Skip to main content

Used 2019 Land Rover Range Rover Velar Consumer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
45 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2019 Range Rover Velar, so we've included reviews for other years of the Range Rover Velar since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2 out of 5 stars

This car is not reliable, don't buy it

Debcos, 12/17/2019
2019 Land Rover Range Rover Velar R-Dynamic SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
88 of 89 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately, since the time I bought this car (end of September 2018) I had many issues with my new Land Rover Velar 2019. First issues were mostly electrical (screen not working, error messages while being stopped at a red light, back camera not working, etc. I took the car in two opportunities and they explained these cars usually need software updates. I thought I should not waste my time taking the car to the dealer but did it…. I also had a weird noise with the breaks. They had to change them. Then I had to take the car for the Annual Service. They checked everything and in less than a month, my engine light was on! Took the car AGAIN and they said it was another engine software (not sure why no one update this when I took the car for my annual service?). But after taking the car 2 times, in less than a month my engine light went on AGAIN!! I was so upset and frustrated. The dealer suggested me that I contact Land Rover Customer Service for a Re-Purchase, as it’s obvious to me I have a defective car… After talking to someone for 38 minutes, she asked me many questions about my car, even if I have already paid for the car which we did, she simply said my case didn’t apply for re-purchase. She didn’t explain why or what was the criteria. Her only “solution” was for me to keep taking my car to the dealer. What type of solution is this? I asked to talk to her supervisor. She said he would call in the next 5 hours which he didn’t. He called passed the 5 hours and left a message saying I should follow this with the customer service representative, like ignoring my request of talking to him…. I’m EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED WITH LAND ROVER CUSTOMER SERVICE. My advice is: if you want a car that works and is reliable, PLEASE don’t buy this car, it’s gorgeous but it’s not reliable and customer service will not help you at all. They will just send you to the dealer and you will waste your time and money taking the car for service many times.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Major Disappointment

Kevin Anahory, 04/14/2019
2018 Land Rover Range Rover Velar R-Dynamic HSE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

Was one of the first to buy the Velar in 2018. Love the look and drive of the Velar and must admit was all in on the prestige of owning a Land Rover. Right away the issues started occurring i.e...windows fogging, infotainment system having frequent glitches and auto stop not working properly. Within the first three months, I had to bring the car back in for a recall, where the dealer had to run an update on the system. During the stay in the garage, the dealership rear-ended my velar which caused me to lose the use of the vehicle for approximately 10 days. To make things right the dealer gave the use of Evoque (drives worse than an Altima) and a free oil change (which at the time I thought was laughable until I found out that an oil change in a Velar at the dealer costs $500). When my car was returned, I chalked it up to bad luck. The issues seemed to have been corrected (except for the auto stop, which my salesman told me was working properly because the system wouldn't stop in certain conditions (a lie!)). After about a year, the engine light turned on. I had to wait a month and a half for an appointment to get it serviced. When I finally brought it in they had the car for a day and told me that a sensor was the issue and they had corrected it. I went to pick it up and wouldn't you know it the engine light was still on. The dealer took it back and after another week, I had my car back, but the interesting thing was that all of a sudden the auto stop was now working properly! Again, while I was upset, I did love the drive of the car so I again chalked it up to some bad luck. Two months later the vehicle issued a warning that only front wheel drive was available for my AWD Velar. Brought it to the dealer where the Service Rep warned me that in his experience this leads to more issues (something to do with the transmission). After another 10 days of not having my vehicle (Part had to be shipped from England) and driving a loaner (New Discovery, which again drives worse than an Altima) I got my Velar back. This time I complained to Land Rover after my salesman indicated that possibly Land Rover corporate might do something for me in terms of getting me into another vehicle. Followed his advice (don't know why?) and waited for three weeks to have the Complaint Department tell they'd be happy to give me some free oil changes. Told them to keep the oil changes. I'll be trading in my Velar for something that isn't constantly in the shop. In my opinion they rushed the Velar into production, which is understandable however the failure to do the right thing, will prompt me never purchase a Land Rover again.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Worst vehicle I have ever owned!!!!! DON'T BUY IT!

Bon Fit, 10/22/2020
2019 Land Rover Range Rover Velar R-Dynamic SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

My 2019 Velar R has been plagued with issues from the day I drove it off the lot. It was in service the next day! The infotanement system which is also the heating, air, defrost controls is plagued with issues. Many times it goes completely black. You have to shut the vehicle off to get it to reboot. This also happens when driving & the interface with Apple I-phone is terrible. They say you need a Apple cord. It does not help. It is distracting when driving because it takes your attention off the road putting you in danger of an accident. Transmission problems on-going from date of purchase. The worst...I put it in park and was behind the vehicle, it shifted into reverse and almost ran us over. I had to rush into the vehicle and shift it back into park and shut the vehicle off. The the transmission knob flashes yellow and you cannot get the vehicle to go over 30 mph. When you applly the gas it slows way down... one of these times it was a fuel pump. Other times when the vehicle shuts off when you stop it will not go back into gear. When i'm at a stop light I have to shut the vehicle off and restart to get it to go into gear. This has happened constatntly since the day I got it. NOT FIXED! Then there is the issue with coolant fan revving constantly. I have had it in for this everytime when I took it in for other issues. Over a year into the lease it had a recall for this but is now doiing it again! The lane change assist, when on a curved fwy tries very hard to push you into the other lane because it does not know the road is curved. It is a fight to keep the vehicle in the lane. tailgate foot swipe to open does not work 80% of the time! The Turbo lag is the worst of any car I have ever driven! Terrible engine! The Land Rover Discovery has better pick-up than the Velar. I have 15,000 miles on the vehicle and it has been in for service probably 25 times! I have asked Land Rover ot buy the vehicle back. They say it doesn't qualify. I am filing a "Lemon Law" case againt Land Rover/Range Rover. Biggest issue is it is extremely unsafe!!!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Beautiful vehicle, but completely unreliable

Natalie, 03/26/2019
2018 Land Rover Range Rover Velar R-Dynamic SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

There's no doubt about it that the Velar is a beautiful vehicle; I fell in love with it the first time I laid eyes on it! But the look of the car is nothing compared to the ISSUES under the hood. I've had the car now for just over 8 months and have had issue after issue with the displays and electrical system. From early on, I started noticing my displays glitching. Sometimes it would resolve as the car warmed-up; most times I would have to stop my car, turn it off, lock the car and then unlock/restart my car to resolve the issues. This happens on a very regular basis. Given I'm a professional with a very busy travel schedule, taking my car in for service is not something I have a lot of time to do AND one of the reasons I chose a car that only needed annual maintenance! Since I thought I had a fix for these display issues, I figured I could wait to bring it in for service. That was my bad- should have done it sooner than I did. However, when I did take my car in for a "complimentary top off service", I brought this up to them and they had my car for 4 days doing a "software update". Seems strange it would take that long for a software update, but what do I know. Yesterday, as I tried to leave for work and I could not start my car and it wasn't because of a battery issue. The car completely froze and locked up on me (the brake somehow depressed itself completely into the floorboard), I was unable to start the car (and the car was telling me Ignition ON) and my steering was pretty much frozen- all the while my displays, climate control and music were working. The car had to be towed to the dealership where after having it for over 24-hours, they finally diagnosed the problem and have to replace the Telematics Control Unit. They have to REPLACE a complete unit on a brand new car! And they have to ask for authorization to purchase this new unit due to the price of it! So I'll be without a car while this authorization takes place, then while they wait for the part to arrive and then while they install the new unit. Who knows if this will ultimately fix the on-going display glitches (because those were still happening AFTER this 4 day software update). The fact my car has had ANY service so far is concerning. The fact that my car needs such an important piece REPLACED completely is completely unacceptable. Do not buy this car. Wait a few years for newer models to come out. They don't know how to fix or maintain them at this point. And it's a total time suck and frustrating process for the owner.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Serious Velar Blues

V. Thomas, 08/14/2018
2018 Land Rover Range Rover Velar R-Dynamic SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
85 of 90 people found this review helpful

I purchased my beautiful (aesthetics) Velar on 1/28/2018. An eye-catching beauty that fit my personality and style. My vehicle has been to the service center 5 times, not for routine maintenance, but for the crappy HVAC, entertainment system and now the engine light is on. I was told by my service advisor that "I should rest assured that I had a very sound vehicle and Land Rover stands behind each and every vehicle". I made it through reading the first 4 or 5 reviews and immediately knew I had found a home for my Velar Blues. The best way to help you understand my issues and frustrations, please see the following list: 1. 8/9/18- Engine light came on again at 0630 on my 45-mile (one way) commute to work, I called my service advisor and left him a message 2. 8/8/18 Engine light came on at 1600, instead of going home I drove straight to the dealership, the light was cleared by my service associate at the dealer, he said it was an O2 sensor, if it came on again, call him personally! 3. Persistent issues with HVAC in the winter the windows would fog over while driving...had to turn on A/C to remedy...they fixed it (I think) but now when I turn on A/C it blows straight heat for 10 minutes then will cool 4. The seat warmer intermittently warms/cools when in off position 5. Radio was making cracking noise when Bluetooth playing through my phone...they fixed it 6. The driver side rear passenger door sensor went bad and the part was ordered from the UK and has since been replaced, but the handle is now very loose like it will fall off with the next car wash 7. LIM mode activated while car was being driven and couldn’t exceed 20mph, the instruction book indicated that the feature requires multiple steps to activate but the dealer says I accidentally activated it from the steering wheel 8. The console blanked out “went completely black” while being driven...restarting the car did not fix the issue...2 hours later after car was parked...the issue self-resolved 9. Radio will turn on when car is off and parked and will remain on when the doors have been secured and locked, I have to depress the ignition button twice to get it to turn off 10. Currently, I am waiting on a new O2 sensor AND a "part" or "update" for the HVAC to stop blowing hot air and warming the seats when it's not supposed to! I think that’s everything...Moral of the story...DON'T buy the 2018 Velar ever OR at least wait until the kinks have been worked out.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5