Used 2015 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
List Price Range
$13,499 - $20,290

Used Golf for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.63 out of 5 stars

Practically Perfect in every way

eldaino2, 10/27/2014
TSI S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

I had owned 2 mkV vw's (rabbit and gti) and had been switching back and forth between various hondas but i'm so happy to get back into a premium compact. Cargo space is great, the solidity of the ride on the freeway is unmatched by anything in this price range...really a discount audi. Phenomenal passing power and good gas mileage plus a wealth of creature comforts. Also, the interior will shame many midsize sedans. Way more mature than other small cars; tasteful and refined, but quirky and different all at the same time. Standard equipment is strong compared to cars in the same price range, especially compared to honda and mazda. Handling is sublime. I freaking love my golf!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

From BIG to small

kruby2, 09/30/2014
TDI SEL 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
27 of 31 people found this review helpful

I was tired of pumping gas for my LX570 2 times per week so i made a big move or shall i say a small move.I always liked my daughters 2008 rabbit and have loved diesels in the past so i sold the suv and bought the golf. What a great car to drive. it is so responsive and fun. I am 6''5" and cannot have the seat all of the way back. I have more legroom than in the big LX. Go drive one, you will love it. my first tank took me 500 miles of mostly city and some highway driving. I am impressed. They look great too.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

2+ Years Down The Road

Sam G, 06/06/2017
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

The perfect size, good performance and German engineering. What's not to love? When I bought this vehicle about 2.5 years ago I really loved it. It was quick, quiet, frugal enough and had great handling. The Fender sound system was outstanding, the navigation was great and the interior looked classy and high quality. So what if I couldn't quite find that perfect driving position? So what if the transmission was a little crude at times, prone to hard shifts or occasional shudders? So what if the infotainment system would switch radio stations or forget my iPod at random times? These were quirks that gave the vehicle character, right? But 4000 miles in a check engine light indicated an emissions issue. Parts replaced. Then the sunroof began to rattle when closed. At 8000 miles another check engine light meant a new fuel pump. And then a dead battery. And the sunroof rattles again. Dealer has been great and all fixed under warranty but when the warranty expires in a couple of months, I'm worried I will begin to pay heftily to keep this car going. And the quirks are now just things waiting to go wrong. [Update 12/06/17] Now at 10,000 miles. New tire due to bubble in sidewall. Sunroof still rattles and dealer has become much less responsive to fixing it now out of warranty. New rattle in rear seat and perhaps the first hint of a suspension problem, front driver's side. [Update 6/6/18] Problems noted six months ago remain. Lost all confidence in this car and want to sell it. Less than 11,000 miles. [Update 12/7/18] Sold. Never buying a VW again.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

What a Great Golf!

jdh25, 06/02/2015
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have been a VW driver for over 25 years. 86 Scirocco, Jetta's and Passats. I thought my 06 2.0 Passat was the best VW ever, but this Golf is giving it some competition. Eye candy on the outside and inside. The interior looks and feels as luxurious as an Audi, BMW or MBZ. Great design too with easy to use technology and awesome sound system. Love the simplicity VW provides. The 1.8T is peppy and provides plenty of power for this car. It's not a GTI, but it is quick. The handling feels a little stiff, but not too much and very secure. Overall it's fun to look at and drive. I had considered an Audi A3 & A4 but the Golf won and my wallet was all the more happy! Update on this review after 1 year. The car is still all the above, but I am having trouble with the transmission "shuddering". It's mostly when the engine is cold and first put into gear. The dealer says that they don't know anything about this. I am going to leave the car with the dealer so they can experience it and/or at least I get it documented as a problem. I am also worried about a camshaft recall. a portion of the cam shaft can sheer off causing loss of break pressure. VW claims they can fix this with a software update. I don't understand how a mechanical item can be fixed with software. It just does not sound right. I still love the car, but am losing faith in VW especially after the Diesel problem, etc.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned. It will be my last

Edmonds VW review, 07/13/2017
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

2015 VW Golf, DSG TDi Tungsten Silver. Stunning MPG. My best trip was 61.1 MPG going over, and 58.5 coming back. Excellent handling. Hugs the road, with no "over steering" on lane changes. Easy entering and exiting doors. Air conditioner is cold in seconds. However Heater takes a little time to warm up! Auto trans is a dream. Great resale value. Torque for passing is outstanding. I bought mine in 2015 (July). Dealers are now selling *new* 2015s, but I would not get one of those, as some were *stored* in abusive conditions. via the "stop sale" of VWDIESELGATE.-- VW has done buy backs on GEN 3 (MK7 - GOLF) , and are available. But the best of the lot will be private owners who may be selling their used units. If you can fine one with the emissions modification, it comes with a 11 year 162,000 mile VW warranty. 100% transferable to all new owners. IMO, best warranty on the planet. My local dealer (staff) are professional and friendly. ~~ UP-DATE for EDMONDs Still the best car I ever owned. via dieselgate, I can sell it back to VW for $25,625 (more than I paid for it.) or do the "fix."I have (approx) 8 months to make a choice. HARD CHOICE. My car is perfect for me. And low mileage, prime condition, TDi used VW are holding great NADA-KBB values.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: