Skip to main content

Used 2003 Lexus RX 300 Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
80 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

Rob, 08/07/2018
2003 Lexus RX 300 AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
50 of 51 people found this review helpful

I bought new a 2003 Lexus RX300 and have owned it for 16 years. It has183,000 miles and the car has been rock solid! Still drives like a champ, comfortable, quiet, and it has been rock solid for reliability. NO major issues.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Still going strong at 130K

TPT, 06/19/2010
2003 Lexus RX 300 AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

My last Lexus, I sold with less than 100k somewhat in fear that it was getting old. I see it now and then and it appears to be moving along just fine. My 2002 RX just turned 130k and it running strong. It has the parking lot dings and a few scrapes on the bumper but aside from that, I plan on pushing it to it's limit. When it comes to Santa Fe snow, it's a champ and have told my wife, I would get another based on its ability to handle the snow pack and lack of street clean up. I've had other 4 wd and even my old Trooper can't compare. I would have to say it's been the best vehicle I've owned. I would highly recommend even buying a good used one. Look forward writing you when I hit 200K.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Little SUV driving it for 5 years

Ferres, 02/27/2016
2003 Lexus RX 300 AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
43 of 45 people found this review helpful

I had my RX300 for 5 years now, it has 175k miles and still drive like new, no problem of any kind , just oil change and brake in 3 years tires still good after 3 years of heavy driving, smooth ride, ok on fuel, AC and heating is great accelerate good for AWD , reliable, I had a lot of cars in my live Jeep, BMWs, Kia, Honda, Nissan X terra , ford, Montero, Mercedes Isuzo , Hyundai this Lexus IS the best if u find one buy it no matter what is the miles on it it will last for ever

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Good SUV

Brant, 10/30/2015
updated 05/03/2017
2003 Lexus RX 300 AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought my RX 3 months ago as a pampered one owner with 102K miles an excellent maintenance history. I have owned several Toyotas so was attracted to the quality and reliability of the Lexus brand. We also have a 2009 Nissan Rogue with 117K miles so I will use that car as a comparison. My RX is based on the Toyota Highlander and drives like one. The ride is smooth but a bit "trucky" on back roads with bumps. The turning radius is wide compared to most cars. The transmission is a 4 speed which is outdated by today's standards. At 6'2" I could use a little more front leg room - wish the seat had more travel (a body shop could fix this for a few hundred dollars). This is a very good car with a lot of features and I would buy it again. Compared to our 6 year newer Rogue, the RX is not competitive as far as handling, gas mileage, and suspension refinement. The car does exude quality though and even the under carriage is really clean for a 13 year old car. No evidence of body rust or rusted out brake lines like a friend's Chevy truck. Toyota/Honda/Nissan must use more alloys as none of my cars have issues with under body rust. October 2016 and the Lexus is still bullet proof and all is well. Just routine maintenance. Traded the car as of April 2017. Wanted something more nimble with better gas mileage. Was starting to have issues the the check engine light and VSC light coming on. it is all exhaust and emissions related and the car was running fine. Seems to be an issue with this generation RX300

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Loved Both Of Them. Now Own a 2012 Lexus RX350

Fred Yanner, 08/24/2016
updated 03/05/2019
2003 Lexus RX 300 AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is our second RX300. AWD The first was a 2000 with 52,000 miles when we bought it. It now has 227,500 and Runs & looks just like when I bought it. I found a one owner 2003, RX-300 AWD 91,100 miles on it with navigation plus other updates. Lots of nice upgrades from 2000 to 2003. Both Fantastic cars. I cannot say enough good things about the Lexus RX-300. If you want a car that will take you where you want to go, again & again & again with pure luxury car comfort, plenty of cargo space and 4WD like a snow plow this is the car you want. Knock on wood but we have had little minor problems almost not worth mentioning. #1, A window control switch acting up, #2, A window oh wait I already mentioned it. We are now selling our first Lexus but I have not listed it in over a month. I am having a hard time letting go of a vehicle that has been so good to us. Your first big tune up is do at 125,000 miles. Timing belt, Spark Plugs, Water Pump, Maybe valve adjustment. Average cost. $2000.00, then you should be good to go for 100,000 more miles. Fortunately the first owner on our 2003 did it early. Thank You!! We have now had our second Lexus RX300 for over one year. Even though it's looks very similar to our first Lexus. Lexus did many updates on the cars computers, suspension. etc. Has been a problem free car. These are a one of a kind car that are a pleasure to drive anywhere and everywhere in comfort and confidence. UPDATE: It is now 3-01-19. We lost our 2003 Lexus in the Paradise Ca, Camp Fire. We put over 35,000 miles on it from when we purchased it with 91,000 miles. It still looked and drove like a new car. Never had a problem with it. We purchased a 2012 Lexus RX350 with 71,000 miles on it for $18,700.00. This car brings the RX into a whole new realm. This RX handles like a dream with every option you could ask for. 2 TV monitors on the rear of the head rests, even has air conditioned seats. Every thing is controlled with a joy stick and voice control. You tell the car what to do and it does it. With a six speed trans, 19" wheels & tires and 3500 engine the power and drive is amazing. We have put 6,000 miles on so far and enjoyed every one of them. Our 2000 & 2003 Lexus RX were both amazing luxury cars. The 2012 is a amazing performance luxury car. All 3 had 4WD and drove excellent in snow and bad weather. I am sold on Lexus RX models for reliability, comfort, and great driving experience. Toyota Motor Division at its best!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5