Used 2005 Ford Focus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,719 - $3,644

Used Focus for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...33

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

HOCUS FOCUS WHAT A RELIABLE CAR

HOCUS FOCUS, 09/29/2015
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
62 of 63 people found this review helpful

It is very reliable. I bought my 2005 used from a car rental and I have had it for 10 years now. I have 134,000 miles on it and I don't see myself giving it up for a long time to come! I am short and the seat rises up to where your head basically touches the roof! My parents bought one a few years ago because they liked driving in mine and getting in and out was easy for them. I get 35 miles to the gallon even at 10 yrs. old! They aren't the most quiet cars but they are a good ride and dependable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good handling, peppy, and cheap!

Justin, 12/28/2015
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I bought this focus so I could gift my 2005 Mercury Mariner to my wife to haul the kids around. It is my third focus and I have loved all of them. The worst part would be the cheap interior materials and the layout of the armrest and cup holders leaves a bit to be desired however.....the engine and 5 speed make those issues simply minor annoyances. Its a 2.3 and it feels faster than it is. It grips the road well and goes where you want it to. I know its boundaries like any car so I have a lot of fun driving it and its a cheap reliable car. I bought it with 119k miles over a year ago and I currently have 141k and the only problem I have had to change was the front brakes, rear wheel bearing, and the alternator. All these things are normal especially a car its age so I don't count those as faults. I would love to upgrade to the Focus ST or wait and get the RS but financially I will stick to my little silver bullet.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

271k and climbing daily

Jake, 06/07/2016
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

Base model crank windows no power locks car was bought new with 20 miles on it and has been driven on an hour and a half commute to work each way for the past 12 years. Car has 271k original clutch, starter, water pump, alternator, motor has never been opened for repairs. Royal purple oil its whole life and it still doesnt burn any. Has gotten brakes, struts, and an axle seal. Great car interior is junk but it was 12k new so of course it is

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Ford actually got this car right

Spencer, 07/30/2016
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Early on Ford definitely had a spotty record when it came to building reliable cars. The early Focus models were popular when they came out, but they were littered with reliability issues. 2005 included a major overhaul of the design, engine, transmission, and interior. This car was bought in 2006 with 27k miles on it. I've since racked up over 145k with minimal problems. The engine/transmission mounts failed early on, but were replaced and since have been fine. The only other major repair was the air filter. The air filter built with this car will more or less fail around 100k, and I replaced mine with a K&N intake to resolve this issue. Apart from that, everything else has been routine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Average car, but will not buy again

magastratus, 07/11/2012
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2007 with 30k miles, and had to replace transmission before it hit 70k; set me back about $1200. Previous reviews about the interior being especially noisy are accurate. Gas mileage is lower than what I expected. A lot of minor things go wrong with this car. The vent selector switch broke, so it is stuck on blowing air on my feet. I have yet to get this fixed, so I am uncertain what it will cost. Armrest was also flimsy and broke within 6 months. It also takes a very long time to warm up during the winter, and will sometimes have issues starting cold. It will always eventually start, but not without some hassle. Not terrible, but buy something better if you have the $$.

Report Abuse

2005 Ford Focus ZX4

Bryan, 12/21/2004
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
43 of 46 people found this review helpful

The car looks great inside and out. It drives well and has very nice and quick acceleration. So far, country and city, I am not experiencing the fuel mileage on the sticker. Overall, I love my new Focus.

Report Abuse

Richmond BC Focus

wpgjet, 01/03/2013
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2005 Focus in September 2005. 113,700 KMs later it is running fine. The CD player, however, is prone to failure. I have had SEVEN replacement CD players installed, under warranty. Also, the power door lock mechanism has had to be replaced twice, also under warranty. Otherwise, the car is reliable and fun to drive. No actual mechanical problems. As with any new car purchase, it is a good idea to buy the Extended Warranty, as the electronic gadgets are expensive to replace.

Report Abuse

Great little Wagon, Very Dependable

dantomfin, 03/28/2010
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Had it new since '05. Zippy, handles well, decent gas mileage (around 20 in the city, better than 30 on the highway). Have had NO breakdowns or any mechanical issues - an EXTREMELY dependable car. Good points -Front seats are very comfortable. Lots of pep. Brakes smoothly and the brake replacement intervals are quite long. Heat and A/C work great. Good cargo space in the back, especially for a small wagon. Decent in the snow. Stock sound system is okay. Bad points - not much room in the back seat. Cloth seats stain easily. Some body creaks that drive me nuts. Build quality could be better. Tail and brake light sockets distorted from light bulb heat.

Report Abuse

205,000 miles and climbing

Nate Marialke, 02/06/2016
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
40 of 43 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 12,000 miles on it in 2006. I now have 205,000 miles and have had no major mechanical issues! I did re do shocks and struts a couple times and I did replace the tie rod ends and axle shafts. (Michigan winters are hard on any car). Other than that the trans and engine are solid. Shifts great, no leaks, drives very well. My only complaint is the road noise and interior started vibrating at around 150000 miles. But it is an inexpensive car and I plan on driving for 3 more years. You can't go wrong with a focus for the money.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

safe and reliable

mesm, 03/21/2012
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I got into a head on collision with a drunk driver in a GMC Yukon while driving my '05 Ford Focus and walked away with nothing but whiplash and a few cuts and bruises. The entire front of the car was flattened, but all of the built in safety features worked and saved both mine and my passenger's lives. In another car, we could have easily died. The gas mileage could have been better, but this is a great car if you're looking for something safe, reliable, and sturdy.

Report Abuse
12345...33
Items per page:
51050