Used 2006 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$2,999 - $7,990

Used XC90 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Good times with grandchildren

Dianne Syring, 07/10/2005
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
183410 of 183433 people found this review helpful

I wanted safety features. As a grandmother of three that spends time with the children in the car. I love the built in toddler seat. Recently took a beach trip with 2 daughters and 3 grandchildren and we were all very comfortable and had plenty of room for gear.

Report Abuse

Excellent Used Car Value

cjbluedevil06, 12/16/2013
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
132 of 133 people found this review helpful

I purchased my XC90 2.5T in March of 2013 with 74K miles. It is the third Volvo that I have owned and is by far my favorite. I traded in my 2004 S60 to buy the XC90. Many people say that the 2.5T engine is underpowered, but I feel that its 208hp feels peppy and is perfectly matched to the transmission. The handling feels confident and the seats are very comfortable. As far as cargo spaces is concerned, I am pleased. Fuel economy is decent for a vehicle of its size. I average about 17 in town and 23-24 on the highway. The cabin is quiet and the interior is composed of high quality materials. My vehicle has the optional navigation system, which is nice, but inputting information can be an annoyance. Update** 2016 It is now three years later and I will say that buying a used XC90 was a great decision. I now have 111K miles on my XC90 and I have been impressed with the reliability of the vehicle. I recently visited the Volvo dealership for regular scheduled maintenance (replacement of the timing belt and drive belt) and spent about $750 for that service. When the dealership completed the maintenance inspection during the visit, they were unable to find anything that needed to be replaced or repaired. They key to buying a used Volvo is to ensure you buy it from a Volvo dealer and research the maintenance history of the vehicle. Aside from buying tires and having oil changes, the most I have spent on the vehicle has been for the timing and drive belt service. I have not had a single issue. It is my hope that I am able to put 200,000 miles on my XC90. Once I am done with this one, I do plan on buying another XC90 or an XC60. When it comes to safety, reliability, and quality, I find it hard to beat. It is an excellent road trip vehicle and is the perfect size to accommodate passengers and cargo. I do wish the fuel economy was a little better, but I do have to keep in mind that for a 2006, it falls in the more fuel efficient range of most SUV's for that time. As a final note, if you are looking for a used XC90 for whatever reason, it is best to stay away from the T6 (2.9 liter I-6 cylinder turbo engine) variants made from 2003-2005 and the V8 engines. The 2.5T's (I-5 cylinder turbo engines) were discontinued in 2006 and did not suffer from the transmission issues of the T6 and V8 engines. The years 2007+ models with the 3.2 I-6 cylinder engines are also very reliable. I mentioned this in my review a three years ago, but it bears repeating since I can't stress it enough :-) 5/13/2019 Long Term Update Overall, my XC90 2.5T has continued to be reliable and I love it as much as I did when I first bought it. I am now at 136,900 miles to date. Additional repairs since my last update (written above three years ago) include a new alternator, one new motor mount, and new Variable Valve Timing Hubs (Expensive!!!). Overall the only expensive unexpected repair since buying the vehicle in 2013 has been the Varible Valve Timing Service. (I expected I would have to replace the alternator at some point). I would buy it all over again. The rest of the costs have been spent on maintenance (new gas cap, proactive replacement of my mass air-flow sensor, and Ignition coils, and cabin air filter, all which I replaced myself). Just as a note, I actually got my parents to buy a XC90, a 2005 2.5T with 80K miles a little over a year ago. My parents love! It has been consistently reliable. Mine is Front Wheel Drive and theirs is All Wheel Drive. If you are on the market for a used XC90, I would suggest skipping the AWD versions all together unless you absolutely need AWD. It is another point of maintenance that can become expensive and my parents started experiencing issues with their AWD. This is typical and not a surprise. Their vehicle is still reliable despite that issue. I intentionally selected a FWD version to eliminate that point of maintenance and I am happy I did! Even after 13+ years, I still get people who are so surprised my Volvo is the age that it is. I attribute that to it being in such great condition (paint, interior, leather, etc). When I took my vehicle into my new mechanic for the first time for an oil change he said “Wow! Your car looks brand new underneath!” And then when he put it out on his lot waiting for me to pick it up, two people stopped by his shop asking if my XC90 was for sale. :-) since he also sells vehicles.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

xc90 work car

Richard Fryman, 03/21/2016
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
35 of 35 people found this review helpful

I bought it mostly for work and trips to Florida. So far a great car, plenty of get up and go. The spacious interior and driver conforts were just what I was looking for. Now I have put 60K miles on it, I still very much like this car. A few Maintenance issues that took i care of myself but most people would have taken to a shop.( Struts,brakes,timing Belt And Plugs\coil Packs) At 156000 And Take It On Long Trips Frequently. Very Reliable And A Pleasure To Drive. Does Very Well In Snow.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

not so sure about this car

Cleen, 10/12/2010
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used from the local Volvo dealer. With only 38,000kms on it & half the price of a new one it seemed like a no brainer. It also came with the entertainment package & third row seating. I want to love this car. I think it is the best looking SUV out there. It handles beautifully it's unassuming & overall a great family vehicle. But. I can't get over how loud the engine is, and how poorly it accelerates. Go up a slight incline it sounds like the transmission is slipping. Coming down a decline, it does the same thing and clunks into gear. It really bothers me. I keep thinking it has transmission problems. Also, at 2500 rpm it revs really loud! It's being traded in for an LR4.

Report Abuse

In love with my Volvo

Volvoluvr, 08/25/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

We purchased my Volvo used in 2007 and it had 36,000 miles on it. We had recently had our second child and loved the safety features and quality of this car. (Not to mention it is beautiful) It came with a few flaws, poor fuel consumption and rear doors that don't open wide enough in the back to get kids/groceries misc in and out. Third row is a joke really, no room for normal sized adults. Ok for children but hard to get them in and out. Overall this vehicle made me happy for 3 years and we never had any repairs other than scheduled maintenance. Just traded it in on a minivan due to our THIRD child arriving, but still missing my Volvo. I'll have another one again someday.

Report Abuse

Best Bang For The Buck

Steve, 01/26/2006
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Outstanding performance, ride and handling. Does not drive like an SUV at all. By far the best "SUV" I've ever driven. Extremely fast and agile for a 4600 pound car. The V8 sounds great and is also a work of engineering art. The fit and finish of the XC90 is about as good as it gets. Compared the XC90 to a BMW X5 which costs at least $10,000 more and the Volvo wins hands down. Plus, I'm a big guy, 6'4", 265 pounds and feel very comfortable in the car. I can't say that about many vehicles. For the price, sticker was about $50,000, it can't be beat.

Report Abuse

Not happy with my XC90's we have 2!!

spottvmom, 05/16/2011
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost 6 years. It's had a few minor annoying problems that were mostly covered under the warrenty until it hit 80K The warrenty is now up and it's been a royal pain. I have an AWD 6 cyl. turbo that has 90,000 miles on it. This is my 2nd Volvo and we currently own 2 XC90's so we have double the pain.... Issues have been the anti skid sensor- $700 plus to fix, burns through tires in about 30k miles with easy, gentle driving. New issue is my wheel bearings are shot. My husband has a 2005 what we just spent about $3,000 on new tie rods, new bearings, new e-brake, new oil pump, leaking in oil system and after all that his check engine light is on again!

Report Abuse

great car

Andrea speer, 05/01/2016
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

It's with a heavy heart that I pass my car on to my son who needs it in college. This is been a great car, very comfortable, reliable and it's held up well over 10 years and three kids. Only wish Volvo have not priced the new 2016 XC 90s so high. Had to move to Honda pilot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

The Best Family Midsize SUV

Chad Dimatulac, 05/30/2006
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

After having a new baby, my wife and I went looking for a better SUV with 3rd row seating. We had looked at Land Rover LR3 and Lexus GX470 but we settled with the Volvo XC90. Besides the excellent safety features of XC90 that my wife had strongly leaned-on, it had better gas mileage 17 city-23 hiway, smartly engineered 3rd row seating setup/folddown, middle seat booster conversion feature, premium sound, wider screen DVD (8.5in), ULEV-2 engine, and a luxurious ride. This is an all-weather and light off-roading vehicle with luxury that is more fitting to a family. The way this SUV is built - it's a best buy for a reasonable price. But then there really is no price for safety for your family.

Report Abuse

Owned for 4 years - love it

JimmB, 04/12/2016
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

We bought this vehicle at least 4 years ago. Love it. We'd get another one. I didn't rate it for maintenance cost as we really haven't ever had major maintenance issues beyond changing oil etc (we are just at 70K miles). At this point, we'd buy an updated version when this one wears out. The 2.5L Turbo engine has plenty of power for us.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

V8 loaded & love it!

Ski, 07/07/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
25 of 29 people found this review helpful

110k mi & still drives fantastic! Smooth, powerful, tight handling & fun to drive. Happy with whole drivetrain. Only problem so far was the "infotainment software bug," which was fixed with quick update @ dealer. DON'T get turbo model with "garbage" GM transmission. The V8's avg 1mpg gas penalty is worth every drop! '05+ Yamaha V8 model has better Aisan Warner 6-speed & nice AWD system. Did i mention the significant testicular fortitude?

Report Abuse

great used car value

pete, 12/22/2015
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I bought a '06 in 2013 and drove it 2 years before rear ending someone. The car fell apart as it should have but kept us all safe. It was a great road trip car being very comfortable and managed to hold camping gear for a family of four. Be ready to find an independent mechanic to fix some moderate to expensive repairs but this is a great car.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Would never ever recommend or purchase again!

lassiterlisa, 08/03/2011
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
36 of 44 people found this review helpful

Purchased a used 2006 Volvo XC90 AWD V8 a year ago, had 77K miles on it, but was in excellent condition and we thought very safe for our family. We didn't know it had a transmission that COULD NOT be repaired ONLY REPLACED. The Volvo dealership informed us that this particular transmission was not repairable. Unfortunately our warranty company wouldn't ok the replacement so we had to transfer the car to a transmission repair facility to try and rebuild it. They were able to get all the parts needed but 1 and Volvo wouldn't sell the 1 part that would fix our car. SO we had to purchase a USED transmission for $5,700.00 (new would have been $7,500).

Report Abuse

Shines in bad weather

Guillermo, 01/25/2010
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

All around solid vehicle. It's an Ocean Race Edition, but with the 5-cylinder engine (that's how it was packaged in Canada). You only need a V8 if you plan on towing. Drive it in and around Calgary, which gets a wide range of weather conditions. The AWD is particularly impressive in the rain and snow (winter tires are necessary for half the year, of course). Other than routine scheduled maintenance, have only had a couple of fixes (head light and wheel bearing) which were covered under warranty.

Report Abuse

Very Happy with my XC90

Holly , 01/31/2010
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used in Nov of 2008 and have had it for almost a year and a half. I have not had one problem with this car. I am very pleased with the performance. The gas mileage could be better but i knew that going in. The interior does not have enough space for all my stuff but I manage. I really love driving this car and feel very safe in it.

Report Abuse

Good Ride/Bad Mileage

Bob Scruggs, 09/27/2017
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
15 of 19 people found this review helpful

My 2006 xc90 is my fourth Volvo, all bought used. They have all been excellent cars. The gas mileage of the first three has been acceptable. I was not prepared for the disastrous mileage of my xc90. It has a T-5 engine (five cylinder). My average mileage is 12.5 miles per gallon. It is obvious to me that I cannot keep this car. The comfort, style, and performance are outstanding, but I can't afford the mileage. I have done everything to put the car in tip-top shape, even the sparkplugs which cost $25 each. The motor performs well, and is extremely smooth. My only hope is that the software can be updated to give me better mileage. And this is more of a wish than a hope. No, I didn't do 'due diligence' when I bought this car, because of the great experience of my prior Volvos. I know I'll lose money trading, but I'll lose more money keeping this particular car. My wife and I are up in the years, and this was to be our last car; but it will be, I hope, our next to lat car. I can't wait to trade. I can get a luxury car with better mileage. But I will inquire about the software which might help the mileage before trading. A sad story ....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

XC90 Ocean Race Edition

Bill, 10/05/2006
V8 Volvo Ocean Race Edition 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I replaced a BMW X3 with this car. As I wanted a little more room, I compared it to the 2006 BMW X5. The ORE is a better value. Hesitant about the V-8, but average mileage is 20.0 mpg in mixed driving. My 2.5L X3 averaged 22 mpg. I gave up 2 mpg for an extra 125 h.p., a smoother ride and more room -an excellent trade off. Excellent storage and cargo space. Very quiet ride.

Report Abuse

XC90 T6 AWD vs. XC90 V8 AWD

DENNIS, 03/15/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Purchased a 2003 XC90 T6 new. Traded it in for a XC90 V8 in 2006. Totally different vehicle. Engine powerful and quiet. No comparison with the T6. T6 noisy, rough running and a gas hog. V8 smooth as silk and much better MPG. Also, the T6 was a five passenger, the V8 a 7. The V8 rides much smoother because of the self leveling rear. All in all a world class vehicle with a top IIHS safety rating. You can spend a lot more money on an SUV and I don't think you can buy a much better vehicle. Dollar for dollar an excellent investment.

Report Abuse

It's OK

Toddow, 07/29/2009
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've decided to write an objective review. I've had the opportunity to own numerous cars/truck/suv's in my lifetime. The XC-90 first of all is an outstanding ride. I drove it all the way from Arizona to Alabama and have driven it on short trips as well. It's a great "in-town" SUV and the saftey features make you feel very secure while driving it. The interior is sub-par, and most items feel flimsy. The center console "creaks" whenever you touch it and the dials are a little childish looking. But, with that the ride is awesome and the service (only every 7500 miles) lets you know you're driving a Volvo.

Report Abuse

nice suv

vince, 11/30/2010
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought this car Aug.2009 and 98,000kms but still good condition,I drove from calgary to winnipeg, and its fun to drive,it's only 2.5 cylynder but good in the highway,I love it...

Report Abuse

First Volvo

Flyingman, 08/07/2006
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was close to buying a VW Touareg before I test drove the Volvo. I found the volvo to have excellent power in the 2.5T, better mileage, and more space. I prefer the boxier look over the bubble look that is currently so popular. Only have a few 100 miles, but am really impressed with handling, especially on Hwy. Mileage is mostly city, so in the lower mid teens, but on hwy it was very close to advertised, 22-23mpg. It does not have any cheesy extras you really don't need, very practical. A bit sluggish at parking lot speed but if you punch it front tires will screach out without hesitation. I'll follow up in a few months but for now I'm very pleased overall with this purchase.

Report Abuse

Volvo converted me to BMW

Robert Stuart, 09/14/2015
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
29 of 45 people found this review helpful

Over 1/2 the cars we've owned have been Volvo...This one will change that. This has had constant noise in the form of clunks, squeals and rattles. There is always an error light or message on and we've spent a small fortune on parts. I'm a certified ASE mechanic and do all my own work but this has been a challenge. New rack and pinion, new exhaust, new struts, new springs, new tie rod ends, new radiator, new pulleys and new tires every 15K. This thing cant keep tires or brakes! The gas mileage is great, the power wonderful but everything else failed. The stereo is substandard and no one will touch it for aftermarket because of Volvos proprietary computers. The mirror trim has fallen off, the light dimmer/turn signal indicator fell off, windows get stuck. In short, this has left my wife stranded more then any vehicle she's owned. Tried to talk with dealership about issues but they create even more...worst dealer we've ever worked with. Tried to talk with Volvo and they didn't care. You can get a lemon but when the dealer and the manufacture wont help and in fact, exasperate the situation, it tells you it's time to move on. We're shopping for two new vehicles and wouldn't consider owning another Volvo. We actually bought a 2012 BMW X3. It's the best vehicle I've ever owned. Customer support is off the charts compared to Volvo and the vehicle arnt even in the same league! I'm angry at myself for waiting so long to get rid of Volvo...you really can enjoy your SUV

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The most awesome SUV

Jan-Michael, 07/13/2005
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

The Volvo XC90 V8 is a suv with a very good performance, and to drive it almost feels like a volvo V70 or a similar car. The brakes are really effective, and the seats are really comfortable, but a sunroof would be perfect above the third-row seats. The XC90 has a huge cargoarea if you fold down the third-row seats, it's the same size as in the Excursion, or even bigger. The XC90 is the best SUV I've ever driven. It has awesome performance, good cargoarea, Superb Audio-system, awesome quality, quick'n'easy removeable tow- hook. The materials in the car is very well chosen, everything feels "well done", nothing feels cheap or plastic.

Report Abuse

2006 Volvo XC90 AWD V8 4dr SUV (ocean)

socaltess, 06/18/2008
V8 Volvo Ocean Race Edition 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Got this car for thousands off because I bought it in 2007 when it was a 2006 model, but it was new. Very happy with the looks outside and inside. After a 5 months I had some problems, some anti-skid message that kept coming up, they said it was a computer problem but it happened twice. Possibly due to extremely horrible speed bumps where I live the car began making weird clicks when the gas/brakes were pressed; brake pads, alignment, sub-frame, etc all needed work. Right window makes whistling noise. DVD system headphones sound fuzzy sometimes. Very fast for an SUV, and I always feel safe.

Report Abuse

Performs quite well

Tony, 12/07/2009
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought ours as a certified pre-owned vehicle and have had no problems what so ever since purchase. Overall the fit and finish of the XC90 is very good and reliability is excellent.The 2.5T is not a powerhouse of an engine, but on the highway and around town its adequate. It's a good,safe family car.

Report Abuse

Love it so far!

Celeste, 05/28/2010
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this car about 6 weeks ago & I really love it. It fits my kids' two car seats easily & will fit a third - all in the second row. I've read that it doesn't have that great of pick up when you accelerate, but I haven't found that to be the case at all. Drives great, love the sunroof, really love that the backseat has a/c vents for the kids! It is without a doubt the best car I've ever driven (have previously owned Chevys & an Acura).

Report Abuse

I love this Vehicle

Liz Lerch, 09/14/2005
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle. It is very well engineered. The third row seat is so easy to use and the kids love it back there. The car feels solid and safe. It holds the road beautifully and is quiet inside. I feel encapsulated in quality and luxury when I drive it. The stereo sounds great and is easy to use as are the temp controls. I drove a lot of other cars before choosing this one and none of them came close to the quality of the XC90.

Report Abuse

Glad I bought it

San Diego Guy, 09/22/2005
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my XC90...the car is well designed and has been solid as a rock so far. Buying experience was the easiest I've ever had and the car has lived up to its billing by Volvo. Only flaws so far has been the headlight washers which just squirt onto the hood (had the dealer disconnect) and the Homelink system had to be replaced, but Volvo took care of both. Mileage could be better, but I'm getting about 18.5 mpg combined driving so not too bad. Get one if you want a well built, comfortable, and fun SUV to drive!

Report Abuse

Excellent midsize

frank, 12/28/2005
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The child locks is an on and off buttom which is a pain with an older and younger kids, need individual door locks. Interior kinda cramped on long trips. huge Key. Need hatch opening button on key.

Report Abuse

v8 volvo SUV

Robin, 07/21/2006
V8 Volvo Ocean Race Edition 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

solid, safe and with surprising performance. did 20.6 mpg on an interstate trip of 800 miles [doing a steady 80].

Report Abuse

Great riding SUV

wricke, 04/15/2006
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This SUV rides like a sedan. The Yamaha V8 gives it plenty of power. I can't say enough good things about it. The roomy interior has a clean, elegant look to it and the stereo is excellent and powerful. Considering the projected resale value (best in class) You should not hesitate to buy one.

Report Abuse

You get what you pay for

Corby, 11/21/2006
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had my XC90 for just over a year now. It's the best vehicle I've ever owned but has some small drawbacks that I can overlook. The driver seat is already starting to feel as if it is wearing on the outer bolster. Overall it handles great for its size and does better than great on the autobahn in Germany at speed. The 6-speed tip-tronic changes are somewhat slushy during gear changes. I still compare it to the Touareg and LR3 that my co-workers have and I find it to be a better vehicle than theirs. Some of the options could come down in price. Over $3k for navigation is too much. I bought an aftermarket system for less than $600. But you pay quality money for a quality SUV.

Report Abuse

volvo

Lisa, 12/22/2006
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car for the family! I have had Mercedes, Navigator, multiple explorers... Great car- don't like the gas mileage even on the 5 cyl. and was really surprised at how poorly even with Traction Control the car was in the snow.

Report Abuse

Is it worth the money?

Cindy, 03/22/2007
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I also own this vehicle because of its safety reputation. And of course my children's safety is priceless. However, I've also driven the Honda Pilot and with its amenities, reliability, and 3rd row airbags, can the volvo really be worth over $10K more? If I could do it over I would have bought a Honda Pilot.

Report Abuse

So far, so good

amy, 09/07/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had my '06 for 16 months now but before that had an 05. Just test drove an ML 350 from Mercedes and I must say I prefer my Volvo. Granted the ML had a few features that were nice but overall, my Volvo had much more comfortable seats and more features for the price, i.e. dvd system, memory driver's seat, etc. I also have much more cargo area in my Volvo and because it's a bigger car I have more legroom and just feel safer. Close the doors on the Mercedes and do the same with the Volvo and you'll know the difference. My only gripe so far with the Volvo is the cheaply made stereo speaker units in the front corners. Should be better for a 50K+ vehicle.

Report Abuse

my 2nd xc90

Derrick, 12/13/2007
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is our second xc90, we loved our 2004, but we wanted the rear entertainment package, so we traded for a 2006 with everthing. After looking at some other SUVs recently due to co-workers buying new ones I wouldn't trade mine for anything else I've seen out yet.

Report Abuse

Excellent 2006 Volvo XC90 still on road 14 years

Muthu, 03/18/2019
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent! I bought 2006 Volvo XC90 2.5TFWD on October 2005, it is a 2006 model, since than for the last 13 years it is still in good condition. It has 120K miles still gives great mileage City 18 miles Highway 24 miles on regular gas. Dealer told me this car can be driven another 100K miles. Dealer has very good support.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving my XC90

Marietta B, 06/10/2020
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought our Volvo in 2005 Brand New 2006 model. It has been 15 years with 218,000 miles. I love love this car. The only major expense was replacing the timing belt @120,000 and airflow sensor. I bought another car in the interim while saving for another XC90 and asked my son which car he wanted for his wife and new infant, he have a choice between our Honda Pilot and the XC90...He chose the XC90. So, I am confident that he will at least be safe and comfortable. Just FYI I Only have to change oil once a year and the insurance is always between $600-$790 per year.

Report Abuse

Not Exaggerating, Run Far, Run Fast

Heather Mullins, 10/04/2009
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This was a 40th birthday present..worst $$ ever spent. fuel pump went out first yr. stranded in the middle of nowhere literally..3 recalls, middle console makes noise, front end steering makes popping noise (took many trips to fix) grinding noise in reverse, many trips to figure this out, side window leaks, OEM tires terrible, brakes replaced every 25,000 miles, power steering pump went out, now the car is not wanting to go in reverse and the key mechanism has problems, fuel door latch broke ($350 to fix) we are now cutting our losses and trading it for a GMC SLT Yukon, only 58,000 miles on this money pit!! Spend your $42K elsewhere!!

Report Abuse

Excellent car

Wally, 07/30/2007
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

An excellent car, firm ride. You have the feeling of being in a safe car. Goes through snow with ease. Very good handling. I recommend this car to anyone who wants a safe car. Gas mileage is a bit off and the gas tank is relatively small for a car of this size.

Report Abuse

DON'T buy a Volvo

teddym, 04/03/2012
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
41 of 81 people found this review helpful

My XC-90 is horrible, front to back. Friends don’t let friends buy volvo’s. Treatment from the volvo dealerships in Houston is horrible, unless you are super rich, they will certainly hook you up, otherwise, bring your checkbook. You pay out the nose to own a volvo. My xc-90? 3 sets of wheel bearings burned out, the rear end went out, the fuel pump has already been replaced, the CURRENT check engine light issue will cost me $1,000, just put $1,500 into it to get the steering column to work again, the Houston dealership seriously jacked me over. you HAVE to take it to the dealership. They know they've got you by the throat. OBTW, my windshield leaks. Headlights fogged from inside. $500 each

Report Abuse

2006 2.5T AWD XC90

Andy, 07/28/2010
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

Great use of space. Either 7 people or lots of cargo space. I live in Colorado and the turbo provides excellent power for high altitude driving. Had some friends compare a Lexus rx with an xc90 on I-70 in the high winds (40-50 mph and gusty) that we sometimes have on the front range, and they said the xc90 was vastly superior. Don't know about the Lexus but my xc90 handles these winds like no other car I've ever driven.

Report Abuse

Bad Bad SUV. Frustrated

Me, 10/04/2006
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Volvo XC90 V8 due to the safety and convenience features. I have nothing but problems with the SUV. It stalls and is a hazard. Upon checking the internet, there are many purchasers that have had problems with the Volvo XC90. Next time I will stick to Toyota/Lexus. This Volvo is a headache. By the way, this is supposed to be my wife's SUV. She is 7 months pregnant. She will not be driving this vehicle! Another issue is the towing capacity. It is rated at 5000 pounds. This is with the driver only. Any passengers and cargo decreases this capacity rapidly. Also, it requires a transmission cooler and brake controller. The dealers won't install them.

Report Abuse

Great vehicle 2.5T has plenty of power

mj10990, 01/04/2006
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

All around terrific vehicle and terrific value compared to other luxury SUVs. Comfort, safety, beauty, performance are all outstanding! The 2.5T is more than enough power. The V8 is overkill-I drive over two ski slopes to get home and have never felt a lack of power. We narrowed it Between the Acura MDX and the Volvo. We got a better deal on an 06 Volvo than on a 05 MDX. Better looks, better gas mileage, better comfort and Acura has horrible dealers. AND we love Volvo's politics (the $500 donation to HRC was great)! Finally-18-20mpg is outstanding for a 4500lb vehicle!!!! For comparison, Reviews say The MDX is getting 13-17! XC90 is averaging 18-20!

Report Abuse

Safest SUV on the road

Dave and Angela, 10/14/2005
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We picked up our XC-90 in Gothenberg, Sweden in June 05. What a fabulous experience. The factory delivery program is just one of the best!! We toured Sweden for 8 days in great comfort before flying elsewhere and shipping this car home. Our trip was very memorable, had a lot of fun driving this spacious SUV around the country, putting 1000 miles on it. It has great pick up, very stable feel and we just love it!! This is our 5th Volvo, 3rd new one, all still running. Two are now owned by another family member. 3 of them have over 200K miles and running great. We have had no repair problems whatsoever with this car.

Report Abuse

Solid as a rock

Brady, 11/09/2008
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We've had the XC90 since Dec. 05 and have only performed scheduled maintenance. Comfort, safety, and reliability have been excellent.

Report Abuse

Perfect Family Car

Alex, 02/17/2009
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this Volvo one summer and have been loving it ever since. The car is very spacious and is very kid proof. If you have small children it is great because its got a built in booster seat and moves forward so the parts and reach the child easier. The XC90 5 Cylinder can be slow at times but when you step on it, it goes and handles very well. The rides very smooth and for the price comes with so many options. You can pay 10000 more for a BMW X5 with all the same features but not the same safety.

Report Abuse

owner

Sandra Nicholson, 07/25/2005
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is everything I expected. It handles great, has a luxury interior and a updated exterior design. The only complaint that I have is that the vehicle accelerates a bit slower that I would prefer. This is due to the weight of the vehicle. The weight of the vehicle is what offers safety. To sum it up, I would rather be safe thant accelerate quickly.

Report Abuse

Happy Mom of 3 Boys!

Ray Clay, 08/16/2005
2.5T 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wonderful and easy handling. I purchased because I wanted a safe family vehicle. I received luxury and performance on top of safety.

Report Abuse

Best Suv I Have Owned or Driven!

Scott Prichard, 09/25/2005
V8 4dr SUV AWD (4.4L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I ordered the XC90 V8 about three months ago and just received it about three days ago. I was fortunate enough to get a loaner V8 by the dealer until mine arrived. I don't have anything bad to say about it and it is a pleasure to drive. Incredibly great handling and a very solid feel. We drove just about every luxury SUV and it was really a very easy decision for us. The rear seat entertainment is the best on the market as far as we are concerned; much better than the "drop down" systems. Excellent car choice, especially with people with small kids!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050