Used 2017 Volvo S60 Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
28 reviews
List Price Range
$19,500 - $22,488

Used S60 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

S60L - China Rules!

wbm, 02/22/2017
T5 Inscription Platinum 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
27 of 29 people found this review helpful

This is the first major Chinese car exported to the USA- I got the S60 Inscription, Platinum from Princeton Volvo. We were looking for a car for long trips up to Canada that is both comfortable and fuel efficient. I looked at Lexus, Audi and VW cars (we had a Honda, and had a bad reliability experience with the Mercedes E320 wagon). The Audi is more quiet, but has a smaller interior with a smaller fuel tank - for long trips we really appreciated both the larger cabin, and the good fuel mileage. We recently did 1000 miles up to Canada and back and can testify that the car performed very well. Our son was comfortable in the back reading - in the Honda he got motion sickness. In particular, while some journalists do not like the adaptive cruse control, I found it fantastic - once one gets use to using it, it makes long drives on moderately busy freeways much much more enjoyable and stress free. The S60L has a longer wheel base which reduce handling, but increases stability - the car performed perfectly on busy highways with large trucks that can blow a car around. Many journalists complained about the lack of a touch screen - I strictly preferred the S60 to both the S90 and Audi A4- the navigation screen is perfect - I find the heads up display very distracting, and once one gets the hang of it, the S60 system is efficient - the hardest thing to do is enter an address, but with Volvo on call this is easy - find the address on ones phone and then send to the car. The negatives are the following - small trunk - holds about 4 roll-ons plus a bit - we got the spare tire that reduces trunk space (which for long trips is something we value - being stuck on a highway with a flat at 2am is not great). Second, one can put a Class 2 hitch for a bike rack or cargo carrier, but for the moment there are no roof racks for the Inscription - Rhino Rack says they may do them in the future, but Thule (and hence Volvo) says they will not do them - so I would not recommend the car for a family that needs more space - with roof racks and a cargo box, the car could be a good family car - large cabin plus comfortable, but precise ride. Finally, the car can use regular gas, but 89 octane gets 12% better mileage, so we will use that going forward. Overall, we would get the same car again, unless there is a V60 Inscription, which would solve the lack of cargo space, while giving more cabin space. Update August 2018: Our initial impressions have not changed much. The following seemingly small issues would probably lead me to buy a different car this time: 1. Headlights are not great - it would be nice to have running lamps - I have these on my other car and have found that they do improve driving in the fog and snow. Volvo used to have these, but no longer. 2. We did use the spare on the way to the airport and so it saved us from missing a flight - wish they would make more room for a spare. 3. Still no rack for the car. Really irritating, especially if one skis. I put a hitch on for a bike rack that I do us frequently, and had a wiring harness put in for towing - Volvo does not support these, so it was after market. 4. Windshield wipers are not very good, and given the unusual specs I could not find an aftermarket pair that would do better. Overall, it is a nice car, but for the American market Volvo really seems to want to force people to large gas guzzler's for car's that have utility features . A sedan is great for day to day driving, and the extra room in the back is very nice. However, for holidays one would like more usability features - overhead rack, better wipers, better lights. In the theory the cross-country is suppose to cover these, but then why the small back seat? The longer Inscription is a definite improvement.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty yet safe

Lenore Evans, 11/23/2016
T5 Inscription Platinum 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am thrilled with the Volvo S60 AWD Inscription Platinum. It is a joy to drive. Hugs the road in a sporty way yet the ride is smoothe and quiet. They have every safety feature available. My 17 year old daughter even loves it and thinks it's sporty and stylish and the Harmon Kardon stereo is with the upgrade.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

Ana M, 01/03/2017
T5 Dynamic 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I know this brand very well, this is my 5th Volvo. Safety is of utmost importance to me, and the quality is great too. I enjoy having peace of mind when I am on the road. Love to travel and it is good to have peace of mind. I wanted something bigger, but it's me alone most of the time. So I got another S60. The sales associate Ingrid was there through the process and was helpful and not pushy, we had a good footing from the introduction. Made the sale go smoothly almost effortless. Great place, personnel and friendly people that make you feel welcomed.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great card to buy if you’re willing to buy used.

Will, 08/11/2018
T6 R-Design Platinum 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Twincharger 8A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Wanted to step up to a luxury car. Couldn’t afford it new and didn’t want to lease due insurance costs in my state. Found that I could see tens of thousands of dollars if I was willing to buy a-year-old model. This website helped me find a low mileage car that was a great deal.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

S60 was the right choice.

Dave - Northern, NJ, 01/25/2019
T5 Dynamic 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had not really considered a Volvo, let alone an S60, but living in the north eastern United States we needed an AWD vehicle. I was only considering a sedan as my wife already had an SUV. We were initially looking at the obvious German choices, but I was not a fan of the interior's and somehow we ended up at a Volvo dealer and when I sat in the car it literally felt like it fit like a glove. The seats are amazing, the interior had a beautiful cockpit design for the driver and it was visually a beautiful interior. While it is not a sports car, it drives very well, great acceleration, tight turning radius, it is both fun and pleasurable to drive. Initially I thought the small trunk would be an issue, but as it turns out my family of 3 can put everything we need for a long ski weekend in the car with room to spare. I did end up purchasing a few accessories, we added the factory roof rack for our skis, it fits perfect, no modification needed, added the glasses holder, the factory all weather floor mats and such. What really surprised me was how comfortable the car is on long drives and how fuel efficient it was. The stereo sounds fantastic. On the flip side, it is a stiffer ride quality than I was expecting on local roads and the navigation is a little cumbersome, outside of that we love the car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Should I buy the lease?

GD, 12/02/2019
T5 Dynamic 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had developed a hip pain about three years ago, likely from driving my Porsche Boxster but also was there, to a lesser degree, with the daily Hyundai driver. I took out about 10 makes from Audi to Honda to Mercedes etc. to find a comfortable ride. Taking out the Volvo S60Dynamic AWD was a revelation. Not only did the pain not materialize, but the seat and drive was very comfortable as well as engaging on a country road. The interior and exterior were attractive and its low key demeanor doesn't scream for attention. During the past 33 months, I've learned many interesting things about the vehicle. On a summer road trip to NJ in traffic the Volvo averaged 36-40 mpg @ 50-60 mph. The adaptive HID headlights are excellent for an older driver on a country road at night, where night vision isn't what it used to be. It is an excellent ski companion for a couple with AWD on snow covered roads with its ski tunnel and enough space for luggage and gear. The clincher was 2 weeks ago, when driving a back road after dark when tired, my concentration wandered and I had to emergency brake when the car in front of me stopped to turn w/o signalling. The car went into City Safe and stopped 2 feet from the back bumper. I thought it was a rear ender for sure. That was the clincher. I've decided to buy the Volvo and name her Inga.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

First Volvo

DG, 10/26/2018
T5 Inscription 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought the S60 Inscription to replace a Toyota Camry. I test drove several vehicles and ended up falling love with the Volvo due to it's classy interior and spacious back seat. While not a sports car it drives and handles well, and does everything I ask of it. These are the most comfortable seats I've ever sat in. They make it a pleasure driving this car. I am not crazy about the keyboard on the console, and I wish the dash was leather, but overall I am quite pleased. The trunk is a little small, but I also realize the spaciousness of the back seat is the plus here. I do like al of the safety features, and love having a back up camera and blindside sensors. I also like the wet sensor windshield wipers. I like the technology of the car. I think it has an adequate sound system, and the computer is easy to use once you become accustomed to it. My only qualm is the navigation system. It isn't easy to use, and you can't do a split screen of that and the radio. I have had no issues with the car thus far (6 months in) and the fuel economy is even better than advertised.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Girly gripe from a guy!

Geosat1, 03/31/2018
T5 Dynamic 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

What? only two cup holders! What? no change holder! Recently purchased this car in Fort Worth TX and drove it to my home in Cocoa, FL (yes I got a great deal.) Gave the car a good workout in heavy rains, little rain, and dangerous I95 s. I found the car to have have excellent acceleration and fuel economy around 30 mpg without ECO engaged. Minor complaints I know, but the center panel has a primitive design. So much wasted space with hidden space pass through and a primitive shifter with no paddles. Should have a rotary shifter which would allow for many more things even my tiny 1.5 liter Ford had them creating a much more space. Also has a less than intuitive SENSUS system, don't get me started on that one! Overall peppy performance and very safe vehicle two of the primary reasons for purchase.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

3-Year Lease Retrospective - A Very Balanced Car

SSI-GA, 03/22/2020
T5 Dynamic 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is truly a very well-balanced car. The exterior and interior design are classy and have aged well. The interior quality held up very well over the past 30,000 miles and it still looks new. The ride, handling, and steering all strike a nice balance between comfort and sportiness. I have had no reliability issues to speak of, and my overall MPG for the life of the car, based on the in-car computer, is 33 MPG combined. Very impressive. Contrary to an earlier review, this car is extremely quiet at highway speeds, no wind noise. The standard sound system is very good. One thing I appreciate about this car, especially in light of most new cars, is that it has actual buttons and knobs for all major functions such as the radio and climate controls. I am not going to lease another S60 because I find the touchscreen system too distracting. The only real criticism I have of this car is the lack of storage. You get two cupholders and that is pretty much it. Nowhere for a phone, wallet, keys, etc, other than those two cupholders. Overall, a very well-balanced, premium car that is comfortable and fun to drive, delivers well above average fuel economy, and has a timeless, classy design. Not too bad.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Still regret buying this car

J. Rebele, 10/29/2017
T5 Inscription 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
24 of 34 people found this review helpful

This is my second Volvo S60. I currently own a 2017 S60 Inscription model. I did not realize that Inscriptions are made in China, not Sweden. My first drive on the highway revealed an air-leak noise when the car gets to about 60 MPH. The dealer has attempted to fix this problem without success. We drove another Inscription model vehicle; same noise. The wind noise is very loud, so this is not a minor issue. The dealer discussed problem with Volvo in an attempt to get me out of this vehicle and into a different car (Dynamic model). Volvo refused to do anything, claiming that the noise is a "characteristic" of the vehicle. Ridiculous response, as this noise should not be found in a $40K+ vehicle. I have about 4,000 miles on the car and I am looking to get rid of it. Anyone thinking of buying an S60 Inscription model should drive it on a highway getting to at least 60 MPH. Not a normal part of a test drive, but advisable for the Inscription. You will likely buy a different car. I wish I had. I now have about 23,000 miles on the car, and the "wind" noise and rattle under dash are still my driving companions. Volvo has done nothing to fix either problem. I am currently looking to trade the car. I'll take a loss, but life's too short to drive this Volvo.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050