Used 2004 Acura RSX Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$3,400 - $4,000

Used RSX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Mistake to stop producing RSX's!

ratty, 05/11/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car, very reliable, fun to drive! Don't know why Acura stopped making this model? Would buy another in a flash.

Report Abuse

Love this car!

anhdao, 06/06/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I owned this car for 8 years and loved it. Such a great value for a car with all of the main luxury items you would want. I never had any major mechanical problems and always had fun driving this even though it was a stick and I lived in LA. Had to trade it in for a more family friendly car last year, but still miss driving it!

Report Abuse

Super reliable

maluchf1, 11/28/2013
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Owned a base 2004 RSX for 167k and had minimal problems with it. Ownership has been painless and low cost. At 167k the engine is still strong, the transmission (auto) is slowly showing signs of wear but I think it has another 30-40k in it. Just great engineering.

Report Abuse

Very disappointed...

prettyboon, 04/06/2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in this car. I used to be a big Honda fan, but I think i've changed my mind. The transmission sucks, which is a common complaint. Fuel economy is bad. The interior is missing alot of luxuries for the price. Heated leather seats should be standard, along with lighted vanity mirrors. The interior is very plain looking. The stock tires are bordering on dangerous for being on the car. After less than a year of having the car there were already rattles in the dash. I'm trading this car in very soon. This car is no Integra. I don't know what Honda was thinking.

Report Abuse

No longer own this vehicle

Gilbert Frey, 01/02/2016
Type-S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Car is not overly comfortable on long road trips. Rear visibility is poor. Blind spots are bad for lane changing. Backup camera is a must (I added this myself). Rear seats are small and cramped and uncomfortable. Hard to exit the car gracefully. Parts are noticeably expensive (had to replace starter recently). Car was sold in April 2016 and not replaced by another vehicle

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One Sweet Ride!

RSXdemon, 12/09/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great to drive...anywhere. Big trunk space for a coupe, I was able to move furniture and a 24' TV. Great handling on turns, Love that the radio faces more to the driver. Excellent gas milage...LA to Las Vegas in 3/4 of the tank. Looks like a rocket all my friends love my car. I got mine for 20K.

Report Abuse

Great car!

anhdao, 12/07/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I loved everything about this car. I wish I still owned it.

Report Abuse

Too many problems with this car.

ThisCarSucksIHateIt, 04/07/2004
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I had a Mitsubishi before this car, and this car is so much worse. It is constantly in the shop. Transmission problems, rattles, squeeks, noises, the stereo was incorrectly wired. Just recently, my engine went out. I started looking to see if others had similar problems on the net, and it's worse. I found about 300 other owners also having engine failures, some people claim there are thousands more. Then I saw a video of a guy on FOX News talking about how his engine went out and his car is a LEMON. It's a nightmare. Today I found out that they are not warrantying my engine and my parents have to pay 10,000 dollars to fix it!

Report Abuse

Acura Sucks

Matthew Stewart, 06/24/2004
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

The enigne block was cracked after 5,500 miles. I took it in becuase it was leaking oil. They replaced the oil filter. Still something wrong so they had to "call" Acura to find out the small block was cracked. Seriously. It took 17 days to fix and when I was intially told I could get it the dealer said my car was not ready because my engine was "laying in pieces on the floor". Not a comforting thought. They clutch just went out at 45,000 miles and they would not replace it for free because it is a wearable part. Well, I guess the enigne is "wearable" too but it still does not go bad after 5,500 miles. The seal around the driver's door was coming undone.

Report Abuse

Tranny problems

hondalover, 09/30/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned Hondas all my life, every version of the Civic or Integra imaginable. This RSX Type S was very disappointing. The 6 speed transmission was a major problem for me, and I brought it back to the dealer several times. These cars notoriously grind 2nd and 3rd gears, and when I brought it back to the dealer they claimed that they could not "replicate the problem" Engine is awesome, suspension is killer, but the tranny is a huge problem! Beware when you purchase!

Report Abuse

ACURA RSX

steph D, 09/29/2004
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Ive had my RSX for almost four months, it is a gorgoeus car and not too expensive. I would urge anyone that is looking in the RSX price range to test drive one.. you will most likely buy one, it has amazing handling. The RSX may seem small, but I managed to move furniture, boxes and clothes with out a problem.

Report Abuse

I'll keep mine, thank you!

charlew, 04/27/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 4 year lease will end in June of '08, and I plan on keeping this car until it starts to rust. Buy-out is well below the car's value. I thought is was just me w/the quirky 2nd gear, but I see others have noticed it, too. Dependably 320 miles per tank (26-27 mpg in city driving). Super reliability - I had brake pads replaced a week ago, even though the originals still had about 3 months left on them. Could have leased it for 4 years & never changed the brakes. Love the VTEC sound, enjoy the handling, especially when I have the chance to cut loose on a twisty. At 6'4" and 220, I fit comfortably, but nobody ever rides in the back! A few body chirps in the cold,and stereo needs upgraded.

Report Abuse

RSX is not an INTEGRA

Integragrl22, 02/25/2004
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am disappointed in acura for calling the RSX and integra. It is nothing like an integra and doesn't deserve the name. Acura needs to bring back the REAL integra.

Report Abuse

Loves to redline!

Adam, 12/07/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my Type-S used with 29k miles in 06. 3 years later and now with 83K miles the car still drives great. Very reliable, great on gas, with few bolt ons car will give you a run for its money. I have driven the car hard for 3 years and never gave me any problems.

Report Abuse

TypeS Excellent value for the price

ran, 10/22/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

While the exterior and interior leave much to the imagination the performance is undeniable. For a car at this price it is excellent and you know you have Honda's reputation of reliability behind you.

Report Abuse

delighted with my RSX-S

new RSX owner, 11/12/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just picked up my new RSX-S last week and I am extremely happy. I was also debating on buying a Mitsubishi Eclipse GTS and I am so glad that I decided on the Acura.

Report Abuse

nice car

Luca, 11/16/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

i-vtec engine is powerful spitting out 200 horses at 7400 rpm's and is quite intelligent.

Report Abuse

Good Car

Amun Re, 11/25/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Well built. Only have 1100 miles but they have bee a fun 1100. Can feel the engine getting stronger as it loosens up. Very quick for a 4 cyl.

Report Abuse

worst...transmission....EVER

B17A1girl, 06/28/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

As a the Internet Sales Manager and a salesperson at a car dealership, I drive different cars every day. My Acura RSX type-S, which is supposed to be one of the most reliable cars available, has the worst manual transmission I have ever experienced on a new car. Ever since I bought it, 2nd and 3rd gear have been grinding. It's been back to 3 different Acura dealers 4 times for the same problem. Only one of them was willing to fix it and found that the synchros are bad from the factory. They supposedly replaced them but the problem continues. NEVER buying a Honda product again.

Report Abuse

A classic

KRA, 07/16/2017
Type-S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Almost perfect

Tim , 02/05/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it used in 2008 with only 24000 miles. I noticed it gets very good fuel economy at around 35 mpg highway @70mph. The acceleration is moderately quick though the automatic version I have lacks low end punch but I feel a much higher kick above the 3000 RPM range. It handles very well in most situations. Although the inside is more sporty than luxury, that's what is expected. I overall think its better than the majority of its competition and worth a look.

Report Abuse

Nice

Reed, 01/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 04 Acura RSX as original owner. I have not had any problems mechanically. Brakes and tires and maintenace is very reliable. I have 66,000 miles to date and wouldnt get rid of it, except its kinda small in the back and a little bored with it. If you like coupes it's great. Dependable. Moderately quick and pretty fun to own.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive but out of control on turns

ZachT, 10/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is fun, it has pretty good exceleration, but at high speeds it feels a little out of control. The tires flat out stink and give little grip to the road leading to the back end sliding. But that is fixable, besides that the suspension is great and corners well, and it catches eyes where ever you drive it.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive and exceptional quality

TampaMaggie, 10/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have almost owned my RSX for 1 year and just love it! It handles well during acceleration and cornering, it feels sporty to drive, and gets great gas mileage. I also love the large amount of cargo room in the rear hatch - it has the sporty feel of a much smaller car, without making you feel like you are driving a couple of inches off the ground, where no other cars around you can even see you. Fast and fun!

Report Abuse

Luxury Economy Car

EddieRSX, 10/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have the Base RSX Automatic. I love the car! I have had the car about 2 weeks now, and I have had no problems driving it. I can take it through fast turns, and it stops on a dime. The A/C is automatic everything, so you name the temp. and it does the rest. It's got really cool mirror defoggers and its comfortable to ride in. I had the integra before, and this car really is better then ever.

Report Abuse

RSXELLENCE

RSXELLENCE, 11/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am 17 years old and I am very thankful for having and choosing the RSX as my first car. I feel this car should have a much higher review rate, especially coming from fellow owners. This car has everything for its price and one of the most dominant in the sport compact genere. I love it, everything besides the sub-par Bose sound system.

Report Abuse

I love my car

peekaboop, 11/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great pickup off the line Very responsive steering and brakes

Report Abuse

First Step Up

Walkman, 11/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When the RSX first came out I was peaked. I looked and pondered as to paying 20K+ for something not much different than my Civic. When I got the oppourtunity, I steped up and haven't been one bit dissapointed. I did not expect Space Shuttle Gadgetry and Ferrari performance but what the car really had to offer is a Real Bang for the buck. I don't regret it one bit.

Report Abuse

You should have one

Mr. BlueMan, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great care... I looked at the Cooper and New VW Beetle, however was not sold on their long term questionable performance. I've had three other Honda's and never had a problem. So once I drove the 2004 RSX there was not going back. Great get up and go. Feels great to ride in, excellent sound system and all the standard features for the leather-auto was the best of all, with CD, power windows, moon roof, etc… Great handling. It’s just the best in class.

Report Abuse

The Acura Company

Chainsaw, 11/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is easy to fix up, i got mine up to 600hp and 9200rpm maxed out

Report Abuse

RSX - S

Silver03, 11/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an extremely fun car. You really feel like you get more than you pay for. Great performance, reliability, style, and comfort. I do wish it had some type of traction control and a little more torque.

Report Abuse

Acura

Marc Lanzar, 12/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Car! The interior as well as the exterior is great! It's fun to drive!

Report Abuse

Best Integra Yet

Jesse Wingert, 12/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very satisfied with the nest generation Integra. The Type S RSX is a real quick and snappy car the combines top notch performance with leather interior, 7 Bose surround sound speakers, CD player and a 6 speed manual tansmission.You have to love a car that delivers so mucth.

Report Abuse

Great car!

Nev, 12/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with my RSX. It represents a great combination of performance, comfort and reliability. It is very happy pottering around town but also gives an exciting drive if you open it up and push the revs up near the 8000 limit. The only slight citicism I have is that it does feel a bit "front-end heavy" and has the typical front-wheel drive understeer that was less apparent in the Honda Prelude I had before. Having said that the manual six-speed transmission is excellent and the steering is pin-sharp with good road feel. Overall definitely a winner and I have no regrets.

Report Abuse

my rsx

kwik, 12/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

my rsx is so cool, i wish everyone had one. with its stylish seats and powerful engine, it is a great choice for the family man. i can race anybody out there and come out the winner.

Report Abuse

Excellent car to own and drive

MizouKev, 12/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned. It is the perfect combo of a luxury and sports car. Great perfromance and handling. Very responsived steering.

Report Abuse

What a beautiful, outstanding car

TheKater, 12/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my RSX so much. It's very stylish, has good performance, and it makes my friends jealous! The automatic Sportshift thing is fun to play with, but not necessarily useful, at least to me.

Report Abuse

Good car, bad people

IDriveALemon, 12/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have never been to such horrible dealerships in my life. The people are just horrible, they don't care about the customer, they are willing to say just about anything just to be able to deny (warranty on) your claim on problems and issues with the car. The warranty as far as I'm concerned is completely irrevelent, since they don't car to abide by it. If you want a car without a warranty, this is the car. But you might as well buy it used for that matter.

Report Abuse

Love it!

Vy, 12/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I switched from a 2000 Honda Accord to a 2003 RSX and I love it! This car is sporty and fun to drive. It took a bit of getting used to since the suspension is pretty stiff and bumps in the road are definitely felt. The louder engine took some getting used to as well, but it is no problem! All in all, I love it!

Report Abuse

RSX Review

BobG, 12/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent overall design and comfort. Dealer was the best I've ever dealt with. Fun and exciting to drive. Engine preforms like cars costing 2 times the purchase price. Six gear transmission is tight and smooth with little excessive play. A little more of a consol would be nice but the interior is very attractive.

Report Abuse

i love it

marcos4, 12/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

its the best car ive have yet. and i do have a is 300 from lexus, and this car it's so much funner then my lex. this has the hors power that i need just stook its so fun the best car..

Report Abuse

Worthy investment

Jay, 08/25/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great performance and reliability. No complaints so far. Far exceeds expectations.

Report Abuse

MB's review

JayMB, 12/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a terrific automobile.

Report Abuse

RSX type S

PMPIN8easy21, 12/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When i went looking for a car i wanted a dependable, fast performance car and thats what i have gotten with the RSX-S

Report Abuse

RSX Type S

Steve Hill, 01/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent car for the $, and a performance car with useability and versatility

Report Abuse

review on RSX

fmtwister10, 01/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the car!

Report Abuse

rsx

xeen, 01/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

its good at about 65 in the snow nad ice, nice top speed, good acceloration..the red lights for dash are annoying, would suggest a button that changes the dash lighting from blue to green and such otherwise nice ride.

Report Abuse

go and get it

jgirl5366, 01/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my 2004 RSX 2 months ago and I LOVE IT. It was a great choice, it has great handling and is so comfortable. The leather seats were a good choice. It gets great gas milage ,that's a big plus for me.Its a fun car to drive and the sport-shift system is great if you really want to play around and see what your car can do.

Report Abuse

A great car

MsSassyPants, 01/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my RSX!!! It is cute and has a lot of get up and go. The only thing I would change is the 125mph cut off...not that I would know = )

Report Abuse

The Most Fun Car for 20K

Fredrickson bloomsey, 01/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is great buy and an even better value. It performs well and is extremly fun to drive.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050