Used 2016 Mazda CX-3 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,948 - $19,998

Used CX-3 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love the handling and styling of my new Mazda CX-3

Steven, 11/04/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
45 of 45 people found this review helpful

I had a 2016 Acura that I purchased earlier this year and it had a defect that could not be fixed so I decided to trade that car in. I saw the CX-3 on the road and loved the styling. I started researching and read the really good reviews on Consumer Reports and other various you tube reviews. I went and test drove the car and was not disappointed. I had a Mazda 6 in the past and this car handles like a little sports car and is very fun to drive. The acceleration is great, fit and finish are first rate. I was disappointed that you could not get a power seat, but to be honest I have not missed it. The Bose System sounds great, the navigation, bluetooth and infotainment system are really easy to use. There is a mute button instead of an on/off switch for the stereo so that also took some getting use to. The gas milage is really good and even with it small fuel tank I am only filling up once a week. For a small car the ride is very good, it is firm, but that is what makes it such a great handling car. Road noise is really good and even though the engine has a course sound to it, it sounds really sporty. I choose Soul Red with Almond Leather interior, it is beautiful. Update: The Mazda CX-3 is a great car, I still love it now with 6700 miles. It really handles well, has great acceleration for a small engine and looks very attractive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun and comfortable car

SteveOakley, 05/25/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car for about a month and so far I love it. The interior is the nicest I've ever owned. The car is surprisingly quick for only 146hp, and is much more fun to drive than the CX-5. The NHSTA safety scores were just released and it scored the highest 5 Star rating. It's one of those cars that looks more expensive than it is. It has a perfect balance of luxury and sporty fun to drive dynamics. The only cons are that the cargo space isn't the best if the back seats are up and in use, and the fuel tank capacity is too small for this car. I have too many trips to the gas station compared to previous cars I've owned. It really needs an additional 1 or 2 gallons more capacity and then it would be perfect. Overall, great car though. *Update: After owning the car for 7 months and racking up about 14k miles, I'm still enjoying the car and its been very reliable so far. The only issue is the navigation software has some issues every now and then, but that can be corrected by a future firmware upgrade. The other thing that can get annoying is the armrest/cup holder set up. This needs to be changed/upgraded in future models. --I recently had the opportunity to take a 6 hour road trip with my family of 4(including me) driving up the coast of California. The car handled everything well, especially a heavily rain storm we caught on the way up. The AWD was excellent. The car was so steady, with NO hydroplanning at all. I averaged about 33mpg highway miles on the trip. Again though, the biggest issues that needs to be addressed in future models is a larger gas tank. Just another gallon or 2 would be perfect, otherwise I've been getting less than 300 miles on a full tank. Don't get me wrong, no car is perfect, I still love the car and am glad I bought it. It's a great and unique looking car and fun to drive. **Update #2: (11-28-19) after about 3 and a half years of use and I’m now at 72k miles. The car has still been reliable. No major issues. The only 2 things I would really change is the infotainment system, the software is slow and the navigation isn’t always accurate. The infotainment screen is also starting to crack a little on the corner. The other thing that Mazda has already changed In its newer models is the armrest which was always the flimsiest part of the car. Other than that, still happy with the car. The stock tires lasted 68k miles before I had to change them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car!!

Sally, 04/29/2016
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I've had the CX-3 Sport AWD for about two months and I can honestly say that it handles incredibly well. The drive is very comfortable, and engine is very responsive. Cabin noise is very minimal (compared to my 2013 Honda Fit, this Mazda CX-3 is a massive improvement). I'm averaging about 26 MPG with mostly city driving. Seats are very comfortable and the technology inside is very user friendly and ergonomic. Only drawback is that the back seat is small. But other than that everything is great!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

very satisfied

Caroline Wise, 02/23/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 4 1/2 years and it has performed well. No problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still Enjoying Our CX-3!

Connor McCollum, 12/30/2015
Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

My parents and I have now owned our 2016 Mazda CX-3 Touring for a year and seven months as of June 2018 and we couldn't be happier. I've had my own car for a while now so I don't get to drive the Mazda as often as I used to. However, there's nothing to complain about on the driving experience. It is a very peppy, fun-to-drive car with good acceleration, great braking, and decent visibility despite having the typical thick airbag contained pillars. I love the rear-view camera on the giant iPad-like infotainment screen. It takes up the whole screen instead of being a puny little iPod size camera tucked in the center stack like a lot of cars. Also, the blind spot monitor really helps in traffic and on the highway, although it is a little sensitive as it goes off every time when you're turning in a dual turn lane which catches you off guard. Like I mentioned before, I love the simplistic interior layout with easy-to-use climate controls, steering wheel mounted controls, part digital and analog gauge cluster, round a/c vents, and the two-tone color scheme. To me it's one of the best modern car interiors you can get on a strict budget. It ain't no luxury car but it does feel pretty well-equipped for a sub-$20,000 compact crossover. It has had it's fair share of teething issues along the way like many all new models in the first year of production do. For example, there was a major problem with the headlights leaking. Everytime when it rains or you wash the car, the headlights would fill with water. Eventually it dried but it risked blowing the headlight bulb and daytime running light bulb. At first it was just the passenger-side and then it eventually spread to the driver-side. They've been replaced since then and seal water just fine but an example of teething issues for an all new model. In the summer of last year, we got a recall notice in the mail about the hatch struts. It mentioned that they will corrode overtime and result in them falling on your head. So we had to go to the dealer and get the struts replaced which work like a dime and are even a little thinner than the old ones. The hatch also seems to open more easily and faster. Although teething issues are expected in many cars and I still enjoy the car regardless, I do wish it had a few more features that you can get without upgrading to the most expensive Grand Touring package such as LED headlights and daytime running lights, LED taillights, foglights, nicer wheels, and suede seat accents. However, this will not stop me from dissing this car. It's been a joy to own and drive for the last couple of years and we plan to hold on to it for even longer. Hopefully Mazda will continue to make this car as I don't see a whole lot of them on the roads despite being released three years ago.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What it is --- and what its not

T, 01/08/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

The CX-3 isn't for everyone, and I'm not sure whether it is properly classified or considered a "crossover"---whatever that means. I initially didn't give the CX-3 much thought because it is very compact. However, if you look more closely, this car---a subcompact hatchback---offers a lot of features and value for the dollar (especially Touring trim) if you don't regularly transport more than a couple of adults or much cargo. Its not going to win many drag races, but it handles well and is more fun to drive than any of the other AWD vehicles that I test drove (including the CX-5). It also isn't intended for off-road use (not many crossovers or SUVs are), but it has handled snow-packed dirt roads without any problems. I'm getting about 29 mpg in mostly city driving to this point. Again, the CX-3 isn't for everyone. If you want/need an AWD vehicle but don't need much room or off-road capability, take a look at this car and judge it for what it is. Update: I am now doing most of my driving to and from work on a freeway, and my car's fuel economy calculator is now reporting an average of 33.9 mpg for the life of the car. I've also recently had to drive through snow and slush: while this isn't suited to off-road driving, the AWD system works well and has gotten me through some rough conditions. However, I had to use tire chains once because the stock tires (which have worn well but now have almost 50,000 miles) lost traction going uphill on a slush-covered dirt road. This is, again, a small car with inherent limitations. If Mazda is listening, I wish that it had a little more length and a larger fuel tank.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Seriously Fun To Drive

Ing Beukert, 11/27/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I drove the new Honda CRV as well as the Mazda CX3 before buying a couple months ago. While the Honda had more interior storage space, there was no comparison with the driving experience. The CX3 rides smoother and is quieter and is just a sweet, sweet driving experience. Almost like you are part of the car. The interior finish is impeccable. Very stylish and not run of the mill.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SUV with sport car personality

robscx-3, 01/06/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have owned the 2016 CX-3 for a couple of months now. I love it! It is the most fun to drive car that I have owned. (and over the years I have owned many). It is the most stylish sub compact SUV on the market, and the interior is upscale. The Bose sounds great...and the array of safety tech features is awesome. The only consideration is limited back seat space. Otherwise, a no brainer in comparison to its competitors....Especially if you love to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Favorite car ever!

Michael Yanke, 02/18/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Originally I looked passed the CX-3 because I thought it didn't have enough power. After the salesman had me test drive one I was happily surprised at how peppy it felt. This car is so fun to drive. The handling is fantastic like a little go cart. I live in Minneapolis and had a great opportunity to try it out in the snow. The all wheel drive is amazing. I was able to plow though 6+ inches of snow up steep hills with no problem. If you have kids or need a lot of cargo space you may want to look at he CX-5.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My Little Soul Red CX-3 (rest in pieces)

Kirk, 02/04/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I wish I could post of picture my mangled CX-3 after someone decided to run a stop sign and plow into another car, when then plowed into me, destroying my 3 week old car. I am 6'2" so being able to walk away from that accident is a testament to the car's crash worthiness despite it's size and low weight. Anywho, it is totaled and first thing I am doing is getting another one. Not because it saved me from serious injury, but because it is a great car (I traded a 2014 Audi A4 to get it). Pros: Very comfortable front seats and suede-like inserts keep them from being so cold in the winter. Speaking of which, the seat heaters are extremely toasty. I really like Mazda's entertainment system, but I just came out of an Audi whose MMI system is very similar. Wife states Bluetooth sounds very good. I drive a lot for my job and was averaging slightly more than 30mpg which is pretty remarkable for an AWD vehicle. Drove it briefly in this year's snow storm and it handled it fine. Not nearly as well as my wife's Grand Cherokee, but well enough. I love the size of this car, but it is likely too small for a family. To call this car a crossover is kind of silly as a Ford Focus is bigger and the CX-3 has the same ground clearance as the Mazda3 sedan. It handles well and is relatively quiet inside. In that regard it is no Audi, but it is good for a sub-compact car. I find it easy to get in and out of (much easier than the Audi) and ergonomics are spot on. Simple layout of controls (trip odometer, tach, digital speed, HVAC system), reminds me of cars 10-15 years ago when everything was so straightforward. Cons: No center console storage and the arm rest blocks the cupholders. Bose system is good, but not great. Sub in trunk does not do much. No SD card slot (except for Nav system). Two USB ports, but no where to hide the things you plug into them. No standard front or rear parking sensors. No power tailgate. Absolutely tiny trunk. Gas tank way too small. I have to fill up every three days, which by the way only costs $17. No car is perfect, but for the money, this car is pretty darn good. And throw in Mazda reliability, you got a home run. I am looking forward to getting another one as soon as my other one is paid off by insurance. UPDATE: Got my new CX-3 the week following the accident. Exactly the same except for the color (Titanium Flash Mica). Get lots of compliments about the car and the color. Averaging about 30mpg now in the summer with the AC on. Still love it, no issues except that it does have a little bit of trouble restarting once warm, no issues with cold start. Motor Trend had noticed the same thing. It always starts, just takes a second or two to crank. Overall very happy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda Cx-3 Touring - 5 months in

Matt B., 01/21/2017
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have owned Hondas, VWs and Hyundais. This is my first Mazda and I am impressed now about 6k miles in and through the first recommended service. I am approaching my review with a comparison to those types of cars, this is not a true luxury brand, so when I say things are "great", it is in comparison to say a Honda SUV, not an Audi. If you pay 10k more for a car, you get more. I find the ride, which for me is a mix of highway and local roads everyday, to be smooth and pretty quiet. I am easily able to achieve the listed MPG and typically land around 30ish. Note that I do my own calculation based on miles traveled and gas put in as the onboard computer does over estimate by about 1mpg it seems. I find the seats to be comfortable up front for me, although they are almost all the way back (im 6'). I have been able to fit a fair amount of stuff on a trip to Lowes/Home Depot into this thing with the seats down. Its not huge, but for standard household projects, it gets the job done. So far zero issues in the world of maintenance. On the negative side, and these are things you just have to decide if they matter to you are - no interior storage. The cup holder locations are awful for any cup/mug that is sort of tall as it is under the front armrest. The glove box is pretty much all you have aside from some small bins in the doors. As mentioned, the backseat is cramped if you have people 5'9" or taller in the front. you will nto be taking 4 adults on a road trip in this car with or without luggage. The gas tank for the AWD version is 11.9 gallons. Not a deal breaker for me, but with my old Hondas and Hyundais I could typically get close to 400ish miles per fill up, its 300 on this one AND the low fuel indicator is out of whack (several owners report this). The "25 mile range" comes on for me when i estimate I have almost 75 miles left, and it shows zero range left and I can fill up to see there is still almost 2 gallons in the tank. I have asked Mazda at my local dealership about this and they just shrug. Overall I recommend the car, with the biggest note being, make sure the space is right for your needs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Small AWD fully loaded!! Love my CX-3!

Lauren Benoit, 02/23/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
20 of 23 people found this review helpful

My previous vehicle was a 07 Kia optima that didn't even have traction control.... My terrible snow experience with this vehicle convinced me my next car MUST have AWD. I test drove all the SUV style vehicles but really didn't want something so big. Also within my budget I always had to settle for the base model. Until I stumbled upon this gem! One of my biggest issues is I will NOT drive a CVT transmission.... I want to feel the shifting and almost all makers are trying to convert to this. But not Mazda! I was able to get the touring (mid level) with the moonroof and BOSE stereo system. The heated seats are amazing and the seat is extremely comfortable. The back seats are perfect size since I don't have passengers very often. The trunk isn't deep but the height is great. I think it is the same as my previous vehicle. I keep catching myself speeding in this fun to drive little Mazda! I have never felt so connected to the road. I still cant believe I was able to find a vehicle loaded with all these features within my price range! If you are considering a smaller AWD vehicle I highly suggest you test drive this amazing Mazda!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it!

Angel, 06/12/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 30 people found this review helpful

I love my CX-3! I bought it shortly after its debut when my Jetta TDI was totaled (not my fault). So, I've owned it about 7+ months so far. It is just fun to drive, and the added sensors and features really help out a lazy driver like myself. The leather/suede seats are very comfortable for such a low-cost car, and although the CX-3 is more like a hatchback overall, the driver seating feels like an SUV. I've gotten about 29.7 MPG average between highway and city overall, so about what was advertised. I've been complimented many times about the look of the car by strangers and friends, but perhaps it's just because the car does look rather unique, at least compared to most cars driven around in the US. Besides my concerns about how cheaply the car is actually made (see the next paragraph), my only major qualms are the ridiculously small interior and trunk and the lack of outlets/connectivity for the back seats. I wanted a small vehicle, but I expected the CX-3 to at least be able to carry as much as a sedan. My Jetta could hold significantly more luggage or whatever else (like 3 medium dogs comfortably). The size and make-up of the interior just prevents transporting a lot of items - definitely not friendly for family vacations. I'm thinking about getting a hitch installed or rails on the roof just to provide more options to carry. And it seems silly for there not to be a fold-down armrest in the back seat with cup holders and a USB or AC/DC outlet. Otherwise, my kids (4 & 14) enjoy the "stadium" seating, even the teenager. Don't think you could fit three people back there though - pretty much impossible. But... about two months ago, I was stupid enough to back up into a pole in a parking lot (just wasn't paying attention), and the bumper and rear panels were damaged. Unfortunately, the blind spot sensor was also damaged. What I have learned from the repairs and the accident overall is that this car will not hold up in any sort of fender-bender. Furthermore, while the repair shop was able to fix all but the blind spot sensor, the Mazda dealership took 3 weeks to fix the sensor (and did so incorrectly 3 times). So, basically I was without my car for 3+ weeks because Mazda did not train its technicians on the new technology in their vehicles. If there are any issues with the blindspot sensors, the bumper and rear fender flares must be removed and will probably be damaged (the dealership went through 2 bumpers and 2 sets of flares fixing the sensor). I do worry about getting into an accident in the future and the car just buckling and crumbling, or that if any of the sensors are messed up that it will take a nightmare to fix them. Most likely I will buy a vehicle next time with higher crash-test ratings (and at least pre-established US safety ratings). Update: It's been a year and I still love my car. I still get compliments on its sporty look, and I've had no recent problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome car

Dave Goldfarb, 11/24/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Got the GT. So much faster than I was expecting from a 2.0L. Love it so far

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Handles like a sports car

Dave Newberry, 12/24/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing Sub SUV. Handles like a sports car, safety and technology are amazing for the price point. Fun to drive like nothing in the class. Interior materials match much more expensive vehicles. The only drawback is the small interior space. If you need space get the CX5. My wife drives the 2015 CX5 and loves it. But this CX3 is a kick to drive. HUD is really cool. Recommendation for Mazda, don't over complicate your technology. There are more steps to switch, set up or navigate than necessary. It is very intuitive, but feels like everything takes one or two steps more than are really necessary. Obviously, this did not deter me as it is similar to the 2015 CX5 we have put over 45K and and love it still. Loved this CX3. Driven in rain, snow and dry pavement so far, amazing traction. Well a year plus later, I still. Love this ride. Great handling in the snow, we have 4 AWD vehicles, this one is like other brands that wait for a slip before engaging AWD. However, it works exactly as designed every time. I live on a steep hill, with a steep uphill driveway to get to the road. Without having to drive a beast or a German car, this is the perfect fit for us. Nice Job Mazda! 2 Years later and a couple winters under my belt, I am still a fan of this little Compact SUV. Everything I loved, I love more and the snow and ice traction are all I could have hoped for. The interior is small, but this little beast handles like a Miata in the mountain roads. Not for those who hall a lot of stuff or have regular backseat passengers. But for commuters in the Northeast who want some fun driving on winding roads.... I highly recommend the Mazda CX3. Another year and still enjoying the ride. This car is a bit small for a family but perfect for 1-2 people. I added an OEM Roof Rails and Bars so I could handle ski's and occasional long item form the lumber yard. Still a great looking vehicle and fun to drive like a sports car but with AWD for the snow and ice in CT. Mazda lives up to Zoom Zoom with this car. Make sure to update the tech on this. It has had several versions of NAV/Infotainment updates. Some early versions were quirky, but latest updates have made the entire experience very solid.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's not for everyone, but I love my CX-3

Wes, 09/12/2016
Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful

As a no-children household, this vehicle is perfect for the spouse and me. It has good enough fuel economy that we can take it on trips, enough storage for all of our things and whatever we accumulate along the way, and plenty of safety and entertainment features to make us feel comfortable while on the road. Plus, I'm a pretty tall/stocky individual, and this vehicle has that SUV feel that allows me to actually feel like I'm not slouching or laying down to fit inside comfortably. Since the spouse drives a convertible, we needed something with a little cargo room for those bigger items like a grill, patio furniture, etc. This vehicle has just enough capacity for that kind of a trip as well. I test drove and checked out every vehicle in this class (Honda H-RV, Subaru Crosstrek, etc.) and for the price, I feel the decision to purchase this vehicle is a no-brainer. UPDATE: after 3 years on the road, the only issue I've had is the transmission has gotten a little laggy and jerks into gear on occasion. I've had it checked out and it came back all-good, but it definitely feels like I'm going to need some repairs within the next 5-10k miles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Handles great on windy roads in the snow

Romeo Bagalacsa, 09/27/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Overall very satisfied. Sport mode really works well with paddle shifter, not recommended with normal drive ( eats more gas). I'm 6.1 so my right leg is always on counsel. That will be true with any small car. The LED headlights really are a help with backwoods driving ( able to spot dear easily ). Hit black ice once so far and worked awsome for traction. NEW UPDATE: 6 MONTHS IN ....We had quite a winter here in the CA high sierras and the car did great!!!! 140 miles a day in back highways. The AWD along with blizack tires did wounders!!!! Hands down beat a suberu for traction. So glad with our choice!!!!! Grand touring model is great. Led lights and smart cruise control on open highway is awesome. Thanks Mazda!!! Seems to be well made, time will only tell!! it's taken a beating so far at 25k in 6 months and know issues. Ok SO IT'S BEEN 2 YEARS AND NOTHING HAS FAILED!!!!! BLISSACK TIRES IN WINTER ( USED SMALLER RIM AND TALLER TIRE TO MATCH ORIGINAL SIZE ALSO THINNER TIRE, DOES BETTER IN SNOW) LIKE A CHAMP, OF COURSE ONLY THING IS IF ROADS AREN'T PLOWED YOU WILL BE PLOWing SNOW A BIT, but we all know that it's not that high off the grownd. GENERALLY I've had no problem with the clearance. Great car so far!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

red roadster

red roadster, 02/09/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a really fun car. Ideal for a single person. Drives great. Technology is great, although takes a little practise to master. Sound system is also excellent. Seats are very comfortable for me but might be narrow for a larger person. No center console which is challenging for someone who kept mine full. Not a lot of storage and small trunk. No problem at all so far because the seats easily fold down. I am happy to exchange this more limited space for a shorter body length and ease of city parking. Great car. Recommend it highly. The only annoying detail on the entire car is that you have to lift the armrest to access the drinks holder in the center. It's a small detail but given all that is right with this car, it makes this flaw stand out more.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very fun to drive if the space works for you.

Steve, 04/20/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Car is a joy to drive with a great interior, great tech, and fuel economy. Only real negative is lack of storage space and interior space is on the tight side. If the driving experience weighs more to you than straight up interior space, give the CX3 a hard look.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

nigel and i are in love <3

damiya peebles, 04/24/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car today and named it Nigel. It's so cute and sporty!! I shopped around for other crossover styled cars and this is by far the most stylish and the best car for the money. I love the back up camera feature, and the display screen which pretty much has all the cars coolest feature. space wise, it does run small. however, for a girl like me with a small dog and not a lot of cargo, this will work just fine. Its a step up from the mazda 2 I owned. I'm so happy with my car. Comfy, cute, stylish and has all that I need!! great gas mileage as well!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The perfect car.

Giuliano, 12/28/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for three weeks and I love it, traded from a 2011 Mazda 3 Grand Touring Hatchback. The technology is amazing in this car. The power is great for a car in this class, it handles beautiful around the bends thanks with the help of the AWD system, paddle shifters and sport mode. The cargo space is a little small then expected, can't fit no more than three people, which doesn't bother me. They do need to make the gas tank bigger. 11.9 gallons is very small for a crossover with an AWD system. It should a 14 gallon tank. I get an average of 32 MPG. They also need to fix the heads up display. It will only display how fast you are going and the cruise control speed. In order for the navigation directions to show up, you need to add the i-active package which is another $2,500 bucks, and surpsingly enough, there's no power seats. Which is a bit of a downer. Other then that, its a great car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

CX-3 -- what the reviews don't mention

redward, 08/10/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
52 of 76 people found this review helpful

The CX-3 Touring looks great in all the reviews -- the long snout , SUV styling, AWD, loud exhaust note, nice price, etc. But after driving one for 6 months, I find that it is loaded with badly executed features and controls that are a continuing source of irritation and discomfort. The long hoodline is eye-catching but it translates to a back seat that barely has room for a young teenager, much less for a tall adult, and the rear cargo area is minimal compared to my previous hatchback, a Hyundai Elantra GT hatchback. The GT was far superior to the CX-3 in roominess, interior styling, controls, handy features and lots of storage areas. The CX-3 has almost no functional front storage areas -- the cupholders are underneath a squeaky, creaky cheap plastic armrest, which is in the driver's way whether it's raised or lowered -- lots of fun to tackle when you're driving and you want a sip of your coffee. Nav system graphics features maps that are almost unusable -- road names, instead of being placed alongside or within each street they are featured in big white boxes with an arrow pointing to the street. In a crowded area, the screen is a mess of white boxes, obliterating any sense of where you are, floating aimlessly across the screen — totally amateur graphics unlike any I've ever seen. Mazda also gets demerits for being one of the few manufacturers that did NOT include Apple CarPlay software in the 2016 CX-3 which enables you to hook up an iPhone and use it through the audio system. Mazda software takes forever to boot up on starting, showing not even a simple clock until your journey is well underway. The accelerator is jumpy and gives jackrabbit starts, which hotshot reviewers seem to love, but in heavy bumper to bumper traffic, hair-trigger acceleration is an accident waiting to happen. The brakes are fine, but grab as you come to a stop -- making it seem like you've stopped too short. The interior is filled with cheap, low quality plastics that are noisy and flimsy -- sunglasses in the overhead holder rattle like crazy since there is no rubber cushioning to absorb the considerable road vibrations. Two deep cubbyholes in the front doors allow full access only if you get down on the floor and reach backwards to retrieve the objects that have rolled back there. The standard floor mats are made of thin, tacky spun material. Cabin noise levels on smooth surfaces and low speeds are acceptable, but increase rapidly on asphalt/gravel combination roads which are common in our area. Road noise combines with considerable wind noise at turnpike speeds to make music listening or conversation a chore. The controls for the audio system are located just UNDER the front of the armrest, requiring you twist your hand down and back in order to connect with them — a really stupid design. The cool sounding exhaust becomes a screeching bellow when you hit the gas for strong acceleration -- I suspect it may be artificially enhanced since the CX-3 is not a high performance vehicle. The automatic transmission is set up to downshift even on slow accelerations -- another attempt to add "zoom zoom" to your driving experience, like it or not. Stupid things like the windshield washers hitting low on the windshield, preventing the right 1/3 of the windshield from ever getting cleaned, leaving annoying streaks every time. Two dealers checked them and said there is no way to correct the aim, and checking other vehicles showed the same problem! The drivers’ side all weather rubber floor mat pops off the guide pins repeatedly, causing the mat to shift around and tangle with the pedals -- a potentially serious safety problem. Again, two dealers checked it and said "Yup, the mat doesn't fit the pins." A new set of mats showed the same problem since the pins, attached to the floor of my car, are off by almost ½ inch, causing the mat to spring loose. (Neither dealer offered any further action on these items.) The dashboard information is conveyed by intense white LEDs creating tiny lettering that is difficult to read while driving. The intensity control for lighting is a strange, raw metal post sticking straight out of the dash that offers only too high or too low light levels. Most important information is displayed by tiny, sometimes incoherent icons that are difficult to read -- dozens of them, and their minuscule size escapes notice if you are not constantly scanning the blacked out icon area. None of these problems are game changers, but they add up to a car that seems like it was rushed into production without much checking to see how the ergonomics of the design worked out. The Hyundai GT had many more convenience features that were all nicely designed and rendered -- for instance, a smooth power roof compared to Mazda's cheap plastic manual slider with a glass panel that rises just an inch and produces too much wind noise. The Elantra GT was a lot more car for the money. Sold it after 8 mos. at huge loss, bought a Honda HR-V. Nice.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda CX-3 - great subcompact crossover

Scott Zeigen, 12/26/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

If you want a small SUV that easily moves around other larger cars on the road that get in your way ... this is the one. I have had it for over 12,000 miles now, getting 24 MPG. The fold down seats do give you more cargo room. I really miss having a turbo engine. I was driving a manual transmission VW Beetle for 15 years, so I generally turn on the manual gear selection on this automatic. The paddle shifters work great except when you go around the corner when you must use the console shifter instead However, if you need more rear cargo get the CX-5 or larger CX-7. Issues: The lane change warning indicator goes off for no reason quite often and is annoying; there is no way to turn it off! The touch screen cannot be used if the car of going over 5 miles per hour and you have to look down to see the knob and buttons (this to me is more dangerous than touching the screen).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Little Dynamo

Magdalo, 01/12/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This CUV is not for everybody. It is a driver's car for someone who appreaciates being behind the wheel. It is for the driver who likes aggressive styling and enjoys the twist and turns of daily travels. After 24 months and 12500 miles, there's so much to love about the CX3. The exterior / interior is always pleasant to look at and build quality is still very satisfying. All-whell drive system is very capable during snowy months. I-Activsense driving aids are helpful if not overly sensitive, especially the blind-spot monitor. Fuel economy is an average of 24.1 combined. Bose sound system could be better and navigation was updated once by the dealer for minor issue. Overall, the CX3 is still a very stylish, engaging, and capable CUV.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda CX-3 Easily the Best Subcompact SUV

Chuck C, 03/30/2018
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My factory warranty is about to expire, and I've had just a single problem. Early on, the blower developed a bothersome whine - not loud - on just one of the speed settings. My dealer replaced the blower and it never happened again. The CX-3 is a lot of fun to drive, but if cargo space is a priority, this vehicle may not be for you. Take the time to learn about the Mazda suite of Skyactiv technologies (there are animated videos on the Internet), before you take all your test drives. That information should help to convince you. Mazda's engineers are the best in the business.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Fun to Drive, Not to Own

Amanda, 12/20/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Mazda CX-3 for a little over three years and have driven approximately 57,000 miles. When I first purchased the car I was driving approximately 40 miles a day, all highway. With that being said, I haven't needed to replace any tires yet and only had to replace my break pads (which weren't even ready for replacement) at around 54,000 miles. That is some solid value right there. Word to the wise - do not buy the navigation system from the dealership, you can easily get an SD card off Amazon (for $99) and have a fully equipped navigation system for a fraction of the price. All of Mazda's cars have the built in programming / setup for the navigation system. The car is small. Fuel tank is 10 gallons or so but there is a reserve gallon so I am constantly filling up, averaging 30 mpg (highway and city driving) but only having 9 gallons in the car is pretty tight. Plus side is that every time I fill my tank it only costs around $25. Further in regards to the car being so small, the only comfortable seats are the driver and passenger. The back seat feels like the 3rd row of a much larger vehicle and is fit for a small child. Going on a shopping spree? Trunk barely fits a carry-on suitcase. However, if you lay down the back seats, there's a little bit more room. My Hyundai Elantra or Civic had more trunk / passenger space than this "Crossover SUV". There isn't even a center console, just an arm rest that sits above the cupholders so if you have a beverage, you cannot rest your arm. As far as reliability, I do not commend Mazda on this. The A/C on my car went at around 25,000 miles (thankfully it was still covered under its warranty) and took at least 2 weeks to fix because the parts were not in. Around 14 months after, the A/C went again, this time not covered under warranty and was an almost $800 fix during the middle of a heatwave in August. There was a "Lift-Gate" recall on this car which Mazda fixed, free of charge, of course. However, after they fixed this there have been issues of water sitting in the door of the trunk which flooded the license plate lamp and blew it out. The lamp seems to be glued shut and neither myself or my body-shop/mechanic was able to replace, when mentioned to my local dealer, they just shrugged it off. There was issues with the condensation in the headlamps and most recently, engine issues, which is covered under PowerTrain Warranty, however, Mazda does not have the time or availability of rental cars to fix the engine in a timely manner. Driving this car is fun, but in terms of "big fixes," and cost of ownership, it's just not worth it. Maybe I got a lemon but it seems that for a new car there's been quite a few big problems and I could only imagine what would be coming down the pipeline the older the car gets. I am going to be trading it in for something more reliable and I'd recommend only getting this car if you are leasing it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cute car but not for us

Alan Onibus, 03/02/2019
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

If this car would have been less noisy inside and without blind spots I would have bought it. It’s a such a good looking little car with great features. It was fun to drive and it gets good gas mileage too. It is probably a great car for a single person but considering the kids in back seat plus blind spots, it seemed like a poor choice. I also wished Mazda made the next trim level up that has blind spot monitoring with fabric seats. We ended up getting next the size up cx-5 and are loving it so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Love driving the Mazda CX3

DeYoung, 09/16/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
43 of 73 people found this review helpful

PROs: Fun, fun, fun to drive. It seems that you can almost think your way around corners. The car feels great on the road and is very responsive. The interior is very, very nice. The cabin is quiet (compared to the HRV and other similar cars I test drove) and has a very high quality feel. CONs: Cargo space is limited with the back seats up. (decent with the back seats down) I have only had the car a couple weeks but so far, I absolutely love it. I will update the review after driving it longer.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

49k miles driven

Jim C., 12/24/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great car, loaded with goodies The back seat room is tight as expected, If you don't like little footprints on the back of the front seats, then this car is not for you! Paint is too soft, chips easily. The only issue I have had is the radio/ Navigation. The system tends to reboot on its own from time to time when the USB ports are being used. Dealer could not reproduce the problem! (Repaired with firmware update.) Update: a/c condenser failed at 42k Mazda assisted in repair paying 1k for. $ 1400.00 job Rear bearing seal replaced under powertrain warranty.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfect as a city car

Analogthought, 01/16/2020
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After initially purchasing a Honda CR-V while living in Brooklyn New York and driving it around for a week, it quickly became apparent that finding parking for a vehicle that size coupled with the lower end MPG for city driving, that a different vehicle might be a better choice. I initially considered the Scion IA due to being drawn to the interior, but wanted something with more cargo room. This was how I stumbled onto the CX-3. After eight months of driving it and several long distance trips later, I can safely say that overall I really enjoy this car on many levels but definitely have had enough time to find the faults. As mentioned, the interior is something I really appreciate about this car. The seats offer decent comfort but lack lumbar support for long drives. The ability to adjust the height of the drivers seat helps to find the best position but at six feet tall, I still sometimes find myself feeling a little cramped with everything adjusted as far back as it will go. I own the sport model, so no arm rest is included. After some quick research I have found one can purchased online for around $125 and fairly easily self-installed, however after reading various reviews the cost doesn't seem worth it. I was initially concerned about blindspots through the small rear window as some have commented on, but I have yet to find any issues with that short of what's more expected with the blindspots being relegated to the sides of the vehicle. The standard back up camera included certainly helps with parallel parking and backing up in tight spaces while driving in the city. From the start I wasn't much of a fan of the Mazda Connect infotainment system. It works but felt dated and a little laggy in responsiveness. This was easily corrected by purchasing and installing the Apple CarPlay kit, something that some quick YouTube searching made much easier to do thanks to step by step instructions. The navigation that came with the vehicle works off of an SD card which seems to get updated annually via Mazda, so having the addition of Waze/Google Maps has been invaluable as I found there were several times that the built in Nav was behind in terms of street closures and route changes. In the hottest weather the AC takes approximately as long as in cold weather for the heat to get hot as it does to cool off. In both cases, expect to wait between 15 to 20 minutes. Nothing unbearable, but in extreme temps of either direction, I've found other vehicle to perform better. Exterior styling seems current enough to stay fresh for years to come, definitely impressed on that front. I will also add my opinion to the list of others that find the paint job on the exterior prone to scratching pretty easily. The only actual issues I have with this vehicle is leaking in the hatch with water collecting in the reverse light built into the hatch lid, something others have experienced as well it seems. Something to check out when considering buying one of these. My other issue is the lack of rear cargo space. First impressions was that it would be doable and fine, but while in use over the past 8 months, there have been several times it was just a bit smaller than I would have liked. Just purchasing groceries (for one) can fill up the rear space pretty quickly. Gas mileage has exceed expectations with it taking just over two full tanks of gas to drive from NYC to Atlanta. Each fill up currently costing around $28. The suspension could be a little softer and sometimes feels very rigid when going over potholes or bumps in the road. Acceleration when merging onto highways is fine, but be prepared to utilize the sport mode option. In the cooler weather, the windows tend to fog up pretty badly but nothing that the climate control system can't pretty quickly fix. Backseat space is tight but feedback from adult passengers on a longer drive was that it wasn't as bad as many others have mentioned. In looking for any other faults with this vehicle, the only other thing I can think of is the severe lack of storage in the front seating area. There are large door storage areas, two cup holders in the center and very small area under the built in CD player (too small to fit anything larger than the smallest iPhone). Do I love my car and am I happy with my purchase 8 months later, yes, absolutely. Does it have it's faults, yes, absolutely. Would I buy another one? Yes, but I think my next Mazda would be the CX-30 in looking for that extra bit of space on the interior.

Report Abuse

Somewhat Disappointed

Mark, 05/08/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car in Fall of 2015. Was persuaded by all the great reviews about the handling and "funness" to drive. It is fun to drive and gets pretty good milage for an AWD (I'm getting about 32mpg on the highway). It is easy to see out of and steers very well. I also like that you can kick it into a manual shift mode, which is great for hilly areas or if you need some extra accelleration. Being small, its also pretty easy to park, especially with the back up camera. There are a few things though that have been annoying. 1. Reliability - after 2 1/2 years of ownership I am now on my second AC repair. 2. Electronics are hard to use. It doesn't seem very intuitive. I can never tell if I have my music on shuffle play or not. There is no indication to let you know. I still struggle with making phone calls from the car via the bluetooth connection. Overall the car seems OK, but if the AC goes again next year it will be at my expense and it will probably be the last Mazda I will ever own. Update 11/10/19: I have had no further issues with the AC so far. Not sure if they improved the AC unit or if it helped that I wire tied a gutter cover I picked up from Home Depot to the lower front grill to prevent the unit from getting pelted with road salt and debris. Not sure this car is built to withstand upstate NY winters. Aside from that all is still going well, and it is still more fun to drive than most other cars I have owned. I'm still undecided as to whether my replacement for this will be another Mazda or possibly a Subaru Crosstrek. I expect to find out in a couple years, depending on how well the AC unit holds up.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my new Mazda

alli mcquillin, 04/12/2016
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

It's a year later and I'm still calling her my new car. I still get compliments weekly on how she looks, runs, drives, rides. My agent at the dealership is beyond helpful. Iain at Camelback is the best. I wouldn't trade her for any other. I'm a Mazda owner for LIFE.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great value - if you wear "S" or "M" and are agile

Bug, 11/22/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 22 people found this review helpful

I really liked the design, technology, and direction Mazda is going these days. CX-3 appears exciting, safe, and incredible value. I'm older and not as agile as I used to be, and I like my console space for coffee tank, phone, doodads to be handy on my long daily commutes. I was hoping CX-3 would be good fit, but awkward console placement and crampy ingress/egress (lower back issues) led to a 'pass' on this model. If I was 20-40 and had a long commute however, I'd seriously consider this! BTW, the Mazda 3 hatchback fit's me much better!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

It’s a nice car but...

David, 12/13/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased the fully loaded model with all of the bells whistles including iactivesense. CONS: 1. No light in the glove box or the driver side mirror. There is also only one dim light in the trunk. For a fully loaded model, this should be great. 2. The USB ports don’t work well. They keep my devices from losing charge but don’t charge the device more. I have to use the one cigarette lighter port to have it charge my device. This should work! 3. No power seat adjusters in the driver seat! For the fully loaded model, this should be standard. 4. No middle seat storage up front and a crappy arm rest (that I had to purchase separately!) 5. Not fast! Take a while to speed up! PROS: I used to have a Mazda 3 fully loaded and it was loud inside. This car is quiet inside. OVERALL: for the price point it should be perfect. It needs improvement. So after less than a year, I traded the vehicle in! Wasn’t impressed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Zoom...Zooom

Candace Krefft, 01/18/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

There are two things that I dislike about the car. There is no center compartment to store things in and it did not have an electric seat available. I enjoy driving the car overall and it does have lots of Zoom....Zoom. I purchased the car because I wanted something smaller but did not want to give up luxury because of that. I have had 3 Mazda's and have never had problems with them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great little SUV

Ann Farley, 01/13/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is loaded, comfortable, and a bargain compared to other SUVs. Other suvs with similar features cost considerably more to purchase and maintain. I average 28-29 mpg around town, 30+ on the highway. Sufficient cargo room for its size, and adults have expressed good rear leg space. It starts quick and handles exceptionally well around corners and rainy days. I’ve only driven a bit on snow and it drove fine, taking obvious precautions for bad weather conditions. I’m selling it because of personal life changes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

General Disappointment

Amy Hamilton, 07/13/2016
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 32 people found this review helpful

Limited Driver View (lots of blind spots). Read head rests cover seat when down jutting out and making ride uncomfortable in back seat. When up, they block driver rear view sight and leave about a 18 in view space between head rests. Controls in panel between seats and the toggle to select is annoying and while voice control works fine, radio stations take too many "clicks" to get to. As well, touch screen is disabled when driving. Annoying.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

sudden unintended accelaration

yeshim nemirovsky, 02/11/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
23 of 67 people found this review helpful

On January 27th 2016, I got into a very bad car accident while parking with my new Mazda CX3. That day I drove 20 minutes from home to work, and when I entered to parking lot I was may be 15 miles an hour! After I made my 90 degree turn into parking stall with a very slow speed, I pushed the brake to fully stop! Car almost stopped but suddenly something extraordinary happened and car suddenly accelerated! I could not do anything! It stopped by hitting the snow bank and another car parked in another stall! Lots of damage on both cars! Luckily I was OK physically and there was nobody in the other car. As soon as I can, I called Mazda CEC, filed a claim and made the car towed to the dealership where I purchased it. Both dealership and Mazda engineer inspected the car, they think there is anything wrong with the car however there is NO explanation regarding how this sudden acceleration happened when data from car also tells that my feet was on brake during the incident! I did lots of research, talked to lawyers who are very familiar with sudden unintended acceleration and found that there are similar cases, involving "sudden unintended acceleration" with many accidents involving bad injuries and sometimes death, but to the best I can figure out, it is difficult to prove causation by car malfunction. It leaves no trace and it is very hard to prove car has a problem. Even NHTSA did not find a vehicle-based cause of those incidents but some manufacturers still needed to pay millions of dollars to people who had sudden acceleration with their cars for their lost! Because it happens even though we don’t know why! Mazda CEC wants me to take the car back and drive it to replicate the incidents while all facts out there tells that sudden acceleration happens with unknown reason and kills people! Does Mazda really want me to prove with my life that this car has a defect?

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far so good

Carole Cimitile, 01/02/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car handles well. Sporty look which I like. Safety features are impressive. The cargo area could be a bit larger.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Price Mini SUV

DB, 04/13/2017
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love this mini SUV!!! I feel that I am getting a lot our of this car for the price. I did many comparisons but nothing beat the CX-3 GT with I-active. I got everything that I wanted! The blind spot monitor, smart cruse control, heads up display, lane departure, Bose, nav, and so on! The space is kind of a downside but Its just me and my girlfriend and we are average height so there is still plenty of room in the back room. I don't use the trunk much so that doesn't bother me. It is a fun car good mileage to me,my drive to work is about 5 miles and I average 30 mpg to 29 mpg. Cant wait to take it up to snow!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cool little SUV

Nancy, 04/05/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Correctly rated as having amenities beyond its price point. Not sluggish, but has Zoom Zoom, and it does! Good gas mileage. Only one drawback, road noise.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

AWD in a Small Package

Meg, 06/09/2018
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It is one of the only crossover SUVs with AWD: I was holding out for a Prius with AWD, but is still hasn't come out. Mileage is just okay - averaging about 30mpg, and the stereo system is really lousy: weak radio reception and TERRIBLE synchronization with my iPod. But it holds the road beautifully, even in slippery conditions, and heats up quickly, which were my two greatest concerns. Also, back windows are still quite high even when lowered to their max - not comfortable for my dog. Will likely not keep the car once my lease is up. Did get a very good service package and won't have to pay for a single oil change for 3 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love this car! (Notice I said car)

Ryan, 12/24/2018
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Yes the CX 3 is a car disguised as an SUV. I previously drove a 2013 Dodge Dart SXT and the list of ways the the CX 3 out performs the Dart is endless. Mazda is a Japanese company but you would never know by driving the CX 3. The CX 3 drives closer to an Audi A4 or BMW 3 Series than a Honda or Toyota but is priced closer to Honda or Toyota. Keep up the good work Mazda.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

CX-fun!

J Clayton, 10/04/2019
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I own a 2017 CX-3 Grand Touring. With the exception of an amazingly annoying center armrest that squeaks, the little CUV is amazing. Performance wise, it has more than ample pick up, and borders on too much power for such a small frame. The ride is good, nice and stiff. The interior is nothing less than artwork. The seats are comfortable, and I installed Google Play, as I wanted more than the OEM system could give. The car is small, and you do sacrifice back seat and boot space for the "impossible not to look at" curves. With research, I knew that going into it. I am a single, and carry few passengers. So, that's no concern for me. The back can more than adaquately accommodate one adult, or two small children (human or furry) comfortably. All in all, from my perspective, Mazda is still creating 'zoom-zoom'. I'm not sure what all these other folks have been driving.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great little car

Daniel Bauman, 05/25/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Zoom zoom love it

ca ca, 11/07/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 Mazda CX3

George P, 12/15/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This was a nice vehicle with great gas mileage for an AWD vehicle. It also had lots of nice features for a vehicle in this price range. I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a small AWD CUV to try this vehicle. My girlfriend ended up purchasing a CPO BMW X1 instead of this vehicle but she was impressed with the CX3.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I drive more than most

Rich G, 10/28/2017
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I do around 35,000 a year and usually I fall out of love with my vehicle but not this time. I currently have 61,000 on my 2016 and the car is perfect in every way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bought it

kat, 08/13/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 25 people found this review helpful

Got it home, car broke down in 30 mins. Very disappointed. Overall, the ride was nice, i liked it. But having it break down that fast was a deal breaker.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I love driving this vehicle

Sas, 06/03/2018
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Handles nice

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050