MSRP Starting at
$28,045

Save as much as $8,636
Select your model:

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I wish I could give this one star

Adam Greenberg, 08/15/2019
Sport S 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
69 of 71 people found this review helpful

My soft top tore after 6 months. It developed a small tear right above a support bar for the top. When you look online this is a common problem, and yet Jeep denies its a defect and is trying to blame this damage from the consumer. The brand new jeep had less than 2,000 summer miami miles on it. Their customer service is absolutely atrocious

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2019 Jeep Wrangler JL, the Steering Story

Ranger, 05/28/2019
Sport S 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
257 of 273 people found this review helpful

This review is for my brand new Jeep Wrangler JL 2-door hard top in ocean blue metallic color. This vehicle was built in April 2019. It is stock, with no mods or consumer-added equipment. I’m writing this review with 250 miles on the odometer. I’ve been driving Wranglers since 2002, and this is my third one after owning a Wrangler Sport X and a Wrangler Sahara, both 2-door configurations. The JL model was introduced in 2018 and replaces the JK model which has been discontinued. Taken as a whole, the JL is a more refined vehicle with a better ride and numerous improvements described on this and other websites. If it were not for one glaring fault, I would wholeheartedly recommend the 2019 Wrangler JL to anyone interested in owning one of these vehicles which are uniquely qualified for off-road use. They are over-priced, but you will not find many competitors that have the appearance of the Wrangler and its off-road capabilities. Unfortunately, however, the current manufacturer of Jeep vehicles, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, has somehow managed to devise a steering system in the JL Wrangler which takes lots of the joy out of owning and driving it. From the first drive out of the dealer’s parking lot, I noticed that the steering of the new Wrangler had a vague and wandering feel totally different than my previous Jeeps or any other vehicle I have owned. On the interstate, the steering is downright frightening and requires two-handed control to keep it from wandering into adjacent lanes. I cannot relax and rely on my driving instincts while driving this vehicle; to do so will result in loss of control. I immediately began to investigate as to whether this was unique to my particular vehicle, or to a larger group. The salesman and service manager where I bought it professed ignorance about any such problem. However, a brief search on the internet revealed a plethora of complaints about the steering in the 2018 and 2019 Wrangler JL’s. The NHTSA has received over 500 complaints specifically addressing this issue with the JL’s. Internet forums specializing in Jeep Wranglers are awash with complaints and lengthy discussions about the terrible steering characteristics in the new Wrangler. And yet, there are some owners who have not experienced the flaw or have adapted to it, according to what I read on line. Even media-based reviewers have given this phenomenon scant notice. Of course, the manufacturer, as far as I can see, is somewhat mute about this issue and probably will not make it right until someone is killed or reviews such as this have a slowing effect on sales. My advice to anyone considering purchasing a new Wranger JL in any of its configurations would be to carefully test drive the exact one you may buy, both on a narrow two-lane road and on a highway where you can attain speeds over 55 mph. If your prospective new vehicle steers normally for you, go for it. However, if it feels strange, seems to want to wander, or feels like you’re driving in a wind storm, you may want to reconsider, because it will probably be a long time before FCA acknowledges the problem and fixes it. Update: After putting over 2000 miles on the JL which I reviewed several months ago (see above) I am updating my review. This may only apply to my vehicle and is not intended to negate the thousands of other JL owners' steering complaints. My new 2019 Wrangler JL Sport, when brand new, had terrible steering as I described above; however that situation has greatly improved without any intervention on my part. Now the Jeep's steering is almost what I would call normal, not quite as good as my 2016 Trailhawk, but so much improved that I now drive the vehicle without finding it necessary to concentrate on keeping the vehicle on track. The jeep is now actually fun to drive, as any Wrangler owner would hope to be the case. I must emphasize that this is not a case of my getting used to bad steering or developing new driving instincts to accommodate the original condition of the steering. Rather, it is a mechanical change brought about by use of the steering system. A couple things worth noting were that the steering on my Jeep was never loose with play, as noted by others. It always was responsive and would stay on track when I released the steering wheel. The problem was that it would not return to center track when the wheel was nudged and then released, as if there was no caster in the alignment. This required constant counter-correction for each correction made on the highway. It is likely that the joints in the steering system, being new and tight, were not allowing the inadequate caster and toe-in specs to overcome this tightness, thus requiring the constant driving adjustments. Now, with some limbering up, it almost steers normally. I hope others have experienced the same improvement.

Report Abuse

Cylinder head failures

John, 09/02/2019
Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
64 of 68 people found this review helpful

'Check engine' light coming on. After investigating, discovered is caused by overheating of #2 cylinder valve seats causing cylinder head failure caused by design flaw in production. Chrysler issued a service bulletin for covering the fix which entails an almost complete tear down of the engine to replace the cylinder head which requires the vehicle to be in the shop for three days or more. No doubt the jeep will never run the same after a cylinder head replacement. Beware.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
Build Your Wrangler
Select Color: 

Steering problem with JL Wrangler

Disappointed JL Owner, 10/07/2019
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
42 of 45 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon about one week ago. As I write this review, my Rubicon has about 300 miles on it. I'd love to give the Jeep a 5-star review, because it's a fantastic machine. But the vehicle has a problem with the steering that keeps me from recommending the JL - a problem that, in my opinion, is a significant safety issue. I had a long drive home from the dealership where I purchased my new Rubicon, but it didn't take long to realize how hard it was to keep the vehicle in my lane. When driving at highway speed, particularly, it constantly wanders from one side of the lane to the other, to the point where I have to keep both hands on the wheel and make constant adjustments to stay in my lane. It's as if there's excessive play in the wheel. At first I thought maybe it's just a "Jeep thing." But this is my second Rubicon - my first being a 2013 2-Door JK - and it never behaved this way. In researching Jeep Wrangler JLs prior to my purchase, I somehow missed all the complaints and reports of steering issues with the new JLs. Had I seen this, I would at least have been a more informed buyer. It wasn't until I began looking into whether there is some sort of adjustment or fix for the problem that I became aware that many other JL owners have encountered this steering problem. To date, the NHTSA has logged 138 complaints for the 2019 Wrangler JL. 121 of these complaints are related to steering issues. That's 88%! For 2018 models, there are 654 steering complaints. That's 76% of the total 858 complaints. I bought this Jeep, in part, so that my wife and I would have a better vehicle for taking trips - to see parts of our great Nation that we haven't seen, and to get to places that you need a Jeep to get to. As it stands, I'm not sure if we'll use the Jeep for this purpose. Driving the JL on the highway - having to constantly keep both hands on the wheel and make frequent adjustments - is tiring. I do hope Jeep comes up with a fix for this so that we - and others - can fully enjoy what the new Jeep JLs have to offer.

Report Abuse

2018 Jeep Sahara

Christopher Lewless, 10/28/2018
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
76 of 85 people found this review helpful

I’ve always wanted a Sahara but spend a lot of time on expressways and take a bunch of calls from my car. The reviews I’ve read have held true...the new Sahara is really quiet on the expressway. The Bluetooth is fantastic. I opted For the 4 cylinder turbo engine and couldn’t be happier. The materials seem top notch. Switching from a Chrysler 300C has been an adjustment, but if you’re looking for a sweet daily driver SUV, the new Jeep is hard to beat.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Jeep - Customer Cares? Doubt It

Michelle, 06/03/2019
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
86 of 100 people found this review helpful

Don't expect any support when purchasing a 50k+ car. We ordered our perfect Jeep. Yes I said special ordered and waited and waited and finally it arrived. With a leaking Sky1 roof, pieces actually protruding thru the roof, paint damage down to bare metal, a Steering wheel that was already defective, and more scratches than I have seen on cars with 100k miles. So no way was I taking delivery of this. Dealer said no you should not we will order another one for you. Hmm - next day sorry we can't order a Mojito Sky1. Why - no idea system won't let us call Customer Cares. Jeep customer cares should be renamed a black hole of wasted time. They don't respond for two weeks - then tell us they ran out of Mojito paint really cause I can still order a regular Jeep in that color just not a Sky1? Oh we will check another 2 weeks and nothing to finally be told oh your dealer can order it and we are closing your complaint. Dealer still can't order it. Jeep cares well it might have only been available for an hour or maybe not at all we really don't know but nothing we can do. The biggest reason we ordered this was we wanted a Mojito Sky1 that was not available on any dealers lot near us. They send out a junk car and then tell us it is just our problem take it or leave it. Well we left it and now I am wondering if Jeep is even worth the effort.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Uncontrollable steering. Just overall dangerous.

Jason McKenzie , 10/03/2019
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Just bought a 2019 JL and the steering is dangerous. I have never drove a vehicle with so much lane drift. You actually have to fight to keep it in your lane. Spoke with the salesman at the dealer and was told “it’s a Jeep thing” I call BS We are waiting on more answers from the service department. If I had it to do over I would have never bought it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unlimited Rubicon is a dream to drive on/off road

Leon, 03/25/2019
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
33 of 41 people found this review helpful

I have a 2019 four door Rubicon Jeep JL. Fully loaded with upgraded wheels and tires by the dealer. The car was $62k in total. After 6 or so weeks I have had no issues. I had the wheels rebalance by the dealer due to a vibration and one the reverse camera failed to display the image. Apart from that the car has put a smile on my face everyday. It’s a dream to drive around town, on the highway and in the mud. It performs in the snow of Vermont with ease. The interior is a major upgrade from previous model. UConnect is excellent, remote start right for your phone or your Apple Watch. The acceleration is unbelievable compared with my 2016 JK. My experience with the JL has been excellent and I couldn’t be happier with everything about the car.

Performance
Report Abuse

Enjoyable and Different Sport 2dr 3.6L 8spd Auto

NE PA Jeep Driver, 01/11/2020
Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is the 3rd Jeep in my immediate family. A renegade, compass and now 2 door, firecracker red automatic. And while the renegade turned out to be unreliable, I opted to trade it in for a wrangler. Assuming it would be a completely different animal. And I was right. Everything about a wrangler is different from any other automobile in the world. And this is a good thing. Luckily I have not reached a point in my life where being coddled while driving is necessary. My jeep offers just the right amount of creature comforts, like heated seats and steering wheel and a more then adequate entertainment system with Bluetooth connectivity. Adding to the fun of the vehicle has a plethora of choices in customization. Due to the years of mass popularity it has so many choices of products to make it your own that you just can't stop enjoying it. And while a jeep is very expensive in 2020 you can modify it for very little money. I'm running my jeep with the rear seat removed so it's feels like a trucklet of sorts when driving. This allows for a great amount of space for storage for day to day activity. And yes this is my daily driver, going 30 miles one way m-f for work thru rural hilly roads. Roads being what they are in NE PA, this vehicle is perfect. And when weather is poor, you feel more the confident getting where you need to go. That said, I was quite surprised finding how cheap alot of the plastic parts are. Plastics are commonly used on vehicles today, but as I discovered Jeep is sourcing some of its components that are so inferior, they literally crumple if you touch them just the wrong way. It's not everything, so only time will tell what else fails prematurely because of this. I have not experienced any other failure. The v6 while quite potent and smooth, is very noisy at idle. There are plenty of stories about bad rocker arms causing the same thing, but again, time will tell. Now to the steering which seems to be the hot topic since it's debut. I've done enough research to understand the history and causes of this suspension and steering and why it feels the way it feels. It definitely feels strange. Almost dangerous. I've not heard of accidents or deaths caused by this, it just feels so foreign when driving that it makes me wonder why FCA would choose to leave it that way. There are more than one type of truck or 4x4 in this world and none feel this way. That's because they were engineered not to. In my research of this issue, I decided to have my wheel alignment checked, which revealed all 4 wheels being out of spec with only 1800 miles on it. The tech was also very concerned about the the amount of play in they steering wheel. I didn't bother with trying to get the dealership or FCA to take responsibility for this because in my experience it would cause me to loose more of my precious time. I did however report to both, my findings and alignment data. I am used to the steering now and have not found it in any way a cause of alarm. Still it would not shock me to see a major recall from FCA any day now. MPG is better than I expected. The renegade got around 30mpg with a 4cyl Turbo and 6spd manual. The jeep gets me a consistent 23 on winter fuel. It will go up on summer fuel. So really surprised given the power and weight of the vehicle. I heard others with much worse numbers. But I think that is because of extreme mods and driving habits. All in all I'm very happy with it. If it remains reliable, it will be an excellent long term keeper.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Disappointing

tlk, 05/29/2019
Unlimited Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
31 of 40 people found this review helpful

My new 2018 Jeep JL is disappointing at best. As others have said; bad welds, dangerous steering (just Google it) and many other problems. One nice improvement is the 8 speed transmission! FCA does not care about making a quality vehicle because people keep buying them the way they are. I get it... love the Wranglers, but are problematic. Fiat has the highest warranty issues out of all vehicle mfg's. That should tell you something. They are overpriced, build with the cheapest non tested parts a mfg can buy and many dealers just give you lip service when you have a real problem. And here is the most irritating comment you hear from the hard core Jeepers... "It's just a Jeep thing" .....Really. How irresponsible. UPDATE: December 2019 - Steering stabilizer recall: Went to dealer and I had the recall paperwork from FCA which clearly stated the new stabilizer must be installed with the BIG arrow pointing forward. Advised the service writer of this and he said oh ya we do this all the time and disregarded me after that. So I waited and when it was time to pick it up, I looked and sure enough they installed the new stabilizer upside down with the BIG arrow that say "forward" pointing to the rear. Unbelievable! Many FCA dealers are arrogant, condescending and just don't care about the customer. I was also instructed by FCA help desk to replace the track bar and that it might help the steering issues so common to the JL. I did so but used an aftermarket solid bar rather than the FCA tubular one that flexes. Also had to make changes to change the caster from 5.1 to 7 which really helped the Jeep steer better, but not like it should. The problem that is still there is the slop in the steering gearbox which is Chinese made. Some are good and some are not, simple as that. Mine has play but I don't want to take a chance and get a replacement that is worse. And yes that has happened already to others.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Seven Month Update

Mike, 02/17/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
34 of 46 people found this review helpful

Edmunds prompted me for an update so here goes: I bought the 2019 Wrangler at the end of January. Since then I’ve been off road and on the interstate. I had the top and doors off for a couple of those months and I’m looking forward to taking it apart again in a couple weeks. I was okay with no doors at 55 mph but I don’t think I’ll try it at 75 mph. The Wrangler has been absolutely trouble free. It’s headed in for it’s first service interval in a week or two. I couldn’t be more pleased with the 4 cyl turbo and the 8 speed auto (over priced option as I mentioned before) is top notch. I see a lot of stop and go traffic and the Wrangler does just fine. Overall I’d say I’m doing better than 22mpg. The nav is pretty amazing. If the radio is on the turn display appears on the dash between the tach and speedo. I have a couple very minor issues, none of which should be a deal breaker. Visibility from the rear view mirror is much improved with the rear headrests down, and the owner’s manual is a little sketchy on some operations. I found what I needed on-line though. I think the foam headliners would be a great add. When the temps here are over 100 the a/c is cranking. They’re available after-market (like a million other things).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2019 2Dr Soft Top with Standard Transmission 8Kmi

Mac, 12/20/2019
Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my third Jeep (CJ/JK previous). I ordered this Jeep from the factory due to a lack of availability in the configuration I wanted. Overall it's been great and the new style soft top is the best I've ever seen! I've had a few minor problems outlined here: Steering: I noticed the wandering reported by others from the day I drove it off the lot. I really didn't pay too much attention to it because my old CJ-5 wandered a bit too back in the day. Had the damper replaced under recall (2 hours at my dealer) and the problem disappeared. Seat Release: The passenger seat release used to access the back seat area broke at about 6.5K miles. I could still open it using two hands but it was a hassle. Dealer replaced at no charge. Will see if it recurs. Throttle: Noticed that the engine will continue to rev up even after the pedal is released. It only lasts a split second, but is noticeable and I'll be watching it closely. Shifting: I hear an odd noise when shifting from 2nd to 3rd while accelerating hard. Sounds like a rattle or vibration, but it doesn't affect performance so it may be a cover or something. Does not happen during casual shifting that I can tell. Gonna wait this one out. Overall very happy with my purchases. Jeeps are great!

Report Abuse

Happy JLU Sport S

JLU Fan, 03/22/2020
Unlimited Sport S 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Previous vehicle was a Toyota Tacoma, which was great. But I have always wanted a Jeep. And my only regret is that I waited so long to get a Jeep. I wanted a 2-door, but I have a fam of 4...so i went with a JLU. Didn’t need the Rubicon extras, but i wanted more than the basics, so went with a Sport S. I love it. I got the “premium soft top,” which I highly recommend. I was concerned about noise...not an issue at all. I got cloth seats to save a buck. Wish I had gotten leather b/c of dog hair. I got the 3.6, 6 spd., and love it. I know there is a recall, but I haven’t had any of those issues. Also tested the 4cyl with 8-sp auto, which had more pep, but I wanted manual. I recommend tha largest screen w/ CarPlay, skip Sirius/XM, but get the alpine speaker upgrade. I don’t go rock crawling, but i do go off- payment...so regular Sport S is more than capable for my needs. I love my Jeep and highly recommend it. It isn’t your grandmother’s Cadillac or a Lexus SUV, so there’s going to be some noise. But it is a Jeep...and that’s what I wanted.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

much better than expected

Pappy, 05/03/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
27 of 37 people found this review helpful

This is on a 2019 Sahara unlimited that cost $52,000. I read a lot of reviews and did a lot of research. Many people talked about wind noise, ride quality, and poor steering as common issues. Then there were water leaks and other various issues. Then I went to you tube and watched every video I could. I learned a lot and was actually very concerned about buying a wrangler. But every person that I talked to that owned one or had owned one said the same thing, "I love it" or I want another one or I wish I still had it". This is actually my wife's vehicle and it is a daily driver and she loves it. It is now 4 months old and has about 4,000 miles on it. We did not by this to replace a luxury crossover SUV because that is not what it is. It is what I call a "fun vehicle" that puts a smile on our faces. We have had no issues and it is much better that we had expected after all the negative reviews. The noise level is a 67db with the roof off while my quite as a mouse F150 is 62db so yes it is nosier that luxury SUV. Very happy with the 24 MPG it gets even though it is less than the 33 I get in my Honda Accord that I drive 100 miles per day. But WE bought this thing for what it is a FUN, FUN, vehicle and that it is. Warning the first time you take the top and doors off you will need to turn your cao around and put on sun block!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! great for what we wanted.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Know what your getting

Joe L, 01/27/2019
Unlimited Moab 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
26 of 36 people found this review helpful

Nobody buys a Wrangler for how well it drives. The Jeep is super customizable, can drive in any weather and is super fun. They did a great job modernizing it without taking away from its core values from 1944

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An unsafe and overpriced vehicle

Alex Garcia, 11/22/2018
Unlimited Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
115 of 168 people found this review helpful

There are over 334 complains for new JLs with death wobble, bad steering and bad welds. There are open investigations and insufficient recalls. It is ridiculous, they are putting drivers lives in danger on a car massively overpriced starting at $32k+ for what it is, a very basic and unreliable vehicle with poor quality and poorly made components, this car MSRP should be well under 24k. The 2019 model was unchanged from the 2018 JL, hence the same problems persist. They should have upgraded the steering and started to properly weld frames like other manufacturers. The steering wonders side to side, once you hit a pothole over 60 the whole car shakes out of control. Welds on the frame are incomplete and too shallow, some are completely separating. Seriously, this should not be happening and FCA doesn't care, will they wait until someone dies to start making real positive change besides pocketing from consumers. See for yourself at the NHTSA: https://www.nhtsa.gov/vehicle/2018/JEEP/WRANGLER/SUV/4WD%252520Later%252520Release

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

JLU Sport S...very happy customer

JLU Fan, 04/14/2020
Unlimited Sport S 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love my JLU Sport S with soft top and 6-sp manual. Test drove the 4cyl., which had plenty of pep and great MPG's. But I wanted manual transmission, and a tried and true V-6. I loved the Rubicon package, but wasn't paying $50K for a Jeep. Also, I don't go "rock crawling"...just normal off-pavement driving sometimes. And ALL Jeeps are exceptionally competent off-road. So I didn't need/couldn't justify all the extras on the Rubi (but I did love it). Got Sport S because I need (wanted) A/C and Apple Car Play. Jeep must have addressed the steering issues. My steering is tight, the road/wind noise is fine (I can talk on the phone, top up), no reliability issues (knocking on wood), no leaks. OEM halogen headlights were terrible...yellow and dingy. But the "LED package" was way too expensive at almost $1,000. So I went with aftermarket LED bulbs. They were cheap and easy to install...makes me wonder why Jeep doesn't just build them that way? Immediately upgraded the tires...traded the ones that came with it to Discount Tire (highly recommend those guys). Added aftermarket floor mats (front, back & cargo area). Also added seat wedge thingys I found on Amazon to slightly recline the rear seat for passenger comfort. The rear seat was straight up and down and not very comfortable from the factory. Should have gotten leather seats. My cloth seats are fine, but...just should have gone with leather. I got the "cold weather package" and love it. I passed on vehicle safety warning system and adaptive cruise control. The ride is comfortable...wasn't expecting a Cadillac or a race car. Highway driving is great. Wind noise did not wear me out like I thought it might going with a soft top. I highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Wife's Jeep

EPSPEO, 02/07/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
15 of 22 people found this review helpful

My wife loves her new Jeep Sahara! Uses the One Touch Roof all the time. The only negative after owning it now for 2 weeks is learning to get in and out easier, it can be a little tight.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Test drove...wont buy

Shel, 04/25/2019
Unlimited Sport S 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
50 of 79 people found this review helpful

So, I rest drove a 2019 Jeep Wrangler today...loved it until I drove it. It was ALL OVER the road...like I just felt like I was constantly correcting and all over my Lane. Dealer guy said it was just because I was used to my mustang....then I came home and saw all these reviews about bad steering....definitely not going g to get one now

Report Abuse

Fiat Chrysler what had you done?

Ed, 01/04/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
42 of 74 people found this review helpful

Death wobble, bad welds, rust, vehicle computer problems, 4 wheel drive issues (gravel sets off all the alarms). IT is so sad what Fiat has done to the Wrangler. They just keep shipping them out with all the problems and leaving it up to the dealers to fix. Sad.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transfer case

Mike G., 11/06/2019
Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Had new Wrangler outfitted to flat tow, cost about 4K. Transfer case cannot go into or out of neutral without excessive force. Took back to dealer. After four days and corporate getting involved we were told it needs new case. It will take at least three weeks, maybe. Mopar their provider does not have any or parts to make any. Are you kidding, this is a new Jeep 250 miles and can't tow.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

JL is the best wrangler yet

Wrangler JLU Sport S 2.0, 01/09/2020
Unlimited Sport S 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I can say this because over the years have owned a YJ, TJ, JK and JL. The differance from previous models is worth noting. I have to admit though that of the four models this is the only unlimited version. This may have influenced my opinion in terms of ride comfort due to the longer wheelbaseand I have not driven a JKU. But let's face it, the JL is now in a different class. It drives better than before yet gives you that same tough as nails go anywhere feeling we got from the previous renderings. The JL is much more refined, handles better and my 2.0 turbo is faster, smoother and gets better MPG. The 8 speed transmission is sublimely seamless and the stop start feature is barely noticeable. The fit and finish on this jeep is amazing adorned with premium materials which are hard to find these days in most vehicles. I think the influence of Fiat in this case is a major plus as it gives this American classic a shot of European flair. My only complaint so far is the 2.0 turbo calls for 91 octane which is hard to find in RI which forces me to use 93 instead which is about $3.00 per gallon. This probably negates my fuel savings but still hasn't taking the smile off my face from the way this vehicle performs. I've driven it on four hour highway treks, through snow storms, heavy rain and dirt roads and it feels great in all of these conditions. The four door version has all of the interior space one could need and more. Jeeps certainly aren't for everyone. They can be noisy and less controlled than SUV models. The JL is less noisy and much more controllable than all of the previous models. I highly recommend buying a JL.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More Steering issues 2019 JLU 4 door

Nicolle, 03/10/2020
Unlimited Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Issues keep repeating after being fixed. Carl Burger Dodge has been fantastic but are Baffled at trying to fix the problem. They drive the Jeep they feel the issue they try to fix it and it comes back. Between the steering, the death wobble the tires wearing , Intermediate transmission shifting issues, Loss of power when climbing a Hill and engine jerking or hesitation. I don't know what to do. I now have 17000 miles on my 2019 JLU and I've been having problems since 2000 miles. We have flashed the computer and reset it 4 times. I do feel it's a computer issue along with a frontend issue but because of all the problems I believe it's causing more internal problems. I would like to say for them to just give me a new Jeep but I also don't want to start from ground 0 . Other than that the Jeep is fun to drive this is my 1st brand new car and my dream car And now I'm just crushed. I cannot do any upgrades and everything is just sitting in my garage Staring back at me!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Jeep Girl

B.Frances, 10/06/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd jeep and i couldn't be HAPPIER, Ive never had problems with my first jeep so i figured i get another one, very solid quiet safe feeling ride PLUS it looks dam great driving it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bright White Paint Turns Yellow

Lisa Zeller, 10/10/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Jeep in May 2019 for just under $60K and in August with just over 2,000 miles I had to take it in to be repainted. I have the I4 motor in my Sahara. The bright white paint turns yellow due to too much heat from the engine. There are no vents in the hood. Now I feel as though every time I drive it on the highway the paint will turn yellow again. The dealership did have it repainted and it looks great, but I spent $700 on a clear bra right after I bought it and Chrysler does not cover to have it replaced. Chrysler should offer replacement hoods with vents for the bright white jeeps. Now I will have to spend another $1,000 - $1,500 to purchase a hood with vents and have it painted PLUS another $700.00 to have the clear bra put back on. Puts my jeep at about $63k. Should have stayed with Lexus,

Report Abuse

Jeep Sahara 2001@

Tech, 04/09/2019
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
7 of 16 people found this review helpful

Amazing and not sure after owning 4 other suvs what there is to complain about?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

JLUR with Sky One Touch

sbco, 01/03/2020
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am not new to the Jeep Wrangler with this being my 4th - two TJs, a JK, and now this JL. While the features and driving of the Jeep have improved it seems the build quality and the customer service are not keeping up with the new demand. The Sky One Touch was a problem within 30 days causing a terrible rattle and squeak. I have been working with Jeep and Autonation to resolve for the past 6 months with no resolution. Overall I enjoy the drive of the Wrangler - it is a truck and drives like one and the JL does seem to wander a bit more than my JK. It is still good in the city and amazing when you get it off road. Jeep has done a great job with the tech and audio in the Wrangler with the Uconnect system. Apple CarPlay is a big plus allowing you to use Google Maps etc. The Sky One Touch is great in terms of functionality, however, living with it is not so great. The dealer can't figure out how to get a rattle/squeak to stop. Overall this is so bad it is making my opinion of the Wrangler and Jeep decline. Until Jeep releases a fix for the rattle I would suggest staying away from the power top: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_KWs2aKnvk

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Machine

New Jeep User, 05/04/2020
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned many cars, including Ford, GM, Honda, BMW, different times in life. This Sahara is a wonderful machine, and much better than I expected. I have the hoist for the roof, and a stand for the doors. The attention to speed and convenience to taking off the roof and doors is amazing; they obviously have a lot of history with user input. I can take off all the doors, roof, disconnect wiring harness, etc., in about 20 min, and as long to put everything back on. In fact, this car is so good with minor detail attentions that I decided to buy stock in the company: they are obviously paying attention to customer input. Also, the dealer at Rotolo's, PA, has been great. This is my first Jeep at 57 years of age, and now I understand why people love their Jeeps. This is a fantastic machine: it's got the rugged exterior, with a really comfortable interior with the technology of a luxury sedan, easy navigation/blue tooth/climate (even dual climate zones...in a Jeep). It's also much quieter than I expected. Great machine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I'm glad I didn't buy it.

Alexander, 03/19/2020
Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Jeep had Manager's special $26,000 in red, base 5-speed. I didn't like how it drives but in Alaska for $25K you can only buy VW Passat (which I didn't like). I didn't like Jeep either but I thought it will have better than other cars re-sale value. So, I put a deposit with my lease-to-buy plans in mind. Something didn't feel right though and I went to a dealer to drive it again. And after test driving it 2nd time, I decided not to buy it because it's too much money for this thing. First, because I can buy same-looking car for $5,000- 11,000. Why pay more? Steering was Okay with standard tires. Shifting was okay for its size (I just found out that it had transmission problem which dealership didn't tell me about, they just said: car is in a shop now for clearing recalls and kept a car for longer than they'd usually do). I'd buy it new (year old) 2019 if it was $19,000. There's "Second" which is this: car don't give you any feelings. Not fun to drive. I'll be much happier with used BMW. Buying a car because its value, was my bad idea.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wrangler Rubicon is a Winner!

Tim, 02/08/2020
Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

New JL has great handling and quality interior for a Jeep, 2door Rubicon turns on a dime and has great acceleration with Pentastar V6. Off roading capability is outstanding!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tradition

Andy , 03/24/2020
Sport S 2dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just purchased our 2019 wrangler sport 2dr 2.0L for my daughter. We love the ride and drive with all the safety features and still off road capable. Great job jeep

Report Abuse

Stay Away At All Costs......Wrangler Sahara Unlimi

MatthewPopiolek, 05/29/2020
Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought the $56k Wrangler to tow behind my motorhome and flat towing is all its got going for it. A toy wagon handles better then the Wrangler on the road and off-road is marginal at best . On the highway there is so much wind noise normal conversation is impossible and forget using any of the voice activated features or using the phone because you can't be heard or understood, and i have the hardtop on mine. Keep getting "fatal error" msg. on app screen, dealer can't figure out whats wrong. Sometimes have to turn car on and off to get sound from radio. As if all that wasn't bad enough build quality is crap and the Wrangler managed to be the 1st vehicle ever tested to flip over during the offset front crash. Not a good thing when you are in basically a Convertible. Same result happened when they retested it the way Jeep wanted, so not a fluke. Basically if you get hit in this thing you are going to die. Talked with Jeep and they could care less that they are putting crap out. Wave if you see me driving cross country. Ill be the 45' class a motorhome with a exterior wrap showing the crash test towing a Wrangler with all this information plastered all over it. Yes CDJR thats a 60' x 8' x 14' mobile negative ad campaign going from Florida to California then up to Alaska & back to Florida, traveling for at least the next year. Taking my time stopping tons if places in between. All those nights at parks around all those other RVERS, some who are bound to be shopping for a tow vehicle. Do I have your attention now? M. Popiolek

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Keep looking to make the best deal

Fowldennis, 06/03/2019
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 12 people found this review helpful

Huge variety of prices depending on need. The Rubicon was much nicer to drive and the sport s as much cheaper. The difference in price is worth the cost

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

got It

Scott, 01/25/2020
Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Found my jeep at the price I wanted

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

tim v, 12/23/2019
Unlimited Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This will be my 4th Wrangler Unlimited. Certainly an improvement over the 2015 model. Rides better and handles better than the old one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it so far!

AromaRN, 01/05/2020
Unlimited Sport S 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am really enjoying being in a vehicle that sits higher! I am happy with the way it handles in the city and on the freeway. Remember, it’s a Jeep, so the suspension rides a little stiffer but it does ride smoothly on the freeway. Know that you will feel the bumps on city streets but also know that your suspension was built to handle it better than most other vehicles. I really like the mobile device integration. Jeep really does think of almost every little detail. I can’t wait to take it off road to tests out the 4x4 capabilities!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050