I have to get another vehicle, it will not be a Baja. I am very attached to my Baja. It has been the best car I have ever owned. I bought the Baja new and have driven nearly 90000 miles. I really have no complaints.

Report Abuse

Great vehicle to own

Mary Colletti, 03/09/2010
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For the most part I have had a lot of fun with this vehicle. People stop me and ask if its a car or a truck. It has had a few problems lately but for the most part it has been a reliable vehicle and I would buy a Subaru definitely again. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Report Abuse

2003 Subaru Baja Sport

doug madden, 09/17/2010
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am 6'1" and 225 lbs. I found the vehicle to be above ave. in room, ride and road noise. It performs beautifully at highway speeds and in curves, and has plenty of pep from 0- 60 mph. It hauls the 1/4 ton payload with ease and the bed extender allows for needed space to haul multiple appliances or building materials especially with the pass through design in the crew cab. It seats 4 mature adults with comfort and all controls are easy to reach for the driver. My Baja is a stick shift 5 speed and use it in my home rental business and as a toad for my motor-home. I have never owned a vehicle that I have received some many compliments and requests for information and viewings. I will own another one!

Report Abuse

Japanese made had better quality

illanrob, 02/27/2003
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My third Subaru a Baja auto has atrocious piston slap after 2kmi. Serviced twice to resolve the loud engine tapping noise during the first 7 min of driving: the timing belt tensioner was replaced 1st, adjusted a 2nd visit. Neither repair worked. Another Subaru dealer mechanic says engine is not normal it needs further investigation. Area Rep Ed Luksic (Georgia Alabama), came drove it and says that it is normal, not a problem, they all have the same condition, his own Baja does the same thing, should last 130kmi or so. The area Rep would have some concern if I can prove that only ONE cyl is causing the problem. Otherwise NO!

Report Abuse

best "car" so far!!

zpsbob, 10/27/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Needed to replace one of our company vehicles.. needed pickup function and ability to handle 4 real adults. This little guy does it all!! Not many choices in this category... Avalanche is too big/expensive/gas hog... Explorer Sport Trac is ugly as sin, thirsy also, plus didn't care for the ride. This vehicle is loaded as standard eq: power windows, locks, cruise ,tilt, air, CD, sunroof, etc. I opted for the Sprot because I didn't want the standard leather seats (personal preference) and the cloth seats are excellent on long trips!! Look hard and find one with monotone paint... they're out there...

Report Abuse

Awesome

ATLMIKIE, 04/09/2005
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my Baja for almost 2 years I still love driving it. It still turns heads and gets compliments. I have had more people sit in it and ask about features than any other vehicle I have owned. I have a small pop up camper which the Baja pulls with no problems. I love the ride.

Report Abuse

Nicks Baja

Nickb, 11/08/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent traction on wet roads. Can't wait to test in Winter. Could use more power. But once moving feels spirited when need to passing.

Report Abuse

My Black Beauty Baja

DanV, 11/27/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Went to the dealership to test drive, fell in love! I can take street corners at 40 mph and the car will not vear! I love it! Wish that it had more power though. I get a lot of comments wherever I go. I was a little disapointed about the soft top that covers the bed. When it rains, water pools on top and it is difficult to get in the bed area without getting the bed wet, exp important since I do a lot of traveling and need dry clothes. Disapointed that no hard cover was an option. Was also disapointed that the corners of the soft cover are tearing, but is covered under the warranty.

Report Abuse

love it

angiono, 11/30/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it has plenty of pep gets out of its own way, great on fuel, just missing heated seats, easy for a women to drive and get in and out of and you can store a ton in the cargo area.

Report Abuse

Still disappointed after 2 years

Disappointed in De, 05/27/2005
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

From the day, I drove it off the lot, it has had squeaks. I have had it in four times and the dealer has never been able to make any improvements. Driver's area is cramped.

Report Abuse

Best Purchase Yet

PhotoBear, 11/23/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Baja Sport is one awesome car/truck. Comfort, hauling capability, and AWD safety at a very affordable price.

Report Abuse

03 baja

daskmjeg, 12/09/2003
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first reaction to the Baja as "get a real truck...one that you can acutally do something with". I ended up looking at this vehicle by accident. Once I was how versitile it was, I fell in love with it. The switchback is great to get lumber and such in the vehicle. With the bed extender and the tailgate that supports 700 lbs., there is little I can't do with it! The subaru awd system is incredible. the baja hugs all the mountainous winding roads. The ride is smooth over bumpy roads; more so than any domestic car i have travelled it. The baja is well constructed. No squeaks or rattles. I would buy another in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Fun and Practical

DanInSanDiego, 01/12/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lots of fun, great for hauling my wet stuff, and good gas mileage. AWD is great for snow and mud, and the baja is an excellent daily driver. Lots of compliments from random people when they see it.

Report Abuse

Owner, Driver

frontierman, 07/15/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It is agreat little sport UV. Great gas mileage ,excellent ride and handling. Brakes are excellent, reliability is superior to most vehicles.

Report Abuse

My favorite car so far!

G. Martin, 07/24/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Baja has been very reliable so far. I have put many miles on it in my first year of owning it, due greatly to how fun it is to drive. It gets good gas mileage. So far the only thing I wasn't able to haul in it were sheets of 4x8 plywood. This vehicle was exactly what I wanted, the functionality of a truck with the feel of a car.

Report Abuse

Swiss Army Knife of vehicles

D J Smith, 07/26/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had my Baja for about 5 months, so far it has been perfect, no problems at all. I have the non-Turbo four cylinder which I am very happy with. The gas mileage is better than I expected, acceleration is fine. The best feature of the Baja is it's versatility. True, it doesn't have a full-size pick-up bed but with the extender I haven't missed that. I really like the fact that I can move my kids home from college, have the bed packed full, and still have room for 4 people. Intially I didn't like the two-tone color scheme (red and silver) but now that I have had it for awhile I love it.

Report Abuse

whatever

import NO-WAY, 08/21/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best multi-purpose vehicle out there. Wife and kids love the open bed. Car comfort and truly a road hugging machine. Sporty and nimble

Report Abuse

Fun car, turns heads

Thomas, 12/07/2004
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For a young single homeowner living in Minnesota, there isn't a better car in the world! It turns heads, it hauls lumber home and most furniture, and it seats four confortably. Rear passengers will complain about leg room. All wheel drive makes the car a lot of fun to drive on dry pavement, and easy to handle on ice and snow. Everything inthe truck feels solid - the doors, the tailgate, interior parts. However, I docked my truck a few points for reliability because I am having problems with clutch judder. Would like more power but with a stick it's acceptable.

Report Abuse

My Mom Loves my car

Donna, 03/25/2005
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Mom and Dad says it is the best riding truck. Everyone is suprised the first time they ride in it. Itdoesn't ride like a truck at all and the gas mileage is great. People are always asking what kind of vehicle it is. It is the perfect vehicle for someone like me that needs a truck sometimes and a car at other times.

Report Abuse

Excellent Vehicle!

jdaniel, 04/24/2005
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wanted a crew cab truck. After much research I decided on the Baja because EVERYTHING about it is better than a truck other than the smaller bed. Like the majority of people who own a truck, the bed is not used for work but rather for weekend purchases, garage sales, and trips to the home improvement stores. The Baja does just fine, gets better gas mileage, and as a used vehicle, it is a superb value. This vehicle handles like a sports car, came standard with leather, auto, power everything including sunroof; and it comes with an AWD system and engine that have been time tested and proved reliable.

Report Abuse

Most versatile daily driver yet!

yellowblaze, 09/17/2005
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

From off road trails to long road trips to trips to the home improvement store, our Baja has proven itself to be the best bang for the buck out there. In less than 12 months it's gone from 2,800 miles at purchase to over 22,000 miles currently. It's brought home siding, landscaping, parts for another car. It took a Mustang hood from NY to FL in March - it fit right into the bed. It did great on that trip as far as gas mileage, comfort and driveability. It's gone down countless "seasonal use highways" - which range from dirt roads to little more than two ruts in the dirt - and handled them with ease (although more ground clearance would be nice). All around, this is the best truck out there!

Report Abuse

My Baja

ChopsJG, 01/26/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car for fun and family.

Report Abuse

El Camino to Baja

bruce nole, 02/16/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After owning a 1985 Chevrolet el Camino with over 450,000 miles, I agreed to sell it to a private party because I knew I replace it with a new Baja. No need to wait for a Turbo model to come out. Not a sports car ... not an off road 4x4 ... but I can get from place to place, good roads and bad in remarkable time. 1st set of tires 78,000 miles. Shocks replaced and clutch. Carries more then you would think it does. Smooth highway driver. Absolutely invisible on the road allowing remarkably low travel time and exceptional mileage ... 25 mpg if I am really moving and can get 30ish within 5 mph of speed limit with cruise control. Any other 4 door pickup do that? I don't think so.

Report Abuse

Great All Around Vehicle

C.Sutton, 02/20/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great performance, very reliable. No work other than normal maintenance and I'm at around 40,000 miles. Love the truck bed for garden supplies, small lumber purchases. Live in a rural area and no problems with snow, ice or mud on our 1/2 mile driveway. It gets in and out just as well as my husband's full size 4WD Chevy truck.

Report Abuse

A great Suby

MikeeB, 02/27/2008
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great vehicle. Has never been to the dealer since I purchased it for repairs, I do all the regular stuff to it. Carries all my stuff, tows my ATV, is very comfortable to drive. Good mileage for AWD, I average about 24 mpg, and high 20s on the highway. This is my first Subaru, and I will definitely look for another one when it is time to replace the Baja. Build quality is outstanding, with no weird noises or issues like many other cars. It is very comfortable to drive for long distances, I now have 113,000 miles on it, and will try to go for at least 300,000 before I replace it.

Report Abuse

Almost 3 years later, and still love it!

NoVa Baja, 08/10/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Been by far the best car/truck I have ever owned. For me there is enough power, even here in the DC area. Even 3 years later people ask about it when in parking lots. My MPG has been as low as 18 commuting city streets, with 22 commuting on combined city/hwy, and 29 hwy (a high of 31 hwy on a long flat stretch at 60mph). Looked at the Ford SporTrac, so glad that I skipped it for the Baja. A better fit for the real world IMO. Was able to handled some very rutted roads to a cabin in the Smokys very well.

Report Abuse

Love the Baja

Glenn n' Tom, 11/24/2006
Sport AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We fell in love with the car/truck the 1st time we saw it @ the Philly flower show 2001.The yellow paint sticks out every where we go, yellow was our 1st choice. We love its styling, it's comfortable, it's certainly not a car you see very often...like the RAV4. The vehicle is on the louder side with the frameless windows and AWD tires. Versatility...great for Home Depot during the day and dinning @ night. We seem to do about 28 hwy/24 city non turbo. Rearward visibility could be better; the c pillars generate a huge blind spot, as well as the rear headrests are non-movable.

Report Abuse

Except for the AWD a poor winter car.

PLP, 03/16/2008
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

As far as winter driving goes: the wells below the wipers collect some serious snow & ice that will hamper the wipers if you don't clear it completely. Opening the door in winter deposits a nice clump of snow on your drivers seat. The passenger side of the front windshield will not clear completely in extreme cold weather. There isn't much space between the tire and mudflaps - the tires rub against the collected snow in winter and you can feel/hear the rubbing when you turn the wheel. The roof is hard to clear of snow but if you don't completely clear it you get an avalanche of snow that almost rips your wipers after it warms up and you put the brakes on. The biggest problem is hesitation.

Report Abuse

The little cruck that could :)

CSTS, 08/25/2019
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Alright let's keep this brief, because I doubt anyone wants to read a 10 page essay about why the baja is so cool! I've owned my Baja for over 3 years now, I am the third owner and have put just over 50k on the clock. Its sitting at 210k now and still runs strong. I've driven through everything from 6 feet of snow and ice to 100°+ of dry desert. Never once have I had an issue that I can think of. This thing is extremely reliable, if you are willing to take care of it. However that doesn't mean its perfect I have a few complaints with it. Mainly the engine is underpowered, the Auto transmission never knows what gear it wants to be in and the cabin space is cramped if you're over 5'10" like myself. Other then that the rear squats a lot under heavy load (500+ lbs or so, I installed overload springs to counter that). Overall if you dont need a regular pickup on a daily basis or just want a reliable and versatile vehicle that has good mpg then this is an excellent option. Assuming you can find one for a reasonable price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buy Only If You Plan To Keep It!

TURBO9956, 04/07/2005
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Squeaks and rattles seem to be the norm. My automatic transmission has never shifted right - it's slow to do everything (my dealer says it's normal). The engine clicks and rattles - again, "normal". So, I decide that I will trade it -nope. I almost passed out when I received my offer. Tried to sell it, nobody wants it. I received a "guaranteed trade value" from Subaru HA! they don't even want it back. The back seat is a joke.

Report Abuse

Awsome

Dr Car, 09/13/2002
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best Truck as far as fun goes

Report Abuse

Great car at an affordable price

mr suby, 09/29/2002
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle which allows the versitility of a truck with better gas mileage, more creature comforts and standard all wheel drive and Subaru's infamous safety ratings. It was a Baja vs a Tacoma Doublecab or Frontier Crewcab, styling, standard features with all wheel drive, creature comforts and gas mileage mad this one a no brainer!

Report Abuse

Best of both worlds

echristm, 10/30/2002
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Subaru has given the consumer the best of both worlds in the new Baja. I can comfortable drive 3 friends around town while hauling something that would not fit in an ordinary car. The mileage is great - 27 mi/gal. The 5 speed is smooth and the Baja drives real tight.

Report Abuse

BRAT Returns

rick byrd, 11/02/2002
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had to get used to the sometimes stodgy clutch, but, outside of this, driving is a blast, with surprising power in fourth if you want to test the rpm's. I've had some SUV fans tell me that AWD is not good for off-road, but haven't had a chance to test this yet.

Report Abuse

After one month...

Clark Savage, 10/29/2002
AWD 4dr Crew Cab (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Another fine vehicle from Subaru! The exterior styling is a bit "over the top" for me, but it gets plenty of looks and comments. The interior is well-designed and comfortable. A better stereo option would have been nice--guess I'll go with an aftermarket. I took it out on some Forest Service and Wildlife Refuge roads and it drove superbly! Ended the day by rescuing a stranded family of SIX on the expressway and drove them over the pass--acceleration was no problem, but it was certainly cramped.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050