2020 Mazda CX-5 Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$25,190

Save as much as $3,781
Select your model:
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Mazda CX-5 Signature is worth every penny.

Jack S, 02/01/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
136 of 143 people found this review helpful

The Signature model CX-5 has excellent turbo performance and acceleration, and intelligent cruise control that start and stop automatically at stoplights, with sign recognition even and 360 degree cameras to view all around the car for parking and passing. Apple play allows me to play my 2500 songs with no problems and it knows when to auto-connect when I enter the cabin. The sound system rocks. The driver's seat adjusts up, down, back, forward, with lumbar and multiple pre-sets. On the road, the car is quiet and corners great! I have nothing but praise for my CX-5 Signature so far! I got silver for the fact that my last silver car (a 2003 PT Turbo) had no parking lot damage after 15 years of parking lots! I couldn't be more pleased with the looks and performance so far. Gas mileage is not super while most of my driving is just around town but I plan a freeway trip from L.A. to San Francisco to see what kind of mileage it can have on the open road, while with Turbo power we can still run it on regular or use premium for even more horsepower in Sport mode. Handling is great! The steering wheel is adjustable and extendable. The interior of my car is refined with wood accents, USB access, and I am still learning all the bells and whistles, including keyless entry, with multiple driver seat adjustment settings. This 2020 Mazda CX-5 Signature is the best SUV I have ever owned. I do not work for Mazda, but am a retired telecom field manager who spent 40 years on the road across the US. This car is luxurious! It is a long term investment as my reward for saving so long for a new car. I bought my wife one, too! So far service has been great, too!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun to drive and excellent value

Peter B, 02/11/2020
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
81 of 85 people found this review helpful

Traded in a high mileage ‘15 Forester and couldn’t be happier with the CX5. I got the Touring with the option package which includes the sunroof, power lift gate and Bose. I immediately took it on a 1600 mile trip from DFW to ATL and back. Its a comfortable car for long trips with great road feel. I was always cruising at about 75 to 80 mph and it never felt sluggish or underpowered.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best in the segment!

Raul B, 07/16/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
33 of 34 people found this review helpful

Very comfortable riding, handling, and response. The interior is beautiful, as well and the exterior design. Good visibility and lighting. Good sound system. Its up to date electronically. And I love how fast the suv could be when I need to. I have no remorse at all in this purchase! Number one suv in its segment for sure! If I would add something, it would be just one thing: a panoramic sunroof. I love my Mazda

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
Build Your CX-5
At a Glance:
  • 6 Colors
  • 7 Trims
  • $25,370starting MSRP

Sporty SUV

Ontario , 03/24/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
53 of 56 people found this review helpful

Excellent over all. It is a sports car with practically. Sharp brakes, execellent steering, great pickup, smooth transmission and nice ride. I would like Mazda to make it a bit larger and seat can use more thigh support. I also got a good discount. Still the best in this category. It was this or the 2020 escape sel with 2 litre turbo. Nothing else could match these 2 SUV. The escape driving dynamic are similar but the Mazda interia is better.

Report Abuse

Worth every penny

Happy Mazda Owner , 01/05/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
73 of 78 people found this review helpful

Grand touring. Upgrade from cx5 sport and worth every penny. Looking forward to my commute every day. Terrific handling. Acceleration is sporty. Braking is smooth. Seating is comfortable. Plenty of room. Excellent safety features. The car almost drives itself. Put it on cruise control and it slows down - to a full stop with the cute holding brake on if necessary (like behind a car at the red light) and speeds up all by itself. Great temperature control, heated seats make such a difference. 2 programmed settings for drivers seat make sharing the car super easy. I’m so glad the USB ports are relocated to the console cup holder. Apple car play is a breeze. Can’t think of a single negative. My old 2016 Cx5 has a TSB technical service bulletin for sticky parking brake which is why we turned it in. Hope we won’t find the same problem for this one. I love it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent fit and finish

John C, 06/23/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
55 of 59 people found this review helpful

Excellent fit and finish, traction (AWD) and acceleration (turbo model). The heads up display is very good but depending on how you sit it may not see all the info. Adaptive cruise is slow to react (no where near as good as Fords) Emergency braking is slow to react then over reacts Very good steering and cornering. Napa leather seating very nice. Rubber floor mat on drivers side looks worn out when brand new. Lack of cargo net on top of the line model disappointing Excellent sound system (Bose speakers) Infotainment screen only displays one function at a time, for example if it is on GPS you don't know what radio station you are on and visa-a-versa Lane keep assist very passive

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Heads up display

Nick H, 06/23/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Spend the extra scratch for the heads up display. The whole vehicle is incredibly intuitive but the HUD puts information in your line of sight. I’ve never felt safer on the road.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Why didn’t I buy a Mazda sooner?

Vicki McKiel, 02/22/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

If you want a small SUV that handles excellent and is a blast to drive go test drive a CX-5. I did and went back to buy it the next day. Thank you Mazda and Edmunds for the research and reviews.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So Far, So Good

Bigboy42, 07/10/2020
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Our 2017 Jeep Cherokee 75th Anniversary was beginning to have some issues (not uncommon from what I have read), so we decided to trade. We typically do quite a bit of research when we look for a new car. After reading reviews and watching countless videos, it came down to the Mazda CX-5 and the Hyundai Tucson. We have owned a Tucson, and we loved it. We are also fond of Hyundai's reliability and warranty. The styling and positive reviews of the CX-5 made it very attractive. Ultimately, the fact that the dealership we used offers a lifetime power train warranty was the difference. We have only had the CX-5 for a couple of days, but so far we love it. The 2.4L engine in the Jeep was vastly underpowered, and we travel up and down a steep road pretty often. The Mazda has plenty of power.The CX-5 Touring also has a very nice interior. The leatherette and suede are soft. The seats are very comfortable. All the materials used in the interior have a very high-end feel. We have the preferred package with the power lift gate, the moonroof, and the Bose sound system (Amazing!). Compared to the Cherokee, which was comfortable, and well-optioned, the Mazda's interior has a luxury car feel. My wife even directly compares it to her mom's Lincoln MKC. She thinks it is just as nice, and the seats are better. The Mazda's options come at a great price point. The only other option we wish it had is memory seats. There is a big difference in our heights! So far, we are loving our new Mazda! I'll update in a couple thousand miles.

Report Abuse

Great Small SUV Mazda CX5 Grand Touring Trim

Paul M, 07/19/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Just reached the 10,000 mile plateau on my Mazda CX-5 and I still love it. Nice and tight feel when driving it around turns. Comfortable leather seats and quality trim inside. ACC is fantastic! Best of all is I drive mostly in-town and get over 27 mpg. There are some areas Maxda needs to improve upon: The BOSE needs a lot more BASS, it's very weak. Overall, the electronics are not JEEP Cherokee caliber and the rear camera is weak. The variable rain adjusting wipers are a joke, but this may be true on most cars and the infotainment screen needs to be larger, Mechanically this car is top notch and the ACC makes it a true Highway Star!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it Hate it

Not a dumb broad!, 08/27/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
58 of 65 people found this review helpful

This car has every bell and whistle imaginable and I was so excited driving it off the lot. Then the computer issues started. Weekly they got worse until they are now a daily issue. The problems are random- suddenly the dash goes dark, Sirius not available, car won’t unlock, car won’t lock, message that the cruise control is not available under 20 mpg flashes while I’m driving at 40 mph etc. I could go on and on. Of course the dealership service department tells me there is nothing wrong so the 2nd time I put it in (my brand new car of 3 months,) I gave them a memory card with numerous videos and pictures. Received the dumb broad act for that. They get one more chance to fix this before I invoke the Lemon Law. Update: they “updated” the software which resolved the Sirius issues, but now the car won’t go over 30 mph in a snow storm (in South Dakota!!!) I had to shut off all the fancy safety features because of numerous malfunctions. Driving down the interstate, in rush hour, suddenly the car won’t do more than 30 mph (I was in the left lane,) and malfunction warning flashing on the dash. This computer system is HORRIBLE!!!! I would live to give their programming team a piece of my mind.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Impressive Performance, Styling, Handling, Comfort

Ray Reis, 02/28/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle and my first SUV. Interior quality is on par with Audi's fit and finish. I chose the signature trim because the leather seating is both comfortable and gorgeous. The driving dynamics are fantastic and I find that the acceleration is phenomenal with premium 93 octane fuel.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Zoom Zoom

711Lois , 02/13/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 31 people found this review helpful

Responds quickly , very comfortable seats , looks terrific . Just got home from a trip with snow and rain - 4 WD came through . Back seat is tighter then some though.

Report Abuse

Grand Touring Reserve worth the extra money

Ted, 04/28/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Took my wife's Mazda 6 in for service and was given a 2020 CX 5 Touring for a loaner. Great handling and fun to drive like all our Mazda's. We owned several Miatas in the passed all of them still ran great with nearly 200,000 miles. When I decided to get myself a new small SUV I test drove a Grand Touring Reserve and it was everything I liked about my totalled 2011 Tiguan with more power and better handling.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2020 Mazda CX-5 Sport

Mark Cartwright, 10/24/2020
Sport 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My wife and I love the car. The CX-5 also exceeded our expectations as well. We bought the car as a "grocery getter" as it was fairly short and easy to park and load with the hatchback.The Sport versions the least expensive but it has everything we need and then some in a small car. The HVAC knobs are large and easy to use and adjust.The manual seat adjustment bar is also easy to use, as you can adjust the seat position much faster than you can with a switch. Sometimes less is actually more. Some cars have far more electronic features and gadgets that become more of a nuisance than a help. I love the basic simplicity of the car. I would buy another Mazda CX-5 as well and I think that is the best praise and recommendation you can give to a car. My wife and I also own a '91 Mazda Miata, a '14 Lexus GS-350 and a '16 Ford F150 CrewCab.The '91 Miata is "old school" simple....the '14 Lexus GS-350 has far more electronic gadgets and features than I really want or need...the '16 Ford F150 has just enough electronic features and gadgets, that don't get in the way of the vehicle's driving enjoyment....same goes for the '20 Mazda CX-5. Cheers and Happy Motoring.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

(250 HP w/93octane)

Lil Doc, 02/25/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 33 people found this review helpful

Highlights of CX-5 GT Reserve (Turbol) after driving it 5,300 miles. PROS: Quiet interior at all speeds, upgraded trunk with carpet to cancel noise, futuristic body and wheels, chrome front is very nice, handles like a sports-car with power, wonderful Bose sound system, Apple CarPlay with 10 Bose speakers came alive, upgraded Google Maps or Waze through CarPlay becomes my primary Nav programs (Center-point2 on, settings, +3, +2, -1, 0), IPhone 11 music is powerful, HD radio audio output exceptional, 8-inch color display, heads-up-display on windscreen, backup camera w/warning bells, whistles and yellow red visuals, blind-spot warning visual and audio (w/turn-signal engaged), great duo-A/C Front and back), Assisted-braking to avoid accidents to include back up braking with bells to avoid accidents, cruise control safe distance assist. 12V slot in car console. Apple CarPlay USB port in console.Made in Hiroshima, Japan CONS: GT Reserve Sonic Silver model are hard to find in Central Florida. Exceptions: Heads Up Display, Hill Holder brake Lock, Back Up Collision Avoidance, Folding Outside mirrors, rails, Trunk Cargo Cover, I use the "hill holder" always without hills in FL. I can now relax at a long enduring stop light in comfort.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car Fun to Drive

par, 03/19/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

We moved from a Mazda6 to the Mazda CX-5. After looking at comparable vehicles, we could not find one in this price range with the looks, comfort and fun to ride features. Own it now for two months and well worth the price and drivability.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun faux luxury!

Cindy E., 05/17/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

Very fun to drive, super smooth ride and quiet cabin. Very roomy and comfortable. It definitely feels like a luxury car without the luxury price.

Report Abuse

Salad build, great interior, fun to drive!

Ritchie B, 04/03/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
29 of 35 people found this review helpful

This is definitely a stand-out vehicle (and it should be rated at the top of its class). While Honda and Toyota have been resting on their laurels, Mazda has been innovative, The overall engineering and driver-oriented features make the CX-5 an intelligent choice when considering an SUV. The overall build quality of my CX5 is well above average. It is quiet, comfortable, and a pleasure to drive. (I prefer the turbo 2.5 because it allows you the punch you need when you have to battle with traffic). I have experienced many other brands and I prefer this Mazda to any I have ever driven. This is a sleeper vehicle. The CX-5 flies under the radar, but don’t let that fool you. Mazda is simply a better vehicle than any of the others because at Mazda, they try harder to please the driver with both engineering excellence and good overall value. With the Grand Touring edition, Grand Touring Reserve, and Signature editions, you are getting more for your money than you would with any Honda CRV or Toyota RAV4. AND Mazda CX-5’s do not use a CVT transmission.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing vehicle

Ryan Doonan, 07/04/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I got my 2020 CX-5 GT soul red 2 weeks ago and traded in my 2019 Kia Niro EX premium and best choice I did and amazing and so much more room and great and safer to drive and having 2 Mazda’s are so much better even having real leather and having the parchment and red goes great together

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Four and Half Passengers Not 5

Roshdy, 08/16/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
27 of 34 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2020 CX-5 "Signature" two months ago. I find it uncomfortable. Specifically, the driver seat is too narrow. I am an average built man but the seat is simply narrow and hard. The signature model has leather seats, but I have no idea why would the designers use very hard leather. The back seats are even worse. No way that 3 adults can sit comfortably in the back and definitely there is no room to have three child seats. Next, the seat belt. Too tight. I had been driving different cars for 35 years I never complained about the seat belt. I find myself constantly trying to loosen it and I pushed the seat back as far as it goes but the belt keeps on creeping on you and gets very tight on the chest and near the neck. Third, the climate control is acceptable but not great on hot days. Keep in mind that the model I have is top of the line. It has all the bells and whistles. One good feature is the ability to cool the seat in the summer and heat it in the winter. Also the 360 degree view of the car surrounding is very cool. Mechanically, the car is smooth and responsive. It has a switch to make it more sporty. I tried it on the highway. I did not notice any performance difference but I noticed higher level of noise. The auto hold parking does not work I hope the dealer will be able to fix it. All in all, I think it is OK but I doubt that this is the top of its class. Sorry I would not buy it again.

Report Abuse

A great vehicle to drive!!!

Dianne, 09/18/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love this suv! We traded a 2018 for the 2020, same exact vehicle, Pearl White with Parchment White interior. It is even more fun to drive! Great response to uphill drive, great cornering, just a fun drive! The interior is so classy, also!!! My 4th Mazda: 2 Trubutes and 2 CX5s since 2000. We still have the 2005 Tribute. We have never had to take one of them to be repaired, ever!! Only tires and batteries!! That in itself is a testimony!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda are dangerous

Jorge Junior, 09/29/2020
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
39 of 50 people found this review helpful

Please be aware of all the brake problems Mazda has been having in several years!!! The Mazda 3 and 30 just got recalled for loose hardware in the Caliber!!! The CX5 has had earlier model with Brake problems!!! My 3month 3,000 mile CX5 failed to stop on me and slammed into a building! At 3,000 miles my caliber was damage and my rotors work worn out. Yet Mazda wanted to blame it on me for claiming to be a bad driver.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Failure to start

Jo Randall, 10/07/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for the safety features and bells and whistles. Twice in 4 months since ownership the car would not start after sitting over the weekend. The dashboard lit up with display(key fob failure the first time) After changing key fob and its battery car would not start .The service that jumpstarted the car said the battery was depleted even though nothing was left running.The dealer looked at it and stated there was no problem even though the car service that jump started the car said the battery was depleted. This is a new 2020 model and only owned for 4 months .The car worked for another month then would not start after sitting over the weekend . Another jump start and reports of "the battery was low" I took it back to the dealer requesting a complete check and new battery. Will update progress.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So Far Excellent

Frank A, 09/03/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My first week driving my new 2020 Mazda CX 5 Signature model. Could not be happier. In my mind Mazda has put out a car that, if it had a different auto brand name such as BMW, the car would have a much greater MSRP. Quiet, good ride, excellent interior, great std features, nice kick to the engine with the turbo...too many good features to list. If you had to find a negative, I think the touch screen on the dash will be considered on the smallish side in a few years, but that does not bother me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Best driver's compact SUV

Nabrega, 09/07/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Overall best value for the money. buy this if you enjoy driving. Nicely weigh steering, great handling, firm brakes and good power from the turbo engine. decent mileage for the amount of power. Only negative is the seat could have better thigh support and needs a thicker steering wheel.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So glad we tried Mazda!

Shawna, 10/11/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

After visiting three other car lots, we were ready for the typical salesman high pressure pitch, but never got that at Mazda. They listened to what we wanted, and delivered. As for the CX5, I love it! I’m embarrassed to say it was the last car on my list to look at. Our first choices were the Honda CRV, Crosstrek/Forester, and the RAV4. None of them can compare to the CX5 in comfort, handling, style, and awesome driving experience. Absolutely the best car buying experience ever! We went with the Grand Touring Reserve trim.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

4 and half Passengers Not 5

Roshdy, 08/18/2020
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 21 people found this review helpful

The car is quite even on the highway. The engine is powerful enough and the acceleration is good. It is a little stiff during turning and it feels a bit heavy. Good technology and safety features. My biggest beef is the comfort. The seats are narrow and harder than usual. It is not comfortable for three adults to sit in the back. The car seat is too tight no matter what I do. I don't find this car comfortable

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Garbage product!

Joe Battaglia , 06/14/2020
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
84 of 121 people found this review helpful

I'm a mechanic/auto enthusiast and have owned about 30 cars in my life. The 2019 cx-5 was the first time I bought a brand new car. At 12,000 I had to bring it in for service due to all four calipers sticking. Mazda said they just need grease due to them being improperly grease to begin with and set me on my way. Now at 23,000 I'm back with same problem and need rotors, pads and calipers. Mazda says it all comes out of my pocket and its do to the weather elements. Now out of all the cars I've had and work on.....normally pads go at least 35,000. I personally have never had to change sooner then 50,000. I'm blown away by this and going to make hit Avenue possible to let everyone know about this.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

the best lease of my life

law mit, 03/26/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 17 people found this review helpful

The car gives me everything I want and need. I hav seen many reviews of the vehicle and everything they have a negative opinion of I don't seem to have a problem with. The car is comfortable, fast enough (upgrade is available with higher trim), incredible steering feedback for the price no complain especially with trunk space it is plenty enough.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

great car

carl, 08/06/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

soft ride, but good feel of the road. very comfortable. controls take a little getting used to (radio, etc), but easy once learned. about six inches shorter than previous car, yet a lot more interior room and same same wheel distance (front to back) to give smooth ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great suv 2020 cx5

Ron.S, 09/29/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love this cx5 touring has a nice smooth ride excellent handing quiet ride I mean really quiet has all the options great on gas exterior is very good looking interior is A+ very happy .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Must read before you buy

Jonathan, 10/16/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
24 of 36 people found this review helpful

After researching for one month the top safety pick + on IIHS, I landed on the Mazda CX-5, Subaru Forrester, and Honda CR-V. My original search was for a safe and up to date vehicle (SUV) for my new driver in a couple years. The idea was to buy the vehicle so that she can learn on it and by the time she is 16 yrs old it will not be a new car but be reliable and safe for her to drive. I bought the 2020 CX-5 Grand Touring Reserve turbo AWD. This is step below the signature trim. The exterior of the car is very pretty and I upgraded to the Gun Metal paint. The interior is very minimalist on the dash but materials all seem to be high quality and well put together. The heated seats and cooled seats are amazing. I love the Heads up display and found this to be a great option for new drivers so they can maintain eye/road contact. The transmission is great, a true 6 spd automatic. So why did I rate this vehicle a 3 star? The vehicle is a 4 cylinder turbo. You would think this car would have the Mazda zoom zoom quality. It doesn't. I actually test drove the GTR first and was not impressed to the point that I drove the GT with premium pkg (non-turbo engine) and the pick up and acceleration was almost identical. I was told that they had put in regular gas which lowers the turbo horsepower and torque and this is true about the later. The reviews and videos from all my online trusted reviewers said the car is super quiet. It isn't. I know Mazda has done much more lately on this 2020 and it's better than previous models but this car has loud engine noise and especially if you try to drive it to enjoy. The Bose radio system is very inadequate for the price range. I like loud music and this car lets you down on the sound system. The only trim that offers Navigation is Signature. While not a big deal since we use Apple car play it's just unreal that you pay this much for a vehicle and no navigation. The steering wheel is too thin. It needs to be thicker. This is the brand that promotes sportiness. The handling on this car was said to be fun and lively. I must say I disagree with this too. This is not a "sporty" sport utility. They may not even make those unless you upgrade to a BMW, Porsche, or Audi. The interior in the drivers seat and passenger seats could benefit from better designing for the middle console. They take up leg room (width) that could be added back, and there are not enough storage for coins on the dash and etc. The center armrest is set too far back to rest you arm comfortably. They need to have one that moves. The infotainment is very old. It takes the car a longer time than my other vehicles that are much older to react . The auto braking and other items don't seem to react quickly either. I have come to a complete stop and then the heads up display will say "Brake" in a quick braking situation. I will be driving this car myself for two years and already miss my 2009 Toyota Highlander with 133k miles. Keep in mind that I love cars. I have driven over 50 cars in the last 21 years of marriage. I just thought after all the video reviews that this car was the best of the best. I will say that the Forrester was just as loud on the engine noise, it's transmission CVT wasn't good, but I felt the extra room and look was nice. Had the Subaru dealer worked as hard on the deal I would have bought the Touring Forrester after the two test drives, but they didn't work as hard on the numbers as Mazda. Mazda has the better reliability of the two vehicles as well. I think resale value on this car will be an issue if you want to get out of it sooner than later. I will say that I got a great deal on the vehicle and the 0% was a great addition that pushed me to make the decision a year earlier than I anticipated. I think this car will be reliable and enjoyed by my daughter in the future. I think it is well made and safe. With all the great quality and items that I see in this car I would rather spend 6-10k more and buy a Toyota Highlander. Yes the Highlander is bigger but the ride is so much better, the V6 is smooth and quiet, and I think overall the Highlander is just as pretty as the CX-5 in the right color combination. The Mazda CX-9 has the same engine that my CX-5 has and I can't imagine it being any quieter or better on acceleration in a bigger car. One thing to note that I have filled the gas up with Premium gas and didn't see to much difference in the acceleration. I did see a difference one getting to around 3500 RPM-5500 RPM. I would recommend this car over the CRV, RAV 4, Lexus NX, any GM, Ford, or Jeep that is comparable size. I think if I would buying again and I could get the Subaru Forrester Touring at the same price that I would go for the Subaru. Yes the transmission isn't as good and they don't offer the heads up display or turbo but you don't feel the turbo in the Mazda and I think Subaru has better safety technology that reacts quicker.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it !!!

Donnalynn1016, 03/03/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

Test drove several different car models and chose the Mazda CX-5 and am so happy with my decision. It’s a smooth luxury spacious ride and even talked my brother into getting one !

Report Abuse

Great steering,handling. Base engine inadequate.

Ozzy, 11/23/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

Nice and cute. Great steering and handling. Much better driving feel than some peers like Forester, CRV or even upscale X3 or GLC (steering, not engine). Good reliability. Unfortunately some negative points exists that bother me greatly. 1) Base engine is simply inadequate! Simply merging into highway traffic is a big ask. A lot of wailing but no torque. Dangerous. 2) 22mpg city is too low for such pathetic engine. 32 highway is OK. 3) Combination of low mpg with small fuel tank makes very annoying refill stops every 250-275 miles. Got used to refill diesel CX5 every 400miles and diesel Mazda 6 wagon in Europe was good for 600 miles! In mixed driving. 4)Still cheap door's materials living a lot of spots and scratches. Especially on glossy plastic near gear selector area and door handles. 5) The only enjoyable spec of 19" AWD with turbo engine starting with GTR or Signature trim is overpriced, putting it uncomfortably close to RDX and X3. Promised cheaper entry for turbo with Carbon Edition trim has too polarizing taste choice of the red seats and weird exterior color. 6) Parking sensors available only in Signature. Would be interesting to finally see what price and performance Mazda will offer with upcoming inline 6 new engine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An OK SUV.

Mazdz SUV Driver 1024, 10/06/2020
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
11 of 19 people found this review helpful

Review of Mazda CX-5 Touring 4df SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A): The CX-5 SUV Touring is OK for what it is; a mid-sized SUV. The Touring version has some of the nice features often found in a modern vehicle, but, it is really striped down compared to the upscale trim levels. The CX-5 drives OK in terms of handling, however: I found the front seats uncomfortable on trips over an hour in duration. There are more blind spots than I like, which is somewhat offset by the Blind Spot Monitoring and Rear Cross Traffic Alert features. The manual is written to encompass every version of the vehicle including for manual transmission and diesel versions not sold in the US. This means it includes a lot of useless and confusing information which makes reading it a chore. In This day and age, how difficult would it be to have a different version of the manual for each specific trim level? Or, at least make a downloadable version specific for every trim level. The SUV or OK. I do not particularly like it and if I had to do it over again I would most probably not buy this SUV, at least not at this trim level.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

3rd cx5 Touring

Scott, 09/06/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I like Mazda as a Company....they get what I like in a vehicle, good driving dynamics with quality materials at a reasonable price. This is my 3rd Cx5....and every iteration gets better. The knock appears to be the base engine power. Personally I find the base 2.5 to be more than adequate. No regrets here.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smooth like butter

Wilson, 09/27/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great suv for a first time suv owner. I went from a car to this and I love it. The leather interior is awesome. I feel comfortable and its great to look at.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent vehicle

Ryan, 11/23/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After test driving the Mercedes, Jaguar, and Volvo we never thought we would settle on a Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring. My wife got the CX-9 GT. The luxury and mechanical quality is right on par. Be wary of mazda financing professional however, as Matt at Hodges Mazda in Jacksonville, Florida scammed us on our lease.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my new Mazda CX 5

New owner of MAZDA CX-5, 06/30/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Grand Touring is a great package, love the Parchment interior and Dark Gray exterior, it stands out!

Report Abuse

Smooth ride

Kevin, 08/06/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2020 Mazda CX 5 Grand Touring. It rides smooth and the cabin is very quiet. I think it has better styling than most suvs. It is loaded with a lot of tech and safety features. I am happy with the purchase and would recommend the vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Let me try another one

Ken, 03/12/2020
Grand Touring Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 27 people found this review helpful

Drives and handles well with sufficient ooopmph with the turbo...BUT I found the ride harsh. I want to drive another and be sure somebody hadn't overinfglated the tires on the one I tested.

Report Abuse

Excellent car

Oksana , 01/31/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
11 of 23 people found this review helpful

Perfect SUV for that price!!

Report Abuse

Gutless

Jimmy, 03/03/2021
Sport 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Drove this CX-5 as a rental for 2 months. Gutless engine. Lags in acceleration. Too many electronics that are not needed...electric parking brake, sport mode, etc. Fuel mileage for a small engine is terrible. As far as reliability I can't say because it was just a rental. Brakes are good though and I did like the side mirror impact warning signal. Just a gutless engine and transmission package.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

#1 ten years in a row!!! Any ?'s

Beach 2020, 05/06/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

we now have our 2016 Sport and a 2020 Grand Touring. We gave my daughter our 2010 Rouge when we bought the Sport. When she was ready for a new vehicle she sold the Rouge and bought a 2016 CX-5. She loves it also....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Good quality for that price!

Arthur, 02/02/2020
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 21 people found this review helpful

Good quality for that price!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loved my 2014 CC-5; my 2020 is even better!

NolaTab, 09/02/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2014 Touring with premium package was a great car. Fun to drive, economical, and reliable. Main safety feature was BSM, which saved my butt many times. I only had 53,000 miles, but traded it in on a 2020 Grand Touring, white with parchment leather. It’s everything I liked plus more! More safety features, more style, noticeably quieter, and more fun. Could not be happier with my decision. Yes, the AWD and Turbo engine would have been great, but I have been satisfied with the NA 2.5 liter engine. As far as features, the GT gave me everything I wanted.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great suv

Joe, 09/15/2020
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It’s a very comfortable car and get grand touring for the options. The Bose system is great for people who love their music

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome vehicle in every way!

John R, 01/22/2021
Signature 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The turbo is when she especially in sport mode… Napa weather chocolate suits are awesome… Ventilated cooled seat function could be better. Wonderfully crafted and very responsive around turns!! Can’t wait to get some performance tires on this baby!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid Car

staypuftman, 04/21/2021
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The best part of this car is the interior. We've got the Grand Touring trim and it feels far more premium than I would have guessed. The seats are very comfortable and the car is extremely quiet, especially compared to the Ford Focus I was coming from. The performance of the car is middling, not terrible but you aren't smoking anybody off the line with that base engine. If you're gentle on the throttle, I am seeing 27/28 mpg city and low 30s on the highway, which also surprisingly beats the much smaller Focus in the city if you can believe it. It's a super usable car, very high on utility. Seats fold down easily, 40.20.40 split is nice, they fall flat and you get about 5 feet to put stuff into. We're a small family of three and fits us perfectly. The lowest point of this car is the infotainment system. It's painfully slow, clunky and the Android Auto integration often drops out. Bluetooth is pretty solid though. I drove a Tesla Model 3 before settling on the CX5 and when you compare the infotainment, you can see why Mazda and the other car makers are in trouble. If you want a great software experience, avoid this car. Another low point is the AC. I'm in Texas and this car struggles at the high temps. The fan isn't that fast and this model doesn't have the cooling seats, I think you've gotta move up a couple trim levels to get that. Other tech is also pretty bad. The lane keeping is borderline dangerous, as it won't keep you in a lane. I haven't had the auto braking kick on from a short stop but it's supposed there. The traction control worked well in the snow, I have the 2WD version and felt fine on a trip. The giant wheels also don't really create much noise which was a nice surprise. Overall it's a very nice car that does car things really well and really struggles with newer tech.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050