Used 1996 Lexus LS 400 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,917 - $6,265

Used LS 400 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

cup holder still too small !!

dgeert, 08/31/2012
4dr Sedan
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

218k now and going strong now im doing the timing belt and water pump by choice because of a small water leak.. all the problems ive had w this car are very typical to any high mileage car such as alternator p steering pump,semi clogged radiator timing belt cost about 900.00 from small shop,so expect twice from a dealer, its a major job... even though i read this motor doesnt self destruct if it breaks. this car is /was one of the most reliable ever with all the comforts of a luxury car. still quiet at all speeds . THIS JUST IN... ive been researching smaller cars for the mpg's and this car beats most of them at 20 to 27 highway

Report Abuse

My dream car

curt, 12/26/2009
4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased a '96 LS 400 a few months ago. I have always wanted one but could not justify a new one at 50K+. I drive a diesel truck and wanted a luxury second car. This car is amazing on the highway. It floats but still handles well. It is a joy to drive and has 144K. I have had it on several 16 hour trips and it felt solid at 90+mph. Almost 15 years old and it feels new. Keep in mind that maintenance is expensive and it needs premium fuel. I plan to keep this 5 years and upgrade to an '05 LS 430 w/ 5 speed and black leather. Every time I drive it I can't believe it is 14 years old. I have driven several newer cars around 30K and this '96 is way more comfortable. Paid under $7K. Love it!!

Report Abuse

Bullet Proof!

shejean7, 08/20/2010
4dr Sedan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this car over a year and 1/2 ago with around 130K on it. I test drove different cars at the time, but when I drove the LS400 I was in love. I can't believe how silky smooth it glides down the road. I use Regular gas in it, due to high gas prices, and it has not missed a beat. Sometimes I'll use premium fuel, but it does fine with regular, so why pay more? As far as expenses, it's been the cheapest car to own because nothing ever goes wrong with it. I've only done a front end alignment ($60), a new batter recently ($100), and regular oil changes with tire rotations. The tires do not seem to wear down either. Purchased for less than $6,000! Now in the market for an RX330!

Report Abuse

1996 Lexus great Transportation

Waynesax, 04/04/2002
4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After driving nothing but Mercedes for 25 years I decided to try a Lexus. I was at first dissapointed in the way the car handled and the brakes seemed soft. After I got used to it though I was impressed with how quiet and fast it was. The sound system is fabulous and no repair bills. The car is perfect to me now and I wouldn't own another Mercedes.

Report Abuse

lex review

skipsawaystem, 04/24/2002
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

my 96 ls sedan is the nicest car we ever owned. reliability,driveability,classiness is fantastic. dealer servicing,cooperation etc. excellent any home office queries answered promptly and lexuses are hardly ever stolen because of wheel locks devices etc. a great car.

Report Abuse

1st Lexus and Loved it... will buy again

Jason, 07/19/2009
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought a 96 LS400 white/tan at 156k miles and I did have to put about $4000 into it for new a/c, timing belt, water pump, front end, all fluids & filters, complete tune up. No paper work was purchased with the car, so I took a gamble. After the expenses, I put a set of LS430 wheels on it and WOW much better looking. It's been the best car ever. We drove it more than my wife's 04 ES330, but sadly it was totaled out and we are now looking for a 98-00 LS400. Love these cars!

Report Abuse

A joy

WDavidH, 08/16/2002
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purch new, corrected ball joints & control arm busnhings 120K . Perfect now. Best car I've owned. Powerful quiet reliable roomy classy, what else is there.

Report Abuse

What a car!!

tigerbone, 07/20/2011
4dr Sedan
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a 96 ls400 with 160,000 miles on it. This car is amazing. I just took it from ohio to cali, and this era of Lexus quality and build is unmatched. I have a friend that has a 05 bmw 3 series, and he had to put a new trans. in his car, he is now wanting a Lexus ls:)

Report Abuse

'96 LS400

oldblue, 10/03/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Lexus I am really pleased. The ride, the power and the overall design is outstanding. If you want luxury and power I recommend a Lexus, you will not disappointed. I have 120,000 and I believe it will go 300,000 without a problem if you follow the dealer maintenance schedule.

Report Abuse

1996 Lexus LS 400

legendof lexus, 11/16/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In late 90s til present I have had ES 300, 3 LS400, GS 300 and Avalon. In between those I had Caddys, Volvos, Audi and Acuras. Bottom line Lexus is it! I had to fix something on every car I owned except when I had a Lexus, just start and go! I don't like being in a car for more than 7-9 months, but this time I'm sticking to the 96 LS 400 till I can get the LS 430!

Report Abuse

Great vehicle, the LS!!

LS is the BEST!!, 12/07/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've only have this vehicle for about 4 months, but I'm just amazed every time I ride in it. I did the 90,000 tuneup at 126,000 (cost about $1200), but the car rides like a champ. Just had to change the tires, as far as parts, now the car literally floats on the highway. You don't even notice when you're doing 90 mph. Everyone who drives in it fall asleep cause of the comfort. Shoot, sometimes I have to watch myself when it's late cause I tend to wanna sleep as well. lol..BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED IN MY LIFE!!! Would recommend to anyone.

Report Abuse

Very dependable and comfortable

abraham, 05/11/2002
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have driven four times for 325 miles one-way and it is a dream to drive and ride the highway. Super quiet, super smooth. A vehicle that you can read with ease without feeling car sickness as you will in most. Everyone after riding in it has expressed satisfaction with the car and was impressed with its, quietness, luxury, room and beauty.

Report Abuse

Good Old Reliable Car

Steve, 01/25/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This LS 400 was available with only 52,000 miles on it. So I bought it and updated to Pioneer Avic-3 with navigation, Bluetooth, backup camera, DVD and put in a new timing belt, water pump and new tires and this car is alive again and start like new. It's already over 11 years old, but still like new since the previous owner only drove 4500 miles per year and kept it garaged.

Report Abuse

Supreme Vehicle

Michael Corbett, 04/23/2002
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It's all I expected from my first Lexus and more. I've owned 39 cars abd this is by far my favorite.

Report Abuse

Simply Amazing

Fayyaz, 10/28/2002
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is simply amazing. It has very good power, handles well (although lots of body roll), brakes quite well, and is very enjoyable to drive. It is extremely reliable, and has a classic design. The 4.0L V8 engine is super smooth, as is the 4-spd. auto tranny. The car is extremely quiet, but produces a nice sound when under WOT.

Report Abuse

Lexus LS400 '96

motamedd, 07/09/2003
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have not had any problem with this car. This is a car that should last you a good 1/2 million miles.

Report Abuse

Excellent, but costly to maintain

Great Car, 04/02/2005
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased a beautiful black 1996 LS 400 with factory chrome wheels in 2004. I thought, well, yes the car is 8 years old. However, it is a LEXUS and it only had 78,000 miles. I have never owned a better riding car. Ride is very quiet and smooth. Build quality is excellent and interior features and creature comforts represent true luxury. However, keep in mind that this car is also expensive to maintain. I have just called to set up an appointment for the routine 90,000 mile service and the price tag? $1,500 ! This is not for repairs, just routine maintenance. I consider that a lot, however, I guess most people who own these cars from brand new would have no problem affording it.

Report Abuse

My First Lexus

GKLCPA, 10/01/2006
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've no brand loyalty and have never purchased the same car twice. I believe that will change now. I purchased a 1996 LX 400 with 37,000 miles on it and have been driving it around this weekend. The only thing I can say about this car is that it is incomparable to any other vehicle I've owned. (I've owned Mercedes 190E, BMW535i, Maxima and Volvo 740 Turbo). It beats them all. The ride and build quality is simply superb. I had the car up to 90 mph on the highway and it felt like I was going 50 mph. It is the perfect road car and I see myself getting years of service from this car. I'm quite pleased with my purchase.

Report Abuse

GREAT

EDDIE, 05/03/2003
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS SO FAR AND IT HAS BEEN THE BEST. I WAS CONSIDERING A 1995 BMW 740I BUT AFTER DRIVING THIS ONE I WILL NEVER GO BACK. THE JAPANESE KNOW HOW TO BUILD QUALITY , LONG LASTING CARS. I RECOMMEND THESE TO ANY ONE WANTING TO BUY A RELIABLE LUXURY CAR.

Report Abuse

Like The Lex

zman1996, 07/08/2003
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We got this car in 1995. Nothing went wrong until about 80000 miles when a belt simply wore out. It has been a great car. I love its power and the ride is like driving on air. My whole family is jealous of it.

Report Abuse

Very well made old classic car

david , 05/05/2010
4dr Sedan
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Damn cup holders, too small for my giant big gulp! That is my only complaint on a 14 year old car with 173k miles. Drives like new, well done Toyota/Lexus.

Report Abuse

This car is a no brainer

gallen, 03/01/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had one and only one problem in the entire time I've owned this car, which I purchased used with 22,000 miles on it. As of Feb '03 it's got 79,000. Lexus has a well deserved reputation and the car is bulletproof. The car has always started, still has the original battery and I changed the brake pads once, north of 50,000 miles. I'm a fairly aggressive driver too, so getting that kind of brake pad performance on a 2 ton car is telling. Overall - I'd buy a used Lexus over a new "anything else" every time. Reliable, bulletproof and great ride all in one.

Report Abuse

Perfection

Lex Lover, 10/25/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The No1 car on the market. Real quiet, smooth ride, No problems in over 40,000.

Report Abuse

Outstanding Car

roadrunner, 03/15/2006
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Joy to own. Ride comfort and handling are superb. We love it. It is Mr. Reliable. Road trips are great in this car. Maintenance costs are more but has not been much more than a normal car. MPH: 22-27. 2 years ago, as I was traveling down a 2-lane road, a car entered my lane coming fast & directly toward me. I was going 60 mph. I cut the steering wheel sharply to at least a 45-degree angle to get out of the lane & toward the ditch. I turned the car sharply to the left down the shoulder. The car was still in my lane as I passed it. Emergency maneuverability: superb.

Report Abuse

satisfied

lexus guy, 04/01/2004
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded a 98 Bonneville for a 96 Lexus and have been extremely satisfied with the trade. The car has a build quality beyond anything else I have ever owned. The ride quality is excellent and the overall build quality is outstanding. The sound system and interior comforts are first rate. I feel the used LS 400's are really a good value on the open market. I was a little concerned because there is not a Lexus dealership close by, but the cars are so dependable it doesn't really matter.

Report Abuse

12 years old and still wonderful

lexus lady, 09/24/2007
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for almost 12 years and still love it. From the very beginning it drove so smoothly and quietly; I feel like I am on auto pilot. We have taken great care of it and have had no problems.

Report Abuse

The best car I've EVER driven

Lexus fan, 05/21/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this as a used car with just over 30,000 miles after test driving each of the top line cars. Not only did the Lexus exceed all the others in every way, it has continued to amaze me. It has more power than I could ever use and I constantly have to check to make sure the engine is still running it is so quiet. It is the most comfortable car I've ever driven and i never tire of driving it. I would recommend this car without reservation.

Report Abuse

Mint used LS400

Will Pendlebury, 09/05/2018
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second LS. I had a 2005 LS430 that I lost in a weather related accident. I bought this one with cash and it has 97,000 miles on it. Not bad for a 22 year old car. The drive is a dream. There are some quirks (the steering wheel doesn’t lift every time I shut off the car for example) but the car is great overall. I prefer this over most brand new cars. It will be my weekend car so the miles shouldn’t accumulate by much.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050