Skip to main content
12345...15

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 ID.4, so we've included reviews for other years of the ID.4 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Move Over, Elon. You've Got Competition

Jewopaho, 05/02/2021
updated 11/10/2022
2021 Volkswagen ID.4 1st Edition 4dr SUV (electric DD)
99 of 105 people found this review helpful

We've never been VW fans. Each time we test-drove one, the vehicle fell short of the competition. However, the ID.4 not being your typical Volkswagen, we pursued a possible purchase. We drove a demo, and were impressed. The general consensus from three dealerships was that we'd have to order one to our specs online, then wait for it to be built and shipped from Germany. The fourth dealer in the area showed one available. By the quirk of luck, a model (1st Edition) dressed exactly as we would have ordered it was sitting on that showroom's floor. Apparently, the purchaser declined delivery, and we were able to buy it. For starters, it doesn't look like any EV on the road ... no funny shape (looks just the same as a standard SUV) or cheesy interiors (actually borders on the upscale). Range is just over 250 miles, three years of free charging through Electrify America, $7500 tax credit (provided you owe that much on your return) ... priced fairly (MSRP $45,100, we paid $44,400). Driving is a pleasure, smooth without being sloppy, plenty of pickup (entered the freeway with no problem), responsive handling, comfortable seating, not to mention quiet. We've also driven a Tesla Model Y ... no comparison whatsoever. If you can get to drive an ID.4, do it. You'll be impressed, too. Update: After ten months of ownership, nothing about this vehicle has changed our opinion. It remains an outstanding EV. My wife is the primary driver, and raves about it to whomever will listen (and some folks who won't). We have a 220/240 setup in the garage, so charging is not an issue. No regrets about the purchase.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

I wish I could rate this car 4.5 Stars

Hammer23, 06/22/2021
2021 Volkswagen ID.4 1st Edition 4dr SUV (electric DD)
59 of 62 people found this review helpful

First, this is NOT a Tesla, if your primary consideration is to compare it with a Model Y, then you may be disappointed. I bought a ID.4 First Edition. It is a wonderful compact SUV, but its primary target audience is not Tesla buyers, it is RAV4, CRV, and other small SUV buyers. When compared to that group, I feel you can't go wrong with the ID.4. You get a competent, well laid out SUV that happens to run on electric. Here are the positives - Electric range is 250 miles according to the EPA, I have found in real life if you stick to the speed limits you will achieve this easily. Temperature can impact this, but I have found the range to be adequate. Using a 125KW charger at Electrify America, the vehicle can recharge from 5% to 80% in about a half hour. That gives you about 200 miles of range. As a bonus, 3 years of charging at EA stations is included free for 3 years. - Driving, I enjoy driving this car very much. It is extremely quiet and smooth, acceleration is on par with other small SUVs. Torque is instant and will throw you back in your seat. Since the center of gravity is low, and VW includes wide tires, this vehicle handles better than you would expect. This vehicle is extremely comfortable, the seats have great padding. Cargo room is about what you would expect in a small SUV. My First Edition has a HUGE fixed moon roof that is an awesome feature. - Operating costs are phenomenal. I live in Ohio and charging this from 5% to 80% takes about 6 hours on a level 2 charger at 40 amps. It costs about $5 and nets about 200 miles of range. At 30 MPG in a traditional SUV that would cost about $20 at $3 a gallon. *Remember you can charge at Electrify America stations for FREE. There is no real maintenance to speak of except routine inspections and air filter changes. - Technology, here is where I take away half a star. The infotainment system and vehicle controls work well, but there is a learning curve. Don't skip the orientation at the dealership. Expect to take about two hours to go through your vehicle with the dealer. There is A LOT to learn. Once you understand how the system and controls operate, they are actually quite fun to use. Being an early release, there are some obvious improvements that need to be made. One of them is in the navigation system. It is just downright awful. It will add charging stations to your trip as needed, but they often are slow level 2 chargers and not the DC fast charging that would be a better option. While this is a big miss, you can use your choice of third party navigation apps through Apple CarPlay or Android Auto. Using the Plugshare app, will help you plot charging stations along your route. It is an extra step that I hope VW resolves with an upcoming update. By the way, this car is completely capable of over the air updates. Which means that no trip to the dealer is required to update the software and enable new features. In summary, I am very pleased that I made the choice to purchase this car. It has exceeded my expectations and I actually look forward to driving it. VW did a great job and in true VW fashion, the build quality is excellent. I think this is a solid choice for someone looking for an electric suv. With the $7500 tax credit, this vehicle is an amazing value. I encourage you to put it on your list and go test drive it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Of ALL Car's I've Owned

Lee Rothman, 06/21/2021
2021 Volkswagen ID.4 Pro S (Statement) 4dr SUV (electric DD)
66 of 70 people found this review helpful

Considering I've owned 17 new cars since 1969, some of which were premium vehicles. I have certainly had the experience of quality in my driving career. For 10 years I traveled 17 states for a living from Ohio to the West Coast in a 1994 Volvo 850, a superb vehicle for comfort and safety. I never fully intended to visit the idea of ID4 ownership until I happened into my dealer with a 2020 Tiguan SEL, another fine vehicle. I was however getting very tired of shelling out for gas with the prices steadily rising. So lets get to the meat of the matter. I took the test drive and found the following. The ride quality and ability to absorb road defects was the finest I have had the opportunity to experience including all of what Honda, Nissan, Mazda and Toyota have to offer having driven them recently. Here's another kicker. The seats were by far the finest I've sat in no matter HOW much the vehicles cost and I'm talking up to $80k cars and SUV's I've checked out along the way. They are so comfortable and adjustable beyond compare. The Infotainment system is much criticized but let me just say that once you've seen a few good Youtube video's on how to customize and use it, it's a breeze, and the sound is darned good for not being a super premium system. The details it provides on the car and all the settings you can customize is staggering but welcome. Another thing that in noted almost immediately was the choice of materials used inside and fit and finish are top flight as in a luxury vehicle. That sure won me over. Every aspect of the vehicles design and operation from the mechanics to the seats and storage is classic German engineering, not the plasticky Japanese inspired stuff. I love the nice 19" tires of my Pro S which also came with about all the added features you can get. The suspension is also remarkable in it's suppleness and also the shear flat handling in corners at speeds which I was not used to. All the safety features work so well I was able to go 30 miles on a rural highway without touching a pedal. The wonderful Adaptive Cruise allowed me to effortlessly follow a car in front of me at a very good distance, and when we came to reduced speed corners my vehicle slowed perfectly to negotiate the turns. I LOVE that brake regenerative mode to drive as I rarely need to touch the brake. It is smooth and NOT abrupt like some seem to think it should be. NO thanks this is great. All the lighting and adaptive front lights keep up with the latest in safety and competency for night driving scenarios. I love the beefy, solid and tight steering wheel and love it's accuracy with NO slop. Closing the doors provide that wonderful solid bank vault type of thunk. The auto up and down back hatch is also a real delight. Storage space is simply outstanding and the hidden compartments are a real joy as well being so cleverly applied. All in all this vehicle is flat out fun to drive and I can't wait to get into it and go somewhere. I'm using only the supplied 110v charging cord and it's all I need as we often don't go anywhere for several days at a time so it's perfect, no need for a Level 2 charging system. I can only say to drive this vehicle is to love it. It rides and handles like a dream.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Update: Regret ID 4.

Matt R, 04/26/2021
updated 08/03/2023
2021 Volkswagen ID.4 1st Edition 4dr SUV (electric DD)
74 of 79 people found this review helpful

August 4, 2023: Oh, how badly things ended up with our ID4. After the initial excitement and wonder of our first EV, things started getting weird. The infotainment was extremely sluggish. In Texas heat, having to wait 20 seconds to be able to turn on or adjust the AC was brutal. Voice commands were a joke. Our first issue was cruise control not working. I finally theorized it might be because the cars front sensors were dirty. We washed the car, it started working again. Wow. Then the car began shutting down at driving/highway speeds with no warning. Talk about scary/dangerous. This happened at least 5 times over the course of our ownership across 2 drivers. There would be times the car would not recognize the key fob (after changing battery) resulting in getting stranded, having to walk away from car, wait a few minutes and it miraculously worked again. Our local dealer literally did not have the knowledge or tools to complete the recalls on the vehicle. We finally had to drive it to Dallas (with the issues) to get it done. The final straw for me was hearing it had a recall on the door handles which can fly off -- but there was no available fix yet for our model. (not to mention the recall had to perform promised OTA updates that actually take 18 hours plugged in at a dealer -- and bad cells in the battery). We traded for another vehicle. I probably should have pursued compensation from VW but as two working owners, we just don't have the time to be without a vehicle or the energy to dispute. We lost money on this for sure. I do NOT recommend this vehicle. We were looking to get out of an expensive finance mistake and ended up leasing a 1st edition ID4. We already have a VW Beetle and know that VW is a great brand and has always offered us an affordable option but with a focus on driver experience and affordable tech plus compared to other vehicles maintenance cost has always been great. The ID4 feels like a luxury vehicle in the 1st edition trim. Seats are extremely comfortable. We drove 365 miles on the highway from the dealer and found it to be very quiet, adequately powerful and fun to drive. The safety and tech features are top notch. We of course had range anxiety due to our distance from purchasing dealer but we were pleasantly surprised. Electrify America stations did give us a couple of issues (some were because of operator error) but their support line has a human answer the call within 1-2 minutes, amazing! We made it home with no worries and are already planning next mini road trip. Visibility on front windshield is superb. Panoramic moonroof (viewing only no open) is amazing. GREAT storage for drinks / flexibility of moving storage holders for big cups etc. Wireless charging is a plus. Android Auto & Apple Car Play. USB-C plugs. Motorized trunk opening/closing. Hard to talk about long term range yet due to new ownership. I would say this vehicle feels next get but is still enough like a regular crossover SUV that it is not a drastic change. I don't want to attract too much attention personally. My only complaint so far is the infotainment system seems to have too many options. I also personally like traditional buttons and knobs for climate control / radio. There is a volume "slider" and temp up and down buttons but most of the ac controls are on the screen. We will get used to it. Minor complaint. I would prefer it to have a spare tire but I know most vehicles are moving to eliminate that as well. All in all, this feels like a high-end affordable electric vehicle. We are optimistic that charging infrastructure will continue to improve in Texas. For now, it does have our most travelled routes places like El Paso, Midland, DFW and then El Paso, San Antonio, Austin. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Game changer for VW, Tesla better watch its back!!

Robert, 05/30/2021
2021 Volkswagen ID.4 1st Edition 4dr SUV (electric DD)
67 of 73 people found this review helpful

Got my ID4 1st Edition at VW Boston last week. I have to say that this vehicle feels by far like the best purchase for value of any vehicle out there if you are looking for a gas-saver EV with good range without settling for a cube/drab looking transportation pods (the case for most EVs out there except for Tesla). First, gas savings. I commuted in my SUV over 200 miles daily. I will now save $600 a month in gas. Second, I get a $7,500 credit from Uncle Sam and a $2,500 check from the State of Massachusetts for getting an EV. For me, I am essentially net out of pocket zero for the first three years that I get to own this excellent piece of German engineering that the ID4 is. Range: I'm getting about 280 on a charge as long as I keep my highway speed between 60-65. Your range will decrease as you increase your speed. Safety features galore. Anything that is out there the ID4 has. Luxury features, too many to mention. My favorite one: seat massage on both the driver and passenger side. Panoramic Moonroof, CarPlay/Android, Semi Autonomous Driving (car seems ready on the hardware side of things for full auto- software blocked for now to semi-autonomous with warnings and system triggered to brake and park car if it does not detect a driver). Stop and go Adaptive Cruise Control, Emergency Braking etc. I could go on and on about all the features in this vehicle. Slight negatives, voice control lags 2 or 3 seconds too long something that I am sure will improve over time with over the air updates. Slight negative turned into a positive- tactile touch screen was unresponsive on day one. I scheduled service with VW Boston, gave me a loaner (Jetta SEL-nice car for the the price point), ordered a new computer for my infotainment and I picked up car two days later. Infotainment works great now- lagging is gone and touch screen responds to tactile commands easily. I believe the use of the touchscreen for basically almost every command for the car features may be a little bit of a hassle for those who prefer buttons but I've found myself getting used to it easily over the course of several days. Charging- I've used Electrify America for the fast charge and gotten about the reported 80% in 35 minutes. Did this while shopping at the Home Depot where they had the charging stations in the parking lot. I also get to charge in my condo where we have free charging stations. Btw, VW gives you 3 years of free charging too. If you are looking for an EV mid-size SUV with everything going for it the ID4 I feel is by fat the best choice. I considered Tesla Y, but the ID4 with its German Engineering DNA has a better fit and finish. This VW surpasses all of the companies previous products, more in line with Audi-like finish. My bet is that the ID4 will compete head to head against the Tesla Y and the Mustang EV in sales and win. TY VW you put out a great product. Tesla is going to have to up their game now and this can only benefit all consumers.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page: