Used 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,126 - $2,114

Used Santa Fe for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...44

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

160,000 miles and going strong

A. Non, 11/25/2015
LX Fwd 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
63 of 63 people found this review helpful

This is the first car I have owned since brand new that has even come close to having over 150,000 miles on it and still runs. To date, other than preventative maintenance and normal wear and tear, I've had the following problems: At 40k miles, a torn CV joint boot (warranty repair); At 60k miles the timing belt required replacement per scheduled maintenance ($600 @ dealership, including water pump and belt tensioner as precautionary replacements); At 130k miles replaced the timing belt, water pump and tensioner again a little late to schedule ($300 by family mechanic); At 152,000 miles the switch for the cruise control broke ($30 / 15 minute repair by myself); At 155,000 miles the alternator war replaced (2 hours, $275 parts/labor at a local shop). When you think about it, the alternator was really wear and tear as they do not last forever. And that's it. 160k miles and about $300 worth of repairs, $30 if you exclude the alternator. I maintain it religiously and take care of little things before they become big things. We've gotten our money's worth from this vehicle and then some. We don't off-road it or mistreat it, but it is not pampered by any means.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Reliable, trouble free so far!

madmaxooohhh, 02/04/2013
GLS AWD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

I just turned 95,000 miles on my 2004 Santa Fe. No problems so far except normal maintenance: windshield wiper blades every 2 years, tires every 4 years-usually worn out by then, change oil every 6 months or 6-7000 miles for conventional or 7-10000 miles on synthetic. I changed the transmission oil twice (drain and fill) at 40k miles, and again at 80k miles). Oh, I changed both front bulbs after one of the bulbs burned out at around 70k miles. Replaced front and rear brakes and rotors at 85k miles. I will do the timing belt sometime soon. No problems! Best car I have owned so far.

Report Abuse

I miss my santa fe

johnpa2006, 08/10/2012
GLS Fwd 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

Built solid, I loved my Santa Fe. engine purred like a kitten from mile zero all the way up to 142000 miles when I traded it in. Bought in 2004, traded in 2008 I still regret trading it in to this day. So many practical use reasons to own a Santa Fe.

Report Abuse

2004 hyundai Sante Fe paint problems

lorie920, 09/14/2013
GLS AWD 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
36 of 39 people found this review helpful

I bought it new in 2004. It has plenty of room for passengers and plenty of cargo room. The car has great power on take off. The biggest issue I have is they use bad paint. These hyundai's are peeling and fading. This in itself is why I won't buy the new 2013 Hyundai Sante Fe.

Report Abuse

Sensor Issues

incubritt2010, 06/27/2011
GLS Fwd 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
32 of 35 people found this review helpful

I got my Santa Fe with 68,000, and after 4 other lemons before that, I figured this car would be my knight in shining armor. So, naturally, the transmission went out 6 months after I bought it. Now a year and half later, it just wouldn't start one day. Long story short, I've now replaced the Mass Airflow Sensor, the Coolant Temperature Sensor, and low and behold, this morning I went to start it and its running crappy still and trying to die on me, obviously not trustworthy. The mechanics are stumped, and so am I. If this happens to you, the code reads, "Fuel temp sensor", get ready for a domino effect of electrical problems that mechanics won't be able to pinpoint.

Report Abuse

Lived to tell about it!!!

Jana, 10/09/2008
GLS AWD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Recently my daughter and I were in an accident with my 2004 Santa Fe which I was the driver my daughter the passenger. 3 vehicles were involved all of which were totaled off. The driver of the vehicle which hit us lost control and landed on my Santa Fe and rolled off, literally tearing open the drivers side and pushing us into another vehicle which stopped us from rolling into traffic.The accident reconstruction police team visited us at the hospital at which time they told us that had we been in any other vehicle the chances of the accident being fatal would have been much higher as the Santa Fe is designed to crumble around us in an accident and has the best accident ratings.Thank you Hyundai!

Report Abuse

Best Car ever owned

Westpalmer, 06/02/2010
GLS Fwd 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

When I mentioned Hyundai to some guys I get the rolling eyes and the standard remarks, cheap, non performing, low ratings etc. I bought my Santa Fe new after much fighting with my hubby who wanted me to buy anything but that. Well, my car has a 155,000 miles and other than regular oil changes and scheduled maintenance (which I performed faithfully at the dealership), the only out of warranty repair I had was a new battery at 101,000 miles and a broken power steering container at 107,000 miles. It's a perfect vehicle for busy families. It's comfortable in the front and back and the back holds plenty of luggage and supplies. The money I saved was used on vacations with my family!

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever had

Bruce, 08/18/2010
GLS AWD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My six year old Santa Fe has 150,000 miles on it and it still has the original BF Goodrich tires on it, original front brakes. I replaced the rear pads and rotors in March 2010. I have always used synthetic oil and have had no problems with the engine at all. Average 22 MPG. I have had two problems. I have replaced the headlight and fog light bulbs four or five times, and the car has developed a short in the electronic odometer. Otherwise, I have had no problems with this car and have spent next to nothing on it.

Report Abuse

who would have thought???

Paul, 11/14/2006
LX AWD 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I am an avid car enthusiat who has subscriptions to all the major mags. I do a lot of homework before purchasing a vechile. My wife and I needed to downsize from our Durango so I started looking at the usual suspects (Escape, Liberty,etc). I came across the Sante Fe by mistake. I took all 3 for test drives and the Sante Fe just blew them away! I couldn't belive this was the same Hyundai that was the joke of the auto industry 10 yrs ago. You simply can't beat the value they offer. I have the 3.5L motor and it's awesome. I also have a modified Ford Lightning and an 05 Stang GT so I know about performace. It may not be the best looking SUV on the road, but it can't be beat for the money.

Report Abuse

Too big for just me

Linda Richards, 03/28/2017
GLS Fwd 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My car drive's great. Easy to park.Sits up higher than a car,so visibility is great. The back seat has a stow away Childs seat. It's just me now that my husband passed away and the kids are all grown up. So I want to down size.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...44
Items per page:
51050