Skip to main content

Used 2016 Lexus IS 350 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$24,952 - $29,998

Used IS 350 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2016 IS 350, so we've included reviews for other years of the IS 350 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

2016 IS350 F Sport

Tim, 03/30/2016
updated 04/02/2019
2016 Lexus IS 350 4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

I hesitated to buy this car because of Consumer Reports rating. They did not like the car very much. Later I found their review was based on the entry level IS. My opinion is that this car is awesome. I have owned over fifty cars in my life. I am hard to please. This car accomplishes what it is supposed to do. When you factor in reliability it wins the class with little competition.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome blend of sport and luxury.

Byron, 11/14/2015
2014 Lexus IS 350 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I wanted to drive mine for a few months before rating it. My first impressions were nothing but positive, so I thought I would drive it for a bit before advising others. Here are the categories that are important to me: Looks: Exterior: I love the way my IS350 F Sport looks. I've read that it's polarizing, and I think that's pretty accurate. For me, it's perfect. Looks: Interior: I love the interior. This was the main reason I chose Lexus over Audi, BMW, or Mercedes. Since I'm on the inside, I care about that more than the exterior. The mouse takes some time to get used to, but now it's like 2nd nature. I love the way it clicks into position depending on which screen I'm in. It doesn't just free float like a traditional mouse. It knows where each button is on each screen, and gives physical feedback as you toggle. The guages are one of the best features. It's extremely easy to have the info you want clearly visible. Performance: I almost always drive in Sport+ mode. The only time I drive in Normal mode is on the interstate (for the extra gas mileage). In town, it's just too much fun to drive in Sport+ mode to worry about the gas savings. The F Sport in the RWD is the way to go due to the 8 speed transmission. Every gear is so smooth and acceleration is adequate for normal driving. One of my favorite parts of driving in Sport+ mode is the throaty engine sound when the RPM go above 3k. It gives the extra feel to the experience of driving a sports car without having it become obnoxious.

Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

My second IS and it's nice

G$, 10/14/2015
updated 04/18/2016
2015 Lexus IS 350 4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Pros: - The car performs perfectly for the US. It easily accelerates to speed (and for passing on the highway) and it handles like a dream when the roads get twisty. - You're going to play with the guage cluster a lot. It's cool and fun. - The seats are probably the most comfortable I've ever had in a luxury sports sedan (owned or ridden in is300, bmw 328xi, audi s4). This vehicle is comfy. - It's a Lexus. It just works. And when I'm done driving it, the resale value of this car will be fantastic. (I sold my old is300 after 10 years for $10k.) - It's got all the luxury I need (heated seats/steering wheel, ventilated seats, nav system, blindspot detection with crosstraffic (saved me twice already), bluetooth, USB port, etc.) - It's really roomy compared to the old IS300 (and they finally made the seats split folding!) Cons: - It does sit low. I'm also a cyclist, so I've added a hitch to the rear which makes it worse! It will get rock chips in the hood. And it will rub on steep driveways. - It's not great on fuel economy. I generally don't "play" with it a lot and I'm getting around 22mpg. - The brakes do produce a lot of dust, so expect to give it a cleaning regularly Go see it in person. Some people hate the styling, but I think it's less gaudy in person. (The photos of the front make it look awful.) I haven't had it in the snow yet, but I expect that the AWD and all season tires will do just fine. Update 4/17/2016.... I've now been through some winter driving in DC with the car. I have the AWD and it felt as solid as my 2005 Infiniti FX35 in the snow. I was able to drive it up to Pennsylvania to go snowboarding 4 or 5 times without issue. That said, I suspect if the snow got deep (over the bumper) that the snow performance could degrade pretty quickly. (The car sits fairly low.)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Switched after 4 BMWs and a lot of problems

Mike H, 11/15/2016
2014 Lexus IS 350 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I am a self admitted car guy. I have had no less than 8 cars since 2000 and have either driven BMWs or Volvos. I see a lot of posts about Lexus vs. the BMW. I would ask the BMW owner to specify when they are reviewing their car-is it before or after 50,000 miles. I have had a 3 series, 5 series, 2008 X-5 4.8 L and a 2014 X-3. In 50% of my BMWs, I had major mechanical issues in or around 50,000 miles. Without hestitation, my favorite car was my 2008 X-5. It was fast and luxurious, but after spending 3 days at the dealer for a high pitched transmission whine, I decided not to wait for the full repair bill. I recently picked up a 2014 Lexus IS 350 F sport with 19" wheels. The car is an absolute blast to drive and the interior is amazing. I find the sport+ mode super responsive with an engine that has no lag and keeps giving. What makes me love this car is the reliability. With the BMWs, I was constantly worried about a major repair bill-with the Lexus, which I bought with 39,xxx miles, I feel like the car is just getting warmed up. It's a car that is both reliable and fast and one I can see myself driving for a long time. It clearly is not as fast or tight as a 335, but it's way more reliable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Car!

Jason, 12/12/2015
2015 Lexus IS 350 4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I got a '15 CPO Fsport AWD Nebula gray - After etensively driving the '14 BMW 328i & 15 Audi Q50 - the overall exterior lines, road performance and overall ride quality of the IS350 outperformed its competitors. Pros: Though it lacks the horsepower at the line of the Q50- it Brakes and handles like a dream at high speed - put it in sport ++ mode and the suspension brakign and handline tighten and you actually feel really safe takign the turns at high speed! The Rioja red F-sport interior includes the race stitching, metallic side panel, F-sport badging, and maybe one the coolest LED instrument gauges out there. At first I hated the front grill, but seriosuly go see one of these in person - it looks mean - the side profile and sightlines in the fsport version are some of the prettiest on the road imho. Have only owned this for 2 weeks - so havent test it for winter conditions but the all seasons shoudl be fine with awd. I have it in sport & ++ mode a lot so my mpg prolly not the best. Cons: The backseat is pretty small unless you have little kids like me, legroom could be cramped with an older family. Make sure and get the protection package put on it, as you will get rock chips on lower sitting front end.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: