Used 2013 Mazda CX-9 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,000 - $17,998

Used CX-9 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Loved it except for awful engine/water pump design

AliG, 03/29/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Loved everything about this car until the water pump broke at 38,000 and 6 years old and because of poor design, whole engine had to be replaced and Mazda corporate or dealership was not helpful at all. They clearly don’t value their customers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BAD water pump and timing chain ruined this car!

Derek Price, 06/13/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

1st Owner, 136xxx miles, regular oil changes and maintenance. Water pump and timing chain (Po216 code) went out and come to find out, those are very expensive repairs AND doesn't truly reveal how damaged the engine is. When ASE-certified and trustworthy mechanics refuse to do the lucrative work because of the terrible history of the design, you know there is a problem. In fact, there is a lawsuit pending https://www.ktmc.com/ford-lincoln-water-pump-engine-failure ).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

$4100. in non-warranty repairs - Don't trust this

Toyota lover, 09/15/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Original tires hydroplaned drastically (Replaced with Michelin tires ($800). Brake booster and brake master cylinder failed at 104,000 miles.($900.) Gas tank vapor back fill flapper check valve failed at 106,000 miles - Couldn't pump gas without is shutting off every 10 seconds ( New gas tank $2000). A/C doesn't stay cool when car idles for more than 10 minutes on a hot day ($400 and still not fixed). Never had such problems with my Toyotas. (200k miles before any problems at all). Never will buy Mazda (Ford made) car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car or brand...

bb_nj, 07/13/2013
14 of 45 people found this review helpful

Bought spanking new CX9 AWD and was super excited. The drive is nice though the voice interface can be improved. Alas this was short lived and not to mention super frustating. So much so that I have decided to let go of the vehicle at a lose. Why... because Mazda sold me a car for which they do not have spare parts. My car is in workshop for more than a month for simple parts like bumber and grill. They do not even have eta on the back orders. The Customer service is no help and would not even consider a loner car. I am spending from my pocket. Even after the car is fixed I have lost complete faith in the brand. Please do share this critical info with friends.

Report Abuse

Good but could be much better

lmabadie, 01/22/2014
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 35 people found this review helpful

This car is fun to ride and very comfortable. Fuel consumption a little high. Worst by far are the Navigation System, voice recognition and the electronic interfaces, such as the Sirius radio and Bluetooth. Those do not seem to have even been Beta Tested, such a poor design that makes you wonder about the rest of the car. Sad part is that it it is just poor software, which needs an urgent upgrade.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Go zoom zoom mommy

cgllane, 07/02/2013
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just got our new CX-9 in May. We have already put nearly 6000 miles on it, and have loved every mile. My daughter likes to say go zoom zoom mommy, so I do. It is so much fun to drive and comfortable for the whole family on our long road trips. We love it. And the staff at Freeway Mazda in Ogden were all great to deal with.

Report Abuse

I cannot wait for my lease to end

Michael, 07/29/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I now had my 2013 CX-9 for 27 months and have logged 14k miles. To date both key fobs do not work (one is used by my wife and one by me on weekends). The navigation freezes at the exact moment you need it. The exterior sheet metal easily bends. Gas mileage is weak (but I knew this going int the lease). Other then the above the car will meet expectations.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome Ride

Sharon Gentles, 02/20/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Putting the Sport in Sport Utility Vehicle

Mike VonMoss, 05/20/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After seven years with the Mazda CX9 I love it as much today as the day we drove it home. This is a too much overlooked and too much under appreciated SUV. We've done everything with it from pulling a camper to shining it up and taking it on fancy date nights. I love the way it drives, taut, balanced, and smooth. It is a large vehicle but it doesn't drive like one. It drives smaller, sportier, more controlled. It handles curves with confidence and cruises the interstate smoothly. If you find a well care for CX9 buy it, but not mine, mine isn't for sale.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid SUV for a long time.

Thomas Kalladan, 08/11/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this Mazda CX9 SUV as new in 2013 and driving since then without any issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050