Used 2005 Audi allroad quattro Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,724 - $5,731

Used allroad quattro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awesome Allroad

selcor, 10/20/2004
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Consistent mileage over 24 on the road at 70 MPH+. Mix of 92 octane and 87 octane seems to work great. No noticeable turbo lag in sportmode. Tremendous handling in all conditions, great comfort for 6 footers. So far have only 4000 miles on it. No problems to date and all maintenance included for 4 years or 50000 miles.

Report Abuse

Best car I have owned

James Kasameyer, 04/24/2016
AWD 4dr Wagon (4.2L 8cyl 5A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

This car is still as good as the reviews from 2004-5 paint it. Luxurious, well equipped, safe, phenomenally practical in all weathers and great for those of us who ski, canoe, back pack, etc. I carry plant material in the back, and dimensional lumber on the roof rack. I actually use the adjustable height suspension in snowy conditions, beach driving, and unpaved back roads. It works and adjusts on the fly. But the best part is the engine: great torque, great sound, and it gives the allroad very good acceleration and passing performance. I had looked at 2.7l allroads in the early 2000s, and was put off by their lack of punch. Bought Saab 9-5 Aeros instead. Have owned Audis, BMWs, old Porsches before. Car before this was hotrod Outback. In terms of overall performance, this is the best. There are some drawbacks. I bought this car 18 months ago, with 60,000 miles on it. It now has nearly 80,000. It is expensive to maintain. I have had to replace large parts of the air suspension system and odd mechanical gremlins are present. Navigation system and cabin electronics are historical artifacts. Previous owners had broken or mislaid interior and exterior trim parts. Nevertheless, this car may become a hobby as well as a mode of transportation. I already have more money in it than I could get out of it, but what could I replace it with? OCTOBER 2016 UPDATE: I stand by my previous conclusion, car is great for long days of high speed driving, etc., etc. I must note, however that at 86,000 miles the engine self-destructed for no reason that Audi or my independent mechanic could figure out. There seem to be no rebuilt ones available, and so my Audi dealer found a used 4.2 L engine and installed it in the car. This took over a month. Audi dealer was very cooperative with loaner. New used engine just as good as the original one, it seems. Drove it from Portland to and from Bay area recently with no trouble.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

New Used Quattro

mercedes01, 12/19/2011
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

Well designed auto. Very comfortable. We enjoy driving. Some difficulty steering, I assume because of the all wheel drive. My wife loves it. Plenty of room compared to other vechicles in it category. I'd recommend at least a look.

Report Abuse

Aways Allroad

Scuzzy, 08/27/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sleekly designed wagon with break neck acceleration (biTurbo). Will reach 80 mph on the highway in a flash (watch out for speed traps)! AWD keeps this beast glued to the road - especially in the rain. Every imaginable (and distractable) creature comfort exists in the cockpit. Seats are "La-Z-boy" comfortable. Red lit interior buttons at night send the coolness factor through the roof! Factory installed Bose 6 speaker sound system rocks my entire block!

Report Abuse

Allroad Best 4WD Station Wagon

Rich03449, 07/10/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

We purchased this vehicle because of the harsh winters we have in New Hampshire. If you're looking for comfort, style, reliability and performance this car is a great choice. It powers through snow, great in rain and a pleasure on dry country back roads. Tough and durable without losing grace and style.

Report Abuse

Thank God it's gone

Matt, 03/30/2010
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

It was a dream wagon but turned out to be a nightmare. Goes through tires and brakes with at an incredibly fast pace due to its enormous weight. The suspension is a huge selling point giving you that capability but it was a hassle from day one with failures in the electronics and controls. There were numerous times where the check engine light would come on due to failed electric sensors. The V6, although a twin turbo unit, is underpowered for a car this heavy. I came to know the Audi A3 inside and out as I was in a service loaner A3 more than my actual car as it was in the shop ALL THE TIME. Never own one out of warranty. The warranty companies wont cover them anymore due to its reputation.

Report Abuse

13 not out

SPEEDBIRD 350, 06/16/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I thought you may be interested from a UK review. This is my 13th Audi and our 2nd allroad. It is a 2.5 turbodiesel which is the most populat model over here. A tank of fuel produces 515 miles on the cruise. Petrol is too expensive here; US $10.41 per gallon. The turbo lag can be overcome by depressing accelerator a cm or so which gives it time to start spooling up. Allroads are superb vehicles and worth the slight premium over the Volvo.In the UK the A6 and Volvo are the biggest estate cars and more user friendly than pure SUVs. Built better than a BMW, more space than BMW and other drivers admire you but would never let a BMW out at a junction.

Report Abuse

Audi allroad - perfect driving machine

A Land, 02/08/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Never had a nicer, more dependable car. Fun to drive, never get stuck in snow and very comfortable.

Report Abuse

Hidden Treasure

bpacelli, 01/06/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our Audi Allroad is at home in any situation. The perfect commercial (hint Audi) would show this car on a race track, a snow covered highway and off road in the mud - It has done it all and always delivered! On dry pavement the ride is compliant, and handling around town or at 80 mph is impressive. Rain - see drive pavement, no difference. Snow/mud - this car is sensational. The adjustable suspension and all wheel drive give me comfort knowing my wife and two children are safe if caught in such a situation. I have had many cars, but this is the first that I bought with practical family needs in mind. Safety is the most important thing to me and this car does not disappoint. It is practical, safe, and a blast to drive!

Report Abuse

The allroad is a winner

audiedude, 03/04/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2005 Audi allroad has been great. I moved from a BMW 330i (lease end) to the allroad. While the handling is no 330i the allroad has plenty of kick. I have only driven it in the snow twice and it stuck to the road like grim death. I love the build quality. The car is unique and people are always saying they like it and have never seen one before. I highly recommend this car.

Report Abuse

a jewel on the road

an architect, 08/10/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

An exquisite, elegant design that goes beyond trend since it's introduction in 2001 with it's original design virtually unchanged. I'm glad that Audi will not produce allroad anymore (pending it's future concept production) that would give this particular model rare value. 2.7T engine has enough power to smoothly lift 4,200+ lbs. of weight with confidence. Always trustful, impressive quattro all- wheel drive. Superb handling, ride comfort and beautifully crafted interior w/ top quality materials as Audi's tradition. This is a true jewel on the road.

Report Abuse

exceptional

ward lile, 05/27/2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

It seems to do everything exceptionally well. Its amazing in snow and rain, and even mud. But still fun to drive like a sports sedan. Rarely does a car that does so many things competantly do any of them so exceptionally, but the All Road does.

Report Abuse

I love my Audi Alroad

JennIfer Gierok (guy rock), 05/31/2016
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Best used car I have ever owned hands down. Even runs better than some new cars I have owned. Great acceleration,handling,braking. So parts are a little more expensive but it's worth it. Plus how cool looking is an Audi anyways?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

allroad review

Jim , 02/25/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Audi allroad is the ultimate vehicle. It provides tremendous performance and road handling capabilities in a unique package that always gets positive stares from other drivers. Fuel mileage could be improved but the performance is worth it.

Report Abuse

The Ideal New England Vehicle

q, 03/29/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I gave up my history of three SUVs for the allroad and have never looked back. The allaoad gives winter road handling with greater confidence than most SUVs. But there is no compromise on the pleasure of highway driving. Greater interior space than most of the current "trendy" SUVs (Volvo, BMW).

Report Abuse

Almost Perfection

James Walsh, 07/07/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is the best I've owned. It combines very good performance with sufficient interior space and a feeling of luxury in its ride, handling and appointments. And the fuel economy is really pretty good if you drive reasonably. I've received compliments on its styling from stangers...and young ones at that. This one's a keeper.

Report Abuse

Unexpected satisfactions

Allebahnen, 11/09/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Allroad is continuously giving me unexpected surprises and satisfactions. The build quality, performance and fun to drive. Fuel economy can be improved using higher gear thanks to the incredible wide torque band. Three gears are available for most situations. Can drive as a luxury saloon in an elegant atmosphere, but also as a sporty touring wagon with the exceptional overtaking acceleration, then it turns also a SUV-like vehicle. In short, all in one for every situaion and condition. It's expensive but it's worth. You can find the reasons in almost details even in invisible sections. Looks like even a master piece of craft work.

Report Abuse

This is my third Audi

Kramer, 12/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in my A6 for the Allroad. I wanted the features of a wagon but did not want a suv. This car is fun to drive, very similar to the A6, but gives greater flexibility to carry larger items, without sacrificing ride, handling, and comfort.

Report Abuse

Audi Allroad Is Fun To Drive

rockcreek, 01/22/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The auto allroad is an oveall great car and I love it. It's easy to drive, has plenty of power and handles well in all weather conditions. The interior is well manafactured and the design features inside are impressive. The rear leg room and headroom are amazing for this mid size car and are as comfortable as the front seats. I like the dual climate control, but wish it had heated seats like my husband's Audi TT. The Bose sound system is better than most luxury cars that I have owned in the past and the speakers are placed all over the interior. I have had no mechanical problems with the car and everything from the exterior to the interior are holding up beautifully. I think you'll love it too!

Report Abuse

I love this car!

Asheville, 01/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2005 Auti allroad for a few months and I love it! I was rear ended in November, the car (2004 Accord) of the driver that hit me was close to being totaled, I drove away with a few scratches and hardly felt that I had been in an accident. I was very impressed by the safety of my allroad. The State Trooper commented on the way German Cars hold up in accidents.

Report Abuse

allroad...allright!

Luis Ruiz and Molly , 08/09/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased an 2003 allroad with 31K miles. This is my second Audi, we have an '98 A4 in the family. Our two bulldogs love the cargo area, and my wife adores the seat warmers. I love the 40-60 MPH acceleration, although sometimes from stop-start is hesitates a little. We are really happy with the car eventhough we have owned her for only three days.

Report Abuse

Best all around car I have owned.

GV Carlson, 12/22/2017
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned a number of high-end German cars over the years, the allroad is my favorite 4-5 door German car. The Audi a6 allroad has timeless style, will go anywhere in the snow, ice or rain with extraordinary confidence. This is a great car for wet and snowy weather. The allroad has a very smooth ride and great handling due to the air suspension and quattro (all wheel drive) and still has a sporty feel and good turbo acceleration. The car has style and classic good looks. In addition to all of the aforementioned this car is very practical; it comfortably carries 4 adults and can be used to haul a variety of things from the garden store/nursery and hardware store. Audis are luxury cars and generally maintenance is not cheap, if you can't afford to have the car serviced by an Audi dealer you probably should consider another option. Audi still produces A6 allroads, however they have not been imported to the US since 2005. The A4 allroad is a smaller car than the A6. If Audi would import the A6 allroad I would buy another one without hesitation.

Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car but would not want to own it

Sven Jorgensson, 05/05/2018
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I leased this car for 4 years. Thinking back about it, the positives that I remember are that is was comfortable, had nice ergonomics, good looking (if you like a wagon). The negatives were that it chewed through brakes and tires, had electrical gremlins, not so great build quality, and general quirkiness. Malfunction lights would light up on the dashboard; when I brought it to the dealership, they would report nothing wrong. One day the windows would not work ... the next day they did. Net net, the negatives outweighed the positives.

Report Abuse

Great run around car

Chuck, 08/22/2018
AWD 4dr Wagon (4.2L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Computers on floor

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wow! What a Car!

Daris Howard, 12/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sweet car to drive. The power is awesome, and it handles like a sports car. There hasn't been a day that someone hasn't came up to me and told me how sweet that car looks.

Report Abuse

Nice but....

Andrew, 08/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car drives very smoothly and with a powerful engine allowing for impressive cruising. The strength, solid protective mechanisms, and wonderful brakes allow a family to enjoy this vehicle for both its family size and pleasure of driving. However, I found several of the heavily promoted features to be of little or no use.

Report Abuse

Outstanding

arich, 03/09/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have had my 2005 Audi allroad for over a year and have driven 75% of the miles on snowy mountain roads. The performance has been outstanding. While the car drives on the heavy side, its performance in the mountains and on snow slick roads has been simply amazing. Tiptronic shifting on downhill grades is also an excellent feature. Overall the car is very comfortable to drive and ride. The only downside is that you have to use premium fuel and it gets poor mileage. My overall fuel usage since purchase has been in 16 mpg range. One needs to remember that this is a 4.2 litre V-8 engine which clearly adds to mountain and high altitude (6,500 feet or higher)performance. I traded in a BMW X5 4.0 and find the Audi to be a superior value & higher performance vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great car

luis pedro, 06/08/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Audi allroad it's a great car, here in europe the diesel 2.5 tdi with 180 cv are the most wanted, very spacious for legs, children and baggage, great engine, with 450 nm/m of binary, excellent quality in interiors and exteriors, good road driving, it's the car that you expect in every situation.

Report Abuse

Sneaky Wolf in Sheep’s clothing

Christian, 05/14/2019
AWD 4dr Wagon (2.7L 6cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Dump the air suspension for coil overs, Porsche Panamera front end brakes bolt in with no modifications. strap in and go!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050