Used 2017 GMC Terrain Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$14,884 - $27,988

Used Terrain for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best car I ever owned - this is my second one!!

Ingrid, 12/21/2016
SLE-2 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
94 of 98 people found this review helpful

The Terrain not only stands out for it's looks, but it drives great, is dependable, comfortable, offers great features, and is decent on gas. I loved my first one so much that I got a new one. I did look at a few other vehicles, but none in the same class even compare. I have owned almost every make of car out there and the GMC Terrain has been the only one I ever considered owning a second time around!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1st Terrain - could not be happier

Southern Newhampshire, 04/26/2017
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Chose the SLT AWD with V6 3.6L option. Leather and everything but driver memory feature. Extremely comfortable to drive, V6 has great response. Only observation is down-shifting when coasting around corner then up-hill; seems to hard shift but learned to work the pedal differently.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

HOT IN THE BACK SEAT!

Betty, 07/10/2017
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

No air vents in the back seat. You have to freeze in the front in order for the back seat to have air. HOT HOT HOT...IT IS AN SLT. ITS NOT THE CHEAPEST TERRAIN. BUT IS IS HOT IN THE BACK.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GMC Terrain is a good ca

CD, 02/18/2018
SLT 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

Leasing my 2nd terrain and I love my car. Road noise is a problem could be much better. Seats could be softer. Tires might hydroplane on wet roads a little. If GMC upped the quality a little it would be perfect. Gas mileage around 26mpg. Engine not gutsy enough on pick up. Love my car. Don't think any car is perfect

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Oil burner! Avoid!

Mastertech, 06/11/2017
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
77 of 90 people found this review helpful

2.4L Ecotec engine consumed 3 quarts of oil in the first 3600 miles! Oil minder read 87% life, yet when I checked the dipstick before a trip it read no oil. Added 1 quart still no reading, added 2nd quart, still no reading, added 3rd quart, dipstick read 1/2 to full line. Engine requires full synthetic "Dexos" spec 5w-30 motor oil. GM has known of the issue with oil consumption of this engine for many years, has issued a Technical Service Bulletin requesting dealers to document excessive oil consumption, then authorizes installation of new pistons and rings. 2011 documented as worst model year. Uninformed owners running the engine low on oil are not warned of the deficiency, the engines timing chains and guides fail, the lack of lubrication takes its toll on bearings and parts depending on sufficient oil to cool and lubricate them. Engines can fail or seize creating a significant safety hazard. Internet search this issue, many horror stories. If failure occurs out of warranty or you are the second owner you are on your own...Where is the outrage?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

0 to 60 in a week

lauren billagio, 09/01/2017
SLE-2 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 30 people found this review helpful

Buy a six cylinder. This is a bad ass looking vehicle but the four cylinder doesn't cut it. When merging onto the freeway and pressing the gas pedal firmly it makes all of the right sounds but doesn't actually do anything. I am disappointed in that. The test drive was in a semi-congested city setting where pep doesn't matter so it was wasn't noticed. It also has a fairly wide turning radius which surprised me. I traded a Honda Pilot in for this Terrain. The Pilot was much larger but had a smaller turning radius. As much as I like the looks of this car I rate drivability low. The interior is appointed fairly well and everything is easy to work but the lack of pep distracts from that. The seat are comfortable on long rides. It is a great vehicle for driving around town but isn't really a joy on the freeway.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

Nice little suv

The Finisher, 03/21/2018
SLE-1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

We got this suv to drive our grandson in a car seat. It was roomy and comfortable at a good price. I liked backup camera but I thought it lacked a little power. We only had it for a year and we only drove 4,000 miles, then traded it in. I liked the body style. It was a nice little suv.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best vehicle in its class.

Nate Leasure, 10/16/2018
SLE-2 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have the V6 version, which Edmunds seems to be denying the existence thereof. It is something of a necessity. Now I have a neighbor who has the new model with the woeful 2.0 liter 4 cylinder, in an SUV that tips the scales at just under 2 tonnes, yeah right. We did a friendly little drag race on a deserted road, 1/4 mile. I not only beat him to the other side, I could have ordered a pizza in the meantime. There is a reason why they kept saying bigger isn't always better in the adverts (GMC makes 20 ft long trucks), it is pathedic. Now back to the good one. I once drove this on a mountain road in northern Arizona, it reminded me alot of the Golf GTI with it's quick revs and steering responsiveness. Bearing in mind it has awd, 301 bhp and is a bit bigger and higher off the ground. It is only let down by it's diminutive gearbox which is unmodified from the standard car which has roughly 100 less hp and +-80 less torques. The gear ratios are far too close together in 1-3 for this power and you will be switching between 4 and 5 like a teenage girl changes shoes on prom night, 6 is good though, long torque band and silky. With that being said if the gearbox was borrowed from the Camero, where the engine came off, it would be roughly a second faster to 60 and have another 10 mph to play with. Then your talking more about a BMW 3 series in terms of performance. Now how about the way we would enjoy this power and manuverabilty. This would likely be a family car and would have to spend the majority of its life on the school run and going to the store and back. As such it can't have a jaring ride or no space, or sound like you are under machine gun fire on the highway, alot like that 3 series. It is quite easy to live with everyday. The ride is subtle yet resosive, I can read the road with my tires but it doesn't break my back. There is enough room in the back to take a dog for a walk so it should hold your 2.3 children nicely. And if you fold down the seats, which can be done with one hand, there is enough room for a sizable pool sand filter. As far as noise level, it is rather well insulated, even into triple digits there is little in the way of vibration or road noise, the aggga from under the bonnet (it is not a hood!) on the other hand is not operatic but has a few good notes in its vocal range. If you get the interior in white, it is a rather pleasent place to be. Yes the tech is a bit dated and if you are short reaching the satnav screen can be a challenge. But on the whole, it is good enough. It doesn't wow you with tech but we're not asking it to be mission control now are we. We want it to tell us where we are, play our music, let us talk to our friends and tell us how soon we are going to back into the curb behind us. It does all that, what more do you need? Bottom line, it looks good, goes faster than anything else in its class, can carry a family, and is reliable as a wood burning stove. At the beginning of the Edmunds article, the author wondered why it was so popular after 8 years running, well, read above. There aren't many of these left at the time of this writing, if you see one new still lingering in a dealer, buy it just buy it you won't be disappointed, unlike if you bought the new model. Seriously GM, if it ain't broke don't fix it!

Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

End of Season Terrain

Lou D, 09/11/2017
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

The extremely aggressive rebates that applied to this 2017 model totaled almost $6000, lowering the purchase price significantly, about 20% off sticker. While not an option listed above, this was a 6-cyl SLT. After a test drive, the 4-cyl just didn't have the power needed for this truck. To put it plainly, the 6- cyl eats gas. The fuel mileage is so bad you'd think you were driving an 8-cyl. The other complaint is that the center console controls are a bit of a stretch, the nav system could be simpler to operate and the only USB port is buried in the center console. Also, as soon as you plug into the USB, the audio source changes, which stinks if you don't want it to. The source also changes on its own the first time you change it back to where you want it. This is very annoying, but my daughter's Chevy Cruze does the same thing, so it must be a GM thing. Besides issues, the truck has power, room (especially headroom), is comfortable, has good cargo space, and a generally sweet interior. It's a great ride, and we're very happy with the deal received, but maybe a little less so than when we left to the ​showroom.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very disappointed in the GMC Terraine

Dean Gould, 01/19/2018
SLE-1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
24 of 33 people found this review helpful

I changed jobs and needed a car fairly fast. I saw this car on the lot in what appeared to be a good deal, $23,000. By the time I was out of there, my loan was $28,000. For $28,000, I could have gotten a great Honda or Toyota but I wanted to buy American. There are some great American cars out there but not this one. My fault for rushing. One of the reasons I liked it was the exterior design. I like the tough front end which looks like a truck front end. The 2018 looks like every other mid-size SUV. Bad mistake on GMC's part to change the styling. Here are my problems: 1) it sounds like a tin-can when you close the doors. A little injection fill of some sort should have fixed that. 2) biggest problem is the seats are tilted up ever so slightly (bottom portion) so it is causing major pain in my right leg (probably sciatica) I've spent hours trying to get just the right position and nothing works. It lifts your leg just enough to be uncomfortable. I looked on line and others have the same problem. I called GMC about them adjusting it somehow mechanically and no one really cares. Not possible. So I had to buy a tacky seat cushon and I'm hoping that works. You better make sure the 2018 models don't have that slant. I was in my buddy's Honda truck this weekend. Ahhhhh. The pain resided. 3) the salesman told me the radio was the latest technology; that I could play my iphone through the radio, pandora, etc. I spent hours trying to figure it out. I called 2 dealers, I called the technical hotline. I stopped in a dealer twice. No one could help me get it working. I was told by the technical line that my model, S1 radio does NOT have that option. To replace radio would be $1500 or more. Finally after wasting all that time, I found a special adaptor that allows me to play pandora, etc. through the car radio. How could no one know that. Meanwhile, its a great big hassle because I can't charge my iphone and use this adapter at the same time and there is NO other adapter that works. 3) the headliner is like paper. it has ripped in 3 places and the dealer won't fix it even though I have the "interior" warranty. What a joke. I've owned and driven company cars for 40 years; at least 20 different cars and only a used Grand Prix in about 1983 had a torn headliner and it was probably already 10 years old. 4) The seat covers are cheap looking and it ruins the overall interior design of the car. The little holes in the fabric catch food and other things. 5) I'd trade the car in tomorrow but it appears in just nine months, I'd already lose over $10,000. Its KBB is $17,153 so I'm stuck with this lunch box for a long time. What a joke.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050