Used 2016 Honda Civic EX-T 4dr Sedan w/Honda Sensing (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,598 - $20,190

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

A Great All-Around Commuter Car

Xavier Rodriguez, 06/25/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had a 2016 Subaru WRX for the past year. Absolutely loved the car, but I was moving to the city and was going to park on the street and I didn't want to bring a sporty car that someone might scratch up/mess with. It hurt, but I knew I had to get something else that was a little more discrete. I shopped around for cars in the same compact size class the WRX (based off the Impreza) and the Civic just hit all the checkmarks. The styling is pretty polarizing and while I like it, I'm still getting used to it. I do like that Honda took a bold decision and made it a unique design in a segment with a lot of "bland" cars. Technology wise the car has it all, you get a large touchscreen display with apps, Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and then some. The EX-EX-L comes with a 8 speaker 188-watt sound system that sounds decent (coming from a stock stereo WRX this is WAY better). I didn't try the Touring's 10-speaker system with a subwoofer but heard it's pretty good. I also got Honda Sensing which comes with some great safety features, even though I think LKAS (Lane Keeping Assist System) is sometimes a bit intrusive but you can turn it off. The power out of the little 1.5L I4 is very solid and with the turbo it does pick up speed pretty well for the segment. Fuel economy is excellent and if you are just cruising on the highway you can definitely get 40+ mpg, on average I get around 36 mpg in mixed highway and backroads driving. Another thing I enjoy is having the keyless access, start and remote start which comes in really handy cooling down the car and once it's winter to heat up the car. As a whole, even though I miss my WRX I think the Civic is a great alternative. It's still pretty fun to drive, great fuel economy, plenty of technology to keep us millennials entertained as well as having that Honda quality and reliability. Definitely recommend one!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Like the car so far

Tim, 05/21/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Moving from a Prius, the new Civic has impressed me on several counts. I've owned the Civic for 3 weeks and this is what I can say. The ride is much smoother and the infotainment is comprehensive for a car in this class. The turbo engine's got a pep to it and accelerates nicely where the Prius toiled (with both cars in Eco mode). No comparison however wrt gas mileage: with Prius I consistently achieved 44-52 mpg, the Civic gives 28-35 mpg (from dash indicators). Lanewatch can be distracting (might get used to it eventually) and not very useful at night. Honda Sensing is a bit of a hit or miss: in traffic, ACC stops the car aggressively (hard braking where easing up on the accelerator would do) and resumes slowly, taking a while to catch up to the car in front so I always use the accelerator pedal. LKAS requires clear road markings or it turns off. The LKAS self-steering on the freeway is not always reliable and can understeer you off your lane, so be careful ! Maybe Honda will upgrade the Sensing sofware to deal with the above issues whence the extra cost would be justified. But as a car, it is quite fun to drive and comfortable, that was lacking in previous Honda Civics I've owned or driven.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This Civic is lit

Austin, 09/06/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great value on this car. Many features and make for an enjoyable ride. The infotainment systems is iffy at times but is pretty great most of the time . The car rides quietly and is very comfortable. I get great millage and overall love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Avoid the 2016 Touring at all costs.

Preston Hitchens, 06/26/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
8 of 13 people found this review helpful

The problem with this car is in the center, software driven console. I have had to learn how to pull the fuse in my Civic, because every 30 days there is a problem. I have had my car since January, and I have had it to the dealer twice, and I have reset the radio twice. The car is sitting in my driveway right now with a rattle in the subwoofer and an audio deck that won't turn off. I have had the car's software updated in accordance with the issued TSB, no relief. Dealer just has the stupid look on their face every time I take it back. I am actually thinking about selling the car--it only has 2,000 miles on it. The aggravation is not worth it. The Adaptive Cruise Control works, but is somewhat slow to respond. The rain sensing wipers work in name only. In general the worst car I have ever owned. I can't imagine keeping this for five years. Disappointing at best.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding New Civic Design

Todd G, 06/16/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This new Civic is outstanding in almost every category. Typical Honda quality throughout the vehicle but a couple amazing features include the turbo engine. Not only is it already amazingly fast, for a Civic sedan, but when you shift into Sport (S) this car will get you out of almost any sticky situation with ease. So far we only owned the car for a month and the Apple CarPlay suddenly would not recognize either of our iPhones. Honda service had to update our software to get it working again. Also, I do find the lack of volume knobs for the entertainment center to be annoying since we're all quite use to that capability. Hopefully, I'll get use to it soon. Other than that, love the car. And the gas mileage has averaged between 40 - 43 MPG with mostly highway (90%) and city (10%). Additionally, the Honda Sensing technology has been excellent. It's really great at keeping you alert when you're driving long distances. I highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Never considered a Honda but love it

Braden Hillyard, 07/03/2016
EX-T 4dr Sedan w/Honda Sensing (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We were looking at other cars like the Focus, Fusion and anything other then a Honda. My wife and I saw this 2016 Civic EX-T and checked it out then took it for spin and went from there. We got a killer deal from the dealer and really love this car. It is peppy, shifts smooth and the navigation system is awesome. Also the sound system is great when you crank it up and the trunk space is tremendous for a small car. The only small issues is the cruise control does not slow the car when going down hills as it speeds up a little and the ride is a bit choppy at times but not a big deal to us as everything else is good to go. So much for getting a Ford. Now after owning this car 4 years it has been great but the interior has some road noise, rattles and squeaks that it did not have when new otherwise still good to go. The A/C vents turn up when first turn on for cool air then after a few minutes they can be adjusted properly. Now their is a rattle on the dash board area that I cannot find and fix and noticed that the car drifts more now to the right then it used to but still handles well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 honda cicic

henry michie, 12/20/2015
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
9 of 16 people found this review helpful

Very nice job designing the car,handles well,and drives well,great fuel economy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it

laura hauser, 07/08/2016
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great value, sporty look, my son loves his vehicle! !!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

HONDA CIVIC HAS ALL NEW LOOK AND STYLE

Michael Daniel Ferguson, 09/02/2017
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2016 Civic since late April of 2016 and leased it brand new! Has been my best Honda so far. Love the styling and design of the Civic. The Honda sensing package is well worth the added cost. It practaclly drives it self. Handles beautifully and the entertainment system sounds so great! I highly recommend taking a test drive you will be amazed that it's a Civic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Own for 2 1/2 years - I'm happy with it :)

Franzton, 06/06/2018
EX-T w/Honda Sensing 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

stock all season tires aren't very good / a set of winter & summer high performance tires are a big improvement - it's an agile car so you feel the difference

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050