2015 Best Retained Value Awards

2015 Best Retained Value® Awards

Edmunds.com's Best Retained Value® Awards are part of our continuing efforts to highlight vehicle value for consumers. The awards recognize the brands and models that have the highest projected private party residual value five years after their launch, expressed as a percentage of their average True Market Value® (TMV®). We assume 15,000 miles driven per year.

For 2015, Toyota won in the non-luxury division with a projected 52.4 percent residual value after five years, and Acura won the luxury crown with a projected five-year residual value of 46.9 percent. In addition to these brand-level awards, Edmunds.com issued model-level awards in 24 separate segments.

A reliable assessment of a vehicle's resale value can be a critical piece of information for car buyers. Smart car shoppers will choose vehicles with high retained value so they can maximize their worth at trade-in or sale. And for consumers who lease, selecting cars with strong resale value is just as important: Resale value is a key factor in determining the monthly lease payment. Click here to read more about the methodology for selecting the 2015 Best Retained Value® Award winners.

By Brand


Luxury: Acura

Honorable Mention: Lexus, Porsche


Non-Luxury: Toyota

Honorable Mention: Subaru, GMC, Honda

By Category

Cars | Suvs | Trucks | Vans


Honda Fit

Subcompact Car: Honda Fit

Honorable Mention: Scion xB, Toyota Yaris

Subaru WRX

Compact Car: Subaru WRX

Honorable Mention: Toyota Corolla, Honda Civic

Subaru Legacy

Midsize Car: Subaru Legacy

Honorable Mention: Honda Accord, Toyota Camry

Toyota Avalon

Large Car: Toyota Avalon

Honorable Mention: Chevrolet Impala, Buick Lacrosse

Acura ILX

Entry Luxury Car: Acura ILX

Honorable Mention: Lexus IS 250, Lexus ES 350

Acura TSX

Midrange Luxury Car: Lexus GS 350

Honorable Mention: Audi S4, BMW M3

Porsche Panamera

Premium Luxury Car: Porsche Panamera

Honorable Mention: Lexus LS 460, BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe

Dodge Challenger

Entry Sport Car: Dodge Challenger

Honorable Mention: Scion FR-S, Ford Mustang

PChevrolet Corvette

Midrange Sport Car: Chevrolet Corvette

Honorable Mention: Porsche Cayman, BMW M4

Nissan GT-R

Premium Sport Car: Nissan GT-R

Honorable Mention: Porsche 911, Audi R8


Honda CR-V

Compact Crossover SUV: Honda CR-V

Honorable Mention: Subaru Forester, Toyota RAV4

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Midsize Crossover SUV: Toyota Highlander

Honorable Mention: Subaru Outback, GMC Terrain

GMC Acadia

Large Crossover SUV: GMC Acadia

Honorable Mention: Buick Enclave, Chevrolet Traverse

Acura RDX

Entry Luxury SUV: Acura RDX

Honorable Mention: Audi Q5, Lexus RX 350

Lexus GX 460

Midrange Luxury SUV: Lexus GX 460

Honorable Mention: Acura MDX, Lexus RX 450h

Mercedes-Benz G-Class

Premium Luxury SUV: Mercedes-Benz G-Class

Honorable Mention: Lexus LX 570, Cadillac Escalade

Jeep Wrangler

Midsize Traditional SUV: Jeep Wrangler

Honorable Mention: Toyota 4Runner

GMC Yukon

Large Traditional SUV: GMC Yukon

Honorable Mention: Chevrolet Tahoe, GMC Yukon XL


Toyota Tacoma

Midsize Truck: Toyota Tacoma

Honorable Mention: GMC Canyon, Chevrolet Colorado

Toyota Tundra

Large Truck: Toyota Tundra

Honorable Mention: Ford F-150, GMC Sierra 1500

Ford F-350 Super Duty

Heavy Duty Truck: Ford F-350 Super Duty

Honorable Mention: Ram 2500, GMC Sierra 2500HD


Honda Odyssey

Minivan: Honda Odyssey

Honorable Mention: Toyota Sienna, Kia Sedona

Ford Transit Connect

Small Commercial Van: Ford Transit Connect

Honorable Mention: Nissan NV200, Ram CV Tradesman

Ram-Promaster Cargo Van

Large Commercial Van: Ram Promaster Cargo Van

Honorable Mention: Ford Transit Van, Ford Tansit Wagon

2016 Best Retained Value® Awards

2014 Best Retained Value® Awards

2013 Best Retained Value® Awards

2012 Best Retained Value® Awards

2011 Best Retained Value® Awards

More About the 2015 Best Retained Value® Awards

Each brand with both (i) more than 100,000 unit sales in 2014, and (ii) models offered within at least four vehicle-type categories was eligible for this year's brand-level Best Retained Value® Awards. Each model year 2015 vehicle that both (i) was launched by the end of 2014, and (ii) had unit sales in February 2015 that were at least 25 percent of the average unit sales for the models in its segment was eligible for this year's model-level Best Retained Value® Awards. Edmunds determined each model's category for the 2015 awards based on (i) its body type segment; (ii) for certain categories, the size of the model within its body type segment; and (iii) for certain categories, the model's price and/or its competitive segment.