Used 2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,886 - $5,765

Used Silverado 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...29

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

My first and last pickup...great!

Cliff Lawrence, 11/25/2018
4dr Extended Cab Work Truck Rwd LB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It's a great truck. Im 6ft 9in, 290, so room and extended cab is perfect. I got it with 166,000. And excellent condition. Well cared for. Came with worn out radio but I was going to replace anyway. I wanted a toy so Gibson headers and dual exhaust. Then cold air filter and WOW! it'll fly, and sounding good also. I rebuilt front end and new brakes but really premature. Nothing was wrong. I wanted a little more HP (no reason, just for fun), but mechanics said any more HP I'll probably need a upgrade transmission, but no problem now. All the upgrades increased gas mileage!!! Who knew. I've taken on new Ford trucks and 5.0 cars. They can't keep up. I want a Bully Dog tuner. Any suggestions?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

chevys

wildmechanic69, 04/28/2004
4dr Extended Cab Work Truck Rwd LB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

the truck will pull but has hesitation off idle and when going down the road in passing gear @80 it sounds like lifters rattleing,holds weight pretty good though,if i had it to do over agin i wouldnt buy this over rated over priced vehicle again

Report Abuse

Dependable

dependable, 09/30/2010
4dr Extended Cab Z71 4WD LB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used. This truck has gone through hell and back. I have never had any major problems with it. Great truck for the northeast and the snow. For a truck it is not bad on gas. I get 16 in the city and up to 23 on the highway.

Report Abuse

poor quality.

Marge, 02/15/2016
2dr Regular Cab Work Truck Rwd SB (4.3L 6cyl 5M)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

Truck is not up to my standard for only having 107000 miles its being repaired to often. Traded in for a Ford!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

one fast SS 1500

jimbwi139, 07/17/2003
4dr Extended Cab SS AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this truck is great. handling is outstanding. fuel milage is a about 14.5 city 16.5 highway. having a great time driving the truck. im 36 years old and the young guys break their necks look at the outstanding black paint. had alot of great comments on the truck. looking forward to many years of fun

Report Abuse

It Can't Get Better Than This!

Craw Daddy, 08/20/2003
4dr Extended Cab Work Truck Rwd LB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck is a dream come true. It handles like a Caddy and gets about the same mileage as one. It is comfortable and it is good looking. That's all one man can ask for.

Report Abuse

gmproductalert

BD, 09/04/2003
2dr Regular Cab LS Rwd LB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

forward sprague gear failed at 54000mi,replaced transmision,$2280 cost.manufacturer refused financial assistance.this trans is too light for the vehichleit is in.GM has been aware of this for years and continues to use it.

Report Abuse

Poorly built truck

Sean 2003, 12/10/2003
2dr Regular Cab Rwd LB (4.3L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this truck in the the shop 11 times. All for warranty issues. The service department has been excellant but the dealership has been awful to deal with.I suggest going to another company for a vechicle. Chevy hit there all time low on this one

Report Abuse

1500 SS

chris delano, 04/15/2004
4dr Extended Cab SS AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

fast and smooth good handleing nice look eye turner powerful with fast reaction time

Report Abuse

worktruck

brewbrother, 06/19/2004
2dr Regular Cab Work Truck Rwd SB (4.3L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Recently purchased a 2004 Silverado worktruck package. I use it for outside sales. Comfortable to drive. Im averaging 23 mpg which I consider good for a full size truck. The v-6 has good performance and great acceleration from 3 gear through 5.First seems to be geared a little low for avewrage driving. second is wound out at 40mph. Interior is roomy and instruments and controls are always at hand. Its quite a bit better than the dodge dakota I traded.

Report Abuse
12345...29
Items per page:
51050