Used 2004 Toyota Tacoma Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,699 - $6,902

Used Tacoma for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Tremendous Vehicle

dennis_rhodes, 05/18/2013
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

My dad bought me a brand new 2004 Toyota Tacoma regular cab extended cab when i graduated high school, that was now 9 years ago and this thing is still running, i have 335078 miles on it and it still feels like it did the day i came home and saw it in the drive way. i have only had to change the oil and rotate the tires, i have had no mechanical or any other problems for that matter. I LOVE THIS TRUCK

Report Abuse

The Truck I've Alway's Wanted!!!!!

Jamie Crawford, 12/06/2016
4dr Double Cab V6 4WD SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

I've owned several trucks in my life. But, when I was in the Army I bought an older base model 2wd Toyota truck. It had the Manual Transmission which was a blast to drive. I put that little truck through it's paces, especially when I went Deer hunting. After I got out of the Army and got into Law Enforcement, the idea of owning another Toyota never left my mind. I'm a big fella with 5 children, so I knew if I was going to get another Toyota, it would have to be the 4 door model. I also wanted a 4x4. So I finally found one back in 2013. It's a 2004 Tacoma, 4 Door and 4x4. Since I've had it, I know that I will never own another truck unless it's a Toyota. Now that I'm a single Father of 5 children, ages ranging from 14 to 4, all of us fit comfortably even with my 4 year old's seat. The previous owner had placed an alarm on it, which made it make that aggravating sound every time I used the remote to lock it, so I quickly disabled it. But other than that, I absolutely LOVE my truck. I've only had to use my 4 wheel drive "low" a couple of times when Deer hunting. It's amazing, of course the turning radius while in 4 wheel low isn't the greatest, but I think that's the case in most 4x4 trucks. But I was pleasantly surprised when I had to use the 4 low, and how easy it was to get me out of my situation's. The only negative thing I can think of about my truck is the clock location. It's located a little lower than the steering wheel and if I need to see what time it is, I have to look around the steering wheel to see it. Other than that, I think it's common knowledge that a Toyota vehicle is reliable and with regular maintenance, will last you for a very long time. I wished I could afford a new model, but maybe after I win the lottery, I guess I should start playing it first. But like I said, when it's time to pass my truck down to my boys, I will not buy anything other than a Toyota. They look great, run great, have good safety features, are fairly economical and will last it seems like forever, depending on how the owner drives it and maintains it. I'm a Patriot and I buy American made products when I can, but in my opinion there isn't an American made truck that's half as reliable as a Toyota. So drive safe, wear that seat belt, and I hope that whomever reads this has a blessed day. God Bless America and I hope God Blesses each and everyone of you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I can't believe how bad the gas mileage is on this truck.

nycbugkiller, 12/09/2010
2dr Xtracab 4WD SB (2.7L 4cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck with 78,000 miles used in 2008. I have to say it is very reliable and it starts every time I try and fire it up. Of course it bounces all over the road like a typical small size truck does on bumpy roads. I just bought new Monroe shocks and struts that have to be installed. I'll see if that changes the ride. Regardless, when I first got it I was getting 16mpg. Don't ask what happened but I am at 142,000 miles and for some strange reason, I am now getting like 13. I have changed the spark plus, got a new air filter, new tires, I keep the air in the tires at the right poundage and I still can't understand it. And it's a 4 cylinder.

Report Abuse

An excellent vehicle!

Corey Dulan, 02/07/2016
4dr Double Cab PreRunner V6 Rwd SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ive had mine for ten years. I bought it in '06 with 27k miles. Loved it the moment I drove it, its a great all around vehicle. Ive NEVER broke down. Only thing that has gone out on its own was the A/C compressor at 148k miles, it has 202k as of 2/6/16. Gas mileage is ok but this truck is solid and well worth the investment. I wont drive anything but a Toyota after having this incredibly reliable truck. Cant say enough good things about it except I wish I had another one or three.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Everything I needed...

TacoTruck, 11/07/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a base 2wd Taco with Clock and enhancement pk. as the only options. This truck was exactly what I was expecting - no frills transportation with hauling capability, my 88 Civic with a picup bed basically. I get around 30 mpg on the highway, can haul mulch and mountain bikes, evan occasionally pulling a trailer for short distances. Resale value seems extrmemly high. Reliability wasn't what I was expecting from a Toyota, however as it was in the shop 5 times for coil packs and alignment. Also, the Wrangler HP tires are DANGEROUS in the wet - can't wait to replace. I added an OEM bedliner and CD/cassette purchased from online auctions, which really increased the value of the vehicle to me

Report Abuse

Love that TRUCK !

William Dollison, 04/06/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have been very Happy with my new Toyota Tacoma. I would purchase another in a New York Minute !

Report Abuse

Great truck!

Rob, 09/06/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a pickup that handled like a car and comparable gas milage, the Tacoma fits the bill. Pleasantly surprised to find a/c, stereo and cruise all on this trim level (SR5). Rear-end skip takes some getting used to, but otherwise handles well. Highway milage greatly improves with tailgate down (or off).

Report Abuse

Should have never traded it.

Jabberwocky, 09/07/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This was a great first truck. These things can really take some punishment and are a blast to drive. Mileage was OK, at about 23 mpg. It did a lot better than expected in the winter. Always started and ran great. Never got stuck on me in the snow despite being RWD (200 lbs of bedrock fixed that). Really good ground clearance for a truck this size. Great handling and brakes. Responsive 4 cylinder with respectable torque. Easy to maintain. I really regret trading it in for a Camry 3 years later. The cons... well... hardly any. The interior is a little cramped but that's about it. I was dumb for trading it in.

Report Abuse

Happy Camper

Real McCoy, 09/02/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned, very sporty looking and scheduled oil changes is only maintenance that has been required. Very happy with this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great all around truck

Bill Nelson, 01/31/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this Tacoma 4wd, v6, 5spd, TRD pkg. The Taco is fun to drive, looks great, handles snow like it's dry pavement, and seems as if built to last a lifetime. I've had only a slight squeak in the dash on the pass. side. I've put on over 14000 miles in 9 months driving to the mountains of NH, and this past week have tackled a 3 foot blizzard in boston with no problems. Great for a single guy/couple with no kids. Back seat good only for storage or the dog, not much more. Good factory radio, cold a/c, and supportive seats make this my commuter truck/weekend-warrior mobile! You wont regret this one.

Report Abuse

Toyota trucks can't be beat

Uncle Dan, 07/31/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I sold my beloved '88 Toyota extended cab truck to buy this one. That was the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned and I hope the Tacoma holds up as well. After 11,000 miles, no problems at all. This is a well designed and laid out small truck. I purchased it through Edmunds internet referral service and it was simple. I entered the options I wanted and the next day I got a call from North Hollywood Toyota. They had the exact vehicle I wanted in stock and quoted a price that was 10% under sticker. I may have saved more with a lot of calls, but it wasn't worth it. I told em I'd be out to pick it up and I was in and out of the dealer in less than an hour. Simple.

Report Abuse

I trust this truck to get me wherever, whenever

Indy, 12/22/2017
4dr Double Cab V6 4WD SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying the people who say these trucks are unreliable or have left them stranded, I don't believe them. This is coming from someone who has one with 230,000 miles on the clock, that's been beat senseless off-road and driven long hard miles on road. Never once has it had an issue. Not once! Just basic maintenance and care. To me this includes the replacement of things that get worn out after 200k miles off-road. Like wheel bearings, tie rods, shocks etc. Which I have had to do, but like I said I've never had an unexpected break down or issue. This truck has been %100 reliable. I also see a lot of people complaining about ride comfort which I admit is not great, but what you have to understand is Toyota build a vehicle to get you there, not pamper you. That's why Lexus was born. It's not meant to be a luxury sedan. It's a truck, grow up. The Tacoma is meant to give you the confidence to go anywhere you want to go because it can and will make it there. Doesn't get the best mpg, the interior quality is just a bit below average and it could use a bit more power if you ask me, but non of that means anything to me in the grand scheme of things because properly maintained I would trust this truck to get me around the world... a few times.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Dependable!

Hunter, 01/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck! I chose to buy the smaller Tacoma with the 2.4 4-cyl for better gas mileage. I calculate my mpg at every fill-up and consistently get 22-23 mpg. This includes 50%hwy/50% city driving. I am pretty easy on the pedal so that makes a difference. The auto trans is a little sluggish in city driving. It is geared pretty low so it can pull what it's rated for. I just wish it had a little more "get- up." Extended cab was not made for people. It is best for storing tools or groceries. I hate that I have to sell it but with a growing family it doesn't have enough room. This truck has really held its value!!

Report Abuse

A little truck that gets job done

DXL, 06/28/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The cab is a too small for big people. Feel tired driving long distances since the seat is not comfortable, especially if without a speed control. Small engine offers good fuel economy, but the trade off is poor accelloration. Most of my driving is on freeway. It achieves 31 mpg if I remove the tailgate and drive @70mph. 60mph gives 35mpg with no load. In town driving gives 33mpg (this is just for me because I normally drive at above 45mph for 20 miles each weekday without many stops.) I travel about 700miles each weekend. So far I didn't have any problem at all for 78000miles. I do the routine maintinance and are very careful about fluid levels, etc.

Report Abuse

GREAT LITTLE TRUCK!

Jar-Head!, 09/16/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I finally decided to get rid of my 94 Toyota Pickup Truck (135,000 miles on it) and upgrade to something a bit nicer. I had to go with another Toyota truck - my 94 was just so good to me and really did hold its value - even with the high mileage. I wanted to wait for the new and redesigned 05 Tacoma but figured that the current model has been battle tested (something that new vehicles can only claim after being around for a few years). I really wanted a 4-door but was turned off at first when I found out that they only came with automatic transmissions. After a test drive I changed my mind. Bottom line - it's a very solid truck that will last!

Report Abuse

My third toy truck

T Newton, 09/26/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 3rd Toyota trk 1st Tacoma, 84 4 cyl. reg cab 4 speed was ok, 91 4 cyl reg cab 5 speed showed big improvements made, 04 4 cyl xtracab 5 speed subtle improvements. Xtracab forces bucket seats, not my favorite feature.Got better mileage w/91, the 04 is more enjoyable to drive after I installed cruise control, like I'd done on my 91.Not perfect but definitely a keeper for some time to come.

Report Abuse

TOYOTA KICKS ASS AGAIN

mustang921, 10/25/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my truck in May of 2004....researched and test drove it for about 2 weeks. could not be happier with it. toyota is the king of building a reliable vechicle. the prerunner looks great, has great handling and all the mumbo jumbo of a crappy ride is CRAP. it has an awesome ride for a truck and u cannot top the offroad capability....espsecially with the TRD package which includes the blistein shocks for a more stiffer ride.the interior looks excellent as well..i have the radient red color so the tan cloth looks good. the transmission shifts sooo smoothly and the V6 pumps out almost 200 horses so it does have great power for its size. you can't beat the quality of a toyota truck

Report Abuse

2nd Toyota Pickup

RuRod, 04/15/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I sold my first Toy pickup after driving it for 22 years! The 2004 truck is very nice too. Rides good, handles well, nice fuel economy, and no mechanical problems yet after two years and about 26000 miles. Manual tranny is a bit "whiny" in 1-3 gears. Other than chugging up steep hills with the small four, I'm pretty happy. About 23 mpg in town, 28 on the freeway.

Report Abuse

My Used '04 Taco D-Cab

Rattles, 07/13/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used and it only had 10k on it. Its my 3rd Toyota truck; an 89 XtraCab with 163k and a 91 4Runner with 269k (both had 22REs and 5 speeds). This truck was near-perfect for me for what I was looking for. The only problem I have had is a squeaky rear leaf spring. Otherwise it lives up to its Toyota reputation. I love the DoubleCab after having a sedan.

Report Abuse

Tacoma Crew

gnshpdude, 05/16/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

2.7 L Is a little underpowered and only gets 1 MPG more then my friends V6 Tacoma. Seats get a little uncomfortable on long rides. Other then that a great reliable truck.

Report Abuse

278,000 miles and counting

gene_neill, 10/20/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my Prerunner new in 2004. My previous truck was an F-250, so it was tough to give up the size, and the big V8 engine - in fact I still miss those things. But this truck just keeps on and keeps on and KEEPS ON, so I just can't complain anymore. In all these miles, I have done pretty much NOTHING except change the oil, and whatnot. The only thing that has ever broken was the power steering pump, somewhere around 150K miles. I plan to continue driving this as my main (and only) work and personal vehicle at least until it hits 350,000. I see no reason to believe that will be a problem.

Report Abuse

2004 Tacoma V6, Auto, 4WD, SR5 Trim, TRD Off Road

Mike, 12/18/2016
2dr Xtracab V6 4WD SB (3.4L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Original and only owner. For 12 years of ownership, it has been as reliable as I could ask with normal maintenance. The engine is insane, still has get up and go. Have 196,000 miles, 85% highway miles. I have received offers to sell at gas stations and the dealers frown because they know my 1st gen Toyota will be tough to beat with any newer models being made. I owned Olds and Chevys before my Toyota. When I hit 110,000 miles on them I was putting hundreds into them every year to keep them going, giving up at 130,000 miles. My Toyota breezed past 130,000 miles no problems whatsoever, none. You get what you pay for. The truck is a moving house. After paying it off years ago, I have done collateral loans to make it thru tough times. Time and time again the banks ask me the usual questions. When they find out I own a Toyota Tacoma, they basically grab the paperwork and tell me to sign. The word on the street; as with the reviews on here, Toyota and Tacoma, hand in hand, is quality and reliability at its best.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best pickup you could buy in the USA

Nick Christov, 03/20/2017
2dr Xtracab S-Runner V6 Rwd SB (3.4L 6cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is really great example of a 2004 Toyota Tacoma S-Runner, V6, 3.4L engine and 5-speed manual transmission. I have one 1997 Chevy 1500, V6, 4.3L engine and automatic transmission, and I had 1999 Ford 150, V8, 5.4L engine and automatic transmission. Without any doubt the Toyota is on the top! I couldn't find enough good words to tell how well this pickup has been made back in 2004 in Japan....the highest Japanese quality! I would like to say that there is one thing I don't like....not only on my Toyota, but on all vehicles, made for the US market, and this thing is....a microswitch for the clutch pedal....to start the engine. I'm 69 years old, and since I was 16 years young boy, I used to drive vehicles with manual transmission. I have never put the stick in first gear or reverse....only in "NEUTRAL", so first thing I did was to take that switch off and put it in the garbage. There is one thing I like, but....it is NOT in the right place....the clock. If some one is so stupid to put the stick in first gear and start the car....he will wreck his car even with this switch anyway....sooner or later.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

10 year review

whitetacoma04, 04/30/2014
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Got my Taco in 2005 w/ 12k miles while visiting O.C CA. I consider it my first-born child. It has 50,200 on it now, and a set of spark plugs are the only thing I`ve put into it besides oil/lube changes. Timing belt this year due to age only. Has plenty of power for what you put in bed, small trailer. 26 mpg is about the best I can get on highway due to lack of cruz and the fact it drives out good around 75mph. My neighbor drives a 1996 base model @ work that has 550k last I saw. It`s on clutch #3, the u-joints in the steering & driveshaft are the other replaced items. Oil still needs no checking between 5k changes. If you maintain your Yota you can count on them for a good, long time. Word

Report Abuse

04 Tacoma displeasure

Donald Downs, 11/18/2004
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought new 2004 Tacoma 4 x 2 automatic 2.4 cyl SR5 ext. cab Very unhappy, poor power, 2 pc. drive shaft clunks when you accelerate hard, dealer service department, nothing we can do. rated at 21-26 mpg. best I have gotten is 21 even on highway. If a/c is on, loose speed going up a incline, do to poor power. Don't waste your time. It won't be in my garage long!!!

Report Abuse

SUV vs Truck

Ex-Carwidow, 09/13/2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded my 2003 4 Runner in for a 2004 Tacoma figuring it would give me more room for moving a long distance. It was a reliable vehicle (all Toyotas are) I was concerned it being a 4 cyl. but that truck moved and pulled a trailer like nothing. The ride was a ruff ride and the cab is very small. If you are over 5'6" you will be cramped. Miles to the gallon where not a good as expected. I missed the luxury and went back to a SUV, not Toyota, so I have my fingers crossed. Toyota does make a reliable vehicle!

Report Abuse

Love my Truck

skippette, 07/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Tacoma. I used to drive a full size Dodge Ram and wanted something smaller and something that would fit in my garage. I got the Xtra cab which is great for transporting things in bad weather if you don't have a cover over the bed. I haven't had any mechanical problems with it at all. It had 1 recall which was promptly handled at the dealer. I found out by accident how to get more power out of it when merging in traffic or passing. Just turn off the overdrive and the truck rockets past traffic. Just don't forget to re-engage the overdrive once you sail past the other cars. I would definitely recommend this truck!

Report Abuse

Serves the purpose well

spyd3rm4n, 04/05/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Tacoma is a great truck. I bought a 2004 which is the last year of this body style. It is getting outdated, but it is a very solid truck with a proven record of success. The 2.4L engine provides enough power to allow you to haul heavy loads once in a while, yet it is still practical enough to drive every day. The build quality is far superior to other compact trucks (Nissan Frontier, Chevy S-10, Dodge Dakota). I would suggest getting the manual transmission as it will get better gas mileage and will be better for hauling heavy loads. I got the automatic because I spend 80% of my time driving in city traffic and don't like shifting.

Report Abuse

S-Runners Rule

Taco626, 06/12/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you've never driven one, you are truly missing out

Report Abuse

Lemon

DevScott, 06/25/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My tacoma broke down after a week, had it fixed, broke down again two weeks later. They have been blaming it on interior water leaks that short out the electronics. It's in for the third time now, still leaking water, still breaking down. 2000 km. 5 weeks old. It's been in the shop for 12 days and counting. Anybody can make a lemon. Don't get caught up in

Report Abuse

THE 4 DOOR TACOMA

JIM IN FLORIDA, 08/22/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

,THE 4 DOOR IS GREAT FOR 4 PEOPLE OR FOLD DOWN THE SEAT FOR STORAGE.I SEE IN THE REVIEWS THAT WE ALL DONT LIKE THE CLOCK,, I CHECK IT AT RED LIGHTS,,HAHA,,I LIKE THE WAY IT HANDLES, DESCENT ON GAS,(LIVING IN FLORIDA WITH THE A/C ON ALOT CAUSES MUCH LOWER GAS MILEAGE)LIKE THE RELIABLITY OF IT,THE ONE THING I WOULD LIKE TO SEE IS A DIGITAL TYPE COMPASS ON THE MIRROR LIKE I SEE IN SOME OTHER 25,000 DOLLAR VEHICLES. I TRAVEL ALOT WITH MY TRUCK AN MAYBE A DIGITAL COMPASS/TEMPERATURE GAUGE COMBO ON THE REAR VIEW MIRROR.I'D LIKE TO KNOW IF ANYONE NOTICES AFTER IT RAINS, THE WATER DRIPS RIGHT INTO THE POWER WINDOWS CONTROLS

Report Abuse

Nice truck

clintstacoma, 08/23/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck a 2 weeks ago. Already I want to buy another one (only 4 wheel drive) and give this one to the wife. She is addicted to it.. Right now she drives a corolla. I wish the truck was sold a little bit more user friendly..IE.. floor mats, bed liner etc..

Report Abuse

Expectations continue

riverwalkerr, 08/28/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Continuing a 10 year legacy of Toyota ownership . Tacoma purchase compliments an aging fleet 94/190K,2001/75K. Traveling home to Michigan UP ,I averaged 21.8 mpg without using cruise,but utilizing varying throttle opening with small changes in RPM that resulted in the best milage. I have made this trip hundreds of times and am usallly ragged out regardless of rest stops. Tacoma's ride with optional 16 inch tires and form bucket seats aided in the arrriving at the destination refreshed compared to previous trips. With 1235 miles ,the next ten years will reveal the story of this investment. We are hopeful as a Toyota will usually give trouble free service

Report Abuse

MY 2001 TACOMA

LUCY, 09/07/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I spoke to dealers and mechanics about this, and I all get is that they all do that, which I find that real b.s. Another thing, the rubber around my windows are much harder to keep clean for the first time in 30 years. I have been a Toyota owner since the 70's and never had that problem-ever.. I spoke to the dealers and the mechanics and all they tell me is that they have to be cleaned with soft scrub and use wax on it.... Since when was I told to use bathroom cleaner on my truck? I know that it is not under warranty-but I would love to hear from you-I can get that replaced for free....

Report Abuse

AWESOME

Coach Larry, 09/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i finally figured it out... after several chevrolets, i found a truck that feels right. i can feel the quality as soon as i open the door & take a seat behind the wheel. i absolutley love the coziness of the cab & the simplicity of the controls (doesn't take long to figure out where & how everything works). the A/C blows snowcones, which is very important in BIG D. great look, great ride, great truck

Report Abuse

Tacoma

Luvinlops2, 10/02/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this truck, It had been my dream truck for a while and now I finally own one. It is really a great truck.

Report Abuse

Week one

Ragin24, 10/04/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought mine over the weekend and was off on a road trip that put on just more that 500 miles. I can only hope that as the motor breaks in, the mielage will increase as I wasn't impressed by what I did get in that dept.. I'm sure it's due to breakin time needed. Comfort was pretty good overall. I wish it had a lumbar adjustment though. What can I say about the styling that hasn't been said already. This thing is a nasty looking truck. I know I'm going to love owning this this. No more full size p/u's for me.

Report Abuse

Toyota Tacoma 4wd, V-6

Jefft, 10/03/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The truck seems highly reliable. I miss some of the creature comforts that my wife's Bonneville SSEI has. But overall, a very solid, dependable truck.

Report Abuse

My First Truck

monchichi, 10/05/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a truck that has SUV plus pick- up truck characteristics combined for a great price. Nice looking truck with handsome exterior features. Especially, silver. This truck has the ability to haul up to 6,000 pounds and is pretty good on fuel. This is my first car, and I love it with a passion because it's reliable, sporty, rugged and sturdy. IF you want a car for a great price and if you like a SUV and can't afford it, then this one is for you. I love my 2004 Toyota Tacoma and would recommend for anybody out there looking to buy a truck but not spend and arm and a leg for it.

Report Abuse

Best Truck I have ever driven.

Eissac337, 10/09/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had no problems with this truck...best car-buying decision I have ever made. I know other people who also own tacomas...we are all very much satisfied. I have never needed warranty service thus far.

Report Abuse

The Best

PhilthyAK47, 10/12/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great truck for a great cost.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

DuaneHemp, 10/24/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the third 4WD truck I've owned. My first was a Ford Ranger which turned out to be a lemon. My second was a Dodge Dakota, which I loved, and owned for 12 years. So far I like this Tacoma a little better than my Dakota. It is easy and fun to drive, and a very comfortable ride. I just hope that it turns out be as dependable as the Dakota.

Report Abuse

Meets my needs

truck buyer, 11/03/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the vehicle after much comparing between Colorado/Tacoma. I am NOT a foreign car snob--I drive what works money wise and needs wise. If Chevy had been offering 0% when I was looking it would have been a toss- up. That being said: It is more comfortable on the road then I initially imagined. The Dif lock is great--got me unstuck in mud twice already. The ground clearance is nice. I get 19mpg in town and 21mpg on the hi-way in New Mexico. I have 5800 miles on it with no problems. It is tight and fun to drive, but watch the back end. Acceleration is fine, but I am a light footed driver.

Report Abuse

Slightly too small

2nd thoughts???, 11/02/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my V6 Double Cab Tacoma for almost exactly one year now and for the most part...I love it. However, the head room and leg room are a bit too small for someone who is much over 6' tall. Also, the front seats are not very wide. I looked at the Ford F150 but was too scared at the time to buy a Ford. The Double Cab Tundra had just come out and so I figured would settle on the Tacoma. I hate to sell or trade it in but the interior size and truck bed may force me into a Tundra or F150. P.S. Do not even consider the 4 cylinder in the Double Cab....way too underpowered!

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Taco, 08/19/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The transmission has a shift problem. The dealer was able to somewhat correct the problem but it by far the worst shifting automatic transmission I have ever driven. It is very hard to park this truck. I am trading the truck in on a 2005 Toyota Tundra next week. I hope I have better luck.

Report Abuse

Gotta Love It

Jim Thorpe, 11/28/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Awesome. Living in the Pocono Mtns of PA this truck goes anywhere anytime and it's a blast to drive on the winding back roads. Bought it to get me to the trout streams and ski slopes which it does just great. However, I've driven it to SC repeatedly with no complaints and used it to build a couple brick patios out back. It hauled repeated loads of brick, gravel, and sand like a mule. No complaints about the 24 MPG for a truck either. Quicker out of the hole would be nice, but thats a compromise I knew I was making for the gas mileage when I bought it. I am an outdoorsman and "do it yourselfer" so this vehicle is ideally suited to my lifestyle.

Report Abuse

Gets the Job Done

Day Tripper, 04/02/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck with a lot of get up and go. The Tacoma is well-built and Toyota's trademark mechanical craftsmanship has not disappointed. However, there are two areas that have been below par. The comfort is not the greatest. This isn't the vehicle one wants to travel in for long distances! The other detractor is the emergency brake. I can't even tell the brake is engaged. A couple of times I have forgotten to let it out, I have still been able to roll backward and drive forward without realizing the brake was on. In addition, the brake is ancient in its design - a pull out stick under the ignition. That may have something to do with its effectiveness.

Report Abuse

2004 Toyota Tacoma V6 Ext. Cab PreRunner

D Sistrunk, 05/03/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck about a month ago, and am so impressed by it. It does everything I need to do, and more. If you are looking for a small truck, that sits like a 4x4, gets good gas mileage, and looks great, this is the one for you.

Report Abuse

First Toyota

Jon, 06/03/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have driven my 04 Tacoma thru blizzards and up mountaintops in Colorado with no problem. Have driven cross country very comfortably and I'm 6'5''. Love the way it looks. Glad I got the 04 and not the 05. Not too big, not too small. Have owned Rangers and Cherokees and there is no comparison.

Report Abuse

Bad Frame from Toyota

Martin Wheelock, 02/22/2018
2dr Xtracab 4WD SB (2.7L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck used and was the second owner. This 2004 model unbeknownst to me had a recall for a poor frame quality. A local Toyota dealer ship even had it on a hoist shortly after I bought it to fix the spare tire mechanism and did not mention that I should have the frame treated (which was Toyota's fix for the frame rot) Now in 2018 with the frame rotted out on both sides I had to junk the truck out to a salvage company as it was deemed unsafe to drive. Toyota will not stand behind their product and will not compensate me in any way because I missed the cut off for the recall, which I did not receive any notices for.

Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050