Used 2004 Hyundai Elantra Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,143 - $2,423

Used Elantra for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...30

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

easily a 300k+ car

CJMerry, 07/13/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
45 of 45 people found this review helpful

I'm a mechanic, and i have had this car since 180k. the engine is solid, no internal leaks except the valve cover gasket. The transmission with proper or improper maintenance, can last about 250k with little to no problems. the engine has original head gasket, intake gasket, and exhaust gaskets. the only common problem that I've seen is that the rear engine mount has a tendency to tear, causing shuddering during acceleration. the electronics are solid, no computer failures and I have not needed to replace the starter or have any problems starting. the aptitude needed to operate things inside the car is very simple. it has comfortable air conditioning that can last a long time with proper maintenance. I have gone on long road trips in this car and you could be able to stay in the drivers seat for a little bit over an hour and a half. the interior has no tears, stains, or sun damage, a simple vacuum can be able to make the car look like brand new. the steering wheel has a tendency to fall apart at about 150k, but it still works! also, the visibility is great! I have minimal blind spots, and great visibility. The acceleration is pretty decent too. I can be able to get to 60 mph in under 10 seconds with excellent control. I have had it up to 110 and it is pretty stable at high speeds. This car is the best car that I've ever owned for it's low pricing, and I will be buying this car again once my current elantra runs into the ground. Update: now at 286k and still going strong! Update of an update: the car has kicked the bucket at 302k miles. Head gasket and piston rings were failing, and blue smoke was being emitted from the backside of the car. All in all, that car was one of the longest lasting cars that I’ve ever bought.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hyundai Elantra

drealee73, 11/04/2011
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I was in an accident with my 2004 Hyundai Elantra and although it was totaled, there is nothing bad I can say about this car. The other guy ran a red light and I t-boned him at 60 mph. The airbag deployed and my seat belt did not break. This accident was three days ago and I'm just sore. No broken bones. I was at the emergency room for about 30 minutes and was told I was fine and could leave. My Hyundai Elantra saved my life and that is why I'm taking the time to write this review. I highly recommend this vehicle for its comfort, safety, size, and pretty much everything else about it.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever owned

ackr13, 02/25/2014
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought my Hyundai new in April 2004. I now have 123,000 miles on and could not be more pleased. Besides replacing tires and brakes( front rotors one time) the only repairs have been Timing belt, water pump, belts, tune-up with plugs & plug wires and front struts all done at 100,000 miles. Runs as good as new with very little rattle. I did replace the hatch lid struts 2 years ago.I average 24MPH in city driving, 32 on a trip. Love this car. I will run it till it dies. I traded my wife's 2006 Elantra GT in on a 2012 Santa Fe. Don't regret it a bit. Another great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Such a good car

missij12, 03/05/2012
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new back in college. 8 years and 100k miles later I'm finally about to give it up for something larger. The biggest repair I've ever had to do on this car is replace the battery. Other than that, every day this car has started right up and performed great. It's been all over the country and even got me through the mountains without a problem. I couldn't ask for better gas mileage out of a car with such good acceleration. I did install an aftermarket stereo a few years ago to support my Ipod but the factory stereo was fine besides that. It's going to be hard to say goodbye!

Report Abuse

2004 Hyundai Elantra redcrimson

BB, 11/11/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Has been a great reliable car!!! Would most def buy another Paid $5000 with 50,000 miles and now it's has over 100,000 miles and still a great car!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car!!

pnpain, 06/09/2013
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We've had our car since (I think) Spring of 2004. It is a great little car! Nearly everything about it is excellent! Pick-up and go is good except for when the AC is on and you are trying to get onto the freeway. The seats are a bit uncomfortable for long trips (2+ hours) though. Our CD player/faceplate is glitchy after all these years. If you press a button (even the off button) too hard it shorts out the faceplate and when you let go it turns back on. Sometimes it simply wont work unless you remove the face plate and put it back on. Our car only has just less than 98,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse

I was pleasantly shocked

jacobe, 03/24/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is my first car and I love it. It handles very well, the best out of all the ones I test drove. It has 102k miles on it, so I replaced the timing belt and some other items, but other then that it runs amazing. Has never left me stranded. The acceleration is very good, for the size of the motor. Also this car goes amazing in snow. When we had our blizzard where we got 6 in. I was going around 4wd drive trucks that were stuck in the snow. Overall it is a great little.

Report Abuse

My wonderful car

Staci wahl, 03/19/2016
GT 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this in 2004 and it is the best car I ever had. I still have this car low maintenance no problems and passing it down to my daughter. I'm sad because it's 2016 and I can't find another that suites me. Best car and I even have the 2003 Santa Fe. I will keep these best ever made.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

130,000K miles, and it's perfect!

petarvn1, 02/27/2013
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

This car was bought for my eldest brother when he started college. He got this car in '11 with 101K miles on it. Since then, another 30ishK miles have come and gone, and it's as fresh as ever. It does show it's age (fuel tank has hairline fracture in it, has needed a lot of engine parts replaced recently) but for a car driven like this one, it's not bad at all! The manual gets better MPG's than our 40K mile '06 auto elantra, and it looks just as good! Just one problem with this car, and that's the trunk. It's large, but not as larger as the hatch's. Overall, a great 1'st car (especially for $4995!) Only problem right now is a missing trim piece that fell off due to bad glue!

Report Abuse

The best car I have ever owned, and a good friend.

Grant E, 11/06/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I just turned over 302,000 miles on my good friend. It has never let me down or left me stranded in 12 yrs of service (2 miles on odometer when purchased). Starts every time, runs almost like brand new, fast and reliable (5 speed manual). Yeah I take care of it (oil change every 4000 miles "No matter what"). Everything else has been routine maintenance brakes, rotors, tune up (once a year) it costs less than $20 for spark plugs (get NGK's G-power) an air filter and a PCV valve. I replace the spark plug wires every other year at a cost of about $45. Follow the manual (especially on the timing belt) this is an interrupt engine and you will kill it (dead) if that belt breaks. The book says 60,000 I do mine at 75,000 (but I drive about 27,000 a year). The front struts are original (this has been a problem issue with others), I replaced the back shocks at about 190,000 but I do haul stuff sometimes (lots of room to haul stuff for a car). The front bearings have been replaced and one of the backs. Anyway I have spent less money repairing this car (total) then you would spend in a weekend at mardi gras in New Orleans. Great gas mileage 34 mpg average, I got 46 MPG on a stint through New Mexico when the car was a child with only 58,000 miles on it (say 40+ a lot back then). Now that it is broken in I get 33 in the summer and 28 in the winter. Still does not use hardly any oil (less then a 1/2 quart between changes 4000 miles). It did use some at one point, before I changed the valve cover gasket (230,000 miles). I have been through one clutch at 165,000 and it will probably need another one at 330,000 (oh well $380) (Don't take it to a dealer they will charge you $1000, that's because it is so rare they do this kind of repair). This car is an amazing piece of machinery (get the stick, if you can find one). 0 to 60 in 7.8 sec (6500 rpm of course). Quarter mile in 15.7 at 93 mph (not bad for 138 hp). Top speed 127 mph (it gets there reeeal slow after about 114) never been able to get passed 127 (ahh well). This car is great and will probably rust out before the engine goes (I am thinking 500,000 Plus). If they made it as an all wheel drive it could be the best automobile ever produced (but then it would have some kind of issue with the all wheel drive system that killed it at 140,000 miles). I mean it is not a Subaru or an Audi.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...30
Items per page:
51050