Used 2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT Consumer Reviews

List Price
$6,000

Used TrailBlazer EXT for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

No Regrets

B Saunders, 10/17/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This Trailblazer XLT replaced my Ford Exposition. More power and better fuel mileage is a plus. Also has more cargo room behind third row seats. Have taken several long road trips (600 miles plus) and the ride was nice and more comfortable than my Exposition. I have also towed over 4,500 lb with no trouble and plenty of power to spare.

Report Abuse

03 TB Ext, 94K miles, Original Owner

03tbext, 04/24/2011
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Had this from day one. Just had dealer replace the exhaust manifold ($100 cost to me, could have beem $770). Cracking of the manifold is common, rear of the O2 sensor. If you smell exhaust under the hood when cold and freshly started, as well as a strange noise that clears up in 3-5 minutes, you have the problem. GM covered this up to 8 years and 80K miles for free, I was lucky to get for $100. Thanx GM :) Replaced all four antisway links myself, easy (gets rid of clunking when going over bumps). Also had to replace all four brake rotors and pad sets. Very happy with the Rugged Trail T/As, 94K mi. on the remaining orig. pair. Installed K&N cold air intake kit, no diff in econ.

Report Abuse

EXT

Dakota, 06/04/2009
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I thought I would try GM again after many years of imports....what a mistake!. I have had this Trailblazer for 14 months, bought it with 39,000 miles. I have had over $1000 in repairs- window regulator, O2 sensor, other,various emissions work, interior panels loose, weather stripping loose, leather wears poorly. I am very disappointed with the quality. I do like the space, 3rd row of seats and towing capacity.

Report Abuse

Not to pare

JaniceBB, 02/13/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I hate my 2004 EXT. It has a real cheap feeling to the interior. I don't feel safe when driving in it. The doors feel like they are going to fall off they are so light.

Report Abuse

Poor Person's Suburban

John, 10/29/2008
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Trailblazer EXT is a nice cut and paste effort from the General. The exterior styling is decent, yet the interior looks cheap and somewhat tossed together with little care or concern for fit and finish. It drives relatively well although it seems a little dis-connected from the road in the steering department. The brakes are mushy. It feels like the truck is stumbling over itself especially if you need to stop quickly. Don't get me wrong, even with all my criticism, I really do love the truck. It's roomy, the family loves it, it's cooler than a minivan, it has 4X4 for our Canadian winters, towing capability and lastly it is a smooth and comfortable ride. A poor man's Suburban.

Report Abuse

I am truly impressed

La'Ketha, 11/27/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am truly impressed with this vehicle. After shopping between several vehicles like the GMC Envoy, Isuzu Ascender, and the Dodge Durango. I found the Trailblazer to be the most spacious, confortable, and bascially more bang for my buck. I enjoy the Free On-Star and complete power control from the steering wheel. Never Doubt "THE ROCK" Very pleased, La'Ketha Prioleau

Report Abuse

Lots of ROOM!!!!!!!!!

Cdog, 12/06/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great SUV at a great price. It has lots of room for passengers or for stuff. The seats fold down and provide you with enough space to put just about anything. Ride is great.

Report Abuse

Fun vehicle

Lerah, 12/10/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2002 vehicle in July of 2002. I have made numerous road trips. The ride is very comfortable, gas usage is decent, and the manueverability is excellent. It has the capacity of a large suv and the handling of a mid-size.

Report Abuse

V8 TrailBlazer EXT is a great, fun SUV

04TBEXT, 01/02/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2004 TrailBlazer EXT has been a great ride for me. I would not have considered buying it had it not been available with the proven quality and power of the 5.3 Vortec V8. This TB is loaded with all avaialable options except for the DVD player and navigation system. I am very pleased with this SUV - it replaced a Ford Explorer.

Report Abuse

Best SUV

TomC1234, 01/24/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent riding SUV... Smooth ride Low noise...

Report Abuse

Fair

AJG, 01/24/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The TrailBlaser handling in snow has not been what I expected. The rearend could get away very easily. The rear stereo controls do not come with headsets. It is the only way you can listen to second station. The front drink holders are to close the dash not allowing drinks to fit right.

Report Abuse

Fun Ride

Roger Scott Jones, 03/02/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Trailblazer is an excellent ride that I feel has excellent handeling and is very fun to drive. I told myself I would never own another Chevy after my 85 Camaro. My LT Trailblazer is a very well built machine that I won't be trading in any time soon.

Report Abuse

Satisfaction

Cway, 03/15/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am ultimatly pleased with the vehicle thus far. Ride quality is exeptional and engine has more then enough huevos. I really feel you get alot of vehicle for the price.

Report Abuse

Service contract poster child...

MTK, 03/29/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my EXT new in 2002. We had several fit/finish problems which needed to be taken care of (primarily paint related). In addition the air conditioner has been worked on, the windshield wiper motors have been replaced, the fan clutch has been replaced, and the gas tank developed a hairline fracture and needed to be replaced. If you really insist on buying a TB, I strongly recommend buying a extended service contract. It has saved me several times.

Report Abuse

I love my Trailblazer EXT!

klb, 04/18/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just took a long road trip with my family and was really enjoyed my Trailblazer. Not only was it roomy when we visited others, the handling with lots of stuff in it was great. I also really like the sporty look of the vehicle and get compliments on it.

Report Abuse

i love my truck

cheinold, 04/19/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I didn't think i would find a suv that I liked better than my blazer but I love my trailblazer. The ride is great; it is comfortable and roomy. I can separate my granddaughters when they are fighting! One in the middle and one in the back.

Report Abuse

TRAILBLAZER EXT 04 MODEL

carbuyer2, 05/05/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After a twelve hour shift in the ER you really need a smooth ride home, especially at midnight. It definately is a smooth ride. The kids love it as much as I do. Going on vacation is not a problem any more. The rear seat entertainment system allows the kids to listen to one of their Cds on headphones in the back, and my husband and I are allowed the radio or cassette player at the same time, not to mention we have plenty of room for the suitcases!The only thing I have found is in the winter when we leave the car to heat up we usually leave it around 90 or 80 degrees, and the car sets itself to 70.

Report Abuse

03 Trail Blazer Ext TL

jd4u2, 05/21/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very reliable with an excellent ride. Braking and steering take some getting used to after driving a sport sedan. Over all a very good vehicle with a great ride and interior space.

Report Abuse

2004 chevy trail blazer ext lt

Shakinfree, 06/05/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We needed to seat at least 7 passengers but wanted to get out of our minivan. we researched and drove several suv type vehicles from mini to full sized fairly priced to over priced and found the trailblazer to give us more bang for our buck. Our kids love the look and space that they have (we love that too ;-) ). We have 3 children aged 3 to 11 and they have all the elbow room they need. The ride is smooth for a mid sized truck honestly it may even be nicer than the vans ride was. For the money this is a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Having some recent problems

Alex Collins, 06/05/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My trailblazer ext is nice but I am having recent problems with the computer system. I have had it in the shop 2 times in one month. I am starting to become untrusting and not sure when the next breakdown will occur. With a family this is a concern.

Report Abuse

I love my trailblazer EXT

jobejali, 06/12/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I think it is a great SUV. I am 26 with two kids and i am not ready for a van and don't want the gas milage of a suburban yet, even though the TB is not too much better. One of the other reviews was that the doors were cheap and the interior was cheap and inside noise. ALl of that is a lie. It is quiet, rides well and the inside of my TB is luxurious and i dont have leather. The thing is built very well.

Report Abuse

Not enough room!!

Sytek5, 06/13/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this vehicle when we found out that we were expecting our third child. We thought with the third row seat we would have plenty of room inside, Wrong! With all the kids in car seats and then having to take the stroller for the baby, we are unable to get anything else in the back of the car. We like the way it drives and I think it is comfortable. It may look like a station wagon, but it lacks the cargo space inside. Also it is very hard to buckle up the child in the third row, the way that the floor is (knee killer).

Report Abuse

Smooth ride

mystc, 06/13/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have spent more time driving, taking family vacations, long and short vacations since I purchased my Trailblazer. Its the best ride for a 4x4 the options and interior design make it even better. Everything is at your fingertips, with lots of interior space. I feel safe driving it with my children. Test drive one, you will take it home!

Report Abuse

Wish I could of tried it out for a month

wigglebritches, 10/26/2005
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The test drive was fine, but actually using the vehicle was another story. Gas mileage is poor; we get about 9 mpg pulling our camper and about 14 mpg avg. highway & city. The suspension is soupy; it wobbles a lot around corners & over bumps. The storage is appalling; I can't carry passengers, a stroller and groceries; there just isn't enough room. The stroller also falls out when I open the back hatch since it is crammed in. Having two car seats means the seat which allows access to the back hooks the car seat when you try to fold it down. Folding the back seats down is no easy feat. Not enough storage for little stuff. Little to no leg room when purse, back packs & diaper bags are stowed.

Report Abuse

Great SUV

Kathygarnervill, 01/17/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Glad I've bought it!

Report Abuse

awsome

Mike dunn, 05/18/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

this truck is perfect truck and i would tell any one to screw off the Japanese cars to get a nice reliable Chevrolet. listen to me this truck is perfect.

Report Abuse

90 day review

SSH, 08/02/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded in 97 Astro for 04 LT EXT. Expect a truck like ride, 3rd row seating is easier and sits better than Tahoe. We like it overall. We live in Texas, it does not produce cold air until it is moving. Dealer says that is how it was designed, still looking into it.

Report Abuse

Great Ride

Happy Grandma, 06/21/2008
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love at first drive! This vehicle is exactly what I need to carry kids to daycare, school and work, load all kinds of cargo, and enjoy driving all the time. It has a luxury ride, it's beautiful, and roomy. My grandson loves the opera-style 3rd row seating. He has lots of room to play and can see outside with no problem. Plenty of power.

Report Abuse

Never Again!

Former GM owner, 02/06/2009
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Rear air compressor, fan motor, complete brake system (twice!), front wheel bearings and now, the transmission is shot! All at 48,500 miles! Virtually every big ticket repair that could go wrong, did. Awful, awful piece of crap. Tends to slip in even mildly wet weather, overall poor traction anyway. Creature comforts are average at best. I'll never again buy this car and wouldn't recommend it to anyone, no matter what the price!

Report Abuse

Don't buy a 2003 or 2004 model!!!!!

nomoreGM2day, 03/13/2009
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Chevy has a problem with the cluster panel in the 2003 and 2004 models. They do not stand behind their work and are not willing to do anything about it. My dealer replaces 1 or 2 a month....this is a serious problem and not just with the Trailblazer, but ALL makes and models of Chevy's. GM needs to find a way to keep their loyal customers happy. (GM owner since the early 80's).

Report Abuse

Trailblazin' with LOTS of room

po'folks, 07/13/2003
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This SUV was made with the middle man in mind. Finally a SUV that has all the comforts and performances of the "bigger brother" at a lower cost. Excellent truck for the price

Report Abuse

Proud Trailblazer Owners

millerps125, 01/10/2005
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought because we wanted to be able to sit at least 6 without buying a minivan. The Trailblazer fits our budget, and is an overall wonderful fit for our family. The truck still has room for improvements but for the price it is very tough to complain. We have the 6 cyl. and still only manage 13-14 mgp city driving so the gas mileage is a downside. Plenty of room for the kids and still an extra row of seats with cargo room in the rear. With the 3rd row of seats up, the rear cargo area (between the back row and rear door) is larger than most other SUV's. We checked many others and this offered the most room.

Report Abuse

Trailblazer is a big fun truck

ALE518, 10/14/2003
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has plenty of passenger room and can be reconfigured easily to accomodate many large cargo loads as well. There are some areas in the interior where the plushness is crudely interrupted by hardware (bolts) and the exterior is made up of more plastic than I expected. However, overall this ride looks as nice as the ride is smooth!

Report Abuse

Trialblazer EXT

giloveit, 11/17/2003
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall we like it, it fells like it could drive through anything even a wall. I find the passenger legroom to be wanting as my legs are forced of to the right. The engine sounds great but I wished it had more legroom. The interior quality seems nice and user friendly. It is not necessarily fun to drive but delivers the comfort and safety features well suited to a family SUV. I think that it is overpriced when compared to some Japenese vehicles but my wife was set on this one.

Report Abuse

Nice SUV, Poor Quality

dcn821, 12/20/2003
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice SUV, but test the hvac in the rear before taking it. Heating for the 2nd and 3rd row passengers that come from the roof blows out cold air only. Took back to the dealer twice. 1st time they said GM is aware if it and they are working on a fix. 2nd time, GM told they had a fix and to bring it back. Dealer measured the heat from the floor to the vents and there is a 30 degree difference. GM said that is acceptable. I have contacted the BBB auto line to get an arbitrator involved. Also, my truck was delivered missing 2 quarts of oil from the factory. Oh yeah, GM customer is a joke. Don't waist your time.

Report Abuse

I like this SUV

Chris Richgels, 12/28/2003
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Super good highway cruiser.

Report Abuse

my dream car

nursechell, 01/10/2004
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have liked this vehicle for almost three years. I didn't buy one until they had the extended version. I am extremely happy with this SUV. It rides well, sits up high (but not too high), and gets okay gas milage for the kind of SUV that it is... The price has gone up now that they are popular, that's the only drawback.

Report Abuse

Top of the Pack

Captain Mike, 01/25/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

SMOOTH! QUIET and just super nice! I can see myself owning this vehicle for a lonf time. The rear seats are real seats. Not some joker seats that were an after thought and were placed in the cargo compartment. The front and rear A/c are freezing and we are in the tropics. The hills here are torture chambers for vehicles and this one seems geared just right. No unnecesary shifting. NICE! I really like the way this thing drives and how big it is inside. We have three under 7 kids and drive guests who visit us in Paradise frequently. The price we got was a steal compared to the imports and I feel VERY good about having bought a US made car.

Report Abuse

Overall: Great Car

Patric, 12/22/2005
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this vehicle over 3 years ago and I'm still very happy with it. I really like the overall exterior and interior design, but there's one large flaw; you can't get 2nd row bucket seats, so it's difficult getting to the back row. I had a brake problem not very long after getting it, but since then, nothing bad has happened. It also gets decent fuel economy and has a good turn circle. Though it's expecting a redesign next year, so I'm looking forward to what GM brings to the table in the struggling SUV market

Report Abuse

Trail Blazing in the 925

Jack West, 01/21/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Buy for 1% over invoice for a XLT LS with the LS Group2 package, and even more extras.

Report Abuse

Heavy Driver in South western Ohio

Winshire, 02/08/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle, the EXT seem to have better handling capability over the two seat version. The third seat gives the vehicle more flexibility and is comfortable for adults. The gas mileage is noticeably less than the two seat version a 2002 previously owned. Gas mileage in the city is about 15.5 and 16.8 on the road.

Report Abuse

2004 Chevytrailblazer Ext 4x4

EZDA4, 03/16/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is awesome! It handles great in all weather, especially the snow. It is a very smooth ride, all the way to the back seat. It is a great family vehicle. There is tons of space. We are very pleased with everything the Ext Trailblazer has to offer. The only negative thing I have to say is that it isn't very good on gas but that comes with buying an SUV.They did a great job on all the amenities.

Report Abuse

hapy mom

traci, 03/22/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my trail blazer it has all the room and tv equipment for the kids but sporter for this 29yr old mom who does not want to drive a van.

Report Abuse

Not much to change on this one

h2jwatson, 03/23/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My family and I love this thing. All the room you could possibly ever need for passengers and enough cargo space when you need it. We got the V8 model, didn't feel like the I6 had enough tesicles for such a large vehicle. Awesome road machine.

Report Abuse

Great Looks, Great Engine, Poor Mileage

4Wheeler, 03/25/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far, So good. Just got the truck this week. Love the looks, puts my 2002 Blazer to shame. Handles great and love the loads of space. Would be a bit happier is the 3rd row seats folded all the way down.

Report Abuse

Superb ride

FLDave63, 03/30/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After four Jeep vehicles (Cherokee and Grand Cherokees), I truly did not expect to be buying a Chevy. One test drive in an EXT, after testing several other makes, and I found myself driving one home. I found it to be surprisingly nimble for its size. The interior is very comfortable, except that the seats are rather firm.

Report Abuse

Bow tie is the only tie

kolden, 04/02/2004
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've only had my Trailblaze a short but my wife and I love it, I never thought I would buy another American vehicle, until I test drove the Trailblazer. It had the best car for the money out of all the Suv's that I drove.

Report Abuse

mikep

map80128, 04/07/2004
LS 4WD 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I originally bought the car because it had third row seating. But its too small to go on driving vacations - not enough storage space and back seat space. Also a bit wierd is the way the second and third row seating lays down to form a "flat" serface. Its almost like GM made this car into and extended version at the last minute. This car is too small to be a big SUV and too big to be a smaller SUV.

Report Abuse

Love It!

Jane, 07/27/2006
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle! It's roomy, smooth and just an all around great SUV. My hubby is 6'8 and he can fit with plenty of room. The kids love to watch DVD's and sit in the 3rd row. Wireless headsets are great. I'd buy another in a minute.

Report Abuse

New dog mobile

Dog Lady, 06/01/2004
LS Rwd 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was a faithful Expedition owner and went to them first when it was time for a new ride. The cost, the new interior changed my mind. This TrailBlazer has style .. it is not a minivan and it responds when you need it to.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050