Used 2013 Lexus RX 450h Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$17,246 - $22,944

Used RX 450h for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2013 RX 450h vs 2006 RX400h

pcwlexus, 05/15/2013
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
52 of 52 people found this review helpful

I purchased a new 2013 RX450h after having the original RX400h since April 2005. Since it's been 7 model years of advancements I expected the new 450h to be more technically advanced then my 400h (it truly is), but I am amazed how much better it is overall. The 2013 handles much better, is quieter, and the transitions from no engine to having the engine cut on are not noticeable like they were on the 400h; especially at traffic lights. The 2013 feels much more substantial and you really don't hear the road noise or the loud engine go-cart like sounds that I could hear when I accelerated with the 400h.

Report Abuse

AWESOME Lexus 450h

VKey, 11/02/2017
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2013 Lexus RX 450h used. We purchased it in September of 2017 with only 26,000 miles on it. I average 28-30 mpg in City and about 27-29 HWY. We live on a very busy highway and there are times you have to really 'gun" it it get in the road because of all the traffic. This was my concern that there wouldn't be enough power on demand when I needed it. NO PROBLEM ... squealed tires not thinking it would get down. Even though I have only owned this SUV for about 6 weeks, I am not disappointed in performance, looks or comfort. I feel that we got our money's worth and would most definitely purchase again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

All around outstanding mid size SUV

sgull, 02/17/2013
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

Had a Highlander, drove that and the rx350 and Rx450, the rx 450 beat the others. It's extremely quiet, powerful, luxurious, outstanding build quality and we think very nice looking. It takes getting used to a hybrid in day to day driving, as it doesn't jump off the line unless you want it to. It's almost a game seeing how good of mileage you can get. We are getting at least 28 mph in city driving. We intend to keep this vehicle at least 8 years, and gas is not going to get cheaper so it will pay for us in the long run. The ride on the 450 is smoother than the 350 due to the extra weight of the batteries. We have had zero problems or defects in the 7k plus miles we have driven.

Report Abuse

The comfortable tireless driving experience

NateJG, 01/06/2017
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Let's get to the elephant in the room first: I logged 27.4 MPG for my first 50,000 miles of driving. That's not even close to the EPA's estimate (and my first car in which I couldn't best the EPA's estimates). Add that to the requirement of Premium grade fuel, and the expected savings (based upon fuel cost savings) for me, won't happen. That off the table, I find that 10-hour-per-day 2-days back-to-back leave me rested and ready to go! The car is pleasingly quick and reasonably quiet; and, at least within the RX line at the time of purchase, the best safety features were reserved for the Hybrid. Stop and go traffic snarls are almost entertaining, in that the MPG goes UP while inching along; and the engine being stopped means lower heat cooking under-hood parts. The electric air conditioning is always perfect. My AWD's snow prowess is stellar and just short of unbelievable. Solicited update from Edmunds on 1/7/2020: I now have 96K miles on it — and nothing above needs any amplification or deletion. It’s a supremely satisfying car. I usually drive it in Normal mode - but when using “Economy” mode - and can reach 29+ MPG (air conditioning off) IF road and traffic permits keeping speeds under 55 MPH. I reset the MPG once per month, and I’ve found that the onboard MPG report is spot-on. One significant complaint: I'm on my third OEM 12 V battery - and I cannot count on the car starting after 2~3 weeks of non-use (as in parked while on a cruise) because the 12 Volt battery dies. The most recent occurrence caused the key fob(s) to become “unregistered” and required the magic touch of an informed tow truck driver (hint: on my 2013 model, one must push the Start button USING THE KEY FOB to “re-register” the fob to the vehicle. Try finding THAT tidbit in the user manual when you’re fuming over the fact that your Lexus is dead - Again!) 7/7/2020 - Edmunds asked for an update - I’ve re-read the above, and I still agree with it. I love this car - however it is the last car that I will intentionally buy that requires Premium Fuel. 1/9/2021 - another Edmunds-requested update: 101K miles - the above is still valid. Brake pads were reported to be more than 2/3 life remaining at last oil change (I change oil at 5K intervals, and front/rear motor/transmission fluid at 35K intervals — will change again at 105K). I have no plans to offload the car. 7/11/21 Another Edmunds requested review: My local dealership sent an unsolicited offer to buy my car for only $15K - and I plan to use/enjoy it for at least another two to four years (it's that loved).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Joy Every Day

John Urice, 04/18/2016
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

My biggest gripe about this car is that when Lexus redesign this year it omitted the sunglasses holder. That's about it for complaints. I have just under 40K on it and it NEVER been to the dealer for any kind of repair or warranty work. I have only had routine 5K and 10K maintenance. The OEM tires are NOT great in snow and ice, but I bought a set of modestly priced winter tires on rims so once in "Hybrid Snow" mode, it drives great in all kinds of weather. It is about as comfortable as one can get under $100K. I love it. Update, October, 2016: For a variety of reasons, I sold my Lexus privately. My primary reason was my age. I recognize, which some of my peers do not, that my vision and reflexes are slowly declining. I have driven 54 years without a chargeable accident, and wanted to keep it that way. So I sold my Lexus to a friend at the top end of the "private sale" range to buy a car with auto-stop and other safety features. I still loved the Lexus and happily recommend to others. I considered a new one, but was simply put off by the new "aggressive" styling on the exterior and the lack of a harmonious design in the cockpit.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page: