Used 2013 Audi Q5 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,738 - $16,520

Used Q5 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Vehicle in all ways but one

db703, 04/17/2013
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
72 of 73 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2013 Premium-Plus in October, 2012 and now have ten thousand miles and can give an objective overview. Love the vehicle, the fit and finish is exceptional. It's quiet, quick, nimble and tight when driving. The suspension is quite nice, not to rough and no bounce whatsoever. The only complaint is that the multimedia system is dated for a 2013 model, especially in this class segment.

Report Abuse

3.0T Premium Plus S-Line

khl, 08/04/2013
3.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
41 of 42 people found this review helpful

Excellent balance of luxury and performance. Surprisingly roomy in passenger compartment and trunk despite small footprint of vehicle. For premium price of q5, missing some features I had on previous car (see below in suggested improvements). MMI despite improved, still makes it cumbersome to change radio station. No preset buttons means having to scroll on MMI controller or scroll wheel on the steering wheel. Two memory seat positions but still requires you to manually adjust steering wheel each time you change drivers. The panoramic moonroof affords lots of light and view. Drives and handles superbly with the S-Line package. The flat-bottom steering wheel looks and feels great.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

nhislop, 04/10/2013
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Bought the 2.0T Premium Plus, with Navigation, 19" wheels and B+O Stereo in December 2012. The Edmunds review is dead on - this is a well-built, agile and luxurious car. I have a few nit-picks : the MMI system has a number of quirks - for example, upon startup, the car will reset the volume level (even if previously muted) and revert music playback to the beginning of the track that was playing when you parked, as opposed to the point in the track where you left off , which seems pointless to me; also, the gas mileage has been less than the EPA figures (but I suppose many cars share that trait). That being said, the joy of driving makes up for these grumbles.

Report Abuse

2013 Audi Q5 3.0T Premium Plus S-line

JPH, 08/14/2015
3.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Currently at 24,000 miles with no problems (knock on wood). The car is a great blend of luxury, performance, Audi & S-line styling, and daily function. The attention to fit and finish really delivers a first-class roomy/quiet driving experience. I previously owned a Q5 2.0T. I was really surprised at the difference in the 3.0T engine - SO satisfying! While the 2.0T is an excellent engine, I did notice some turbo-lag. A five-time winner of Ward's 10 best engines, the 3.0L TFSI supercharged V-6 brings joyful acceleration with a flat-torque line (272 hp @ 4,780 rpm; 295 lb-ft; 0-60: 5.8 sec) – it really inspires! The 8-speed Tiptronic transmission is silky smooth. Panoramic sunroof 14-speaker B&O sound & rear view camera are all very nice. Four passengers fit very comfortably; though five is a bit squeeze. Ample cargo space; we have no trouble loading up for camping trips - You can fit a couple mountain bikes in the rear, but the best option is a hitch or roof carrier. With 50/50 city/highway driving using premium 93 Shell V-power, my Q5 is gets 20-22 mpg. All highway definitely better; recent 600 mile trip managed 30 mpg.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

OK until 65k then forget it

pemocwc, 01/20/2019
2.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

When I first bought it new I had about a year of back and forth with Audi to get all of the rattling fixed from the sun roof. I've heard the same from others about their Q5s. They never could get the brakes to stop squeaking are many trips to the dealer. This is a normal Audi brake issue. Next came 5 recalls including the coolant pump which already went bad & I replaced on my own. Audi reimbursed me but now the second part of that recall is outstanding as they don't have the parts. It says the car could catch fire. That's comforting. The dealership recommends and/or requires things be replaced when they have plenty of wear left on them such as brakes & spark plugs. If you don't complete their requirements they refuse to turn off the "service due" noise and reminder which appear every time you start the car. The auxiliary heater for the back seat hasn't worked in years. This is also normal for this car. The worst part of the car is that the need to dump oil into the car goes from 1 or 2 quarts between oil changes to 1quart every 1,000 miles starting around 65k miles, to 1 quart every 700 miles around 75k , progressing down to its current state of 1 quart every 250 miles. Basically dumping oil in every week. There is no leak. Only repair is to get a new engine. The car has 90k miles on it. Thought it would last at least to 150k minimum. Never again, Audi.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New to me - I love it! - Updated: I STILL love it!

Penelope Luedtke, 01/23/2017
2.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: Edmunds keeps asking for updates - so I'll keep giving them! I just had the Audi picked up and taken in for her 75K mile service. Her service light was on for ages because I had my son do the oil changes but of course he can't turn off the notification. Then a bulb in the left rear assembly in the bumper went out so the car reminded me of THAT every time I fired her up. I bit the bullet and paid for the service. They want an outrageous amount to replace the light assembly ($300+ per side!) but I found OEM parts on Amazon and got them both done for ~$95. Other than that, she had a slight leak around the timing chain gasket so they replaced that and she came home with a very clean bill of health! I feel so much better now that she's all topped off and has new plugs, etc. We're headed off to the beach this weekend. We love traveling in the Audi, it really is a comfortable ride. Service at the dealer was $760. This is information I'm giving you so you understand costs associated with ownership. UPDATE II: I've had my Audi for two years now and I still love it. The car is the one we always take when we travel, it gets such good gas mileage! It is such a comfortable ride we hate to take our truck anywhere now. UPDATE - I've had my Audi for 13 months now and I still love it. I just took it to the beach for a trip with my (adult) kids. We crammed her full that's for sure, but even with the extra weight she had some get up and go. She handles lovely around the windy road corners. Things I notice this time of year are: she's quick to defrost, the seat warmers are a godsend, she heats up nicely - gets toasty warm inside. Gas mileage is great. She's easy to park. I also love the seat memory button so I can get her right back to my favorite after valet drivers move the seat. I have only had this car since 12/28, but three weeks in and I can tell you it's a much nicer ride than my old Highlander. The cabin feels a lot smaller, but the car is much smaller than what I had before. The responsiveness is awesome. And can I just tell you, the automatic downhill assist saved my life? We had a huge snow storm here and I live at the bottom of a serious hill; downhill assist got me home safely. It kind of takes over the braking and all you have to do is steer. Made me feel much safer driving in snowy conditions. When I can get new tires I'll bet it will be even better! All in all I'm really happy I bought this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2103 Audi Q5 review

Wm. Leone, 12/04/2018
2.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

+The engineering is high quality. The workmanship and detail is very good. The bad is the sound quality. The panoramic roof makes a lot of noise and has been recalled going back to 2010. Had it fixed at dealership recently and is ok for now. Service writer cautioned that it could come back within a year or so. Another negative is that you are recommended to use high test gas. Supposedly because the car is a turbo and needs the extra octane. Plan on spending 25% more than if you could use just mid grade. Finally, the car tends to use oil. I was told that this is normal for these cars because they are designed to be used on highways (Autobahn) rather than in town driving. A quart or so every three or four months is not uncommon. On positive side, the car is a joy to drive and the resale is excellent.

Performance
Report Abuse

2013 audi q5 3.0t premium plus s-line

sco stu, 01/28/2016
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle. 0 issues since we bought the Q5. Purchased used from dealership with 12000 miles. Audi service has been outstanding. Came prepaid with scheduled maintainence plan from previous owners... Thank You! Wife primary driver and commutes many miles for work. 2 young children are the occupants for the rear seats. Forward and rear facing child seats fit no problem. Only complaint is MMI. And why is there not a separate (lone) button to control fan speed for HVAC?!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Engine at 5 years

C Helmes, 02/11/2019
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is great luxury performance car until it starts consuming oil and the engine needs to be rebuilt. At 5 years / 105,0000 miles - it cost $5,000 to rebuild the engine. I have owned

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Incredible to drive but a money pit.

HH, 01/09/2020
2.0T Prestige quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric hybrid 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing in so many ways. It's suspension makes long interstate trips incredibly comfortable. The space is adequate for long trips, it's comfortable, and it handles well. At low speeds it tends to jerk a lot. (under 20 mph). However, in one year in this vehicle we spent over $6000 dollars in repairs alone. This is with all regular maintenances being performed prior to the breakdowns. It broke down on us twice in one year and each time cost an arm and a leg to fix. It got to the point that we didn't even want to drive it anymore. We traded in for something less expensive to repair.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

All You will Ever Need

HarryS, 03/10/2019
2.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My 2013 has 37,000. I am not a 'car guy'. I use it to drive down the road. It is not my identity, but maybe it is. I like the sameness of it. You see them like popcorn: they are everywhere. Know why? They are terrific. I have never had any mechanical issue. It got tires at 33,000. It gets new wiper blades annually. That's it. The only odd thing is that the first start in the morning, though garaged, causes it to lurch a bit in the first ten seconds. After that it is fine all day; stop, start, whatever. If I have any criticism it is the sound system. I have had much better. It oddly always starts with sound on and you cannot program that away. OK. I got used to it. Longest trip was 3500. I took it in for a factory call back and then gave me a loaner; a new Q-7. It was a big beast and drove like a truck. My Q-5 drives much more agile. The loaner had a lot of tech junk. It told me to watch out when I open the door. It told me nonsense. I do not want a car to tell me what to do, which is why I dislike my Apple Watch which was a gift. Keep it simple and make sure it faithfully delivers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2013 Audi Q5 2.0 - Good so far

bkholay, 06/17/2013
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
8 of 16 people found this review helpful

Have owned it for over a month now. The quality of interior and exterior is very good. The turbo responds well . I like the paddle shifters and the ability to temporarily switch to manual from automatic by using the paddle shifters when you need that extra power. The car is very easy to handle and responds well. But I am disappointed by the mpg. I am supposed to get 20/28 but I am getting 17 with 25% freeway / 75% city combination . I was hoping to get 21/22 at a minimum . I use premium gas (93) and I have already tried 3 different gas stations ( Exxon, Mobil, Sams). Do difference so far. I sold my MDX that was giving me 15 mpg for (25% freeway / 75% city combination ) and now I get 17 :( .

Report Abuse

2013 Q5 2.0T Quattro

zunoto, 01/20/2013
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
40 of 168 people found this review helpful

Bought it December 28, 2012. convenience package. Amazing car, i do not miss my last two 4Runners(03,11), love to drive that Crossover, great look, gas mileage is decent (91, 93), tiptronic is so cool, fun driving on manual or automatic sport or just D. Came with Michelin tires, do not have nav but the screen for radio and blue tooth is the same look and size. Heated leather seat. takes time to know all the set up inside the car, just be patient you are in a Audi. Now i don't mind beeing stuck in traffic:)

Report Abuse

Mom loves the car, Audi service is disappointing

Areeje, 09/02/2020
2.0T Prestige quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric hybrid 8A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this car for my mom to drive as an upgrade to the Honda Accord she's been driving for years. She absolutely loves it and doesn't want to drive anything other that her Audi. That being said I am knocking one star off because even though I bought this car as a one owner low mile vehicle with all services done at Audi dealer it has had some issues. She has only put 5000 miles on the car in one year and being an older lady she doesn't drive the car aggressively. Despite this the water pump busted (at 58,000 miles) with her out of the blue one evening leaving her stranded on the side of the road. After having it towed to an Audi dealer I was told that despite the water pump being recalled on the gasoline 2013 Q5's because this car was a Hybrid it wasn't covered. They both have the same part numbers so why its not covered is anyone's guess. Long story short Audi quoted $4000 for a new water pump (part cost $338 so I guess the rest was all labor?) and I got the car fixed elsewhere using the OEM part for Audi. We like the car but considering Audi was the one doing all the service previously I feel they should have caught a bad water pump before my mom got stuck on the side of the road. Their recall program is also a joke since they go by vin and not the part number that is actually in the car and charging over $3000 in labor seems a bit ridiculous to me. We're only a year into ownership so we'll see how things go from here.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Q5 3.0

Rob Rolley, 06/10/2017
3.0T Premium Plus quattro 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just bought a 2013 Audi Q5 3.0. Great to drive and lots of power. Has all the luxury items and is very fun and good looking. Only issue is backup camera which is not working properly - will come on sometimes for a second but then shuts off. We'll see how the dealer will handle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car

Q5hybrid, 08/08/2020
2.0T Prestige quattro 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric hybrid 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a hybrid however it more or less uses it on the performance side. The additional torque from the electric motors during normal driving makes the 2.0L engine feel like a monster. The only downside I have is the "hybrid" always attempts to start accelerating in full electric but the motors do not have enough power to move the Q5 around like a Prius does. It is more of a hybrid for the sport/power aspect rather than economy. As far as reliability I have not had any issues and have approximately 80k miles.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050