Skip to main content

Used 2020 Mazda 6 Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 6, so we've included reviews for other years of the 6 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

What a difference 4 model years make

Mike G. , 01/02/2020
2020 Mazda 6 Grand Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
67 of 67 people found this review helpful

I previously owned a white 2016 Mazda 6 Touring. Due to an driver's fail to yield, my car was totalled back in late November. I checked out a blue 2020 Mazda 6. Everything I liked about the 2016 was there, with more, including improvements. I bought the Grand Touring model. The turbo is a great improvement over the base engine. It's not a rocket by any means, but still lots of low end torque to get you moving. Under normal driving, the turbo engine seems a bit smoother and more quiet than the base engine too. In fact, going from the 2016 to the 2020, the whole ride seems more compliant and quieter. I don't notice road imperfections near as much as in my '16. The steering is a bit easier while still communicating the feel of the tires against the pavement. There also seems to be improvement in the seats. A bit more padding and thigh support. Great for long trips. The interior itself has been greatly improved in those 4 years. Very sharp looking. I won't go into detail about all the safety features since they are covered in multiple reviews. Suffice to say it was a good move for Mazda to make their whole safety suite standard across all trims. That wasn't the case in 2016. One piece of advice. The only difference between the 2019 and 2020 model years is a new keyfob design and some badging on the Signature trim. That's it. If you can find the color and trim you like in a 2019 model, then go for it. It has a higher rebate available plus you're more likely to get a better deal since all their 2020 models have been coming in. No dealers in my area had the dark blue exterior/black interior combination that I wanted in a 2019. Hence, I ended up with a 2020. Also, I personally would start with the Grand Touring and go up from there. The Grand Touring is the lowest priced trim that has the turbo engine. A good upgrade going from 186hp/186ft-lb to 250hp on premium/310ft-lb. To wrap this up, I'm very happy with my choice. If you're up in the air about which mid sized sedan to pick, at least have the Mazda 6 on your list of cars to pick from. It may not have the sales numbers that the Camry or Accord have, but it's a very capable and competitive sedan. If you want a great looking and great handling mid sized vehicle, this might be the one.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The most underrated car on the market

Chris, 09/26/2019
2019 Mazda 6 Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

I looked at many of the competitors and almost forgot about Mazda. After almost buying the Hyundai Sonata, I noticed the Mazda dealer across the street and decided to hold off until I looked at what they offered. The Mazda 6 was hands-down the most bang for the buck. The styling caught my attention immediately. It has a sports sedan look with the curvy front fenders and oval grille. The interior was way better than the Hyundai and even nicer than the Honda Accord. Then I drove it... I was impressed with how incredibly quiet it is on the road. No wind noise and other than the smooth rumble of the motor, you don't hear anything at all. Then I noticed the price... I chose the Touring model. Upgrading to the Signature wasn't worth it to me since I didn't care about navigation (the Touring has Apple CarPlay so nav wasn't needed.) My only requirements were leather and sunroof and any color but grey (ever car on the road nowadays is grey!) The blue with the tan leather interior is awesome. If I took all the badging off, people would swear it was a BMW or a Mercedes. My only complaints are minor. I wish the center arm rest was moved forward a little bit because my arm ends up resting on the cupholder section instead of the padded console. I also wish the USB connector for the Apple CarPlay was in the front of the console rather than the rear. That's it, those are my only complaints. The rest of the car is 100% perfect. Worth every penny I paid.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Ya can't beat a Mazda for value

nevada mike, 05/20/2020
2020 Mazda 6 Grand Touring Reserve 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

Very simply, if my Mazda 6 Reserve went away I'd buy another in an instant without shopping any other car. Traded in a 2014 Mazda 6 for the newer 6 because I wanted the turbo, and paid extra for the stunning Soul Red paint. My 3rd Mazda is a testament to Mazda's superb engineering and design. It's beautiful but that does not matter unless the car has 5 star crash rating and is a kick to drive. Also, the seats are very comfortable and vented. It comes with all the bells and whistles of an expensive luxury car(Lexus,BMW and Mercedes). The 6 feels very solid to drive as steering and suspension provide a sense of total control. If you're not especially enjoying your drive, that will change to loving to drive the 6, and I suspect you'll enjoy washing & waxing your Mazda 6 because it's so good looking. OK, rear seat leg room is poor, but as the driver...who cares. Mazda's "zoom zoom" advertisement claim is not baloney...they back it up with their cars.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

A Piece of Art

Eddy, 01/15/2020
2020 Mazda 6 Sport 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

I got the Mazda 6 sport 2020 and I couldn't be happier. It combines comfort, fun and luxury in an unprecedented way. I'm also happy to see the leaps Mazda made in terms of reliability. I'm actually glad they're using a traditional 6 speed transmission. It means fewer bugs and a better projected reliability. It's known and been around for a while - why mess with it? Love this car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

This car is beautiful

Tom, 06/30/2019
updated 01/09/2023
2019 Mazda 6 Touring 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
65 of 68 people found this review helpful

I had leased a 2016 Mazda 6 Touring for the last 3 years and it's been a great car. I had lots of people comment on how nice it looked (Soul Red with Sand interior). As my lease was ending I started looking into a new car, which I wanted to purchase rather than lease. I looked at all the cars in the segment, the Accord, Camry, Sonata, Optima, Passat, Jetta, Altima, Malibu, all fine cars, but stepping into the Mazda 6 was just so much nicer. I purchased a Snowflake White with a Sand interior. I was really impressed with how much Mazda has improved the car in the last 3 years. The 2019 Touring model (the same one I had leased in 2016) is quite different and all of it good. First of all, it is noticeably more quiet, the ride is more composed and the engine feels like it has more power and a smoother delivery. The engine in the 2019 is the same size (2.5 Lt) as my 2016 and they still use a 6 speed automatic, so I don't know why it should feel so different. The 2019 has a Moonroof and a whole host great of safety features that were not on the 2016 model. And the interior of the new car is REALLY nice. What a flat out beautiful, tasteful design, it is very classy. So many cars are kind of a mess when it comes to design elements, the Mazda (really the whole line) looks like it costs MUCH more than it does. It has a style that flows, both inside and out. So many cars are stylistically challenged, for example I don't like the front of the Accord, it looks awkward and the interior is cluttered. The Camry is kind of ugly, they have bits of plastic stuck on the outside (especially in the back) that look ridiculous, why did they have hang that stuff on the car? The Sonata is plain, it looks like nothing and I can't get past the grill of the Altima. The point is, the Mazda 6 from a design standpoint blows every other car in this range out of the water and it drives very nicely. I wish Mazda had offered a more vibrant Blue color, I might have been interested in that, but the White is fine. The Red is very sharp but I just had a Red car and wanted something else, plus I've never had a White car. It's 2 years later and I have 18,500 miles on the car and I still really enjoy it. My only complaint is the Headlight Hi-Beams are not working right now and when I bring the car in for servicing soon, I'll have them take a look, otherwise, it's been a great vehicle. As an update, I still own this car and now it's over 3 1/2 years old. And I still like it. It's in great condition. I plan on keeping it for the foreseeable future.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5