Used 2017 Chevrolet Cruze Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,675 - $20,500

Used Cruze for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Pleasantly surprised!

Scott in Illinois, 06/07/2017
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
74 of 77 people found this review helpful

I got my GM Certified Pre-Owned 2017 Cruze Premier with only 15k miles on it. I went with the intention of buying a Malibu, but after driving the Cruze I was so pleasantly surprised, I bought it instead of the Malibu. I have only put on a little over 1000 miles in the few weeks I've owned it, but it has not disappointed. I drive 100+ miles round trip 2-3 days per week for work, through moderate rush hour traffic (so no using cruise control, and some slow downs and stop-and-go traffic), and the seat comfort and ride quality have been great. I wish in the Premier at least there was adjustable lumbar support, but the seats are plenty comfortable anyway, so no big deal. The Bluetooth, Android Auto, SiriusXM, voice recognition, etc, all work flawlessly without any hiccups. Climate controls are simple to use. Performance wise, I'm not sure what the deal is with Edmund's review. Most other review sites put the 0-60 around 8.0 seconds, some even under 8.0 seconds. I would agree with those test results. The 1.4L turbo has plenty of pep. Merging and passing on the freeway is easy. Plenty of instant torque down low in the RPM's. I had driven a 2016 2.0L Mazda 3i before buying the Cruze, and in daily driving, the Cruze is way more peppy. The Mazda had to get the revs up before it had any power. Gas mileage for me has been a little over 33 combined, based on miles divided by gallons @ fill ups. The trip computer says about 35 combined, I've had it read as high as 42 in highway driving. My driving is about 50/50 highway/city. But my highway driving often includes some rush-hour traffic, so it isn't pure highway cruising. I agree that the engine start-stop feature should have a turn-off. But if I'm in traffic and I don't want it to stop, I simply shift down from D into L, which disables the auto-stop feature. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the my purchase. We'll see how long-term reliability is, but so far I'm pleased with every other aspect of the car. Update at 33k miles: Still completely satisfied with this car. Zero problems or repairs. I think I like the car better now than when I bought it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just bought a new 2017 Chevy Cruze LT

William Shawns, 12/09/2016
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
63 of 66 people found this review helpful

After being in a 2004 Toyota Corolla I took a leap of faith and went with a 2017 Chevy Cruze. I am very happy with my choice. I think the engine is peppy and has good acceleration. I don't understand why there are a few pro blogs and reviews that this engine is not strong enough. I test drove a few other cars like the new Civic, new 2016 Corolla, and an Elantra... This 1.4 Turbo engine deigned by GM is more than fine. Especially for an entry level price point. I am tall 6'3" and I weight 275... Yet I fit perfectly. I think this car is an excellent choice and I am glad I took it over the other competitors.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

70 year old great granny with a 2017 Premier Rally

Annie, 12/13/2016
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I am really having a ball driving this car as I have been very conservative with previous rides - been driving Chevrolet products exclusively since my first 1972 Chevette. The only 2 problems I find with the car is the rear/side visibility when merging into traffic. I am only 5' tall and look around as best I can, cross my fingers and go for it. So far, so good. I also find the vehicle lacking in electronic connections. Despite my age I am a techie and have several items to plug in - dash cam, laptop, etc., and the car just doesn't have the capacity to utilize all I'd like to.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Love this car

Mike, 02/16/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Admittedly, this is my first new car so I may be biased. I previously drove a manual 02 Golf. The standard backup camera is amazing (first time having one) and the screen is huge. I use Apple CarPlay regularly. I was a bit worried about the auto stop/start as it has been listed as a con of this car. Honestly, I've never been in the situation that it does not start by the time my foot is on the gas. It starts so quickly that I don't even notice it; I would list this feature as a pro and not a con. It's a very smooth ride. Acceleration is decent but when the turbo kicks it feels pretty fast (compared to my golf). Not sure of fuel economy yet. I did see that at one point it listed 39 mpg as the best I've gotten but I hear you need to let it break in before getting accurate readings. Love the cargo space (as does my dog) and I actually keep the seats down most of the time with a blanket in the back. I really love the interior; feels pretty luxurious for a car of this price but again, I'm coming from an 02 Golf. The only con is that it feels a bit top heavy around turns compared to the Golf. I see that Chevy has a new suspension kit to make it a little bit stiffer; I might install that soon. Having a button for an ignition took some getting used to (convenience package) but now I'm a fan.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 LT hatchback

Tom Bradder, 11/14/2016
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
62 of 66 people found this review helpful

Highlights: I drive pot hole infested roads up a mountain to work and the suspension soaks up the craters and cracks like a champ. Transmission is unexpectedly smooth as well. I also like the diesel-like throttle mapping, as it allows you to drive very smoothly and efficiently. But if you need to speed up in a hurry, you feel that turbo kick in with a lot less lag time than other diesels I've driven. The cabin is very well muted for its class. The amount of technology you get for the price is also impressive. I have the convienence package as well. The steering has a nice balance of responsiveness and road feel. I would have expected something a lot more numb feeling and sloppy. The rear legroom, though I don't have passengers often, is FAR larger than expected. Tall people can sit in the backseat even with the front seats pushed back. Cons: None. This car feels like a great value and seems to punch above its weight in terms of its luxury-like smoothness and solid feel.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Great change from a foreign to a domestic

Cruzing on the Highways and Byways, 11/03/2016
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
36 of 39 people found this review helpful

When I compared this vehicle to the foreign cars that I owned in the past, it was more superior in ride, technology system integration, price, interior/ exterior design and safety. American made cars have come a long way, I thought I would never own one, I had always owned foreign cars had three (3) Nissans, and four (4) Mercedes. This car provides great use for my business when I am away from the office; I am always connected to the internet.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good car for tall guy

Bill Rawlins, 05/24/2017
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Several good points with our 2017 Chevy Cruze Premier Hatchback: 1) Though my wife is the main driver, I can fit in it comfortably at 6'6". Try that with a Ford Escape on a long trip. 2) Very peppy. The 1.4L Turbo has a lot of power - sufficient for us. 3) The ride is super-smooth, like a big luxury car; probably because the Premier model has a Watt's suspension. 4) We use the Apple Car Play with our iPhones and Apple GPS. My wife buys the unlimited wifi and streams Pandora through the Bluetooth interface. .... The Auto-Stop can be a bit annoying, but you can keep it from kicking in by braking slowly. Pay a little extra for a higher model like the Premier and get the cruise control, seat warmers, rear cup holders, etc. ... Have had no problems so far - Knock on wood!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Perfect College Car

JG, 06/22/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I had a great experience with my 2014 Cruze so I did not hesitate to lease the 2017 once my current lease expired. The new and improved Cruze is just that in every conceivable way. Handling, safety, appearance, technology, visibility, fuel efficiency and rear seat room have all been improved. It is the perfect vehicle to take me back and forth from school. Don't let the start/stop technology get you nervous. If I didn't look for it, I wouldn't even know that the engine was turning off as I stopped at a red light. It's a seamless transition as the engine instantly starts the moment that begin to take my foot off the brake. There is no lag and no hesitation. The kinetic blue with the RS package looks great and the Apple Car Play works perfectly with my phone. It was between this and a Civic and this car looked better, offered more and the dealership closed the deal with a great offer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Smart Hatch

jlo30324, 11/08/2016
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I was in the market for a car with a great cargo space and good gas mileage. The Cruze Hatch met those requirements plus it has a great interior. The road noise is minimal and after a 600 mile road trip, it got great gas mileage that equaled the EPA numbers. Yes, the auto start-stop does take some time to get used to but it is not intrusive and does not engage in stop and go traffic. Surprisingly the back seats has more leg room than the SUV I traded in, even for someone sitting behind me with my long legs. The one issue is that the headrests do block a lot of the rear vision out of the back window. I really did not notice this in the daytime but at night on the expressway, it is something to be aware off. But all in all, I am happy with it and one of my coworkers liked it so much he got one too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

52 MPG HA!! (try closer to 60 on the highway)

Rexford L, 08/24/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
29 of 32 people found this review helpful

Well, the EPA says it's rated at 52 mpg highway and 30 city. I don't do that much city driving, but in the month that I've had it, I've put over 5000 miles on it (Sacramento CA to Williston ND and back, with another trip back to Williston. (I'll be doing that once a month) If you keep the speed under 70, on flat ground it easily averages 65 mpg, and at 85 mph it's averaging about 50. The only thing holding you back from hour after hour of driving is having to use the restroom, the car is more than willing to keep on going. It's been 100% reliable in the time that I've had it and a while it doesn't have a built in navigation system, the Android Auto is as good or better than any OEM navigation system I've used (it uses Google Maps, displayed on the 7" center screen)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's still a Chevy

NoGMOs, 08/10/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

The last time I owned a Chevy was 20 years ago. That was when I bought a Subaru, which lasted the 20 years, with few complaints. The only reason I did not buy another one is they moved out of my budget. The last Chevy I owned, I had to work on it every weekend so I could drive it during the week. Chevy's quality has improved dramatically, except there is still driver window air noise, and the paint is still suspect, scratches too easily and with 6 stone chips in the hood already ( 13 months), and no I don't follow gravel trucks. The trunk space is lacking, can't fit golf clubs without the back seats down. The good? The mileage is phenomenal, 41 mpg+ on the highway, 33 mpg combined. I got the Bose sound system, and it of course provides great sound. It is quite comfortable, and drove several hours on a road trip with no seat fatigue. They could put a 3 sec. delay in the Auto-Stop feature, for when a stop is only temporary, but you can crawl through a stop sign or kick it in neutral if you want to by pass it. I think this would be a better car for a young person, as it has all the communications you could ask for, I think. It has good acceleration, handles well except in deep snow, and is fun to drive. ***2020 update*** I now have 25,000 trouble free miles on my Cruze hatchback. I put 5500 miles on from two road trips. The mileage is still excellent, actually achieving 55 mpg on long, flat, straightaways. Nice touring car! After putting a bug deflector on, I have not had anymore stone chips in the hood. The resale value seems to be holding up now, probably because more people are discovering the value in this car.***2021 Update*** Still going strong four years after purchase with no issues!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very surprised

Harry I. Rod, 09/02/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've always had Asian cars and German cars but I wanted to give it a try to American cars and I chose the Cruze. I couldn't be more surprised with this car and how smooth it drives. The interior design is beautiful and it's very comfortable. I'm a 6 ft guy and even though the back seat can have more head room, it's very comfortable to be a small car. The front seats are very comfortable, ironically I think the hatchback is more comfortable than the sedan (my opinion). The auto start and stop feature is awesome, it's a very smooth transition and you won't even notice it. The auto start feature is a lot better than BMW's which is not as smooth as the chevy's. It's very quiet and smooth on the road, you barely can feel harsh roads. I'm a commuter so I do not care much about power. MPG is amazing as well. I'm also impressed with the technology. I'm sure Chevrolet will keep improving this car. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this car!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very nice compact car but

Merona, 03/20/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
30 of 35 people found this review helpful

At first I thought something was wrong and almost gone back to get another car. The engine stops at the red light is annoying...I would not buy it or recommend this car to anyone without test driving it for a period of days. You probably would not like the way the car constantly jerking during starting. Same thing with the 2017 Ford Escape. I rented for a week during California visit. It has the same stop start and the jerking is worst than the Chevy Cruze. Before you buy these vehicles, test drive them at least few days. Besides that annoying stop and start, they are actually very nice and quiet vehicles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great mpg, great interior, fun to drive. (Manual)

cruzedriver, 07/07/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

52 mpg highway is a little low. Just did a 700 mile trip going 70mph for most of the trip and the car's computer told me I got 58 for the trip and my fuel app told me i got 62 mpg. 52 mpg is if your going around 80 mph. Maybe closer to 48-50 mpg if you typically drive in the mid to upper 80s. I have the cloth interior and I think it's great. Had a couple of spills and it cleaned up easily. As far as get up and go,, it's fairly quick for such great mpg's. I find myself peeling out if i really need to get on it and i've never felt it lag. Most disappointing thing for me is that it's not rated to tow. Would probably never use it but it's nice to think i could pull a small trailer for a long trip if i needed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfect car for the Hwy

Bryce, 01/11/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 9A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Very quick acceleration at low speeds due to higher torque from the diesel engine. If your not careful you will peel out. This car goes right up steep hills without slowing down. I average 44-50 mpg. If you do alot of city driving wou will get 40-44mpg if you are mostly driving on the hwy you will get 48-52 depending on traffic. Requires Diesel exaust fluid— 2.5 gallons at walm____ runs 7$ and will get you around 2,500 miles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The hidden gem of the automotive industry

Richard T, 01/27/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I rented this car for two days and it was amazing! At 50mpg the cruise control indicated 60mpg and at 70mph it was 42mpg. The claimed 47mpg highway entirely believable if a bit conservative. The range with a full tank (13 gallons) was an indicated 538 miles. These are incredible numbers for a vehicle that is not a diesel and is of this size. The seats were very comfortable. I drove non-stop from Fort Lauderdale to Jacksonville without a single ache or pain. The cabin was very quiet. I carried on several conversations while on the move and not once did exterior noise interfere. Which gets me to the Bluetooth connectivity. The pairing to my LG Aristo was effortless and connections to it once I started the car were instant. The backup camera was clear with the display being large enough to be effective. The steering assist lines on the display curve as you turn the steering wheel and while I never really got accustomed to them enough to trust what they were telling me, they seemed to be accurate enough. The stereo had easy-to-use controls and had very good sound. The 1.4L turbocharged engine was smooth, quiet and eager to please. Flooring the pedal brought decent acceleration that surprised me every time I did it. The 6 speed automatic shifted crisply and smoothly and never hunted for gears. The brakes were firm, linear, and positive. I love them if only because they are discs front and rear, a feature thankfully becoming the norm, even on small, economy cars. What didn't I like? To be fair, the following will be mere quibbles and nothing in the list would prevent me from buying one or renting one again. My biggest problem with this car was the parking brake. Located as a pedal on the floor, that was at first a nice touch. I like pedal-operated parking brakes because they keep my hands free to grab my belongings in a hurry. But this one was a bit unpleasant. It was mounted fairly high, had very little travel and was stiff. My wife has a 2011 Camry and by comparison that pedal,-operated parking brake is effortless. It was also difficult to tell if it was disengaged fully, forcing me to check the dashboard to see if the indicator light was extinguished. I suspect most owners will opt to not use it and just use the transmission to keep the car from rolling away (a practice I do not subscribe to). The next item on my list is the stop-start feature. This was a welcome feature in and of itself. The engine shut down and restarted so quickly and smoothly that it took several miles before I realized that it was happening! The tachometer does display when it is active by dipping below zero to an area labelled as "AUTO STOP". The moment the car comes to a stop the engine shuts down. Release the foot brake and the engine comes to life before your foot gets back on the gas and off you go. Nice. But my problem is that if you take your foot off the brake to creep forward a bit, the feature is disabled entirely and the engine restarts and remains on. Putting the car in Park also causes the engine to restart. If the air con was of and it is turned on, the engine restarts. The engine doesn't remain off for long and restarts (even with your foot still on the brake) after a few minutes. This is understandable because the battery is being depleted with the accessories still running. The windows are all one-shot on the downward travel, but must be held in the up direction. My wife's Camry has one-shot on all windows in both directions. I am yet to understand why other manufacturers don't see this as viable. Who wants to sit there holding window buttons when there are things in the world to be done?!? That manumatic shift feature. I had to Google it to figure out how it worked. And as far as I am concerned it should be deleted entirely. A total waste of engineering, if you ask me. You have to move the shifter down into L range and then press the "+" or "-" button on top of the selector to get higher or lower gears, respectively. It would be better to have a gate to the left or right of the selector and allow the shifter itself to be toggled...preferably like Mazda correctly has it: pull back for upshifts, push forward for downshifts. The steering was nicely weighted and felt direct, but was a little too sensitive at centre. That made keeping straight in a lane, particularly with crosswinds, a bit tricky. The stereo. Why are the volume up and down controls hidden on the underside of the right hand spoke of the steering wheel?!? And there are two other buttons under the left spoke that I am yet to figure out. What I hate: The reverse lights come on when you exit the car...a stupid and dangerous feature that all GM cars unfortunately currently feature. It gives the impression that the car is backing up and cause a panic situation which may lead to an accident. STOP THIS FOOLISHNESS, GM! Otherwise, this is an amazing little car that deserves consideration.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

engine failure!!!

r wagoner, 12/20/2017
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Love this car but after 12000 miles developed no power engine light came on and went off took it to the dealer found no problem drove another 200 hundred miles developed severe engine miss dealer replaced pistons drove home developed an oil leak next day returned to the shop oil leak repaired never made it home stopped at a shopping center then it would not start, finally started took back to the dealer now driving rental car NOT SURE IF I WANT ANOTHER ONE

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Worse Idea Ever

Ella, 04/10/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
31 of 38 people found this review helpful

The "auto stop" feature on my new 2017 Cruze is the most annoying thing I have ever seen in a car. When trying to get out of the parking lot at work every afternoon, my car engine turns itself off and then back on 4 or 5 times every day depending on how many cars are ahead of me. Same thing happens in a turn lane or when driving behind a school bus in the morning. I've contacted Chevy and was told that there is no wat to by-pass or disable the auto stop so I am stuck with it. My last 5 cars have all been Chevys and I've been happy with them until now but this auto stop is so inconvenient that I will probably never buy another Chevy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

-90 Day Repair

Lifelyke, 03/11/2017
L 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
27 of 33 people found this review helpful

Within 90 days my new 2017 Chevy Cruze stopped on me in the middle of an intersection. Fortunately two good Samaritans pushed the car from danger. The check engine light came on. Took the car in and they said nothing is wrong with the car. On-Star notification said critical engine and transmission repair. Chevy dealership says, "Well, just bring it back if it breaks down again. We cannot find anything wrong with it." Seriously!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cruze be nimble, Cruz be Quick, Cruze has no stick

Mark Shirley, 08/24/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

This car was made for today. It shines in the city, country, and the highway. The "Auto Stop" (car shuts off at stops to conserve gas), was a little disconcerting at first; however, when you see your city gas mileage, you don't mind. On those long lonesome country 60 MPH roads, you can get nearly 40 mile MPG. And, even with all this fuel economy, this car is quick and nibble at freeway speeds. After coming from the city, and taking it easy on a 50 mile trip to visit in-laws in the country, I got 38 miles to the the gallon (without AC on), on my way to their home. Coming home, we were running a little late, and in freeway city traffic, my Cruze was so nibble and quick darting around the clustered traffic at freeway speeds, it was almost incredible. My car has remote & push-button start, and I can unlock the doors by touching the handles. After getting to work and waiting in my Cruze to punch-in for my shift, I switch the car off and the radio and electric windows still operate, until I exit the vehicle, which is a great feature. I read one review where the person was bemoaning the "Auto Stop", while trying to pull into traffic quickly. I found if you anticipate a quick move coming, you merely have to be proactive and step on the accelerator a couple of seconds before going to take it out of the "Auto Stop" mode. This hasn't been an issue and I live in the City. With the RS package and the addition of my fog lights to the front grill, this car is a looker. Even though the Cruze Hatchback isn't rated quite as high as some of the other Hatchbacks, I beg to differ. This car is all things to most people and a great value. Did I say it corners like butter. This car is a sleeper. After 6 months, still really enjoying my Chevy Cruze Hatchback. I'll put my Cruze against any of the other Hatchbacks in appearance and luxuries. With my factory push button start, keyless entry, and remote start, really enjoying my car this winter. 10 mins. before punching out at my Michigan job, I use my remote start to deice my windows, warm the engine, and heat the seats. A little slice of heaven in a very unkind world. I also like the feature of being able to control the electrics on my car like the windows, wiper, and etc. for 10 minutes after stopping the engine. Even after 10 mins I can still listen to the radio until I go in to punch in. Because of the winters and remote start, gas mileage has really suffered, but a price I'm willing to pay to make my life so much easier during the harsh MI winter. The car is also quick with its little turbo charged engine. Deserves a look, if shopping for a car. And, one more thing, leg room in the back seat is great for a car of this size, particularly in comparison with almost every other hatchback. My Cruz has been a great addition to our family

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Read this before you buy

Never Again buy GM, 06/16/2019
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

We read all the good reviews and thought we were making a good purchase. I'm pretty sure all of the reviewers that posted good reviews are now experiencing problems. Should have read the bad reviews first. You should not have to buy a new engine at 70,000 miles. Even though we had frequent oil changes and maintenance, yes the engine failed. Still making car payments and now have to pay for a new engine. GM knows about the issues and still continues to make a profit by selling this piece of junk. I've read horror stories from others that are sinking more money into the car than it's worth because they are still making payments.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

CRUZALERT

Mark Votava, 07/16/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 9A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Now 33 months old with about 29,000 miles: have'nt been able to drive it much in the last year since it's been in the shop for repairs multiple times + COVID19 has it parked in garage for past 4 months. Most recently the entire EGR cooling system had to be replaced; dealer service group says EGR cooler was faulty design and GM has reengineered the unit - It took several months to get the EGR cooler and finally installed it. No problems since that, however the car is now hardly driven due to COVID19. It's such a nice, and economical, little car but pity that we have had all these warranty issues. Now 20 months old with about 25,000 miles. I have not seen the car for a month since its been at the chevy dealer to fix an emission egr issue. They cant seem to figure it out or get parts. Putting miles on a chevy loner and studying recourse via lemon law. 14months old, it now has been at dealer for warranty repairs for about 6 weeks of the 14 months owned. Headliner and windshield have been replaced, entire fairing assembly beneath the engine has fallen apart and scraped upon the road then been repaired multiple times and finally replaced. The infotainment system blinks and goes unresponsive but dealership has not been able to recognize or diagnose a problem. Although the car seems possessed with troubles, we love the fuel economy and performance of this little diesel car with 6spd manual transmission. Will most likely be very troubled when warranty expires. 10 Months Old, 10,000 Miles and dealing with a Catastrophic and Premature Clutch Failure. Left my wife and children stranded on the road. Uncertain how long this will take to repair, sitting at Dealer now. In addition, DEF Tank leaking and needs Replacement, dripping white crusty stuff beneath the car. Warranty coverage but extremely inconvenient and disappointing since we like the car, it is peppy quiet comfortable and can easily demonstrate 60+ mpg highway.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Stuck With A Lemon

Oliver, 04/30/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
43 of 55 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2017 Chevy Cruze for my daughter who will be graduating from college soon. I took money out of my retirement fund because I wanted her to have a good, reliable car. The problems began almost immediately. There is a system that is supposed to save on gas use called auto-stop. It does one of 4 things when you apply the brake to stop the car. 1. The car stops and the engine idles like a normal car, when you put your foot on the gas pedal, the car starts moving forward. 2. The car stops and the engine turns off, when you put your foot on the gas pedal, the engine starts up and the car goes forward. 3. The car stops and the engine turns off, when you put your foot on the gas pedal, the car seems to pause for a moment, then the engine rattles a little and the engine comes back on and the car goes forward. 4. The car stops and the engine turns off, when you put your foot on the gas pedal, nothing happens and you have to shift the car in to park and manually restart the engine because it has completely turned off. I took the car in to the service manager and he test drove it and saw what it is doing. However, he told me that there is nothing that can be done to fix the problem because it is controlled by a computer component that can not be fixed or even accessed by any Chevy service department. The following day I called a different Chevy dealer service department and I was told the same thing. The problem can not be fixed. I can not afford to buy my daughter another car so she is stuck with a LEMON that can’t be fixed. I am considering talking to a lawyer to find out if I have any legal options at this point.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Very Safe car

Dylan, 11/01/2017
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my second 2017 cruze.It is my 2nd because i had totaled out the first one after only having it one month. I wreaked it into the back of a completely stopped semi (impact on semi trailer) going 60mph. I walked away from the accident at my own free will with only a few cuts on my hands and a lot of post adrenaline. I have no clue how i wreaked because i blacked out for a min, but needless to say if i was in my truck and not this car i would be dead today most likely. So that's why i leased another one! I dont like however that the fully loaded version does not have a door cupholder like ever other chevy 17 model. I also do not like that they did not put in led lights in the dome lights like the 2016+ malibu base model. Also, i wish you could charge your devices with the usb port without entering andriod auto or apply car play. Lastly, i hate the lag in acceleration after leaving auto stop. The auto stop feature has also caused my car to stall once at a stop light after trying to go on green.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cruzin in the manual hatch

greg koenig, 12/22/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Even with a bit of a heavy foot I still get an average of 29 MPG whil driving about 90% in town. Its a solid overall car that has some great lines and can be pretty much outfit just the way you want. It's worth a drive in either Automatic or Manual. The bluetooth / apple carplay / android auto are great and make it more affordable than having to add options or go up trim levels for something so easy to replicate.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst purchase I've ever made

Kc, 04/17/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
19 of 24 people found this review helpful

I've had this car not even a week yet and it's already in the shop for repairs. I'm not satisfied with this car and wish I could go back and get my Subaru back that I traded. This car completely stalled out on me while I was at a red light causing me to have to push the car onto a side steet where I sat for a half hour before it would restart. It's now in the shop for who knows how long because the car is so new they're having problems getting the part witch they're saying is the module of the car that has to replaced and that it's making all the signal lights come on and what not. This is a brand new car with only a hundred miles on it. What else is going to go wrong with it? This is ridiculous. I told them I wanted a different car, something and I got no where with that. They gave me a rental to use until they can get my car fixed. I wouldn't recommend anyone getting this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Much Better then Average

Nicholas, 09/17/2017
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Have the Hatchback Premier the ride is quieter then Civic . More cormfotable the Madza 3. The Ford Focus needs a lot of improvement to even be in a class with the Cruze . For the money Cruze is a contender and you add the mileage savings that equals a winner

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Can't believe how much I love this little Chevy!

James, 01/10/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

The last year was a bit of a roller-coaster in our lives, and involved selling a bunch of stuff and relocating. Kept one vehicle, sold another (a Porsche Boxster) and I leased a Chevy Cruze Premier hatchback for myself to use daily. Moved to a colder climate and didn't want/need a convertible anymore, and our fully loaded car is SO much nicer than Chevrolets of the past and is amazingly comfortable. Honestly, it's easily as nice as our 2007 BMW 3-series was inside, and handles almost as well, incredibly. The car has been flawless so far, and feels incredibly solid and quiet, especially considering my expectations. Winter driving has also been beyond expectations, even though it's just a front-drive car with all-season tires. Our mileage approaches 40mpg on the highway, although for city driving in cold weather it's been in the low 20s. We test-drove a Cadillac ATS at the dealer with the 2.0L turbo engine, and this car could compete with a VW GTI if that engine were an option (I've had one of those, as well). Update: I'm nearing the end of the lease on this car, and it now has 32,000 miles on it, and it's been nearly perfect. Only trouble I had was with the A/C system, and the dealer ended up replacing the entire system under warranty. Aside from that, it's been standard maintenance. Tires still have some life in them, although I suspect that they're too worn for the lease return requirements. My mileage has actually improved, and typically, I get around 32mpg average on each tank of (regular) fuel. Since Chevy has discontinued the Cruze (after they finally figured out how to make a decent compact car), I'm actually considering buying out the car at the end of the lease. It's hard to find a car with comparable features at anywhere close to the price of this one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A full step backwards from last generation

Hunter12, 06/23/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I was given a '17 Cruze LT to use for 5 days while my car was in for service and I was less than impressed. My mom had a '13 Cruze LS that I drove a few thousand miles when she was leasing it, it was in many ways a far better small car. The new Cruze uses a start/stop mode to save fuel, it was terrible. The engine "shudders" when it stops and starts. Very poor execution of this "feature". The transmission also always feels like it's trying to find a gear for max fuel economy and when you need to accelerate the car feels "lazy". The seats were also poor, very flat versus the last gen which were not too bad. Overall it seems obvious the entire car was developed on a tight budget and it really felt and looked "cheaper" that the last Cruze. Weak effort GM.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

My Favorite Car so Far !!!

Mermaid, 03/25/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have bought Chevrolets most of my life. This is my favorite. It is classy looking and I have gotten many compliments. It fits into my budget and is great on gas. I hope to buy another car very similar in the future. I love the phone number feature and Bluetooth. I really do not like many distractions while I am driving, but these make driving my car fun. The only feature I would change is how it handles on ice. I did not buy snow tires and in my opinion this car does need them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Surprise

Marty, 03/28/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Traded in a small SUV. This car is a wonderful surprise. The handling, transmission and motor provide a sports sedan feel in comparison. Great gas mileage and logical technology - the WiFi is useful. Interior and exterior are tight and attractive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car, low cost, awesome tech.

Mike Murphy, 01/10/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Buy the gen 2 Cruze, 2017 or newer. You'll also want the 1.4L turbo engine, my last Cruze had 181k trouble free miles on that drive train. If your budget allows definitely get the premier trim, it's well worth the cost. I really have no negative comments on this car. If you are looking for a vehicle that offers many high end options at an inexpensive price while returning impressive fuel mileage, low operating cost and outstanding reliability, then this is your car. I chose the 2017 premier hatchback, it comes equipped with heated front & rear leather seats, heated steering wheel, 8 inch touch screen my link radio, Bose sound system, turn by turn navigation and too many other options to list.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love the Turbo Diesel 6 Speed Manual

Ken D, 07/09/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

If you are looking to replace that Diesel Jetta. Take a look at this. Its a lot of fun to drive, and the standard package gives you everything you would want, except an automatic rear view mirror. The gas mileage has been incredible. You can average 50 MPG on the highway on long trips, and get 30+ on mixed driving. The engine has a lot of torque, and the shift on the manual 6 speed is crisp and a lot of fun to drive. Build quality up to this point has been great. No rattles like I have seen in the Toyota Corolla (Rented one, and I couldn't wait to bring it back.) The steering is responsive and pulling out of curves while entering and exiting the the highway is a lot of fun. I would buy another one of these in a heart beat.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

All good

Tim Foster, 06/29/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2017 Chevy Cruz diesel and June 2017. Right now I have approximately 45,000 miles on it and it is now been in the shop once for anything other than service. While driving the fuel mileage is 44 to 48 mpg and highway 62 to 65 mpg and I had a high of 71.2 mpg when I really drove easy. All hand figured not computer. The car is very quick for size and will squeal the tires from a dead stop. It is also so quiet that if I don’t tell anyone nobody knows it’s a diesel. I have never purchased a car or pick up from any company where the fuel mileage far exceeds what the window sticker says.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1.4l Turbo Engine

Tiffany, 11/07/2019
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

If you live where it gets cold...do not purchase this engine in any of the Chevy vehicles. The turbo freezes sending your car into safe made and requires a shop visit. This has been happening for 2 years and now my warranty is up and I am expected to pay out of pocket??? Chevy dealers all have bulletins posted about this issue but there is no fix for the problem...so not a recall??? I am stuck with a car that Chevy knows has issues and will not stand behind their product...very dissapointed!!!

Report Abuse

HORRIBLE. ENGINE PROBLEMS AT 28000 MILES!

Brittany, 09/20/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
10 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2017 Chevy Cruze brand new in July 2017 from the dealership and I loved it. It had about 2000 miles on it at purchase. I thought it was so sleek and the tech in the car was good (minus the manual seat adjustments). Car always drove good. I never paid more than $25 for gas to fill up my tank. Each tank lasted me about a week and I drove a lot from home to work to school and back again. Then all the sudden one night when I was leaving the bookstore when I started my car the check engine light was one. I thought okay I'll go have it checked then when I tried to back out of my parking space the power steering locked up. I turned off the car and back on and it started up fine. I made it to my next stop and again when I went to go leave I had problems. This time when I turned on the car nothing happened. The engine wouldn't turn on, no click/crank, nothing! The A/C, radio and lights would come on but my engine wouldn't. I sat for 10 minutes trying to turn the car on before it finally cranked and I was able to make it home. I scheduled it to have it serviced the next day. Turned the car on no problem that morning and drove to the dealership and explained what happened. They had my car for about 6 hours and returned it saying they could not duplicate the problem but they tightened the grounds and replaced a fuel ring that was on recall. I took my car back and it was fine for about 2 days before the problem started again. I would start the car in the morning and it took a few tries to get it to work. When trying to leave school late at night I would have to sit for 5-15 minutes before it would start. I planned on calling the dealership as soon as they opened the next day to tell them. Before I got the chance, the car completely gave up on me. When I started the car the next morning to go to work and call the dealership, it would not start at all. Again all the lights, a/c, and radio worked but not the engine. Sat out front for 30 minutes and nothing. Called the dealership and made them send a truck to tow it back and give me a loaner (they gave me a 2018 Chevy Cruze as a loaner and I'm waiting for it to screw up as well). Turns out my braking system as failed as well as the engine/transmission and electrical issues. I haven't even hit 30,000 miles on the car and only had it for a little over a year. I'm infuriated that the car does not last. It's not worth your money or the hassle. After reading other reviews on the car, many people have experienced the same problem as me starting as soon as they left the lot, 10,000 miles and up to 20,000 miles like mine. AVOID THIS CAR AT ALL COST. You'll love it in the beginning but it won't last long before the car completely goes out on you. Don't take the chance and buy something better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cruze good for cruising

Wil Chambers, 10/23/2017
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Good looking car from inside and out. Love the handsome exterior body lines and 18 inch wheels. interior has a great infotainment center. Front seat comfort is terrible needs lumbar support. Rides very quiet and smooth cruising around town. I hate the Auto start and stop feature sometimes a little rough when car starts back up. Overall im happy i purchased the Cruze and hope i have many miles of worry free maintenance!

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Bought it for the long haul

Iowa Stater, 01/04/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Put over 10,000 miles on the car in the first 3 months. 200 to 1400 mile trips on highway and interstate. Have had from 36 mpg to 44 mpg with an average just below 40. Odometer mileage shows just a little better than actual. Wish you could disable auto stop and buttons on steering wheel need to be raised a little more so you aren't feeling around or looking at the wheel. But it does what I bought it for. Good mileage in relative comfort. Good commuter car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Crash Review

Eileen Gardner, 07/10/2018
L 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Yesterday my daughter was in a horrifying car crash on I95 in SC when she was in a multi vehicle car accident. If you could see the pictures you’d wonder how ALL 3 in the car escaped without a scrape! The trooper, paramedic and doctor on scene stated they shouldn’t have walked away BUT THEY DID!! The air bags in this vehicle were beyond anything you’d ever expect! The car is a total loss but my children and granddaughter are ALIVE because this car saved their lives!!! I will buy another for SURE!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Car gone wrong

Julie Hendershot, 12/12/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had bought a 2017 chevy cruze LT and it only has 21000 miles on it and needs a new engine. How does this happen?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sure it's inexpensive, but there's a reason.

Darin, 07/15/2018
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

Where to begin? The very day I bought the car it refused to start. I was leaving the dealership when I noticed there was no temporary permit in the back window. As I got out of the car, one set of keys was in the vehicle. The car honked at me, which is normal, to warn me the keys were still in it. When I got back in, the car refused to start. I saw a message stating there was no key fob detected. So, back in the dealership I went. My salesperson told me this happens but the fix is simple. He placed the key fob in some pocket and started the car. Off I went thinking that was just a one and done glitch. This was only the beginning. A few weeks later I was at the grocery store where I parked and walked in. After about 20 minutes I came back out and started the car. My phone refused to connect to the bluetooth. I power cycled the audio system and that didn't fix it. I re-paired the phone with the car and that worked. This was the first of MANY times I had to reconnect my phone to the car. One night while driving there was a message on the screen stating my brakes were failing. When I applied the brakes the car would shudder but still stop. I got out at my destination and when I came back, the error was gone and the issue seemed to resolve itself. So far there have been five unscheduled trips to the Chevy dealership where I was told there was nothing wrong with car even after showing them video of the issue occurring and one time while actually at the dealership with a technician in the car. One time I shut the car off and the stereo kept playing like it's supposed to do. Once you open the door it's supposed to shut off. It didn't. Kept playing. I got out, shut the doors and it still kept playing. I was even able to place a phone call (to the Chevy service department) from outside my car even though that should not have happened. I was told nothing was wrong and that was normal operation. Fed up, I told my service advisor to keep the car until all of the issues have been resolved. The end result? They replaced the human/machine interface which seemed to have resolved my audio system issues. They also replaced the module that controls the key fob problem I was having. It seems there have been multiple issues reported and they finally found and fixed the issue. Imagine that. The start/stop will drive you mad. The only way to bypass that "feature" is to place the transmission into "Manual Mode", or "L" on the gear selector, hit the "+" symbol until you reach, "6" on the display and drive it normally. It effectively places the transmission into dumb mode and the stop/start won't activate. So, to recap: Failure to start due to key fob undetected: Five times. Failure to connect to my phone: Stopped counting after 37 times. Brake anomaly: One time. Finally, if you're considering this car: Don't do it. Sure, it's great on gas but that's about all it's great on. When the lease is up, my nightmare will end.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

NEEDS NEW PISTONS

RPS, 10/18/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Leased a brand new 2017 Cruze to be used as a second car. We have had it now for 2 and 1/2 years and have less than 8000 miles on it. Suddenly the check engine light came on and it started to idle roughly. I took it to the Chevy dealer and was told that the motor needed new pistons. Thankfully it is still under warranty so we can drive it for the 6 months remaining on the lease and then give them back their piece of junk.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Chevy as a business is worse than its product.

Gibson, 05/29/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

TBH, car feature is OK. I got one with the package including upgraded seat and speakers and sunroof for 20k. BUT, the crucial part of the car-its engine- has some stupid problems. When auto-stop kicked in, sometimes the engine won't restart when you lift the brake pedal and apply gas, so basically you are a sitting duck blocking traffic when signal lights turn green, and the guy behind you will start to honk at you because you look like an idiot who focused on playing cell phones and didn't pay any attention to traffic. You HAVE to switch back to P and re-start the car like cold start. This happened to me 5 times already. I didn't even bother to contact the dealer though it is still within warranty, because from all search results online, other people who had this problem all get same answer: can't repeat problem, can't fix. The dealers will just waste your time and make you go through all the inconvenience of not having a car for work for days, until you give up. This is just a huge company showing how disgraceful, greedy and dishonest it can be, after saved by the government using our tax dollars years ago. If anyone knows any class action against Chevy regarding this problem, please let me know at greatgibson@gmail.com and I would love to participate. Shame on you Chevy, I just graduated from school by that time so I could only afford a Cruze, but I was planning to get a camaro (the ZL1) or even corvette in three years. Now? I will never spend 1 more cent on any GM products, and I will inform all my family and friends to avoid them to. Enjoy another bankrupt, dear GM.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Decent enough car

JC, 08/01/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

I got stuck with a Cruze on a Maui visit and drove the car for about 500 mostly highway miles. Pro: compared to Chevys of older vintage the car doesn't look as cheap and it rides relatively well. The Apple Car Play works very well. Con: I averaged 30.6 mph in very conservative mostly highway driving which is a far cry from the stated fuel economy. I often got into L when wanting to shift into D, and at times would forget the key in the car (it has one of those useless start/stop buttons). Also the back of my seat wasn't padded adequately and I could feel my kids moving around behind me. Loading stuff into the trunk was a chore due to the height of the trunk entry. Overall: decent enough but why would you buy one when the same money gets you a Golf, Civic or Corolla?

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Not very impressed. Preferred the VW Jetta

Sam, 05/27/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 17 people found this review helpful

Avis at OC John Wayne airport stuck me with a Chevy Cruze on my last trip to SoCalif in May 2017. Bummer. I had fun to drive VW Jetta the last time. The accelerator pedal on the Cruze felt like I was modulating a bungee cord with virtually no acceleration unless I floored it. The brakes were a little grabby but OK. There's nothing special about this car, not especially fun to drive, not very nimble but acceptable. The auto Stop/Start was a royal pain. The only way I could disable it (sometimes) was if I left the air conditioner ON. Apparently the engine needs to be running in order to power the air conditioner - but that only worked sometimes. I thought I would get better throttle response by shifting the transmission out of Drive and into the next lower setting. If I did that while stopped the engine would just rev up to redline and wouldn't shift as I sped up. If I was already in motion then manually down shifted, it would sometimes stay in the lower setting with better throttle response and not rev up so high. It would 'shift'. Weird. I say 'shift' because I'm not sure if this is a real transmission or a CVT. In any case, it was annoying! The VW Jetta is also an inexpensive sedan and I found it be a far better car all around, much more spirited, and no silly quirks like the Chevy Cruze. I ask Avis if I can get the Jetta again on my next trip. I'll try to avoid the Cruze.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Still a Ways To Go to Catch the Asians!

Steve, 04/08/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There are several reasons I chose the Cruze to replace my 2014 Hyundai Elantra Limited. The first is price, I couldn't get a better price for a Honda or another Hyundai. I couldn't even come close. The second it the engine, the turbocharged 4 in the Cruze was better than all of the other cars I test drove except the Honda Accord 4 cylinder. The Cruze was also the lowest priced car I could find with Apple's Car Play. If Chevrolet really wants to compete with the Asian imports it had better upgrade its interior finish choices. As it sits right now the chosen pieces look and feel cheap. Update 4/10/18 - My original review of the car still stands. Good car for the lease price I got, but not worth a penny more.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

My Favorite GM Car

JIMMY G., 05/19/2017
Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned many GM cars over the last 55 years. I always was pleased but my Cruze Premier model exceeds all the others. The new styling is very eye catching. Mine has the RS package and has all the extras available and love them all. Mine has the two tone calihari/ black interior and have had many, many compliments. The color plus the interior makes the car very eye catching. I have had a lot of individuals see the front chevy bow tie and ask what model is it. When I ask what do they think it is most get it wrong. Until you see the premier cruze badge in back that is the definitive clue. It is a joy to drive and has gotten 41/42 miles per gallon on long trips. Other cruze owners when they see it actually tell me they wish they had bought the Premier addition. It has all the bells and whistles and not cheap but you get exactly what the more expensive GM models I.E. (Cadillac and top of the line Buicks) offer for much less. Maybe it is just me but I love it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

Juveee, 08/25/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Amazing car I really enjoyed driving it. I just wished GM would add buttons to control the stereo on the steering wheel.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing Ride

Delreal98, 10/09/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Other shoppers should know how efficient this car is. It drives very smooth and helps you save gas by putting the vehicle in fuel economy mode. It is honestly the best car I have ever droven. Most importantly other than my new Chevy Cruze being as beautiful as it is, it also makes me feel safe!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hit and miss

Fritz, 01/08/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbodiesel 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

36k update: dealer did a recall update. Said it would not change driving dynamics in any way but car no longer has any turbo lag. Power delivery is smooth and gear changes precise. Drives completely different in a great way. Brother-in law with new 2021 Audi S3 said my car felt powerful after driving it. 26000 mile update: no problems. Over 43mpg average since day 1. Transmission often puts you in wrong gear so when speed or inertia is needed car shifts to such a high gear almost feels like it has stalled. Uses a lot of BluDef. Car cruises solid 80mph relaxing but solid turns to harsh on all but smooth roads. Fix trans and suspension and Chevy would have a truly great car. ----Upon first driving car was impressed by acceleration for a diesel and smooth shifting and ride. Brakes are excellent. However after some time have found the ride smooth and solid on smooth and solid roads. Anything but and the ride is as choppy and bouncy as my 2016 Jeep Cherokee(which is an appropriate ride for an SUV). Road impacts e.g potholes, manholes are loud and harsh for such a solid feeling chassis. Shifts are great unless you try evasive driving, three point turns or lift off and quickly accelerate again leaves car dead. Transmission moves to such a high gear, car barely moves or bogs down to no go which has become a huge safety concern for me. Full throttle, part throttle, nothing fixes it. God help you if a train is coming.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050