Used 2004 Ford Mustang Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,349 - $4,912

Used Mustang for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Reliable car

bull_gator, 10/29/2014
GT Premium 2dr Coupe (4.6L 8cyl 5M)
32 of 33 people found this review helpful

Only a few problems have shown up in 107K miles. I have replaced the fuel pump, alternator, battery, tires, and suspension. Of those, only the fuel pump was unexpected. The rest are things you expect to replace. 144K mile update. Car still running strong. Since the last review, I have gone through another battery and tires.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

My First Car

Mustang04, 06/24/2010
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

My parents bought this car for me for my first car. I am definitely a car person and was thrilled to get a Mustang. This car is so reliable. Every time I need to go somewhere I know that it will get me there safely. I also get excellent gas mileage. I usually get between 23 and 26 highway driving.If you take good care of your Mustang and treat it right you will not have any problems.

Report Abuse

Favorite Car I've Owned

automaniac9, 01/19/2014
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 104,000 miles on it, and wow, good car for the money. It might seem like thats high mileage, but I bought it with an extended warrenty. I bought it with many performance upgrades, and I have to say it helps this car with its performance and personality. I drove a stock 01 GT, and it felt a bit boring. The interior leaves something to be desired, but it's simple and has no extra fluff you don't need. All in all, it is a good all rounder that now a days is a good used alternantive to a brand new one.

Report Abuse

1st Mustang for the family

Fenderboss, 09/11/2010
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Moving to a Mustang has been an interesting experience. This is the first Mustang our family has owned and we find that there is a lot of coveting of the cars from everyone. I use it as a daily driver, and my commute is a joy covering 20 miles on some twisty country back roads. There is very little we don't enjoy about the car. That said, there are probably better interiors out there as well as fuel economy, but these shortcomings are more than compensated for when it comes to the overall experience of driving a proper American muscle car.

Report Abuse

My Mustang gets 22.23 MPG over two years

Shirley, 04/25/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

My Mustang gets 22.23 MPG over two years. This is a fact. I've kept careful and accurate records. Regular gas. I don't remember which coupe I have. It's the anniversary issue. Red. I love it.

Report Abuse

40th Anniversary

Randraven, 07/09/2004
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought the 40th Anniversary Edition 5 speed Coupe and I love it...Its got leather, Mach 1000 sound,all the goodies.It had 5 miles on it a 4 days ago, Now I'm at 300. I almost slept in it last night...Seriously though, Buy the right car and it is "True Love".I could'nt have made a better choice.

Report Abuse

Super Pony Car !

beate, 11/09/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my first Mustang, first convertible and first V6 ! I really wanted a convertible, and it really is great ! You actually feel good sitting in and driving the car, and it is spunky enough for a sports car. Really enjoyable, the interior is really pretty, all leather. My 8 year old girl iis overjoyed, and myself being 50 I really have a great time driving it, with or without the top down. Used to have a 5 liter Capri back in the 80s, and although that had a lot more power this newer Mustang is much more comfortable to drive. Gas mileage for this V6 is pretty good ! Beate, Frederick, MD

Report Abuse

don't listen to any discuraging adults

darren, 01/24/2010
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I am a 20 year old man. I bought a mustang last year just after my 19 birthday. I always wanted a mustang all my life.And when the day came that my parents let me make my own decisions i was the extremely happy. No matter what people say about mustangs and believe me i have heard them all The car is absolutely top notch. Insurance is not too bad and I the fuel economy is actually pretty good especially if you have a standard Use the same amount of gas as a v6 engine just as a hyundai tiburon V6 which i actually traded in for the stang. To sum it up: Car is great, fun to drive, good on gas, good car for a 18-25 year old due to insurance. Have fun you only get fora couple ofyears due to marige

Report Abuse

Bought in 2018 - only 4,700 miles

Lee, 08/29/2018
Mach 1 2dr Coupe (4.6L 8cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

A true classic, I has lucky to find a 2004 Mach 1 with less than 5kmi (in Competition Orange). My first car was a 1969 Mach 1 in high school. So this is coming full circle for me. I have owned a 1985 GT, and a 1993 Cobra as well. The power on the Mach 1 is good, even by today's standards. The very low gearing makes it feel faster, but you really need 6 gears, as the drop between 4th and 5th is ridiculous, and does limit the fun factor and usability. The springs are very stiff, 600lb/in F, 250lb/in rear, verses the GT's 450lb/in F for example. The stiff springs, with the factory installed subframe connectors, AND stiff Tokico gas shocks, make for a punishing ride on the crappy roads we have in the US now. But the payoff is the amazingly tight handling. Very rewarding. The other obvious drawback is the horribly notchy shifter/transmission. My car has the Steeda shifter, so it removes the factory sloppiness, but the 1985 to ~2010 Tremec transmissions were just horrible, as far as refinement goes. Of course the best thing about the Mach 1 is the looks, just tremendous, and what makes it complete is the shaker hood. This great heritage touch is the reason they are so popular then and now. Back to the engine for a moment, since this was a Mach1-only engine, never used in another car, make it another reason for continued favor and collectabilty. And the 5-speed cars also get a forged crank, with a much higher redline of 6,700 rpm. So in summary, the Looks, Handling, & Engine make the 2003-2004 Mach 1 a forever classic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 3.9L

whitefeather85, 02/24/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We had a choice between a few beautiful 'stangs and bought this '04 40th anniversary edition. Fully loaded with a Mach stereo system. I upgraded the air filter, plugs and oil which made a major difference. I run at least 25-28 mpg, even going 80+mph. It handles very well, drove through a wy. winter storm and stuck to the road. Gotta love my 3.9L!

Report Abuse

Best of the Best

Jason, 12/09/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is by far my favorite model of mustang. I've owned several years of the mustang almost every year from 84- 04 and this one takes the cake by far.

Report Abuse

Nothing I'd rather drive

Mike, 01/22/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ford got it right 7 years ago with the 03-04 Terminator Cobra. I've owned several pony cars before finally finding the right Cobra last year. All I can say is wow. Great looks, I love the heat extractors and the SVT wheels. Great sound, from the low growl of the exhaust to the turbine scream of the Eaton supercharger. Great drive, the car puts it's power down nicley, handles much better than a 3600 lb nose heavy car should. After a new supercharger pulley and an exhaust, these will truly terminate almost anything else on the road. I'm making 460hp to the wheels. 2010 Camaro? Ha!

Report Abuse

love it

MY FIRST CAR, 04/13/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My parents got me this car for my first one, and let me say they shouldn't have it has way more horsepower then i need but i don't care i like it. It runs great is very smooth and sounds great. I love the white color it is just a great car. I want to keep it and give it to my son or daughter

Report Abuse

Can't go wrong

D London, 10/08/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

With the rush to get the new 2005 Mustangs, smart buyers bought the 2004 models at tremendous savings. The convertibles were well built cars with no leftover kinks from prior years. The performance for the 3.9L 6 cylinder is more than adequate and if you don't constantly 'floor it' the gas mileage is outstanding. We were able to obtain 25+ mpg combined city/highway on a 3900 mile vacation. Incredible! If you are in the market for a used nice looking sports car convertible, do not hesitate to buy a LOW mileage adult driven model. The price should be right with everyone else wanting the 'new' styles. No disappointments, and with gas so high, you can basically have it all with this model.

Report Abuse

Vette Killer

Big Dom, 02/18/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Spend 10 to 15 thousand dollars less than a Corvette and you are still destroying it. With this car, I have walked stock vettes by car lengths and had great battles with Z06's. This automobile is indeed the best bang for the buck ever!!

Report Abuse

Mustang love

juneataustinmustang, 10/20/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was at the dealership to buy a Focus. Out on the lot they had parked all of the Foci next to a Redfire color Mustang convertible, 40th anniversary special. It said "buy me" to me. Either that or the saleman had super telepathic powers. Dealer must have seen me coming. I couldn't resist. Really great car to drive. Want to keep it forever.

Report Abuse

Best shape its ever been in...

WASaproudowner, 11/10/2010
14 of 24 people found this review helpful

I HAD a 2004 GT until last week when my girlfriend totaled it. she was t- boned it went air-borne did 5 flips and landed upside down. that car saved her life however and even though its a total loss its the best shape i've ever seen it in

Report Abuse

My lil' hot rod

bobbyll, 04/16/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Performance, looks, reliability--- things you'll never get in anything from Europe. I've owned trash from the Bowel Movement Works and from MB, and there is so much more in the Mustang for the money.

Report Abuse

2004 Mustang Rocks

Al, 09/29/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

At 6'7" leg room is a must and this Mustang delivers mucho leg room. Getting 30 miles to the gallon.

Report Abuse

MystiChrome

rex, 04/30/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love this car, great looks, performance, and ride. Mileage Ok if you can stay out of the blower. Never been back to thedealer.

Report Abuse

40th Anniversary Research

sbeard24, 07/15/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love this car. I just drove from Hampton Virginia to Montgomery Alabama at about 80 the whole way and got 27.2 mpg with the air on. I was very impressed. It is a blast having the passing power whenever you want it. Great car...wish I did not have to drive it everyday to and from work.

Report Abuse

Still one happy customer @ 90000 miles.

George, 12/27/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm 55, after lifting the hood, I went for my checkbook. I was looking for a V-8 Mustang but not this orange beast I bought. Looking out from behind the shaker hood in the drivers seat and "feeling" the freaky sound of the machine is the only way to go. The only car worth driving period. I went slow for 100 miles, next few hundred broke it in at many, many, redline shifts to get it used to me. It loves it, nothing has broken and I've got almost 100K on it now. Why stop driving it at 26mpg? Just put on some Blizzaks! Giddyup.

Report Abuse

What do you expect

Big Mike, 03/31/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I picked this car up used for a little over $20k. I've put 14,000 miles on it and loved every minute of it. This car puts a smile on my face every time I sit behind the wheel. It gets horrible gas mileage and that's O.K. After all, it is a 400 hp sports car. The accomodations are a little tight for a big guy like myself (6'4" and 280 lbs.) but that's ok too. It's worth being able to drive a car in this price range that will kick anything in it's path that is standard factory issue. After all, isn't that why we drive these cars? This is definitely the best alternative for those of us who can't afford $30-$35k for a Corvette or M3. You really can't go wrong with this car!

Report Abuse

2004 Ford Screaming Mustang Convertible

R.Kelsesky, 06/27/2017
Premium 2dr Convertible (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm a 49 year young man who used to be a Pontiac Trans am man but once I drove this baby I was hooked! I love my Mustang. I have a 2004 40th anniversary edition that I'm restoring to look like she was just rolled off the show room floor with some of my own classified modifications that will put the GT to shame LOL

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Oregon Stang

Stephen Moore, 02/10/2018
GT Deluxe 2dr Convertible (4.6L 8cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Fun car to drive, it gets lots of attention. I believe this model generation will prove to be an investment well made.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

First Mustang in 25 years

Jim N., 11/08/2018
Premium 2dr Convertible (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very nice ride. V6 has plenty of power. Auto transmission shift smoothly. Not much of a trunk or rear room. If you need more buy an SUV or van. This is a weekend fun car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's a Mustang

Topless04, 06/07/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Rides like a buckboard, reasonable handling, mileage, and the Mach stereo is a beast! If you don't like a Mustang convertible, let's look at your choices. An older Cavalier, a Sebring or LeBaron that will likely have numerous issues, a costly BMW or a Porsche that is likely beyond costly for similar year and miles. It's the only choice out there under $12,000 with low miles.

Report Abuse

Luv My 1999 Pony

beachpny, 08/27/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love my 35th Anniversary Ford Mustang. I have never had any problems with my pony. I can not wait for the new 2005 Mustang, I am going to purchase the GT and add to my pony family. If you have any doubts about purchasing this car DON'T. The Ford Mustang is an American Icon and will be always an American Muscle Car.

Report Abuse

my sexy car

Dora The Explorer , 11/15/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is a very sporty and catches the eye on the road nice seats very laid back car.

Report Abuse

My First Ford

Larry Parks, 10/20/2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Probably the poorest engineered and poorest quality vehicle I've ever owned, it's my 10th vehicle. I've had nothing but problems since I bought the car, I actually got it in July 2002. I'm glad the dealer decided to sneak a premium extended warranty in on the contract, I have a feeling a lot more will go wrong after the initial 36,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Ford does make quality vehicles

emach1, 06/01/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Before getting the Mach1, I despised Fords and believed I would never buy one. The Mach1 was too good looking and fast to pass up. Its 40th anniversary emblems with its hood scoop and awesome rims turned heads. Its performance is great as well, but you pay for it in terms of gas mileage. Since owning the Mach1, I have not had anything go wrong. At worst, the interior dashboard and fixtures are cheap and quality but not something that cannot be replaced. Tires are costly but that is one of the costs anticipated when purchasing a high performance car. This is one vehicle

Report Abuse

40th year for Mustang

J.D. Lugnutt, 06/16/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Has very peppy accelleration, good braking if not great, handles like it's on rails, has fiberglass Deck-lid and hood and rear spoiler, 16" aluminum wheels. I did install a dual exhaust system with dual catalyst 2" pipes and my gas mileage went up by 3-MPG city and almost 7-mpg hwy. No joke it made a big difference, with the factory style headers it has always been dependable, never let us down.. and at 26-28 mpg hwy. I'm a happy camper, And I would for sure buy another one when this one is worn out. Great little sporty car!

Report Abuse

My Little Pony

Punkin, 10/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this car last year with only 23,000 miles on it. I love this car. It's a 40th anniversary edition. I love it. I only travel from work to home and that's about a 5 minute drive for me. It runs well. Never had a problem. It's just a beautiful car. I like this car better than the newer models.

Report Abuse

I've Had a Better Mustang

rainy, 11/21/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had a 1996 GT that could run circles around this one but some jerk totaled my parked car that only had 68k miles on it. So I bought the '04 V6. Wow, does it handle differently! The power is definitely less, and the GT cornered like it was on rails. The GT also had a rear stablizing bar and wider tires for much better traction in the rain and snow. The '04 gets excellent gas mileage (from Philadelphia to Connecticut on 3/4 a tank) and is very reliable (except the CD player).

Report Abuse

silver mustang

katsilva, 08/26/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

when i got the mustanf i was concerned about how safe i would be since i was used to the lincoln towncar. an incident where a man driving a truck with no brakes slammed into the rear of my mustang at a stop light, i saw his vehicle all smashed and mine was fine, minor scratches in rear. i then felt much safer, i still have this car and plan to give it to my son when he gets his lecense in a few months!

Report Abuse

Poor Gas Milage

GrizzMcc, 08/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Engine continually surges, although window sticker rated this vehicle at 23 MPG, Ihave never been able to get over 14MPG. This is after 4 trips back to the dealership. In addition, acceleration is far below what it should be for an engine that is rated at 200 HP.

Report Abuse

Nikki's review

Angel21p, 08/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my car for about 6 months and i love it i get so much attention and people hink that it is a 50,000 dollor car but it was only 29,995. the car looks awesome and runs awesome and there is tons of room under the hood to make adjustments. i am throwing a turbo into mine next week and i cant wait. the only semi bad hing about this car is that it sucks up gas. But it is worth it!!

Report Abuse

my dream car

anita bryant, 08/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it had been a long time dream of mine to own a mustang. as a teenager thats all i ever wanted. finally at the ripe old age of 29 i got one and i have loved every single moment since.

Report Abuse

The Best

Bennett, 08/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought it for my birthday and its been the best investmant I ever made.

Report Abuse

good car

mustang guy time, 07/19/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this car is worth waht it costs. Good drive and very reliableaand fuel ifficent.

Report Abuse

premium gt vert

WAYNE CLAY, 04/02/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drive the Mustang very little because I want to keep it really nice. It is redfire with the light parchment interior and top. The quality of the interior is not up to par with the imports, but for the price, the performance is a bargain. The car reminds me of my 1969 Ford Torino GT, which is a good thing. The difference is that the Mustang actually handles well. I think the Mustang is a great car for anyone who appreciates American v-8 power. It feels like the days of old, but with refinement.

Report Abuse

An ICON of FUN!

RevMatt, 06/09/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Now that I have owned my Ford Mustang Mystichrome SVT Cobra convertible for two full years, I would like to share my experience with the vehicle. This has been the most reliable and fun vehicle I have ever owned. This is my sixth vehicle purchased brand new and my eighteenth total. This is also my seventh convertible. Having written that, I would like to say that the 2004 has been my favorite. I have had ONE problem with it. A bad cigarette lighter socket! The Cobra invites you to mash the gas pedal and delivers awesome power, speed and torque. With its IRS, it also begs to be ridden hard around the twisting and curving roads along the Pacific Coast Highway. Drop the top and GOOOO!

Report Abuse

Q'S REVIEW

MUSTANGQ, 08/26/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am extremely happy with my 2003 Mustang. The one thing that shocked me though, was the fact that after owning it for less than a month, the oxygen sensors went out. That was something that I wouldn't have expected. Other than that, I'm extremely happy with the car, and I really enjoy driving it.

Report Abuse

03 cobra

terry a miracl;e, 08/27/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Will Smash a smile all over your face on awinding road . it is corvette medicine.

Report Abuse

These are the "good old days"....

Five Oh B, 04/04/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 5th Mustang is this awesome 2003 Mustang Mach 1. Tons of power for the street or drag strip. Lots of style that's appreciated by young & old. Interior is a little tight, and it took a while to adjust the seat just right, but looks good with a few aftermarket billett pieces!

Report Abuse

Supercharged Fun

TheHylandr, 04/20/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car rocks!!! Fast is an understatement!!!

Report Abuse

It Stinks

WJROCK07, 05/17/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The car was ok until it hit 1800 miles. Then a fuel injector problem caused it to shut off while driving at highway speed. A couple of months later, there was a huge puddle of transmission fluid on the garage floor thanks to a faulty rear transmission seal. So I get that fixed only to have the battery go dead a few weeks later. As of this date, the battery has gone dead 5 times and the problem is still not fixed. The dealership has replaced the alternator on one visit. On another visit they replaced the radio and the amplifiers for the MACH 460 sound system. On the 3 other visits they say "can't duplicate concern". Ford = Fix Or Repair Daily.

Report Abuse

Great fun, great value!

Glenn, 10/13/2016
Deluxe 2dr Convertible (3.8L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

You can drive the 1999-2004 Mustang V6 convertible year-round in most parts of the country. Mine has been my daily driver since 2007, driven in Ohio and Tennessee. The heater works great in the winter - no different than in any other car. And as soon as the temps start to climb in the spring, down goes the top! It is low to the ground, so getting in and out of the driver's seat definitely isn't for people with stiff backs. Maintenance is pretty easy - the engine compartment is big enough to reach all of the spark plugs. In over 100,000 miles I've only replaced the clutch once (3.9 liter engine with T5 tranny), and the top once (roughly $1000).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Impressed

kenlwilkerson, 06/23/2004
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just bought it. Wondering just what it can do. Scared to open it all the way up...but the day will come!

Report Abuse

The Ultimate Toy for those over 49

Topless04Stang, 05/23/2010
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

My black Mustang rides like a buckboard, the leather seats are flat, the interior door panels and console are cheap. It's a Mustang for crying out loud. It's an icon, a legend. The Mach 6 CD am-fm stereo is simply amazing. Your choices for a convertible are rather limited. A Chysler Sebring, a Pontiac that they quit making, a BMW with a price tag over two times any similar Mustang. The Mustang is the only logical choice. Smooth and easy top operation. The trunk holds what it needs too. Golf clubs, baseball bags, tennis rackets, groceries, 2 medium suitcases. No its not big, its a sports car, not a luxo boat. The people that complain about this car are ill, please see a doctor.

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page:
51050