Used 2005 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,550 - $5,333

Used GTI for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.13 out of 5 stars

Too many trips to the dealership

Qlueless, 01/14/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have taken this car to the dealership more times in 9 months than my toyota has been in 8 years. I think right now there is water leaking on the passanger side floor, and also the trunk. I have had the trunk lock fixed twice, rear washer, drivers door lock, window fell inside door, had to be towed becuase it would not start, car alarm was going off every night at 3am. Had to leave battery disconnected everytime I got out of the car or the alarm would go off. Driver's seat stuck in place. I used to be a VW mechanic years ago, and this will be the LAST VW that I ever buy.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

23 years of German Hot-Hatch-History

Drew, 09/27/2006
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love how the GTI has German engineering. It is a car fit for the Nurburgring. Highway speed can shoot from 55-85 mph at a drop of a hat. It has a good sound when reving through higher rpm. It has styling cues of the 3-door Audi S3. I love letting onlookers hear the turbo spool up and whistle. BME 3-Series drivers won't know what just flew past them. This is truely the poor man's Porsche Boxster.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I get excited everytime i turn it on.

jrx45x, 07/18/2012
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is my love. I don't like how these cars look stock though. there kinda boxy and awkward. So i lowered mine and its the most amazing thing ever i get so many looks. At first i got it with 60k miles and it needed alot of maintenance like timing belt and ignition coils. Timing belt was $1000 at dealer so i took somewhere else for $500. Beware, the dealer is expensive. I either fix stuff myself or take somewhere else. It is a reliable car if you treat it good. If you always rag on the car itll rag on your wallet. Its fast too, i wont ever sell mine, in fact when the engine goes i will swap another 1.8t into it i love it that much. Hope you like yours just as much as i do.

Report Abuse

3.38 out of 5 stars

pricey

viadisgr, 07/28/2012
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought my Gti off a lease,was happy with it.But when my timing belt went at 70,000.Not happy with that.Spent to much money on it.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

2005 GTI 1.8 Turbo

Brandon, 09/26/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle after owning a 1999 Honda Civic. What a difference! I love my new car. The turbo sounds awesome. I was going to get another civic hatchback but might as well get a hatch that comes stock at 180 hp. I recommend putting an exhaust on it, it handles much better and sounds 100 times cooler. The sound of a stock GTI wasn't appealing so I got a Megan Racing cat back exhaust. I have a check engine light on all the time though and nothing is actually wrong with my car. The cruise control also doesn't work. hopefully everyone else was lucky and managed to keep theirs going.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

GTi is great but..

GRweigh, 05/18/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my GTi it's a great car, but I don't like how it only about gives 27 mpg. You would think that a small hatch back would way less then 3000 pounds and save pretty good gas. I understand that is turbo and it's cool. I think they should at least have tried to make it a 30 mpg. I haven't so far experienced any problems other technical problems with the car but I think It is a pain to have to fill up the gas with premium. Especially the price on gas right now.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

I look fly in my GTI 1.8T

lea, 06/25/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my GTI its 5-manual love the way the turbo hits approx. 50 mpg to 80 and stops on a dime has the comfort as a 2006 lexus, I personally have two vehicles my other is ESCAPE 5- manual my GTI cannot compare to my other, I drive my GTI more than my escape. It's the way the onlookers around look at me flying in my ride.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My First Car, and an Absolute BLAST!

Chris O., 12/15/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Being a lifelong Manhattanite, getting a car is really a luxury. I was really close to buying a MINI Cooper S, but after much research I went with the Volkswagen GTI. I'm a musician, so I needed a little extra room for cargo. With the GTI comapred to the Cooper I get better top-speed, equal acceleration, better performance, almost-as-good MPG, and 25 cubic feet more cargo space, for thousands less! I can't say enough about how much fun it is to drive. The '05's don't have the slick style that the '06's will, but I like this boxy little guy. It looks so unassuming and frumpy. But then you step on the gas, and it says, "See ya!" Fun, fun, fun.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive, great value!

bman33, 06/14/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The original sport compact and still the best. It is fun to drive and can be had for around $20,0000. I have been averaging 28 - 30 mpg. The interior quality is by far the best in this price range. The car is easy to chip, which adds up to 30 HP and 50 ft./lbs.of torque! When chipped, it will bury a $5,0000 more expensive Acura RSX Type S or Subaru WRX.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My GTI

GTI baby, 06/29/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my GTI, It has been very reliable, it has the speed that I need, handles very well, and on long road trip my husband would take my car over his Impreza any day. My GTI is fully loaded, and many people are very impressed with the interior, and its design. The gears are very smooth, not rough.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GTI in the true poket rocket

Serge, 08/30/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is very fun to drive one the autocross track as well as on the street. It has plenty of torque for the car this size, it is easy to modify, and it looks like a true sport compact.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

The GTI Rocks!

stkshftgti, 01/03/2006
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The sporty turbocharged 4-cyl. engine once chipped ripped all sheds of doubt from the smaller K03S german engineered turbo, powered the 4-cyl. to well over 200HP and gave the VW the power it really needs to be a sporty coup. With a quick throttle responce and fast spool, the GTI outperforms most coups in the price range. this car has the tuning of a import turbo mixed with the luxury of a European one. I love it!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Buy the GTI

1.8 T 5 speed manual, 02/05/2006
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Volkswagen GTI is great for long trips or getting around in the city. It is loads of fun to drive and can really carry a lot of cargo when you put the back seat down. The leather interior is very good quality.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love my GTI

texasgti, 02/08/2006
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a 2005 Volkswagen GTI and I love it. It is a blast to drive, the turbo spools up at about 3,000 to 3,500 rpm and then from there to redline it is a pocket rocket. The torque is there as well, even at low rpms. Passing on the highway is a breeze. You never need to downshift, just keep it in fifth and it will spool up and go. As far as comfort for the price nothing can touch it. It comes with heated seats, leather, power everything, a sunroof, great stereo, and 6 air bags. Also, when it comes to build quality, there is nothing that is better. I have a 7 year history with Volkswagens owned through the family, and no one has ever had any major problems to speak of.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Young again

redhead, 02/08/2005
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After waiting 6 months to get a GTI w/V6 and cloth interior, I am very pleased with my new Volkswagen. This is my first car with stick shift since my Corvair days. My wife and I took a 500 mile trip in a rain storm last weekend. I felt totally in control while driving on wet roads at interstate speeds. The GTI is very steady on the road and has plenty of power for acceleration at any speed. My red GTI really attracts attention and turns heads when this 67 year old guy gets out of his new car.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

All around great car.

Robert, 03/10/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the 8th VW Ive owned and one of the best. Fun to drive, good style and better interior than just about anything on the road with the exception of Mercedes or BMW. I have 18k miles of my car and not one problem at all and I dont plan on it. My father has a New Beetle with 195k miles on it and no issues, starts on the first crank and burns no oil. You can not go wrong with buying a VW. The 1.8T motor is perfect for this car, lots of low end torque, something Honda would have no idea about. and high end power from its 5V per cylinder and turbo. This car is easy to modify also a chip and intake on this car can send you well over 240 foot lbs of torque at the wheels and over 185 Wheel HP.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Golf GTI worth the money in many ways

Reece C., 05/05/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second VW in a very long driving career. The GTI is nearly as much fun to drive as my other german sports car. The performance from the 1.8T is surprising. The overall quality of the car is what one expects from a german auto. I travel extensively and rent almost every american and some japanese brands. The VW is superior to all of the american brands in comfort, and performance. I am not disappointed with my purchase.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Great car... if you have a sense of humor

Extensioncord, 05/09/2005
VR6 2dr Hatchback (2.8L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good and bad. Smooth power, slick shifting, excellent handling, great ride and Audi-level interior design. Unfortunately, insurance is high, rattles and squeaks intrude on an otherwise library-quiet cabin, electonic gadgets are prone to failure. OnStar inoperative from day one. Buggy alarm/central locking system. Wouldn’t start at 5,200 mi, was towed. As this is my fourth VW, I’m used to the quirks … bad electrical systems, squeaks, leaks (like inch-deep puddles in my ’02 and that windows iced up on the INSIDE), stereo replacements, windows that fall into the doors, etc. The only question is: can YOU get used to it? Better make sure you have a good dealer. Otherwise, two words: CIVIC Si!

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the money!!

V-Dub, 07/05/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first brand new car, and my second VW. After driving a host of Japanese, American, German etc., etc., and after owning a MKIII Golf, this GTI is AWESOME! The power is definately more than adequate, the ergonomics are great, and is a kick in the pants to drive. This is my commuter car so I am in it daily and absolutely love to drive the 30 minute comute in the morning because I get to drive this car!!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Much love here!!!

**Heather**, 07/19/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can't tell you how much I am impressed with this car. It definitely feels like it has more power than it actually has, and the handling is amazing. Lots of mods are available. The inside has alot more room than expected (and this coming from a mom of 2). The seats actually fold up like a jeep's would, so it's quite easy to get in and out of the back. The monsoon radio is great. I'm very pleased with my purchase, and encourage to test drive this car. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

All Good

ndotym, 07/31/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a Great little hatchback, the turbo is excellant, all of the controls are in good reach, and the seats are great. I have no complaints, after pulling the rear middle head reast out.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

Pete, 09/16/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 2005 Volkswagen GTI is absolutely amazing. My previous car was a mid-90's BMW 325i and let me tell you, it's just as luxurious as the bimmer, minus the power seats but hey now I have heated seats for the winter :). The car is quiet and comfortable but upon demand, the power is there to put a smile on your face. Handling? Absolutely amazing! These cars love the twisties! Now its competitors are the likes of the SRT-4, WRX, and RSX. The car is more comfortable and enjoyable then the rest, now power is an issue but there is a solution. If you don't care about warranty issues, chipping it is the best the best thing you can do! With APR software I beat modded RSX's,SRT-4's, and WRX's. Two words,buy it!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Total Fun

floyd, 09/18/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is a blast to drive, very safe, and has an interior like a BMW without the cost. It has looks to kill for. Its performance is outstanding, and its gas milage is great. I love the heated leather seats and one touch windows. I highly recommend it.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Kid Car

Jerome, 10/04/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a 2005 GTI 1.8T w/ the 5-speed manual transmission. This is an awesome car. I'm 21 yrs old and this is the best car i've ever owned. I previously had a 2000 VW Jetta, but this doesn't compare at all. I ordered this car with the 17" rims, luxury package, heated seats, 6-disc CD changer..etc. Nice package. I has good pickup, but the turbo needs to spool, but this car seems to love premium gas, because it consumes more than I would have thought...but thats ok, it's worht it. The reverse on VW's have always kind of hard to engage, but it gets better with time. Handling is great, expecially with my 17" rims on it. All in all, its a great kid car to have!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My GTI

Nicole, 10/18/2005
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is awesome! I had a 1999 Jetta Wolfsburg Edition and that was my baby until this. The 1.8T engine in my '05 GTI is very responsive. I plan on keeping this car until it's in the ground. Hopefully that'll be a very long time.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Great ride, but take a look at the 2006s

Smoove, 06/13/2006
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

With the new models coming out, I got a great deal on a 2005 GTI 1.8T. This is a kick-butt car especially if you live in an urban area. It has a lot of fun to zip around narrow streets and into and around traffic. It's reasonably comfortable enough for long road trips and trips to the slopes/casinos, but practical enough for the daily commute and running errands. I've seen a lot of complaints regarding the gas milage and I have to agree. To be perfectly honest, this car is so much fun to drive aggressively that I think the poor gas milage could easily be attributed to the drivers. I'm coming up on 7,000 miles and the only issue I've had was the rear wiper stopped working...during a downpour no less.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Fun but needs consideration before buying

Katie, 09/26/2007
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my first new car I bought. It was a great purchase for the price. It really gets up and goes. I really love taking turns that suggest 30 mph and you can sweep through it at 50. Great styling and love how the back seats fold flat for trips. Have had some problems with extreme wind noise and rattling. It seems most in the rear of the car and side panels, rather annoying actually because at about 2,000 miles it started. I was able to get a wind noise silencer kit that the dealership installed, but it still didn't do the trick. The gas mileage is ok, depending on how heavy your foot is on that turbo! It is a great buy and I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a fun car.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Buy, Great Fun

Jorge, 07/13/2007
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First of all, you can't beat the price of this car for the fun that you get. I was between this car and the Acura RSX S, but purchasing this car for 4K-5K less turned out to be a great decision. I love the 17" 15-spoke wheels, and the posh interior is identical to the Audi A4. The acceleration, engine noise, and handling make you want to be the friend who drives everybody around. This car has proven to be both functional and fun, as the back seat turns into a surprisingly large cargo area that beats any sedan as far as usefulness goes. Discrete looks with a fantastic pick-up at an unbeatable price makes this guy a proud GTI owner.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Excellent Performance

Kevin, 05/23/2008
1.8T 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I realized that I was going to purchase this car about 5 minutes after test driving it new from the dealer. After my typical painstakingly analytical comparisons of the GTI against its competitors, it boiled down to one simple emotion - the GTI was a blast to drive! That factor, and exceptional build quality convinced me to purchase the car. I've had the car for about 2 1/2 years and have absolutely no regrets!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050