Used 2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,877 - $5,746

Used Silverado 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...29

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best truck going

lwh2211, 10/12/2020
4dr Extended Cab LT Rwd LB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 2004 Chevy Silverado LT extended cab 4 door and this has been the best truck I've ever owned. It's 16 years old, and rides and drives like a new one. It does have 214,000 miles on it and it's perfect. I have owned a few Cadillacs before but this truck has more luxuries in it than any of the Cadillacs I've had in the past. With a 5.3 Vortec V-8 it has plenty of power to pull a trailer, the engine is quiet, smooth, and runs clean. The interior: leather seats, heated both sides, electric, A/C, heat, Sirius XM radio, Bose system, heated mirrors, fold in mirrors, On Star, automatic light mirrors, signals on the mirrors, it's easy to work on. All around excellent truck to own. I HIGHLY recommend this truck!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

chevy man

leroy Arnold, 07/02/2017
2dr Regular Cab LS Rwd SB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Maintain your cars

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bad Drivetrain with No Factory Support

badtruck, 12/01/2003
4dr Extended Cab LS 4WD SB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

After 6000 miles the drivetrain started clunking loudly any time I drive backwards (in reverse). The clunk does not occur when I shift to reverse but clunks when I accelarate faster than normal. The clunk also occurs frequently when I accelarate hard and then let off the throttle. It sometimes occurs on 1st to 2nd upshifts or downshifts. I can feel the clunk in the floor and passengers ask me about it. This problem takes all of the joy out of owning this new truck. The dealer did the transmission reprogramming which did not correct the problem and they told me that I have to live with the problem. Many other owners are having the same problem.

Report Abuse

lemon

todd vernon, 12/04/2003
4dr Extended Cab Z71 4WD SB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

i got this truck to replace my 2000 lt silv. z71 and in the 5 months i've had my 03 its been one biiiiig headache its been at the service center as much as its been in my garage.

Report Abuse

Junk Lemon

William Wamhoff, 04/08/2004
2dr Regular Cab Work Truck Rwd LB (4.3L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

111 miles took to dealer.Vehicle shakes in seat,no power,hard to stop,hard to get in 1st gear,hard to get out of 5th gear,truck whines when accelerating in 1st gear,rough idle,clicking noise from engine atidle,shift light comes on all the time,if you shifted by light you would be going 35mph in 5th gear,driveline clunks when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear.Dealer states nothing wrong with truck.DRIVES LIKE NEW.

Report Abuse

Buyer beware!

Carnie, 10/04/2007
4dr Extended Cab LT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck brand new off the lot. 3 1/2 years old and the cylinder head is faulty. $2000+ repair that GM has admitted they knew these cylinder heads were faulty, but they won't step up and help defray repair costs. Truck is starting to rust already and we've had the steering column replaced 2 times so far! I thought Chevy's were built to last?

Report Abuse

2004 Z-71 Crew Cab

nomorechevy, 02/20/2006
4dr Crew Cab Z71 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Have had the truck at the dealership for a total of 15 days. We are on the 3rd steering shaft; it drives like a golf cart. Makes a popping noise when turning but only if it's over 70 degrees outside. Steering wheel squeaks when the turn signal is on.

Report Abuse

this truck

pimprod, 10/08/2004
4dr Extended Cab SS AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

this truck is kind of fats but it could use some more horespower it is down on the competion it needs a supercharger and it need not to be a awd truck

Report Abuse

Silverado SS

Maverikx99, 01/04/2009
4dr Extended Cab SS AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The truck is definitely fun to drive and has lots of power. Drawbacks are terrible gas mileage (and premium) and noises from the AWD caused by bad assembly of the carrier.

Report Abuse

Silverado is PERFECT

mountaineer11, 10/22/2003
4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The new Chevrolet Silverado's are among the most perfect truck on the planet. It's extremely fun to drive, and is the most reliable well built vehicle ever made. The K1500 is very powerful and very stylish. Ford nor Dodge have nothing on this line of trucks. No other even comes close.

Report Abuse
12345...29
Items per page:
51050