Used 2013 Volvo S60 Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35 reviews
List Price Range
$10,900 - $13,198

Used S60 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

New S60 T5

houstonjoe, 08/06/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
183580 of 183599 people found this review helpful

I kept my eye on the S60, since I needed a more 'corporate' car, coming out of my 2009 C30 I've loved for the last 3 years. The S60 hit all the marks: upscale, gorgeous inside and out; fun to drive and decent price/performance. Consumer Reports and the auto trade press seem to all like this car, and it scores well on the CR reliability ratings. I've had mine for about 2 weeks. This is the first time in about 30 years of purchasing cars that I've bought the same brand back-to-back. This car is a hit for Volvo.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

A solid workhorse in a field of sprinters

Brian, 03/31/2016
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
128 of 132 people found this review helpful

Here's the deal, this car is a niche buy and tell you why. But first some background. My job is in the automotive electronics world, so working with car companies and design engineers is what I do 50 hours a week. What most engineers will tell you over dinner is that Volvo's have and do have the most solid design in the world. What that means is that they favor safety and long-term reliability over short-term aesthetics and performance. Here is where the problem begins. There are large segments of car buyers and this one fails to hit a big group. I'll get to that later. But here goes my personal review. This is an awesome car, but I'll give my 3 small criticisms. 1. The backseat. There are no 2 ways around this. The backseat is comfortable but insanely small. If you're over 5ft 8 inches, people will be uncomfortable sitting behind you. 2. The instrument cluster/infotainment. The speedometer takes a little getting used to. I'd expect a digital one to be honest, but you don't get it here. Can't say why its off a little, but its a minor annoyance. 3. Front seats. This is really dependent on the person. I'm 6ft 5in, so I'm a big guy. This car has really nice, comfortable seats, but they sit low and the whole car has kind of a low profile. For the extra long trips, comfort is a bit of an issue. But this is really just a big person problem. My wife and brother in law have driven it long distances as normal sized people in great comfort. Now the good. Where do I start. I have the AWD version and live in Minnesota, so you can do the math of how much fun you have when you mix a turbo with AWD in the snow. But that's not unique to this car. What is unique is the build itself. What you'll find when you drive european cars like this is that they just feel tight, from the suspension to the steering. But the S60 has an extra feeling of being just solid and that doesn't wear off. If you care to do so, just open the hood or go underneath it. I've done a little work myself and can tell you that they are meticulously well built and designed. There is a really rugged simplicity to them. the car is sport, quick and responsive. Don't believe reviewers that tell you otherwise. Simply google the 0-60 and other tests, it performs well. This is where it begins to distance itself from the Audi's and BMWs. These Volvos are best bought by people that plan to own them for a while. the target market is someone who wants a nice European style sedan with Japanese reliability. I've only had to have on repair done and it was the electronic parking brake motor (under warranty). But I can tell you that the repair bills will be nowhere near that of its European cousins, but will be higher than an American or Japanese car. The bottom line is that no matter what you hear or are told by Audi fanboys and the like, the S60 is a better car if you care about long term reliability and affordability. You may get a little more short term spunk from the Audi and BMW counterparts, but the only other place you'll get more is the price tag and the repair bill. There has been a ton of market research on this point and there is a significant segment of the population that buys European cars in this price range. That segment is men, ages 25-40. The main reason they buy them is the name recognition and status. The problem for Volvo is that Audi, BMW and to some extent VW own this space almost completely. There are 2 companies trying to crack that market. Cadillac, with their ATS and Volvo with the S60. Both a failing for the most part. The reason is that they don't have 4 rings or a blue and white badge on the grill. Long review, but I feel this car deserves it. Don't fall victim to the popularity contest. In this class of cars, this is the smart person's choice.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

An outstanding sedan

smerdyakov, 03/19/2014
T6 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

In the last three years I have had an Audi A4 quatrro and a Buick Regal GS, and this car is superior to both of them. The seats are the best that I have ever had, and the 6 cylinder turbo is powerful, and runs on regular fuel. Unlike the same feature in many other cars, the Sport mode enhances performance considerably. It is quiet, smooth, and much faster than I had expected. Mileage tends to average about 32 mpg on the highway, which is not outstanding but adequate. Interior and exterior styling is restrained and elegant, and the layout for all controls is excellent. I don't understand why I feel so few of these cars on the street.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Enjoying my new S60

keithv, 03/19/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Only about 400 miles on the car so far, so still breaking it in. The car is smooth and very comfortable, and I'm enjoying the T5's engine, which has better and smoother pickup than the VW EOS I traded in. For the money, I don't think there is a car on the road with more comfortable seats than the Volvo. The infotainment system is pretty intuitive. There is a bit of wind noise in the cabin. So far getting 23 MPG on regular, which should improve a bit when broken in. The sales staff at Maroone/AutoNation Volvo in Delray Beach were easy to work with, and very accomodating when I had to factory order the car to get the ext/int combination I wanted. I also got a very fair deal & trade.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Finest car I've ever owned

KVogel, 05/19/2019
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I am a serial car trader. Normally I will buy a car, drive it for 30-40K miles, and go for something different. This S60 has been different. I just turned over 105K miles, the car still drives like the day I brought it home, and I can honestly see myself putting 200K on it. Other than routine maintenance and gas, it has never cost me a penny or a day in the shop. The strengths of this car for me are (1) Smooth power, linear torque, and good acceleration; (2) Strong, smooth brakes; (3) Understated, classy looks that have held up well vs. newer designs; (4) Rich leather that has aged incredibly well considering the hours I've spent in the driver's seat, along with a simple, uncluttered interior layout; (5) Great factory stereo that pairs flawlessly with multiple devices; (6) Spring loaded rear headrests that can be released from a button on the dash to unexpectedly smack smart-alecky kids in the head (a source of great amusement for the whole family). If I could change anything, it would be: (1) Transmission is not as smooth as some out there (my daughter's VW, for one). It's always been just a little more twitchy; (2) Trunk space is OK, but awkward to get anything of any size in and out. Putting back seats down doesn't help much.(3) Some of the silver trim on the center console is starting to flake/delaminate around the edges, and every once in a while a piece will get very sharp and has to be clipped off. Bottom line though is that has simply been the finest vehicle I've ever owned.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Solid sports sedan

tomhager, 12/05/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Traded in my Acura TSX after the second timing chain went out, test drove a T5 AWD and was hooked -- great combo of comfort and fun. Drove it through a late-night thunderstorm in the Oregon mountains and felt perfectly safe -- the thing corners like it's on rails. Love the power and quiet.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Good start but could use a little help....

jimdd, 04/12/2014
T6 R-Design 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Been driving my S60 R-Design for just over a year. Great styling differentiates this car from a standard A4 or 3-Series. Motor is smooth and powerful with very little or no turbo lag. Interior is clean and comes off like a German car with a little twist. I actually use the on-dash dial pad often. It's not simply a gimmick. All in all, its a nice upgrade from my G37x but leaves me wanting just a little more. Maybe I'll consider the new Limited Edition R-Design if it isn't cost prohibitive. Update: The breaks are still horrible. Couple of distinct rattles which are well hidden.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I look forward to driving this S60 every day

virginiacarguy, 09/03/2012
T6 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Having owned many BMWs, Audi, Acura and various other cars and SUVs, this S60 is the perfect balance of comfort and fun to drive. The old Volvo stereotypes are long gone. While it doesn't have the track or tech specs of a 3 series (like 50/50 weight distribution), it excels at daily driving by perfectly balancing performance and comfort. The S60 is smooth, quiet, composed, solid, quick, very comfortable with superb seats and firm suspension that is never harsh. I recommend the Polestar modification that makes the vehicle faster, reduces throttle/pedal travel and makes power available more immediately. A loaded 325 hp S60 is thousands less than a loaded 4 cyl BMW.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

A Blast To Drive

jeffm5, 09/08/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My S60 T5 is the FWD model. I've had it for about 6 wks. and have 2,000 mis. on it. It's loaded with NAV and safety options. Front seat comfort is outstanding. All of the controls are on the steering wheel or within easy reach. Handling is outstanding,, power and acceleration are very good. The car has a solid feel. No rattles. Good visibility. The ride is a little choppy on rough roads, very good otherwise. I'm getting 30+ on the highway at about 65 MPH and around 24 in mixed driving with regular gas.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

A smart choice (for me)

kmjs_1, 02/15/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a replacement for my '03 IS300 Sportcross and ended up test driving everything from a Mini Clubman S to the new Lexus ES. All over the map. But I kept coming back to the Volvo S60 because it was comfortable to drive (front seats are amazing), felt solid as a rock, had good acceleration running on regular, and could be bought for much less than competitors. The long term review of the 2012 model on Inside Line was almost all positive as were other published reports. The 2013 T5 model improved in acceleration and gas mileage, nice combo of improvements. Reliable, comfortable, a great value. So now I own a Caspian blue with beechwood leather S60 T5 and am a happy camper.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

mtasquared, 12/11/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Just bought this car one week ago, in Platinum trim. Safety features are remarkable. Power is smooth and makes driving fun. Rear headroom is a little low, one of the few minuses. I wanted to get away from all the little compromises of econoboxes with this purchase. Mission accomplished.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2013 Used S60 AWD Platinum and love it

Sheila Norman, 12/31/2015
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

Bought used with high milage. All services were documented on Carfax so I felt that it was previously cared for. Honestly it is like it was a new car and I was lucky to have found a Platinum with all the bells and whistles. The drive is great, smooth handling. The audio is phenomenal. I didn't have warranty left on the car so I missed getting the dealer issues. I've driven it for almost two months and look forward to driving it everyday.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Like it better than Audi

mklay, 03/22/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

Since 1996 I’ve owned various new A4’s, an A6 and A3 (I’ve always preferred Audi’s over BMW’s and Mercedes and never considered VOLVO). In short, after test driving a 2013 S60 T5, “it was a no brainer” I went ahead and leased it on the spot (it was that easy).

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

I love my ride

Nollie, 03/07/2016
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I love my car. One complaint doesn't do well with water pockets. The vehicle seems to light to drive in the rain

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Performance plus fuel efficiency

jschuld, 09/29/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful

Having owned a 2005 TSX, 2006 TL, 2011 Maxima, I was looking for something a little different. I really liked the looks and performance of the Maxima, but driving 45,000 miles a year was taking it's toll on the wallet with premium gasoline and 25 mpg. I like decent performance in a car and that is one reason I passed on Volvo each time I took a test ride in the past. When I noticed the new S60, it really caught my attention. Having driven my S69 6000 miles now, I can say it's the favorite car I have owned. The ride is a lot like the TL, there is a great feeling for the road and it handles turns exceptionally well. It also runs fine on 87 octane fuel.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Like a Bat outta Hell

azelscotto, 05/29/2013
T6 R-Design 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

She flies. That torque curve is unreal. After a week with the R-Spec I can say that the tight suspension handles uneven pavement better than I had expected. The cabin is very quiet and IMO the sound system is equal to the Audi with the Bang and Olufsen, as I tested the Audi and the Volvo the same day.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Blast to drive...but...

mark361, 08/13/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

A thrill to drive. Salesman said it can out-perform a police cruiser and I believe it.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

engine cold start problem

lee168, 12/09/2012
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
30 of 41 people found this review helpful

I just bought a 2013 volvo s60 t5 about two weeks ago. When I started the engine in a cold morning, the engine misfires and rumbles for about 5 to 10 seconds. It has been happening every morning when the temperature is below 50 degree, and it happens only the first time you start the engine. After the first time, everything is fine. I brought the car to a volvo dealer, they did all the testings and did not find anything wrong. they contacted volvo support and was suggested to upgrade ECM software 36004-2.3. but the problem still exists after the software upgrade.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great small sedan!

Lynn E., 07/03/2018
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

It doesn't get any safer than a Volvo! Additionally, the turn radius is excellent, the city braking is a very useful back-up, and the interior is very comfortable. The dual climate zone works well, as do the auto climate and heated seats. The only downsides to the car in my experience have been the fuel economy (not great, but the price you pay for driving a small tank, safety-wise) and the Navigation system. Whatever software the navigation uses is terrible and frequently takes completely illogical routes. I just end up using my phone's navigation. Overall, I love the car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

I wish I'd kept my C30

raindances, 11/28/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

Well, where do I start. Let's do the good stuff: I love the interior, it is comfortable. The freeway ride quality is great. It is fairly quiet on good road surfaces. Now the bad stuff: Had an a/c problem with a pressure relief valve. Took 4 visits to resolve even though it is a known issue. Had a bad fuel pump, causing hard starting from cold. Took 4 visits to resolve even though it is a known issue. Have a steering wobble at speeds around 40mph. This is "normal" according to Volvo. Engine surges and is jerky in any gear and at any speed. This is "normal" according to Volvo. Transmission experiences a delay engaging first gear when pulling away from a stop. This results in a jerk.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car Poor gas Mileage initially in T5 AWD

frugal_car_guy, 03/08/2014
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My original review was more negative, but the more I drive it, the better I like it. I wish I had the voice activated phone and built in garage door opener, but that's only on the top of the line. Overall, it's the best car I've ever owned. I have owned a T5 AWD automatic premier for 2 years now. While I initially got poor gas mileage, it has improved to almost 22 over all, and I got 32 MPG highway on my last road trip. I get about 21.5 in typical suburban driving and commuting. (FYI: In 2015, the new 4 cyl engine is faster and gets 25 city, 37 highway.) Other than that the car handles great, is very smooth and comfortable and has very good acceleration. I have had no problems so far. Another negative is that the controls, radio, seat heater etc. are a bit difficult to operate, but eventually I got used to it. This car is smoother, more comfortable, quieter, and handles better than my wife's 2012 Acura TL. I got a great deal on a demo. Free scheduled maintenance is a bonus and cost saver.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great car

Pak Ho, 03/17/2016
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Shop around before you pay. Best value compare with the same "level" of european car. Compare to this price. You can get a BMW or MB but in term of safety to price and maintenance, this is my first choice. Very easy to replace air filter.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Look elsewhere. High maintenance costs,subpar tech

Unhappy S60 owner, 09/28/2017
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

Pros: Drives well, comfortable front seats. Cons: Tech features far behind competitors. Even in newer models the tech you get for the money is well behind other manufacturers. Small backseat. Ridiculously expensive maintenance. I should have bought a Honda Accord. Update: I traded in my S60 on an Accord. Much better tech. Much bigger backseat for the kids.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Not Really a Sedan

Thomas Gannon, 04/06/2016
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 25 people found this review helpful

You may call this vehicle a sedan but after 2+ years with this vehicle it is better classified as a coupe. Sure it has 4 doors but the back seat is useless. The trunk isn't much better. At 12cu. ft. even a simple weekly trip to the grocery store requires items to be put in the back seat for the trip home. As for a road trip with more than 2 people just forget it. There is no way to put enough luggage in the trunk for anything more than a weekend and anything bigger than an infant in the back seat is a joke. Ironically, the only people that would fit in the back seat only make the lack of trunk space worse because they require even more stuff. Fuel economy on a vehicle of this size is awful. I owned a Accord before this vehicle and the mileage was on average 35% better for a vehicle that was bigger and older. The audio controls are confusing and lack simple functions. The Volvo system stores information some logical and some not so logical places. The resale value of this car has plummeted and I am not in a market where there are a number of these vehicles available so oversupply is not driving down the price. If we had not traded a paid in full vehicle against the purchase I would be upside down on the loan. We looked at other Volvo's to replace this one but found most suffer from the same lack of seating in the rear seats. If your going into this purchase thinking you are buying a sedan look elsewhere, if you wwant to pretend your buying a family car and really buying a sport coupe then this is a good vehicle for you.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Lethargic

thrustreverser, 05/07/2014
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 14 people found this review helpful

Found myself shifting the trans to "Sport" mode because in drive mode it shifts like a granny and is unresponsive; it short shifts into 2nd gear when under moderate to heavy throttle. In regular mode off the line, this car feels like a prius. It is slow to accelerate and short-shifts every gear. When trying to pass, the transmission takes too long to respond. I would not buy this car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have owned yet

hashmd, 02/25/2013
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My previous car was a top of the line 2006 Chrysler Town and Country. With the kids finally grown, I wanted a nice sedan to replace it after my son wrecked it. Of course, after a wreck, you want something safe. This car was the perfect balance of luxury, ride, performance, and gas mileage, all on REGULAR gas! Other luxury performance cars are strictly Premium grade gas. And this car passed the newest type of crash test at the IIHS which Mercedes, Audi, BMW didn't pass at all. Acura barely passed. Do other cars get better performance specs? Sure, but they cost noticably more. BMW gets better mileage, but again at higher purchase price and premium gas. 2/25/17-Now the 2nd best car I have ever owned. My new best car is my 2016 Volvo XC90. That is a whole another review! 2/27/18-Only breakdown was a battery went dead, which apparently then damaged the alternator. Alternators are hard to find for this car, new or used!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Swedish Tanks unite!

Myneed4swede, 10/08/2020
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2013 Volvo S60 T5 with approximately 88,000 miles on it three years ago in 2017. It was a one owner vehicle that was maintained by one dealer the whole time. First off I want to say that overall I am very happy with my S60 as a major upgrade from a 2008 Honda Civic I owned previously from power to driver engagement and over to having some of the most comfortable seats in any vehicle under $100k! Not to mention the quality vault-like door shutting sound is almost unheard of in this price segment. I purposely sought out a 2013 and newer model since I knew the 2011 and 2012 models were affected by the piston ring Technical service bulletin(TSB) for oil consumption. Little did I know that I was buying an oil burner as well. I do all of my own repairs and service on my vehicles and religiously change the oil in the Volvo every 5,000 miles with Pennzoil Platinum full synthetic 5w30 and a Mann oil filter. Despite this and the impeccable service records of the dealer previous to my ownership the 2.5L would burn oil at the rate of 1QT/1000 miles. I decided to live with it that way for a couple of years since there isn't alot you can do in my state when it comes to vehicles purchased used "as is", even when bought through a dealer. Besides, I really enjoyed the rest of the vehicle. In the first two years I had to replace the driver’s side door lock actuator, full tune up, and replace the pcv/oil filter assembly. This revealed another downside, parts for Volvo's that are under 5 years old are right up there in price with the other European counterparts of VW and BMW; so don't expect to pay Honda Accord or Toyota Camry low cost levels for maintenance or repairs. Then 2 years into ownership with 120k miles on the clock I started having fouled spark plugs due to the excessive oil consumption despite the plugs only having 20k miles on Volvo OEM plugs. After further research I found the TSB for oil consumption was expanded to include 2013-2017 models with the 2.5L Turbo engine. I contacted Volvo corporate in Sweden and had them look over the vehicle. They confirmed that it was affected by the oil consumption and agreed to replace the piston rings at about 45% cost being passed on to me. But, they were willing to replace the Timing belt, water pump, belts, and tensioner that I purchased and provided to them. Being a TSB and not a recall the manufacturer is not obligated to pay for any of the repairs. So, seeing that Volvo was willing to meet me half-way gives me confidence that they stand by their products much more than most manufacturers do this day and age. Since this work was completed I’ve only had to replace a fuel pressure sensor that was acting up giving intermittent lost power issues that requires removing the air box and intake manifold to replace. Along with changing the transmission fluid for what I assume is the first service and it was BLACK (should be red). If you do your research on many vehicles you will find that the oil consumption is a pretty common issue across the board with many manufacturers trying to push the limits of the ever increasing fuel efficiency standards. And if you stick with the 2.5L Turbo as in the 2013's, you can rest assured you will never have the carbon buildup issues that plague almost all direct injection engines since Volvo still used good old port fuel injection with the 2.5. Now at 145k miles it runs great with the same power and luxury feel that it had when I bought it. Just got back from a 2,000 mile road trip without a single hiccup that returned 28mpg average while traveling through mostly mountainous roads. In mixed commuting I usually average 23mpg on Premium fuel. Looking to get another even more reliable 100k more miles out of the ole Swede! Overall, if you are looking for the higher end luxury feel that can only come from a European car without having to completely drain your wallet to the likes of an Audi or BMW, give Volvo a shot. It’s a little bit less of a “drivers car” than the aforementioned but your much lower insurance costs and overall maintenance will show it. Would definitely recommend to anyone trying to break into the segment.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

See my original review for more details; this is a follow up

raindances, 03/18/2014
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 39 people found this review helpful

Everything about this car is junk. Build quality, mechanical quality, transmission programming. I have never had a car I hated this much. Just wish it wasn't leased so I could trade it in. Don't believe what you read. I have driven other examples and they are similarly afflicted.

Report Abuse
2.38 out of 5 stars

Volvo is not Volvo Anymore

nevervolvo, 05/25/2014
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 36 people found this review helpful

No Volvo is better than the S80 until my engine blew after 32000 miles. For one month I drove loaner S60 T5 2012. I decided to buy one even though it was not comfortable and has no style. Factory incentives made it more advantageous to buy a new 2013. After the first day, the car when given light gas as in heavy traffic or starting from stop has a rattle sound like a paint can. The car went back 10 times from the dealer. A file was opened by Volvo NA and they said they all do that because of the CVTrans. The 2012 has different drive train. This car is junk and everytime I hear that rattle which is everytime I drive it reminds me of a $40K mistake. After 5 V's the next car is Lexus

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Excellent performance

Lori Carlino, 02/28/2016
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Engine?

CRG, 03/17/2017
T6 R-Design 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 15 people found this review helpful

Appears to be a problem with this particular engine. #2 at 24000. Possibly #3 at 50000

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Veronica my Volvo

Sarah Begley, 08/01/2017
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

love it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

So far so good Volvo s60 FWD

Rafael A., 10/14/2020
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As an owner of a 3.2 a5 and a 2.5 volvo i got to say that when i step in the volvo i dont have that anxiety feeling that i do with my A5 hoping nothing breaks down lol. I just feel comfortable and feels really reliable. My a5 is a head turner because its modified and the volvo is just under the radar which i like. Althought the AWD would have been better i dont worry much because of the complexity of the awd. Only dowmside of my volvo is that i cant see a temp gauge which can be a problem if the tech on car is bad ir faulty. Overall i love this car for longevity and used my Audi as a weekend car.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Having recall EORK done

Diane weinbaum, 02/11/2021
T6 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Like the style and car. Hybrid would be nice and rear window wipers

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

J Stokely, 04/28/2021
T5 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is great, it anticipates what you want before you do, I will never drive anything else.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050