Used 2000 Audi TT Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,120 - $2,428

Used TT for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

total quatro fun

gary m bouvier, 08/30/2015
quattro Turbo 2dr Coupe AWD
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned my tt for 15 years now and have just had my first bad experience with it. the repair shop charged me 400 bucks to replace an o2 sensor and it still ran like crap...they wanted another 700 to fix the problem...well...first of all this has been the best car ive ever owned, I normally do all my own work and have made some major upgrades such as brembo brakes and rotors, heavy duty torsion bars, larger turbo/ exhaust/ racing ignition..from audi..larger tires and rims but these were made when they needed replacement, except the turbo which I still have. I have driven this car from main to calif to florida to washington. fully loaded with my wife as copilot and were extremely comfortable. Even with the extra hp..about 300..I still get 34 mpg highway and have had fun with a few dodge challengers with their hemis. I'm due for some shocks and a timing belt and hoping I find a reasonable shop to do that. my only [non-permissible content removed] is with audi, the dash acted up almost as soon as I bought it and they replaced it, then about a year later it happened again and I had to pay the second time. well it screwed up again but I have never gotten it fixed, the temp gauge never says its warm and the gas gauge light comes on at 1/2 tank saying its empty. in 2001 they changed the analog part of the dash and from then on their hasn't been a problem. but audi never admitted their was a problem until 2010 and then you had to be the original owner of the vehicle to have it replaced, well I was exempt because I already had mine replaced..another scam. so I live with it and its really not that big a deal. the car has been used for everything from hauling construction material, groceries, cement, windows and doors, 2x4s. camping gear, moving. and my work car everyday. I love it and wish audi would make a motorcycle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beautiful Car... But Lots of Problems

mgio, 03/30/2008
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

II've owned my TT for 8+ years and 115,000 miles. It's had it's share of problems and is not cheap to fix: dead water pump, broken steering rack, two broken ABS sensors, broken wheel bearing, dead ECU, misfiring cylinder, two broken instrument clusters, blown Bose speaker, etc. I still feel its one of the best looking cars on the road and it STILL turns heards today eight years later but it's dying at only 115,000 miles and I need to sell it and something at least a little bit reliable. There is nothing like this car out there anymore though. The new TTs just aren't the same.

Report Abuse

Audi TT problems (car is not a turbo)

kmiyara, 09/10/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Within 5 months of purchasing this car I was left stranded on vacation. I was told the clutch was bad and I was not able to shift into any gear but 3rd. I had 2 clutches replaced and the transmission before it was finally repaired. In addition over the next 2 years the rear suspension was replaced, electronics for speedometer and the front windshield due to a stress crack. The low profile tires are terrible. Replaced a total of 8 tires before hitting 25000 miles. The wheels constantly get scratched since they protrude out from the tire. The area inside the gas cap gets plugged and when it rains the water is retained.

Report Abuse

nice, but needs fixin'

whippit, 10/25/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

i bought this car as a certified pre- owned which included the extended warranty. good thing. the car has required regular car and attention and many parts have been replaced similar to the experience of other reviewers-- suspension, problems with alignment, etc. i have the same problem with the wheels and i am not convinced the wheels are ever balanced and aligned. the car is fun to drive, performs well on the road and is terrific for passing and moving up in the pack at high speed. shifting is tight and the clutch seems a bit "delicate" so shifting smoothly is not always easily.

Report Abuse

TT -- a Great Car that has Issues

Rick, 10/07/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had always wanted a TT. It's a beautiful, timeless, distinctive design. Have had many problems with this car so far. Replaced the clutch @ 44k and the water outlet (common problem), $2,500. Then we had window lift mechanism issues, ($1,000). The gas door switch broke ($125), headlight washer -- (the front bumper has to be removed $400). Problems with the back-up lights, etc. Have read other forums that the timing belt can break unexpectedly. Buy a used one if you know how to work on cars. Edmunds repair estimates need to be adjusted upwards. However, the TT handles great and gets good MPG -- important in LA. Presents itself well anywhere. Easy to get in and out of.

Report Abuse

Love It, Can't leave it.

2 Owner, 12/12/2008
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Audi TT MK1 was designed to remind us of the Auto Union cars. It was a pure form with Bauhaus influence being key to its creation. I didn't originally agree with the design of the interior, but now I find it to be of such a quality that it puts most other automotive interiors to shame. The car is holding up well appearence wise. I maintain the car myself and find it's upkeep to be easy. I don't trust another mechanic working on my car. I've driven over eighty thousand milesa in my TT and it continues to run without any major events. Changed the timing belt at 66,000 miles. I've replaced the alternator once, the starter three times, the water pump once and other things. I still love it.

Report Abuse

Still the one

starange, 04/28/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have been driving my TT ( at every opportunity ) since May 99. I purchased it off of the floor at an auto show. I figuered as good as it looked, if it didn't drive well I would use it as a sculpture. As it turned out, nothing to worry about about, the ride is great, the music sounds great and the inside is as nice to look at as the exterior. If it is reliable over time, it will be a long while before I look for another car.

Report Abuse

Owner

Dee and J, 03/18/2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Flawless.. o9nly car I have not gotten tired of.. it's like a new car after 3 years.. just as much fun to drive each time.

Report Abuse

Lemon

Miki Smith, 02/26/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This Audi I bought was "Assured" and Certified! It was in the shop more than 15 times in one year! I have 2 friends with other Audi's and they have simular problems. Audi "Customer Care" wouldn't do anything since the Assured warranty went over 2 months before I called. They are so cute to look at, but a major pain in the &#@ to take care of.

Report Abuse

Good but not great.

Mark, 07/15/2017
quattro Turbo 2dr Coupe AWD
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought our turbo Quattro in early 2000 for its excellent all wheel drive and turbo performance. Excellent attributes for Colorado. Back then it's performance, handling, traction, braking and overall quality were cutting edge. In 165,000 miles it was reliable and fuel mileage quite good. However expert views of its "fashion statement" persona then and now are fair. Sporty driving with the manual transmission was nearly impossible given the positioning of the brake and accelerator pedals and poor brake feel. In 2017 there are better choices if you want performance, quality and handling in a snowy high altitude world such as the turbo, all wheel drive BMWs we now own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050