Skip to main content

Used 2016 Mazda 6 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,300 - $23,998

Used 6 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...21

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Nothing even comes close!

6DriverPA, 07/15/2016
updated 10/05/2017
2016 Mazda 6 i Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

This is a terrific car and great value. The car handles incredibly well, is nicely designed, priced fairly, and the interior materials are of higher than usual quality. My son helped pick out the car and plans to buy it for the lease residual purchase price. There were some annoying early rattles in the dash, but they got sorted out after a few trips to the dealer and the car is tight and clearly well screwed together. Of course more power is always nice and probably would bump the car to stellar status as a sport sedan. That said, the standard and only engine loves to rev, is smooth, and more than adequate. I have the 6-speed manual which is precise and fun with a light clutch. Nothing comes close as a stylish sport sedan at this price.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The Sedan You'd Swear Is A Sports Car

Austin Allen, 10/28/2015
2016 Mazda 6 i Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
57 of 59 people found this review helpful

Is there a car in this segment, including luxury, that has a more sinuous and seductive styling than the Mazda6? If you were to ask me, I'd say no, that Mazda absolutely has created a car that is as much function as it is form. However, the car is much more than just the belle of the ball. It is a family hauler that is as much practical as it is athletic. With a few, albeit very minor, complaints, this car is the closest you will get to a German made equivalent without breaking $30,000. It's clear that Mazda spent The Mazda6's performance is better than what I would expect in it's class. Most people that are complaining about the lack of speed are likely referring to it's drag racing numbers. It's acceleration will not wow you like a Hellcat Charger or Chervolet SS, but that's not what it was designed to be. It is not a drag strip sport sedan, nor was it designed to be. For less than $23,000 after tax, title, and license, the Mazda6 is the car that has very peppy acceleration and an automatic transmission that you'd swear was dual clutch with how smoothly it shifts. It rides the road like it is on rails and teases you to push it harder on winding roads. It's like a large, practical Miata in many ways. It's not a numbers car, but that doesn't matter when it comes to driving it. It's a sedan that is fun to drive. It's a driver's sedan and is made for the person that doesn't mind taking the longer, windier way to work. While I'm sure it wouldn't be less enjoyable to have more power from the engine, the car is faster than others in it's segment and price and is balanced with how much power it has. The interior is a large upgrade from older models and has a very clean appearance. There is leather and aluminum accents throughout the body, replacing much of the cheap, hard plastics from the past. The leatherette seats in the Touring trim are very comfortable, being just soft enough without feeling like a recliner. The rear seats have plenty of room for a car that isn't a full sized sedan and the fronts seats comfortably fit someone who is over 6' tall. The trunk is quite spacious and leaves little to complain about. The media console and screen is a love it or hate it piece of equipment. Using it and the iPod like wheel makes it clear it is designed to distract from the driving experience as little as possible. While the car is in park or not moving, you can use the display's touch capabilities. While the car is in motion, you have to use the wheel in the middle of the center console. This can be annoying for passenger's that want to change the radio station or hook up their phone, but it's so simple and easy to use with the wheel, it's not a dealbreaker of an annoyance, at least not for me. The wheel has tactile feedback and you can easily begin to remember how many clicks in a turn it takes to get to whatever menu you are looking for. The shortcut buttons around the wheel are thoughtful and are the most common options you are going to navigate to. *I didn't choose to have navigation enabled on my car, so I can't make any comments about it's capabilities. You can enable it after the fact by buying Mazda's SD card and inserting it in the slot in the storage bin in the center console. All-in-all, you have a very attractive car that performs better than others in it's class and price range and is thoroughly enjoyable to drive. It is comfortable and spacious (as spacious as a mid-sized sedan can be), but drives like it's a much smaller car than it is. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a car in this segment. I would not recommend this to a person who is looking for a performance sports sedan, such as a WRX or Chevrolet SS, as it's straight away speed is not going to blow you away. But, again, this is not a car designed for that. It provides a comfortable ride with more than peppy performance and a great driving experience at an amazing price for the package.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

For the love of driving.

Ann H., 05/01/2016
updated 05/10/2017
2016 Mazda 6 i Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Okay, I am a mom. A mom who loves to drive, can change a tire, and does not get her nails done. Not many automakers still a manual transmission in a sedan, but Mazda does. This was a huge selling point in the Mazda for me. I got the 6 over the 3 because the back seat is much roomier and the increase in size doesn't totally wreck the fuel economy. Granted, it is not the most powerful engine, but it is absolutely sufficient. It handles great and really is fun to drive. My only complaint is that to get the grand touring trim package, you lose the manual transmission. So, a touring it is.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Over 6 years original owner

craig367, 06/30/2015
updated 07/28/2022
2016 Mazda 6 i Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for 7 years and it has 76K. No issues for the last 9 months and it is a good second car. No reason to replace at this time, as it suits my purposes and owes me nothing. Replacing for something newer with modern tech. does not seem worth the cost.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

A Pleasing Alternative to Ford, Nissan, Honda

roubaud, 07/07/2015
2016 Mazda 6 i Grand Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
47 of 50 people found this review helpful

First off, I don't want a car everyone else has -- so that knocked off the fusion, accord, and altima (which are also terribly boring to look at or be in). After a 1,300 mile trip I can say a few things with certainty: The car does not drive as stiff as many reviews say, even with 19" wheels. I'd say if anything it's an average ride quality -- you do feel the road, but it's not like driving over a washboard gravel lane. It's not a luxury car, but in general, it feels like one more often than not (our last two cars were Acuras).

Report Abuse
12345...21
Items per page: