Used 2003 Lexus LX 470 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$12,024 - $20,795

Used LX 470 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Solid, dependable, still garnishes status

tpa33, 12/10/2013
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I'm a technician and I know build quality. You will not find this level of precision or quality with any other vehicle with full time 4 wheel drive and true transfer case. Bought used only because its virtually still new and we should all expect 350,000 miles of hard or pampered use from the LX470/Land cruisers.

Report Abuse

Excellent

Tom, 04/29/2009
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle. If you can afford it and want an SUV, look no further. My LX 470 has 80,000 miles on it and it rides as nice as it did when I bought it. Reliability, comfort and quality are super, not one rattle or vibration after the 6 years I have owned the vehicle. Probably built too well as there is no reason to get rid of it even after 6 years. I plan on keeping it for a long time and putting many more miles on it. Performs flawlessly in the snow as I can go anywhere. Had to get to navigate on a steep, closed road one snowy day. No problem at all in this vehicle. Just a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Best of Rest

Mohs Doc, 08/31/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

25K trouble free miles. 12-14 mpg expected when one notes the 5500+ lbs. of weight. Nothing on the market to compare with it unless the NEW Range Rover, now under German mgmt, might be a contender, but I would have to be shown.

Report Abuse

Love My LEXIE

Caroline913, 12/06/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great SUV, fun to drive and I feel very safe on the highway. I love all the toys and the interior is so classy. I've owned other SUVs, but this time I've found a gem.

Report Abuse

My Truck

dickbarber, 08/05/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Of course the Lux stuff -- clients/investors ride in style in LA and DC. Always smooth and cool. Best part tho is the utility. Does everything in style. Camped in it for a month in the Sierra (slept in the back). Serious off-road in summer/winter in desert/mountain. Water crossings to 20". Climbs and scambles like a Wrangler but with a Lex ride. Amazing in snow with the adjustable suspension and stock tires. Delivers Docs and nurses in snow emergencies. Handles triple digit speeds in emergencies. Tows fine, not fast, but secure. 7,000K trailer with brakes no prob.

Report Abuse

Top Dog

DrMike, 01/29/2004
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had many SUV's over the past 10 years, but never one that was "all-in- one." This LUV (luxury utility vehicle) is the BEST of everything that I have ever wanted and enjoyed. This LUV makes me "want" to drive, even on the busiest roadways. The quality speaks volumes for the name Lexus. This is The Vehicle that you can be comfortable taking ANYWHERE, the Country Club or camping or just kicking back for a cruise on the road.

Report Abuse

lexus lx470 donna's view

donnanard, 01/22/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

love the truck, performs well always. love the looks

Report Abuse

4 in A Row

L Wood, 09/06/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There is nothing even close and I own or have owned them all.

Report Abuse

LX 470

rkisaacs, 09/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Wonderfully smooth and quiet ride, incredibly maneuverable and near- perfect road performance. My only problem with this gem is with the interior design, specifically with the seats. There are so many buttons and lights, but it's fun to figure them all out.

Report Abuse

Our 3rd LX 470

CamOwens, 09/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Without qualification, the best vehicle in its' class. Nothing else out there gives us what the LX 470 does. We will continue to be loyal customers until when and if someone designs and builds a better model, which I suspect will also be Lexus.

Report Abuse

Love my Lexus!!

AliCor, 09/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am driving my second LX470, I will never settle for another vehicle. It is comfortable, safe, and ergonomically superior to any other car I've driven. I told my husband the only way I'll give up this car is if he buys me a new LX470. I've owned a Mercedes suv and that didn't compare.

Report Abuse

My 2nd is better than the 1st

dogallama, 09/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned 2...bt far beats the competition hands down...no issues with performance...unmatched off road...and the quality is paramount to any vehicle I have ever owned. They retain value and that is almost impossible with a car, but not with the LX470 or any Lexus for that matter.

Report Abuse

Most accomplished SUV around

Bill Moncure, 10/13/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car, It can handle any obstacles as well as a great family vehicle. Remarkable gas milage.

Report Abuse

Love My Lexus

Vance Gillette, 10/27/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent quality makes Lexus a pleasure to own and drive. Reliability is very key on my dission to purchase a Lexus.

Report Abuse

Whatelse can you say

mad99, 12/18/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just picked up used 2003 LX470 and what can I say. It is the greatest SUV, I was looking to buy the GX470 but with the many complaints about the GX I was able to find used LX470 for the same price of a new GX.

Report Abuse

LX-470 is a sweet ride

Mark3101, 07/25/2005
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very smooth and the 5 speed transmission is better than the old 4 speed I had in my 2000. The interior upgrades are nice as is the adaptive steering. The 2003 is also quieter than the previous models. Gas mileage is not bad, but should be better. Otherwise a great vehicle for driving in all conditions.

Report Abuse

Best SUV on the road

mike, 08/14/2005
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Ride is superior, never had a mechanical problem. Quiet... this is my second 470lx and I probably will buy a third.

Report Abuse

LX 470 Ultimate SUV

DRK, 04/03/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Was going to buy a GX470 but upgraded to LX470 once found out about SUV Tax break for SUV over 6000 ibs GVWR thanks to edmunds.com. I am very satisfied with this ultimate Luxury SUV. Excellent ride, comfort, and value.

Report Abuse

Super SUV

mrcofer, 04/24/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

One of my favorite features is the GPS system. The touch-screen technology makes it user-friendly. Also, the funky hybrid transmission gives one lots of options for off-road and on- road experience. I drive all over the state of Georgia, often in places I've never been and not sure exactly where they are. Each morning I just can't wait to get in my vehicle and take off. The only improvement possible would be to make it less expensive with better gas mileage (17 mpg, which is not bad for an SUV of any kind and better than most).

Report Abuse

King SUV

jatt is the man, 05/29/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

i just bought this car may 26 2003 and its a dream car for anyone. the thing i like the best is the new transmission it makes it faster and gives good mileage even though it can do better the luxury is at the top of its class and so is the exterior styling. i also tryed out the escalade and if you dont want something as expensive get that one. but you have to remember one thing you get what you pay for and the LX470 does just that.

Report Abuse

X Land Cruiser Owner

SteveT, 01/04/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

As an avid Land Cruiser fan (7 yrs/2 vehicles) it was difficult to put out another $10K “for the same vehicle” but after a test drive and closer evaluation of the added features it was a no brainer (these are listed below in my perceived order of value). After 2 months I’m more convinced I made the right decision. The ability to lower the vehicle has eliminated my wife “hopping” in and out and has proved to be quite useful in parking. Not only is there practically non existent road noise there is also the absence of traffic “fumes” thanks to the air quality sensor tied to external/internal air flow control. I strongly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Report Abuse

aaaa

aaa`, 01/09/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

just got my new LX470 a week ago, and already put in 350 miles( can't resist to spin it around the town).This car is built with the highest quality and so comfortable, smooth and luxury that you don't feel like driving a SUV. I had owned and driven Acura MDX(2001&2002 models)recently, and there is no comparison!!! You get what you pay for

Report Abuse

My glowing perception of our LX470

lexyplu, 07/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is definitely a run for its money. Though ours cost over $70,000, our family has grown to love it. This is our second LX470 and we have no intention of living life without it. It is powerful enough to drive up steep hills, yet luxurious enough for the driver to forget that they are driving an SUV. The 8 plush leather seats accomodate the whole family and provide enough comfort to endure long journeys. The Bose sound system plays loud and clear and helps us enjoy our drives even more. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone who has a taste for luxury but needs to transport a truckload of people. Definitely a 20 out of 10.

Report Abuse

Luxury and Refinement Like Never Before

SuPeRtOfFeE, 12/02/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This SUV, by far, is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. It has everything you need to live large: Navigation, Night View, Adjustable Suspension, etc. The ride quality is by far the best I have ever experienced. It's way better than my MB S500. I also enjoy this SUV's creature comforts such as the adjustable suspension. You just push a button and the car automatically lowers about four inches from normal height. The most important part of this vehicle is that it is built by Lexus, a company that promises impeccable service at the dealership and a vehicle that will provide you with trouble-free maintenance for many years.

Report Abuse

Luxury Suv

Nike587, 10/09/2002
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great SUV. Anyone thinking about getting it, should definitely test drive it. It rides so well you think that you are in a luxury sedan. It handles really well in the snow. It is a great vehicle for all occasions. It would look great going to a bussiness dinner or to a secret cabin in the woods.

Report Abuse

Super Lexus

Arab, 01/26/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this is the best 4x4 ever.

Report Abuse

Review of LX 470

GJ, 07/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent all around SUV

Report Abuse

Great Truck

sayahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, 07/26/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Land Yacht

Report Abuse

Luxury/Quality/Performance/Fun

pghharshmans, 08/22/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lexus continues to improve upon perfection.

Report Abuse

If money is not an issue, buy it!!!

artist, 07/23/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Nice SUV with excellent handling both on road and off road. Have to be careful on sharp turns at steep inclines off road. On road, you feel safe in the vehicle. Music system needs improvement. Excellent tires and show very little sign of wear and tear, despite 69000 miles on them.

Report Abuse

Best of the Best

sayahhhhhhhhhhhh, 09/19/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best SUV in the market

Report Abuse

LX 470

Macky, 10/13/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle. Although not as fun looking as a BMW, this vehicle rocks. The functional design is great.

Report Abuse

Problems? What Problems?

Parsley, 10/13/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have not had a single problem with this vechicle. It is a great kid hauler and I can pack a lot of various equipment into it.

Report Abuse

I love my LX 470

olihs, 11/22/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the second one I have had, and I feel very safe with my selection. I will continue to buy the LX 470 in the future.

Report Abuse

Be very careful

Fred Mackay, 04/15/2018
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my LX with 225,000 miles on it, felt like I got a great vehicle. It is beautiful, the perfect size, and EXTREMELY comfortable. BUT...this vehicle has a MAJOR problem that is not at all unusual. While on vacation with my fam, we were driving 40-50 mph on a curvy road, the VSC lights and chimes went crazy and the vehicle began braking hard left/right left/right, with loss of steering control. It was terrifying, but only lasted for a second or two. I began researching (clublexus.com is excellent) and discovered this is a common problem. There were hundreds of very similar reports...40-50 mph, going around sweeping curves. Just this morning it did the same thing six times in 15-20 minutes. Per the dealers recommendation I am returning the vehicle. It’s 90% awesome, but that other 10% could be catastrophic.

Report Abuse

Good....not great

jm641, 08/21/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall, the LX 470 is good, but falls short of what it could be. As has been noted, even w/ the 5hp increase and new tranny for '03, the LX is 35-50hp short of where it ought to be. In addition, the general age of the platform has began to show. It is not as space efficient as newer alternatives, and for a $70k vehicle, there are things that should be standard that aren't avail (no park distance control, no window sun shades, etc). Sadly, when this vehicle is replaced w/ a Sequoia- based product, there will be a void in this size range (it's a big jump from a GX to a Sequoia!). In all, can't say I'm disappointed, but I'm not gushing.

Report Abuse

There is a reason not to choose GX470...

DrJT, 03/19/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just got my LX470 two days ago. It's a bit surprising to myself, because I went to the dealership to buy GX470 that day. I Never liked the pre-2003 LX470 models because they look like Land Cruzer too much and is not too sporty in look. I test-drove both, and feel GX470 kind of squeezing and very unconfortable on the driver's side, too. The minor changes on the exterior makes the over-all look sporty and pretty.

Report Abuse

Need to be improved

emp, 06/02/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is nice car to drive but over priced car. Many functions will not be used during the life of this car which are waiting money to me. It will be nice if Lexus can reduce the price.

Report Abuse

new is better

jcy, 10/09/2002
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

just got my new LX470 a week ago, and already put in 350 miles( can't resist to spin it around the town).This car is built with the highest quality and so comfortable, smooth and luxury that you don't feel like driving a SUV. I had owned and driven Acura MDX(2001&2002 models)recently, and there is no comparison!!! You get what you pay for.

Report Abuse

My 2003 Lexus LX 470

j smith, 10/01/2007
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am on the road a lot and carry 400-500 lbs. in the back. I have just turned 200,000 miles and my only expense beside maintenance was a wheel bearing. I could never say this about any other car I have driven.

Report Abuse

X Land Cruiser Owner

stevet, 01/04/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As an avid Land Cruiser fan (7 yrs/2 vehicles) it was difficult to put out another $10K “for the same vehicle” but after a test drive and closer evaluation of the added features it was a no brainer (these are listed below in my perceived order of value). After 2 months I’m more convinced I made the right decision. The ability to lower the vehicle has eliminated my wife “hopping” in and out and has proved to be quite useful in parking. Not only is there practically non existent road noise there is also the absence of traffic “fumes” thanks to the air quality sensor tied to external/internal air flow control. I strongly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Report Abuse

The best

Alvin, 06/25/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just the best Out there. I will buy another

Report Abuse

Good solid vehicle both on & off road

Bill Graham, 12/10/2017
4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Towable 4-wheels down - roomy but definately not a boulevard cruiser. Body roll is a problem & the rear seats are not all that comfortable...it is basically a truck ride with a fair amount of road/wind noise at speed. Update: Vehicle is still in daily use with 165K on it. Had some work done last spring & will probably keep it another couple of years or until we quit the RV life. I am aghast at what they want for a similarly used GX today so I think I made a great decision. Discard the 3rd row seats as unusable for anybody over 3 years old & get a WeatherTech Cargo Liner. Paint is still gloss & black despite desert weather & thousands of miles behind a motorhome. I would buy again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050