Used 1991 Toyota Pickup Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$830 - $1,761

Used Pickup for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1991 Toyota Pickup

1991 Mountain Goat!, 05/22/2007
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

According to the original owner, it never broke down, NOT ONCE! I say the same. I turn the key and it fires, purrs and just keeps on keepin on. Everything works and well! It has beautiful balance, stock shocks. It's just so trouble free and durable. I've owned many vehicles. This truck is just quality and quality lasts.

Report Abuse

Bulletproof!

alans, 09/09/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this baby 4 years ago w/~120,000 on the clock. I love it! From what I understand it is the last year of the long bed w/ the one ton option. This truck carries more than my brothers big Ford, can tow over 5000 lbs., is EXtremely quick, and is always reliable. I now have about 150k on it and plan on keeping it until it croaks, which is probably many years down the road (my last Toyota-1984 cost me $700 and lasted over 200k and 10 years). Do not hesitate to buy this truck, if you don't tell me and I will.

Report Abuse

Excellent Pickup

dgalan, 05/25/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

14 years old and it still runs great. The only issue I have with it is that for a V6, I thought it would have had more power. But like I said, it is 14 years old.

Report Abuse

Can't Kill It!

Jason Goetz, 08/24/2008
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about my truck. Still get compliments and people trying to buy it. Bought it at 100K. Now at 308,000 miles with no rebuild. Just replaced my 5-speed trans a few month ago. It's so reliable, I can't get myself to sell it. Even the Crimson red paint still glows.

Report Abuse

Reliable

novak, 05/14/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very reliable truck, I've only had one problem, and that was a brake line rotted through, and the rims started rotting through, but that has been it and we have bad winters here in Iowa, with plenty of salt so it's understandable

Report Abuse

My Father's Truck...I love it!!

Betsy, 02/02/2016
Deluxe 2dr Regular Cab SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My father passed in 2012, I have been driving his truck around the beach ever since. He told me as long as I keep oil in it, it will run forever. Now has 267,000 on odometer and is smooth riding. Have taken it on trips where I won't trust my newer cars!! thanks Pops, Love ya!!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Best Truck

USC66, 12/26/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck with only 1 option on it (rear bumper) in 91 for $7900. The first problem I had out of it was at 192000 miles, the original fan belt broke. The second issue I had was at 303000 miles the clutch finally gave out. At this time, I replaced a couple of gaskets on it because of of oil leaks and that is it. Honestly, I couldn't have ask for a better truck. At 320000 the truck still drives almost like it did when I bought it. I wouldn't be surprised if I got another 300000 out of it. I have put city miles as well as highway miles on it. I am amazed at how reliable and durable this truck has been. I do wish I could find another seat for it though because the one in it is worn out.

Report Abuse

head gasket failure

scott, 02/02/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 1991 V6 4x4 for about 14 years, Toyota replaced head gasket on recall in 1999. The truck has been reliable and trouble free until last week when the head gasket let go again. This was a very expensive fix, including machining of heads,timing belt,water pump, fuel injectors and new radiator. So $3500 later, i hope i now have that reliable,trouble free truck back !

Report Abuse

Best vehicle I ever owned

Andrewred, 06/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned my Toyota for 14 years now, and no breakdowns. Really, it doesn't feel any different to drive than when I first bought it. The 22RE doesn't get great mileage, about 18, but I've never had any problems with it or the fuel injection. To date, I've replaced an o2 sensor, speedometer cable, and just recently the clutch (used to have big tires). But other than those parts, it's been only consumables. Maybe one of the most reliable vehicles ever built. And looks so good in black.

Report Abuse

unbelievable reliability

cujo, 04/16/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

have put 225000 mi. on this truck. total repairs; 2 thermostats ( $3.50 each ) and a radiator at 200,000 ($109.00). I think this is the most economical vehicle ever built

Report Abuse

191k and counting

rbrog, 06/02/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought brand new 5/01. Is manual 5 speed. In late 90's, Toyota recalled several years truck models due to bad gaskets - replaced gaskets for free at ~130k. Had additional preventive maintenance done at that time (saving labor cost) including timing belt, fuel pump, idle pulley, and valves shimmed. Spent ~$550. Had R rear axle bearing replaced last year. Never garaged. Winters in Midwest. Does need compressor work but still pumping cold air despite 2 year old leak and no repair yet. Otherwise just maintenance - oil, brakes, shocks, tires, belts, etc. Still waiting for it to die to justify a new one.

Report Abuse

207,000 miles and 100,000 more to go.

EWD, 11/05/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used in '95. It had 72,000 miles on it. Like the other reviews; Toyota replaced the head gasket due to a recall - no cost to me. I've gone through one clutch and it's ready for another one. Other than that no real problems. It has never let me down or on the side of the road! The 4 wheel drive is perfect - geared low enough to creep through the deepest mud holes. Give it a wash and wax after a weekend in the mud and it looks brand new again.

Report Abuse

91 toyota pickup

v8stang289, 08/30/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have driven this truck daily for over 6 years and it has never let me down. It has 279,000 miles on it and I never had to do anything to it until last week when I replaced the timing chain, got the head rebuilt, and put new bearings in the bottom end. But all of that was precautionary, it still ran great up until that point. The reason I went into the motor was because I had an oil leak that needed sealing, and I figured i would do some preventative maintenance. It may not be very fast, and its not the most comfortable vehicle ever made. But it is a very very reliable vehicle that I would go anywhere in.

Report Abuse

Purty Good

CNH, 01/23/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this hog because she was white and beautiful. They just look so tough. I put fender flares on it and it looks even better. Although it looks so good, it only gets about 13 mpg. Except the previous owner rebuilt the engine - don't know why, and now everything is kind of going screwy- such as the speedometer cable, truck turns off with AC on while turning when clutch is engaged, Heat only works on high.

Report Abuse

Good old truck

C.G., 05/04/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought it used when 4 yrs old from a small lot. It has been a perfect truck. Used it in Landscaping business for five yrs as tow vech as well as pulling my boat. Has a Leer cap, sunvisor,boards and is in perfect condition. has 135mi and has never given me one prob.Now live in Fla drove downfrom NJ avg 28 miles pergallon. Hate to see it die someday, best truck ever built, still looks and drives like new.

Report Abuse

Everyone loves this truck

Tehachapi Jack, 02/23/2020
Deluxe 2dr Extended Cab SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have the 22R four cylinder that has been around for ages, I went to a parts store in Bakersfield and the owner said that he only uses Toyota and has had up to 800,000 miles on some. It is a very easy truck to work for the most part and very dependable. They hold their value well and made well to last forever

Report Abuse

you would have to pay me $10,000 for this truck

chris c, 01/05/2016
2dr Regular Cab SB
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Indestructible. the last pick up I will own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Sasistied

josue, 08/28/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my truck used at 70K miles and it now has 150K. Still running strong. Like another reviewer, Toyota repalced a recalled gasket about 110K and with it replaced the engine block because of damage. I got a heck a deal there. Other than normal wear and tear (brakes, wipers, etc) this truck is great. I expect another 50K easy, hopefully 100K out of it. In fact up to about a year or two ago (2000), people would still ask me if I just bought the truck new when I washed it.

Report Abuse

Excellent Compact Pickup

John Deming, 06/17/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a small business owner, and this truck is perfect for me. High reliability, hasn't broken down in 170,000 miles. Cheap labor and part costs for maintenance. Very redundant design, you can abuse and damage the truck, but it will still run. Good gas mileage in class, I average 27 MPG, can get up to 35MPG on highway with 4CYL and 5 Speed Trans. Brakes and handling good, but not exceptional. Acceleration plenty for everyday driving, but not impressive. Top speed 100MPH. In almost 2yrs of ownership, the worst problem I have had is that the headlight bulbs are hard to replace. Passenger space in back is very limited but workable, great for storage. I can't think of any room for improvement.

Report Abuse

One Good Truck!

Mark Staadt, 04/02/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have about 300,000 miles and still going strong. I use it as a rock crawler now and beat it to death and still drives great. I know of no other truck that you can use to drive over rocks the size of cars and get back on the highway and let the steering wheel go at 75 mph.

Report Abuse

This Truck Rocks

Steven R Salvatierra, 05/03/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Speedometer replaced twice. A few brake jobs. Otherwise incredible. This this is like money in the bank. Runs the same as the day I bought it. Put a killer sound system with new interior and will drive it until the wheels fall off. Currently have 195,00 reliable miles ion it. Have had only three days downtime (power steering lower unit) for the past nineteen years. It may outlive me!

Report Abuse

old but good

toyotaman, 07/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have 300,000 miles on my white 2 door V6, it is just now starting to give me some prob.'s with starting, so far i have olny had to buy a 200$ part from the junk yard that i installed, other then that i have not had any thing wrong with the truck for 11 years, and 300,000 miles. great truck, and lasts over twice as long as any ford i've ever had

Report Abuse

It keeps going and going and...

buster95, 02/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the truck new at a dealership in Arizona in 1991. I'm the solo owner. This white 4WD truck just keeps on going. 200 thousand miles and still no serious problems. Oh sure, tires and brakes and wiper blades and a couple of chipped windshields, but that's normal. I don't drive it much now because I've got a new '03 car. But it's just reliable, sturdy, and well-built. I should have bought it with the V-6 instead of the 4-banger it has, because it loses power quickly on highway hills. But this truck will otherwise go ANYWHERE, and has gotten me into and out of some pretty rough country. My truck rocks!!!

Report Abuse

i love my truck

davidm1886, 12/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ive put a 3 inch lift kit on it with 31 inch tires and a nice roll bar. Its a 4 cyl 5 speed that puts out a weak 113 horsepower....its looks great though and reliability is above average.

Report Abuse

Love It

Givememytoyota, 12/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an outstanding truck. I have 125,000 miles and I spend less than $200/year to drive it. I will be extremely surprised if I have any problems before it hits 200,000 miles. As far as I am concerned, 100,000 miles is the same as zero miles on a truck like this!

Report Abuse

Gotlucky

I got Lucky!, 07/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this pickup in 1998. I've only had to put a battery in once. Runs strong and holds the road wonderfully. I pput on new shocks and tires at 108,000 in order to go the next 100,000 plus miles. I enjoy the 5 speed, and acceleration is great with the 225 engine.

Report Abuse

No Regrets

Dowling, 01/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used in '94 with 33k. Other than the V-6 head gasket recall at 115k and normal wear and tear items, all I've had to do is turn the key on this truck. Still has the original clutch and is running like the day I drove it off the lot! My next truck will be a toyota for sure. Have to wear this one out first

Report Abuse

One Bad Apple

boundsn, 02/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I must have had a lemon, because nothing stayed right on this truck from day one. Even the cooling fan shattered as I crossed an intersection once! The exhaust rusted so bad, the tail pipe fell off, and the battery bracket was so worthless, the battery fell onto one of the pulleys and thereafter spewed acid all over the engine compartment, causing many further problems.

Report Abuse

toy truck plays tuff

dimmy, 05/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is going to last longer than I am, too bad I wanted a new one... maybe someday if I live long enough.....

Report Abuse

Trusty Toyota

drg8339, 04/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck new in 10/90. It has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. Truck has 167,000 miles on it.Need for it to die before purchasing another. I think that will be another 100,000 plus miles. Very reliable, a great ride.

Report Abuse

Amazing

will, 07/28/2015
Deluxe 2dr Regular Cab LB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Its my first truck at 120000 miles I know ill get double that by the end. Its a great toy on and off road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

best truck ive ever owned

mike, 08/06/2015
Deluxe 2dr Extended Cab 4WD SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is going on for 5th truck so far. best one yet amazing on and off the road. 167,000 miles runs like a champ. I was pulling my friends awd 2015 car out of the snow ! awesome look too. very customizable. overall solid truck great beach truck

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great truck for the money!

Juan Gonzalez, 12/01/2018
SR5 2dr Extended Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Toyota all the way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing truck

Josh, 05/23/2020
2dr Regular Cab SB (2.4L 4cyl naturally aspired 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never let me down. Had to replace the heater selector box due to coolant leak and am going to replace the clutch. Not the fastest truck but I pulled a 2010 ram 1500 quad cab. Best truck I ever owned if I ever get another one it will be a toyota.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050