Used 2013 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,995 - $15,000

Used Passat for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

First VW, first diesel = Don't know why I waited!

sheepleking, 01/28/2013
52 of 53 people found this review helpful

Traded in a 2011 Rav4 Limited because the fit and finish (i.e. squeaks, rattles, road/wind noise) were terrible. I looked at countless vehicles and finally looked at the Passat. Once I read everything I could, scoured the reviews for any negatives (there weren't any) and convinced my wife that diesels aren't what they used to be, I took one for an extended test drive and was hooked. Fantastic fit and finish, little or no wind noise at highway speeds (75 to 80), solid "thunks" when the doors are closed and no odd noises from the cabin. Overall - Very happy and look forward to years of quiet, 40+ mpg drives. I'll post follow-up's every few months (as comments) for anyone interested.

Report Abuse

Compares with cars that cost $10K more!

65dodgers, 10/29/2013
V6 SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6AM)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

**UPDATE** This is an update to my original review posted below. Now that I have owned the car 2 1/2 years I can offer a "post-honeymoon" perspective. Overall I have to say that I am VERY satisfied with this car. I have driven it hard in L.A. traffic everyday for over 2+ years and it is holding up well. Unless you have driven in this type of traffic you cannot appreciate how this can wear down a car. The V-6 has plenty of power when I need to pass and the wide wheel base makes for a comfortable ride. Having said this, there have been some issues along the way that were all covered by the warranty but I felt I should still mention them. I should also mention that I bought the car with 8K miles as a VW Certified Pre-Owned which extended the warranty up to 60,000 miles. 1. 18K Miles, Fuel Door Stuck - For some reason the fuel door would not unlock and I could not put gas in the car. VW roadside assistance towed the car to the dealer and provided a loaner while this was being fixed. 2. 56K Miles, Fuel Sensor - This caused the check engine light to come on and was affecting the car's acceleration. VW repaired it and provided a loaner car while it was being fixed. 3. 58K Miles, Nav/Entertainment System Replaced - The Nav system would sometimes shutoff and reboot itself for no reason. This was an ongoing problem that I complained about multiple times at the dealership. They could not duplicate the problem and thought a software update would solve it but it did not. I was able to video this happening once and took the car to a different dealer. After seeing the video, they immediately diagnosed it as a hard drive problem and replaced the entire unit. I have had no problems with it since then. The only issue that some people may not like is the system does not read your text messages in the 2013 and 2014 models. I thought this was odd since it does everything else but I don't really miss it, and it was corrected on the 2015 model. Overall I am still very satisfied with the car and will probably give it to my son when he gets his license next year. **ORIGINAL REVIEW** I just bought a top of the line V-6 SEL Premium and I am loving it. I was looking for a luxury sedan with reasonable gas mileage and had driven almost everything under $45K. I was prepared to get the Cadillac ATS 2.0T Luxury with an MSRP of about $44K. I leased a new Passat for my wife back in '02 and remembered it was a reliable car so I thought I would stop at the VW dealer on my way to get the Cadillac. Needless to say I never made it to the Caddy dealer. This car blew me away with it's price and performance. The ride and interior space is comparable to the Mercedes E350 or Acura RL. For less than the price of a base model Cadillac ATS, I was able to get a fully loaded Passat V-6 SEL.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Seriously Consider this Gem of A Sedan

iceref91, 02/04/2013
33 of 34 people found this review helpful

I am extremely thorough in my research and very picky when it comes to the car I want. I am a college student; however travel 25,000-30,000 a year for my job as an Ice hockey referee; I travel the midwest and east coast. This car thus far is awesome on road trips. Quiet, smooth, powerful tdi engine. 3 driving modes make this awesome to drive, while I am getting 43 mpg highway and 30 mpg city (not babying it @75 on the highway). I did replace the awful hankook tires with Continental extreme contact dws. The build design is great and you can tell the high quality, just watch for the rattles in which the dealer quickly fixed. If you want a fun to drive sedan with awesome mpg get this!

Report Abuse

I booted my Audi A*L for this car!! I AM IN LOVE

trdking, 03/31/2013
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

I test drove the gauntlet looking for a replacement for my A8L looking for something that was sporty, smooth, comfortable, and would give me a more green environmental look. Face it the A8L is a gas pig at 18mpg and It did not fit with my new business model. GO GREEN. I drove the Prius, Leaf, Volt Eh not so much. I mean they are green but they just all feel tight like a smart car with a different flare. I did drive the Jetta Hybrid turbo gas electric and I really liked it! but too small felt like a sardine in a can. I am 6feet 250lbs. The Passat TDI SEL is a perfect car for someone who is used to driving a luxury car that wants to just do better things for the environment.

Report Abuse

They almost knocked it out of the park

CN, 08/23/2015
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

This the fourth diesel we've owned (2nd VW) and they just keep getting better. We bought this car after comparing it to the Honda Accord and Subaru Legacy. It, by far, was the most refined, quietest, smoothest, and most composed of the three. Surprisingly (to us) the Honda was a distant last. After 42,000 miles over 2 years, the car has been flawless. Mileage is consistently between 42 and 44 over a tank with 60% hwy / 40% city split. Open highway runs are typically in the mid to upper 40s. I've seen as high as 52 mpg. The DSG transmission is the mark by which ALL other transmissions should be compared with respect to smoothness of operation. I have never driven a car with a smoother shifting transmission than this one. Even when one watches the shifts, they cannot be felt; utterly imperceptible. It has the most room of any mid-size car, especially in the back seat. It handles well, and ergonomics, while not perfect, are very good. The diesel engine does take getting used to. One of my sons says it's "touchy". It's not, really; just behaves differently than most other cars. Pulling power is quite good thanks to the abundance of torque, though with only 140 hp one isn't going to win any stoplight races. Then again, that's not why one would buy this car in the first place. My quibbles with the car boil down to three items. First, the ride, while composed, can become somewhat harsh. The 50 series tires certainly don't help, but softening the ride slightly would make a big difference in my book. Second, some of the interior parts are on the cheap side. Not as bad as the crap Toyota uses, but they could be better, or at least made to "feel" better. Last, and by far the worst issue, is the infotainment system. It is unquestionably the absolute worst excuse for such a system ever put in a vehicle. While the radio sounds great, and the nav system is quite good, the system is so pathetically slow to respond to input it is maddening. Taking my time, I can back out of a parking spot and drive off before the back-up camera ever turns on. I can literally count the seconds it takes between pushing a button and the system taking action. I could go on about how bad it is, but I digress... Overall, the car had been outstanding. More reliable than a Honda we recently replaced, it has continued to be exactly what we needed. Update - We now have a bit over 52,000 miles on the clock. The car has remained trouble-free. The fuel economy of 41-43 mpg (average over a fill-up) is unchanged. We expect to put at least 100,000 miles on the car before replacing it. Of course, with the emissions debacle (grossly overblown in our opinion) in full swing, we really couldn't doing anything if we wanted to (which we don't) until whatever solution the eco-Nazis force on us is implemented. On the bright side of that issue, though, VW's Goodwill Package has effectively provided us with free maintenance for the next two years, and that will be about the time we would look at replacing it anyway. That makes this the least expensive car to operate we have ever owned. Update 2 - We had to stop driving the car about two months ago. Not because of anything wrong with it (it still runs perfectly), but because of the diesel settlement structure. We will be selling the car back to VW. It has a little shy of 59,000 miles on the clock, which is just below the threshold for a mileage deduction of the buyback price. While we won't recoup our full purchase price, we will be getting back a heck of a lot more than we could ever think of getting by selling it on the open market. it's too bad because it's a really good car despite some of its aggravating shortcomings (e.g. the lousy infotainment system).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Extremely happy with my purchase

cocomicas, 11/21/2012
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

After reading many reviews and talking to mechanics, I decided to go with the Passat TDI. I started looking at the Jetta, but certain aspects with the Jetta I wasn't impressed with such as the single torson bar for the rear suspension. The Passat is just better built, plus it's built in TN. After looking at the different models and price, I decided to go with the SEL. This thing is loaded. I have taken it on a 1200 mile trip, averaged 43mpg @70mph avg. Only problem was a rip in the door panel. Dealer fixed it promptly. I only miss two options: HID's and heated steering wheel.

Report Abuse

Bought for MPG - Love for the Great Quality

countrydrive, 03/01/2013
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

This is our first diesel car - and we love it! We were pleasantly surprised at the acceleration - at least as good as all of our previous cars. On our first tank we averaged 44.8 mpg about (80/20 highway/city) The ride is firm. The car absolutely hugs the road on turns. No rattles The SEL Premium has electronic seat adjustments and lumbar support on the driver's and passenger side - which is really nice. One caution - new in 2013 is the refueling guard. There is a flap over the gas tank which can only be opened with the correct size diesel car nozzle. Check inside the nozzle for a small bar. Of course the first time we tried to refill we were at a station with "truck" size nozzles.

Report Abuse

First VW ever

als64, 12/16/2012
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

My wife and I bought a 2013 Passat a few week ago and we love everything about it. We just switched from a 2004 Camry ( Great Car) but not as much fun to drive. We are long time Toyota fans but we feld this car had alot more to offer. We love this car (so far).

Report Abuse

Excellent car

brian_h, 11/08/2012
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Good Fuel economy and roomy interior. Navigation, backup camera and onboard computer processor is too slow. I have had my eyes on this car for several years even before it was redesigned. Went with the 2013 Passat TDI SEL Premium mostly because it was the newest but also because it has the backup camera which was added safety for a home with small children. Unfortunately this is also the biggest disappointment as the processor in this car is so slow that I can start the car, put it in reverse, back out of the driveway and be headed forward down the street before the camera ever turns on to show me the street I am leaving behind. As a consequence this is Not a Reliable Safety Feature.

Report Abuse

VW still has quality issues

jld2, 01/09/2014
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

A new billion dollar factory and still quality issues. My fuel door fell off in my hand! And to add insult to injury they told me that I had to pay to fix it because it was an "external influence!" And when I inquired as to what the external influence was the customer service representative replied, "Cold weather!" So I have to pay $300.00 to replace my fuel filter door because it got cold in Pennsylvania! VW got the engine right. Great mileage, quiet operation, starts quickly in cold weather. The DSG is responsive but expensive, it costs over $300.00 every 40,000 miles to service. Too bad their lousy attention to details like designing a fuel door that will won't fall off.

Report Abuse

new to me cpo passat 2.5 s

tunisjs, 06/20/2014
S 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

i traded my cpo benz glk for a passat s. i wanted german driving at lower cost. i found it. i tested automatics jetta and passat, 2.5, 1.8 and diesel. the 1.8 really livens up the jetta, passat not so much. diesel with dsg is sluggish in town and costly at 40k service. i was most pleasantly surprised by the passat 2.5. not alot of driving difference with passat 1.8, $4k cheaper (both cpo), 2.5 online reputation is bullet proof while 1.8 is too new, i prefer cloth to fake leather seats. my 2.5 gave me 27mpg suburban dc area and 38mpg i95 and i64 dc to va bch, at or just above speed limits, hand calculated, almost unbelievable. my advice: try the passat in 2.5, great cpo deals now. update jun 2016. two years later, now 42,000 mostly highway miles, 25/36mpg. no mechanical issues except for one flat tire. 40k service at dealer was most expensive so far but only $170. cpo warranty still active and cannot find any reason to trade in my 2013. only complaint is poor visibility when reversing, but 2016 passat has a backup camera. very happy with it. would i get another passat? why not, except i dont really need such a big car, jetta is more tossable.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very balanced car

burbach, 04/11/2013
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Very balanced, with excellent mileage for a larger gas powered car. (I confess to being hooked on the computer's fuel consumption feature, short of being a hyper miler. Best on my 30+ mile commute on country roads has been 34.7 mpg.) The 5 speed is well matched - the engine turns at 2000 rpm at 60 mph. Very quiet at 80 mph, with 30+ mpg even at that speed. Nice radio, simple to use.

Report Abuse

Best Car I have ever owned

nfarb, 11/27/2012
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is a spacious, perhaps bit too large, wonderful to drive cruising car. The mpg is remarkable given it size, and the 6 speed is smooth and fun, fuel efficient and serves to keep me alert and paying attention to driving. I owned a 2011 TDi sport wagon and loved it but thought because i often drive long distances I would enjoy a bit bigger car. This 111 wheelbase is maybe a touch more that I wanted but I get out of it after 500 miles and feel great and not cramped like i would at the end of a long ride in a smaller car. I am 6' and 70+ years old

Report Abuse

New Passat TDI

conehead55, 07/25/2013
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I picked up my Passat TDI 6-speed manual a couple days ago from a dealer in Phoenix. Drove it home to Los Angeles. That's 390 miles. When I got home, the "Remaining Range" on the tank showed 510 miles! Normally you associate 45-50 mpg with an econobox, or a hybrid. Not so here. This is a large, comfortable car. Yeah, there is a bit more noise at idle, which disappears when you rev it a bit. On the road, almost impossible to tell from gasoline power. Engine has plenty of torque, and cruises effortlessly at speed. If you remember the noise, vibration and smokey diesels of the 1970s and 1980s, they've come a long way since then.

Report Abuse

Updated: 1rst VW: Extremely Roomy, Insane MPG

wilsonbrown, 09/22/2013
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car has as much room as an Audi A8 and the MPG of a much smaller car. Getting on average 42mpg. On highway, can get 56mpg on long trips. Although still getting average of 40mpg and it's roomy; acceleration is very poor, technology is awful (3min before system can be used, back up camera doesn't come on for same 3min), and the update to fix the fraudulent emissions is going to make it worse. Getting crushed on resale value...stuck in it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buy this car!

23hammer, 10/11/2012
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car to be my daily drive on my 100 mile daily commute. Running at 70 mph, I can get over 50 MPG in this car all day long! The car is amazingly quiet, comfortable, and nimble. I am enjoying the 6 speed manual immensley. The low end power provided by the diesel is amazing and really fun to drive (which was not expected in a diesel) The car feels like a much more expensive car on the road and you could litteraly hear a pin drop at 70 mph. The build quality is wonderful and best of all the car is built right here in the USA! Way to go VW, I hope many more people put this one on thier list!

Report Abuse

Wonderful car for DIYers

Adam, 08/11/2016
TDI SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Passat TDI is an amazing car that returns excellent fuel economy with PLENTY of smiles per gallon to go with it. That is, if you're willing to due your due diligence to take care of it. Use only VW 507.00 approved oil, do your 40k DSG services (YOURSELF to save a lot of money) and don't drive like an idiot. Also, a lot of people neglect the DSG transmission on the TDI and never do the 40k service intervals. If you are willing to 1. Do you own oil changed to be ABSOLUTELY SURE that VW 507.00 oil goes into the car, 2. Do your own DSG service (plenty of guides telling you how to do it, and in idparts.com you can get a complete kit for $130) every 40 (I've done it and it's not all that bad), 3. protect your turbo by not running the car super hard right before shutting it off, then this car is an absolute joy to drive. I don't know why other cars have had turbo failures, but a lot of it could do with the engine oil being used and the way it is driven. If you drive a turbocharged car hard and shut it off not long after that, the engine oil in the turbo will "burn" because of how hot the turbo gets when driven hard. The way to avoid this is to drive the car normally/gently for the last few minutes before shutting it off to allow the circulating oil to cool the turbo to a safe temperature. Anyway, it could be something totally different. All I know is, my car has had NO failures whatsoever in it's history, and even though the 40k DSG service was not completed by the previous owner, the car shifted really smooth when I bought it. After doing a DSG service myself soon after the purchase, the shifting improved even further to a buttery smoothness that you don't even notice unless you're looking at the RPM cluster. On long trips I average 45mpg, but my overall average since buying the car is 41mpg.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Well Designed

daddde, 12/03/2013
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I just purchased the gas model Passat 2.5 SE and have been very delighted with the car. highway mileage has ranged from 36.5 to 39.7 based on travel. Trunk storage is amazing. The seating is comfortable and extremely roomy. I do agree that the stock tires are a bit noisy, but that has nothing to do with the high quality of the car and i would highly recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

Worthy of JB Power awards

joethegut1, 12/23/2012
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Traded in my Acura TL for this, needed more interior room but still something 'fun' to drive and good mileage. Decided for the TDI, dealer's offer was too good to pass up ($24,800). Very pleased, highway mileage is consistently 50+, quiet cabin, and sport mode really pushes the car when I need it. Ergonomics are great, seats aren't deep buckets but still firm and supportive. Back seat is HUGE, both width and depth, easily fit 3 adults comfortably or two car seats. Trunk is equally massive, fits all my stuff for work plus a full size 2 child stroller. Also knowing my maintenance is covered for the next 3 years is great peace of mind.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR WITH SUPER GAS MILEAGE

scottlaurad, 10/19/2012
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I already own a 2005 Passat TDI that I bought new and passed it along to my son 4 years back. The '05 Passat is now 8 years old and runs great with a consistant 40+mpg which is great for a college kid. Also, I paid $21,500 new in '05 and the value today is $11,000. The TDI holds it's value which was another good reason to buy this car. In the three weeks I have owned the car we have been getting 42 mpg and had reached over 51 mpg on a 40 min. highway drive each way. One of the best features is how much room they managed to get in side the car and trunk. The stereo, gps, remote start and comfortable seating is amazing. Drive one for yourself and you will see the difference.

Report Abuse

2013 Owner manual Errors

mikewlv, 06/15/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I am disappointed in Volkswagens Customer Service and Support. One of the features that was important to me was the Rear Backup Assist and Park Distance Sound Alert. During my demo I was shown the operation of the rear camera, the salesman walked in back of the vehicle. The camera worked camera, but no sound alert. When I asked, I was told it probably needed to be turned on in the setup menu. I check the manual at home and on page 217 it does show a picture of a sound on/off soft key. When I call WV they to told me it is not available, even through it is listed as available on their web-site.

Report Abuse

Solid, Reliable Family & Commuter Car

popperoni2, 01/14/2014
TDI SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2013 Passat SE-TDI new in April 2013. I've put 60,000 miles on it since then. My daily commute is 35 mostly highway miles. We've taken the car on a variety of week-long road trips (from D.C. area) -- to family, to the mountains, to the beach, and everywhere in between. I still average 37 mpg per tank in mixed highway/local driving. On long road trips, with primarily highway driving, I average in the mid-40's mpg on a tank of gas. It's an excellent cruising car, although the seats are a bit hard. I haven't noticed the road noise problems others talk about. Haven't had a single mechanical problem since I bought it. To me, the design is attractive inside and out. I don't know how the problem with the diesel emissions control computer program will affect its resale value. However, I plan to drive the car until I retire (five years down the road), so this isn't a major concern for me. I highly recommend this car.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

my 4th TDI...LOVE IT.

chimayred, 04/27/2014
TDI SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

i'm not a gear head but i like cars. I've owned a Lexus LX470, 330, AUdi TT, Dodge Stealth, Dodge Durango, Mitsubishi Eclipse, Mercedes C260, couple of Jeep Grand Cherokees, 2 Jetta TDI's and a 2006 Passat TDI. I absolutely love it. Drives great, use it without snow tires in Maine winter, drive 35000 miles a year, getting 49mpg highway regularly, looks great, great fit and finish, great sound system. I've already put 70,000 miles on it (65,000 miles on original equipment Continental all seasons). I drove this entire horrible Maine winter with those tires and 50,000 miles on them. This is easily better built than my wife's Mercede's C 260 (so much so that she wants one). Well now I have 120,000 miles. Never failed. Best car I've ever owned. Drives great. Never needs snow tires. 50+ mpg on highway. I still trust VW more than I trust the EPA. Super solid. Rented an Altima recently. It's a tin can compared to Passat. Downsides? Expensive service if you put 30,000 miles a year on it. Mediocre warranty. Looked at bmw 5 series recently and diesel Audis. Decided to stick with VW. It is now 2017 and I traded to be at VW Pasada under the repurchase program and use the money to buy a preowned BMW 328D great car, sportier, but a little rougher and noisier. Especially at highway speed’s. However it’s a $49,000 car that I got for 29 and 15 of that it was paid for by the repurchase program from BW. If it was between the $28,000 per passat TDI and a brand new 49,000 BMW I’d buy two VW’s and laugh all the way to the bank. I hope they bring back the tdi

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Passat TDI

jh61, 01/24/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Purchased the car about 2 months ago. Continue to enjoy this very efficient VW. With 80% highway driving, mpg is consistently in the range of 47-52mpg. Interior has loads of room.

Report Abuse

2013 Passat TDI SE with sunroof

simul8guy, 10/31/2012
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Only owned the car a bit over a week at this point but so far I love it. While there is a little bit of 'diesel clatter' from the negine on takeoff, at cruising speeds you'd never know you have a diesel under the hood. Many would consider the styling a bit blah but I think it's very clean looking and will wear well over time. It looks alot like the previous generation Audi A6. This car is one of the best 'bangs for the buck' out there and you should seriously consider it if you're shopping for a mid-size sedan.

Report Abuse

Full size car with small car fuel compuption

thedude12, 07/13/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

We opted for the TDI SE with the sunroof and DSG. The DSG transmission is a must, one hand holding the coffee and no worries about shifting. Also the DSG is quicker in acceleration, the 6 speed manual have to tall gears and have a tendency to stall. The interior is very roomy, specially the rear seats, I have friends 6'3" tall seating in the back fitting comfortably. The fuel compsuption is simply ridiculous, I went from Tucson to San Diego with a a little over half tank(420Miles), I average 43.8mpg with the A/C and the cruise set at 83 MPH. The interior is very well made and the ride is very quiet. It does 85mph@2500 rpm. We are filling every 3 plus weeks. Free maintenance for 3 years.

Report Abuse

2013 TDI First Drive

emarsh7, 07/18/2013
20 of 24 people found this review helpful

I just picked up a new 2013 TDI Passat with the automatic. Here's my impression after the first few hundred miles. I discovered motor sports in the late 1960s. Back in the day I was a drag racing fan and lover of Detroit muscle. Budget constraints got me into riding and racing motorcycles and that changed my priorities for a car. I get my performance rush from bikes and airplanes. Cars have a different mission, one that requires reasonable power, solid handing and enough comfort to drive for hours. My Dodge dualie turned me on to diesels. when a friend gave me a ride in his TDI Jetta, I appreciated it's quiet torque and efficiency. That led me to buy a Passat SEL with the automatic.

Report Abuse

My first German engineered car - it's a little different

davidcw, 06/23/2013
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Picked up my new Passat yesterday and have put a little over 100 miles on it. I got candy white with black interior for $30,000 including lip spoiler, mats, wheel locks, first aid kit and tinted windows. The price was much better than what Edmunds, Consumer Reports or any of the others said I should expect. I think it was a good deal?

Report Abuse

German Engineering at the price of a KIA

jclaeys, 03/17/2013
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

First Volkswagen product purchase...absolutely flawless car. Very smooth and Quiet, excellent sound system. Looks larger than it is...same size as Honda Accord....too "vanilla". Drove Ford Fusion, "felt sloppy" and cumbersome. This car is a great value. And you should be able to negotiate the MSRP with 10% off. No longer use Costco program....you can do better yourself, as Costco is just another"middle man".

Report Abuse

Best Green Car For Your Money and Most Fun! Loving it!

kickingtires1, 04/03/2013
18 of 22 people found this review helpful

This is absolutely the best car you can get for your money! I'm a car nut having had a Car and Driver subscription since I was 15. I've owned several high end cars such as Porsche BMW Lexus and Audi I took a new job with a commute averaging 100 miles per day. I researched green cars for months and nothing compares to this vehicle, especially with the manual transmission, which transforms it into a true sport sedan. The manual transmission is smooth, effortless and precise. Gives you immediate power without the delay of the awkward automated manual (test drove both and there is no comparison). It's a must if you like having a little fun behind the wheel. The interior quality is outstanding.

Report Abuse

First VW!! Awesome Car

cbar71, 02/06/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Toyota convert and love the fun, features, and value this car brings. Feels like a really high end vehicle. Well planned interior, smooth and quiet ride. Great value for the SE package.

Report Abuse

Quality German sedan

homerkc, 09/29/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is the fifth VW I've owned and while not the most exciting, it is the highest quality! Smooth and comfortable, and very roomy. Back seat passengers are amazed. A terrific highway cruiser - every VW I've owned is as stable and smooth at 95mph as most cars are at 65. The 2.5 engine gets a bad rap, as it's more economical in real life than many of the newer turbo engines. I'm seeing 25 avg in around town driving, and 31 on a high speed trip through Texas. I shopped against a Fusion 1.6T and was certain the Ford would be my choice, but the quality of the VW shone through. I'm very satisfied with my choice.

Report Abuse

Better than Honda Accord

Joe, 11/16/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Some people find Passat inside and outside styling boring. The design is not flashy. The dash has a very clean and orderly look. The number of ' just enough buttons " makes you wonder why so many manufacturers make vehicles with so many confusing buttons if Passat can get away with so few doing the same work. Purchased my 2.5L SE auto in April 2016 from its original owner with 29K miles. I like Passat's solid feel, driving position, handling, and clean interior layout. It has excellent seat comfort, low road noise, and spacious back seat and trunk. The 6 speed automatic transmission shifts up and down smoothly and is never confused about which gear it need to be in. Sold my 2009 Accord EXL four cylinder for this Passat. Lack of phone/audio bluetooth, very high and annoying road noise, and getting tired of manual transmission were the reasons to make the switch. I recommend 2012-2015 style Passat to anyone that is looking at 2008-2012 or even 2013-2015 Accords. Maintenance Items: I wish VW used drain plug for coolant draining like so many other manufacturers. It is odd that you have to disconnect the lower radiator hose and make a mess to drain the coolant. Also having access panels to get to oil filter and oil drain plug are items to consider. You have to remove an underbody panel held in place with 11 screws to get to oil filter housing and oil drain plug. VW recommending 5W-30 oil instead of harder to find 0W40 of the older engine is a plus.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Julene Belmont, 06/17/2018
S 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I’m in love with my new Passat. It drives like a dream and is so roomy for the whole family. The back seat is big enough that we can all go on vacation and not feel cramped. There is a/c throughout the car and heat. Plus heated seats in the front that are very helpful for me due to my back pain. I couldn’t be any happier

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing Car!

gilicata12, 08/29/2013
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I got my 2013 Passat TDI last week. I traded in a 2010 Mercedes E550 for it. I love my Passat more than the Benz. The ride is outstanding, some people complain of noise but I think it is more quiet than an E-class. I do a lot of suburban driving so I am kicking EPA fuel estimates out the window. I get about 40mpg city and about 48mpg highway. This car also handles better than any other car I test drove. This car beats the competition. I feel extremely safe in this car. The doors are heavy and the feel of being safe is extremely important to me. The interior design of the car just makes sense. There is a place for everything and everything is in its place. This is the best car VW has made.

Report Abuse

EXCELLENT COMMUTER

imangymoose, 12/13/2012
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This car is average 42 miles per gallon over 3000 miles of which 70% is highway and 30% is in town. No problems so far

Report Abuse

All good but the electronics are ????????

triton11, 12/28/2013
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

All in all I really like the car. I bought it new and have about 16,000 miles on it in around 9 months. My only complaint however, is the electronics. I have had the "Electronics replaced about 2 months ago and the new package is not much better. The "back-up camera" is so slow sometimes that I can back out of my 60' driveway and start down the street before it comes on !!!!! I have a driveway with a 90 degree turn just outside my garage. One day I waited about 10 seconds for the camera to come on, nothing happened, so I looked in my rear view mirrors and began backing out while glancing down at the screen and just as I backed into a truck in my driveway, the camera came on ... $1,000 !!!!!

Report Abuse

Great commuter with a dash of fun to drive.

vwtdi55, 02/24/2014
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This car made me a believer in diesel. All that torque makes it feel like a much beefier motor than the 140HP rating would have you believe. When I purchased it I was driving nearly 80 mpd 80/20 hwy/city and averaging over 46 (set my cruise on 67 on the highway, but can't keep my foot out of the boost city). My job now has me driving 80-90% city and am averaging about 37-40 or around 700 miles per tank. 27K on it now. I have personally gotten 1039 miles on a tank in this car. I drove it from LaPlace, LA (just N or New Orleans) to the shore of Lake Michigan in Chicago then another 150 or so miles into N. Indiana. Filled up and still had almost a gallon left, 59.2MPG (hand calculated).

Report Abuse

We Bought Two and Both Cars blew the Turbo

bubbastarr, 04/24/2014
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

The gas milage is great, the luxury is good. The tranmission can be unresponsive, expecially in the cold. We bought two for our company and both have blown the turbo. One at 30k and the other at 18k.

Report Abuse

Turbo, inter-cooler and oil pump all died

zebrafarm, 12/20/2014
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I owned a 2013 VW Passat TDI for 8 months. I bought it with 13K miles & traded it in at 29K. At the 29K mileage the turbo went out & I limped home which was only about 2 miles away. The VW dealer had it towed in & it took 10 days for them to complete the repair. If the car had not been under warranty the repair cost would had been $6000+. The parts alone were $3500. The mechanic at the VW dealer said, " We found metal parts from the turbo in the inter-cooler and oil pump, so we flushed the engine & we hope that cleaned it out". At that point I knew I would have to get rid of the car. A design flaw like that will kill an engine & cost $9000+ without warranty. Very poor design engineering!!

Report Abuse

Second Review

brian_h, 03/31/2014
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I posted in November 2012 short after I bought my car. It has performed well w/ mileage averaging around 38-40 mpg with currently 50k on the car and I drive 110 miles/day battling a 2000 foot elevation change into the Wyoming wind in one of those directions. Still really like and enjoy this car. There remain a few electronic issues that are dismaying but I will not let them dampen my enjoyment of this car. The only part I have had to have replaced is the heat/AC blower due to freezing up in some subzero weather. It is now 2017 and I have to sell the care back to VW. I still like the Diesel but as time has worn on the car is having some electrical issues -- I can no longer lock the driver door and the auto-locks try to lock the car from every stop. I have noticed that the Navigation is not remotely accurate in guessing how long it will take to travel any significant distance and as a result I have given up on it and rely almost exclusively on my phone. The Blue Tooth function is still sluggish as ever at connecting. I do plan to get another Passat, but I will miss the mileage. Hopefully some of the functionality of a new model will be better. I will let you know.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Got most things right - but one big annoyances!

knickle, 06/12/2014
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Initially I really loved my purchase. I like the simple layout and nice styling over some competitors. The only real complaint I have is the DSG lag - which is a noticable lag from a stop [think turbo lag but more annoying] but as it impacts every day driving I think it would make me not buy this model again. I recommend 1.8L Turbo 4cl as it's not DGS. Gets great mileage and all the other benefits I like about this car but does not have a DSG transmission. If you want V6 I would have to recommend the Accord over the Passat based solely on the DSG lag. Could be me being too critical though - I do suggest you test drive a passat.

Report Abuse

First VW and First Turbodiesel

bristowbob, 06/30/2014
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

There is not a lot I can say yet at 2000 miles, but my first impressions after a month are that this is a great vehicle. I did a 440 mile R/T from VA to NJ and averaged 51.8 mpg while cruising on crowded I-95 between 50 and 75, depending on traffic. Very comfortable, very quiet, smooth ride - all relative to my 10 year obsession with 3 Saabs, including the last 95. I notice some of what I consider to be turbo lag when I hit the gas from a full stop, but not a big deal so far...the engine still feels tight at 2000 miles. Acceleration on the freeway to pass traffic is terrific, no lag there. I'll write more as I add miles.

Report Abuse

First Impressions

jmciii, 08/22/2014
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

First off, let me say I'v only had my 2013 Passat S for about three weeks, so don't expect any reliability reviews. But as regards my driving and build quality, well, read on. Yes, mine is the base model. Do I feel underwhelmed? No. The Passat S drives and handles just fine for basic family driving. Plenty of pep, smooth ride, and the "S"port gear when you need the extra oomph. So smooth is the ride that its easy to speed without knowing it. The interior is laid out cleanly and with all controls easily reached. LOVE the Bluetooth capability. Front seats are every comfortable. Huge leg room in back. And wow, what a trunk. I don't know how VW did it. Just wish the gas mileage were better.

Report Abuse

Long Haul Cruiser - Philly to Indy on one tank!

pdhamm, 10/18/2012
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've owned the car for 3 weeks and I'm totally impressed. The diesel engine has plenty of power even though the car is really full size...actually it's nearly the same size as my 2002 S80. After 2 weeks I took it on a round trip from north of Philly to Indy on one tank approximately 650 miles and 45+ mpg crusing 70 to 75 mph most of the way. The car is rated for 40 mpg highway but I'm getting that just driving to and from work at average 35 mph. The exterior looks great, interior is nice quality,comfortable and the fender audio system sounds great. Ride and handling are exceptional.

Report Abuse

Not what I had hoped for

13passatowner, 08/14/2014
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed driving my 2013 Passat diesel but the turbo charger failed on it with 32K miles on it. We live in a rural area (sparsely populated/closest dealer is 1-1/2 hours away) and I have been talking to owners in the area and two others have had the same problem. This is my first VW and I am getting very concerned. I have had three Honda's and have not had any problems. Am thinking of trading off.

Report Abuse

Good deal on family sedan

Ingrid Gardner, 09/04/2016
SE PZEV 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Actually I originally purchased this vehicle to do a business. After the business did not work out profitably. i found myself thinking of selling the car for about a min. After really thinking about the fact that the trunk room is enormous , leg room in front and rear are adequate road for someone 6"4 like my son can actually lay down in the back seat. I could not part with it. It is clean bland and German . Classic lines no complications or surprises. Great gas mileage , take 87 unleaded can get at least 458 miles on a full tank before refill, Great road car . Great individual climate controls, sunroof. Can add navigation later from dealer for about 1800.00. It is not diesel so whatever the problem is with emissions complaints with the diesel you will not have that problem with this car. Plus it just looks like it will look good for a long time. I'm going to pay additional to put a clear coat on it. I like the chrome grille and the chrome around the car windows it gives it a real refined look. When I want fun i just jump into my 06 Infiniti . This is a safe , practical grown up car. I'm retiring soon so this just suits me fine. Check it out for yourself. An actually wheelchair plus luggage can fit into the trunk.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Passant SE

Robert M, 12/03/2017
SE PZEV 4dr Sedan (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

It has been great since I bought it. Mileage , comfort and handling very good. No issues

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Long term review

Ray P, 01/02/2016
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

Not to get into my utter disgust with the TDI cheating scandal, my car had suffered a turbo failure at 36K like many others along with urea tank replacement at 70K. Other than the above issues the car was fairly decent. My only major issue that I have paid for dearly is related to poor ergonomics due to poor driver seat, misalignment with respect to steering as well as gas and brake pedals. These became obvious in time unfortunately after logging lots of miles. Another annoyance was the diminutive buttons and their location for cruise control especially for long commutes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just Purchased a 2013 VW Passat SEL Premium

psujim85, 09/07/2012
45 of 70 people found this review helpful

It is all that is advertized. Everything works intuitively and is well laid out. The diesel is GREAT. Kicks butt in a start and I am getting 48 mpg on my second tank full. The seats are comfortable and adjust well. My only issue is that the break pedal is too close to the accelerator and my wide shoe picks up one or the other when I do not want to. I have to be careful to pick up my foot each time.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050