Skip to main content
12345...12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Corolla Hybrid, so we've included reviews for other years of the Corolla Hybrid since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

New 2021 Corolla Hybrid (8 month update)

mike, 09/28/2020
updated 05/17/2021
2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid LE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
88 of 89 people found this review helpful

i just purchased a new corolla hybrid 2021 sedan (Sept 2020) and am very happy with my purchase after doing extensive research. i test drove both the corolla le (non hybrid) and the corolla le (hybrid). for me reliability, price, gas consumption and road noise were my big factors in assessing the car. i found that the basic non hybrid corolla had more road noise at lower speeds (10-40 mph) compared with the hybrid. On the highway both cars seemed relatively the same as far as road noise (mild to semi high). most reviews state the fact that road noise is an issue with the corolla. however, i found that the hybrid was more quiet (from road noise coming into the car - not engine noise) on basic service type roads. it also just seemed to ride much better than the basic corolla. i really wanted to go with the basic corolla since it is a very reliable car and a better value (at around $19000 w/o taxes, ~$3K less than a hybrid). it was a tough decision to make but the hybrid won over due to a better ride and better on gas. I've owned it for one week now and am getting 65-67 mpg combined. (note - this is very non aggressive driving going ~55-60 on the highway and with very slow accelerating from a stop.) Some concerns: this car does not have a spare tire donut but only a tire inflation kit. these are not good because if your tire blows out you are in trouble. i intend to purchase a spare for the car. i will update this review in the future. the Edmund's fair market price tool is a very good guide to get a good deal. Try for a good deal because i don't think these cars are flying off the lot. (MAY 2021 UPDATE, 8K miles) After driving the car for 8 months in various conditions - here are some of my findings: GAS MPG: ~60-63 MPG mixed driving (20-50 MPH - conservative, slow starts, driving in town, short trips, country roads, some highway, hills and flat, some traffic) / ~50 MPG highway driving (55-70 MPH, gas MPG goes down quite a bit when driving over 65 mph) BAD: fair amount of road noise on rough roads (smooth paved roads are quiet), wind noise at speed of >55 MPH, on roads with holes and bumps the ride can get a bit irritating. GOOD - Seat comfort (fine after 5 hr straight highway drive), leg/head room (i'm 6 ft), play songs direct from USB stick, steering feel, fit/finish, automatic features (auto headlight brights dimmer, cruise, cruise with auto traffic slowdown, lane assist, etc). CONCLUSION - This car is the best if you live in an area of nice roads like CA. But where i live in PA , the roads are bad and bumpy and this car can get you a bit agitated after a long drive. Can't beat the gas mileage at 50-63 MPG. Love the fact that the engine automatically shuts off at a traffic signal and restarts with the electric motor.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Lotta bang for the buck

T Lovenbrock, 11/07/2020
updated 07/25/2022
2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid LE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
62 of 63 people found this review helpful

Essentially gave up car shopping and bought a corolla hybrid. While initially there was a ton of regret it’s grown on me to the point I actually like this little car. You get a LOT of features found in way more expensive cars for your money. The interior is pretty nice looking and supremely quiet around town and even on freeways with good roads. Like reviews say hard acceleration into freeway is a loud event but it does have a little oomph and I generally don’t fear death merging onto major high speed traffic. Safety features are amazing for this class and Toyota was offering some sweet deals on price. Have managed to maintain a 64 mpg average with pokey driving which seems unreal but fill ups are few and far between. No regrets in this purchase here.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Lives up to billing

Rick Evans, 07/14/2021
updated 10/18/2022
2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid LE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

I acquired my ride at the end of December giving me a chance to experience Northeast winter, spring and summer driving. If I have one pet peeve about the Corolla Hybrid it's Toyota's misguided belief that Corolla Hybrids don't need a spare tire. There's room for full side spare and flat fix kit if you remove the molded foam flat fix kit holder. This is my option. That goop kit is useless for a large tread puncture or any sidewall puncture. That out of the way I'm very happy with the car. I track my fuel efficiency on Fuelly.com and have averaged 53 mpg with a high of 66 mpg. With periodic MA to MD road trips through hilly NJ and PA with luggage, astronomical telescope and bike on a trunk mounted carrier I've never seen less than 46 mpg in cold temps . One of those trips was into 40 mph west winds. My most recent trip delivered 55. I keep the hybrid system in ECO mode and make regular use of dynamic radar cruise control. And, no I don't hyper-mile. This is regular 65+ highway driving on interstates. With the supplied Yokohama tires the handling is excellent and nicely grippy when going around curves. Hybrid recharging often obviates the need for braking when taking exits. Drive your hybrid sensibly and you can go 100,000 miles or more between brake jobs. Engine groan is noticeable when accelerating but greatly quiets when engine RPM drops to normal cruise. My prior ride was an '07 Corolla CE manual. Highway RPM was typically 3000 at 65 mph compared with under 2000 for this ride at the same speed. Road noise generally surface dependent but not bad for this size sedan. Some pro-reviewers have complained of wind noise at highway speeds, an annoyance I have not experienced. Toyota could have put more thought into storage space design. The door storage is more stylish than functional. Otherwise the front armrest storage is fine as is the glovebox. The audio system is straight forward though I would recommend familiarizing yourself with it while parked. The sound system is okay but expect road noise to intrude. I have only dabbled so far with Android Auto. However, using Bluetooth connectivity I listen to podcasts on the phone or opt for audio from a thumb drive plugged into the dashboard usb port. With Bluetooth you can also talk hands free on your phone as if chatting with a passenger. Seat comfort could be better; especially lumbar support. I find myself making regular seat adjustments. Other pluses are optional blind spot monitoring and cross traffic detection when backing out of busy parking lot spaces. For those of us who can parallel park the back-up camera with its wide view and guide lines will help you protect those expensive wheel covers from road rash.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Good commuter, adequate for other driving duties

Bruce F., 12/29/2019
2020 Toyota Corolla Hybrid LE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
126 of 131 people found this review helpful

The good: 1) quiet and smooth 2) great handling for a car of this type and certainly better than previous generations of Corollas 3) Outstanding fuel economy 4) No actual CVT to go bad! Even though Edmunds states it has a CVT, this is simply untrue. Rather, it uses a constant mesh power split unit to channel power flow to/from the ICE and the two motor/generators (MG1 and MG2). It's mechanically simpler than typical automatic transmissions and CVTs and reliability should be good as the longevity of the Prius, which shares the same drive train, has proven. 5) A mostly conventional look and feel, from the shift selector to the analog-like instrument cluster, which makes it very easy to move into compared to other hybrids, e.g., Honda Insight, Prius. 6) The 15" wheels provide a comfortable ride, tires are less expensive compared to trendy, larger wheels, and significantly reduces rotating and unsprung weight. Moreover, you are less likely to damage the wheels and tires in potholes or other obstacles. These are all very positive things from something so simple as bucking the trend! The annoying stuff that can be mitigated: 1) Touch screen display can be distracting as can the multi-information display within the instrument cluster. The can be turned off and the car remembers this through each key-off cycle. 2) No good, easy way to select songs from an attached USB device. You can choose different ways to sort your music files but then the unit simply plays all of them in order. It's not even as good as a cassette player as at least those you could chuck it in and forget about it. You wold have to work our precisely what you want to hear ahead of time on the attached device, rename the files such that they sort in the order you want them play, then and only then can you get what you want. Seems to defeat the purpose. I just do without. 3) Entune apps and maps reliability is abysmal. The phone keeps disconnecting and it's not worth the trouble. Fortunately, these are not must-have features for me. 4) Annoying and, ironically, distracting safety gadgetry. Most of these can be turned off in the MID settings on the center console and it remembers your settings in perpetuity. Problem solved. The annoying stuff you simply have to live with: 1) The pre-collision warning system can be turned off for a drive cycle but it comes back on upon the next drive cycle. 2) Poor tactile control of a number of controls including the driver side power window switches, door lock buttons, and steering wheel controls. Hard to feel for the button you need, which can require you to briefly take your eyes off the road. They are also difficult to use with gloves, which many drivers will find necessary in cold climates. 3) Poor rear visibility. To be fair it's actually somewhat better compared to sedans of other makes made in the past few years. It's partially mitigated by the backup camera. 4) It's no hot rod. However, if you buy this car expecting it to break land speed records, I submit that you are incredibly stupid and should not be driving. For driving on American roads in typical metro traffic, it can more than hold its own. The bad: 1) The front bumper cover is simply too low. It's extremely easy to damage it on curbs, wheel stops, and road debris. That wouldn't be too bad if the bumper cover were cheap but it's far from that as anybody who has ever purchased a modern car body part knows. Final notes: This was written after having owned the car for about 4 months. It's coming upon its first 5,000 mile service and I'm going to insist on following the severe usage program even though I'm not particularly hard on the car. The climate here is cold and is very hard on vehicles. Besides keeping the salt hosed off as best as you can, this is the only sensible means by which you can expect a car to last. I'll also be coming to the dealer with what I hope is a minor and easily diagnosed warranty issue; the passenger side door unlock proximity sensor ceased to function. Not a huge deal to me even if they don't fix it but I'm slightly annoyed as you may imagine. Overall it's been solid and works almost perfectly for its indented purpose, that is a daily driver in mixed traffic in a large metropolitan area. I don't feel the need to constantly haul around copious amounts of stuff as so many people do these days but the seats fold down for extra room on those occasions I need to. If your requirements differ, then you may wish to consider a different vehicle. Overall I can recommend it with certain qualifications.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Not bad. And highly economical.

TA, 08/31/2020
2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid LE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
53 of 55 people found this review helpful

So, I just purchased this car this week. Notably, due to Covid cutbacks, I needed to downgrade from my Camry Hybrid SE. I definitely gave up power; there's no way around the fact that I'm working with 80 fewer horses under the hood. And I also gave up a little bit of room--and the heated seats. Honestly, though, that's about it. The car definitely feels more refined than its price point would suggest. It has a push-button start, a decent basic stereo for my purposes, reasonably comfortable seats, little touches like automatic high beams, lighted vanity mirrors, heated outside mirrors, and decent connectivity including Android Auto. It's maneuverable as heck, with a tight turning radius and a responsive steering wheel. Comfortable but not floaty ride. The big plus is the mileage. My husband has a Prius LE Eco, and this car so far looks like its mileage is going to match it. I'm satisfied.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page: