Used 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,995 - $11,598

Used Santa Fe for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Gas Mileage

ccr717, 11/23/2011
72 of 73 people found this review helpful

Just purchased a 2012 Santa Fe two weeks ago. This is my fourth Santa Fe but this time I bought a 4 cylinder instead of a 6 thinking it would save a little more on gas mileage. Love everything about the vehicle but the gas mileage. I'm getting less with this one than my previous 2008 Santa Fe. I was told I would get a couple more miles per gallon but didn't expect to get less. It didn't benefit me like I thought it would to get the 4 cylinder. Wouldn't recommend a 4 cylinder over a 6 to anyone.

Report Abuse

My second Santa Fe

jezirabid, 01/26/2015
GLS 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

My first Santa Fe was a 2011 GLS, which someone hit while hubby was driving. Santa Fe was totaled, but the husband lived to tell the story. It rolled to one side, skidding a hundred feet before crashing into a median cement block directly in front of the police department. It did its job well for a direct high speed hit to the side. Which is why I bought ... My second Santa Fe, a 2012 - well worth its weight in gold, and came with a couple new features the '11 did not have. I searched long and hard and compared economy SUVs, and for the price and warranty, you can't beat this vehicle. Even used, Hyundai happily replaced a faulty door panel without hesitation. Excellent Customer serv

Report Abuse

Best Car for the Money!

scot58, 03/14/2012
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a Santa Fe Limited AWD in Black Forest Green with the beige leather interior. It looks and runs like a dream. I considered the Toyota Highlander Limited and the Murano SL with leather, but those cars cost several thousand dollars more, get worse gas mileage, and the Santa Fe is their equal, if not better, in every way-- looks, ride, handling, etc. With the V6 it has excellent acceleration, and the electronics-- Bluetooth, satellite radio, HomeLink, etc. all work flawlessly. I have been waiting for something to rattle, break or go wrong, but the car is absolutely solid. I am very pleased with my purchase, and strongly recommend the Santa Fe.

Report Abuse

The Santa Fe SE is a nice vehicle

coldrink, 03/07/2012
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have had a 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe SE for about six months. So far, I am very pleased with it. It is comfotable and fun to drive. It has the 3.5L 6 cylinder engine and it runs good. It is swift. It has lots of pep and that is important to me. On the one short road trip it has been on, it got about 24 mpg. In town it gets between 18 and 20 mpg. It is a very nice vehicle. I would recommend the Santa Fe it to anyone, but I would want the 3.5L engine.

Report Abuse

LOVE THIS CAR!

sknouff, 10/27/2011
67 of 77 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 2012 Santa Fe for about 5 weeks now and am absolutely delighted with it. The comfortable ride and easy to use features are great.

Report Abuse

Planning on selling this thing

kurtswanson@comcast.net, 11/16/2017
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Was hoping my first experience with Hyundai would be a good one. Nope. Not even 48K on it and already I'm spending thousands on repair. Instrumentation lighting has failed (poorly-designed components) and the viscous coupler has failed (very expensive repair). No more Hyundais in my future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Prepare to get your rear differential replaced!

A. Jensen, 02/07/2018
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle since 2015 (not the first owner). The car was still under warranty when I had to replace the rear differential the first time. A year-and-a-half and 25,000 miles later, I had to replace it again at a cost of $3,500 dollars. I called Hyundai in advance to ask if they would do anything to help and was assured they would if its a parts problem even though the part was outside of warranty. I had the repair done at a certified Hyundai dealership, but several calls to Hyundai later and I still have received no help despite it clearly being an issue with the part, and an expensive one at that, and despite their reassurance before getting the repair that they would pay for it. I would NOT recommend buying this car unless you want to spend thousands in repairs.

Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dependable and economical

tesla, 08/30/2016
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Have had for 4 years with no problems. Very quiet interior even at highway speeds. Stiff ride, but handles great and seats are more comfortable than most cars. Gets very good mileage for a V6 engine, with power to spare when you need it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

New 2012 Santa Fe

2012nomore, 09/25/2012
15 of 19 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car new & do not like it. Seems to hesitate while accellerating. At a stop light,stop sign, or going slow when you press the accelerater the car hesitates and takes a second to finally go. Cannot make any fast decisions. Tried to go into traffice from a stop sign quickly,car hesitated & I almost go into a accident. Makes you drive completely different from the way you normally drive. Does not happen every time,but 2-3 times a day. Took car back to the dealer,they test drove,pulled the computer results,said all looks fine. Was told the computer controls the accelerator & it takes a while for the accelerator to go to the computer then back to the accelerator.Trying to unload it

Report Abuse

Our Santa fe is three months old we trade a 2006 Toyota Highlander

47model, 10/02/2012
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

We do not like the ride it hits very hard . to me there is simething wrong with the supension. Is this normal , Do anyone feel the same way I would love to hear from you

Report Abuse

Run away!

D. Parker, 05/11/2016
GLS 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought one of these and treated it well throughout its life. All maintenance was performed as per the manufacturers recommendations. At 128,000 miles, the engine failed catastrophically without warning. At normal highway speeds, a piston shattered without warning, and blew through the bottom of the engine. At the time of the failure, gauges indicated normal engine temperature, oil pressure, and RPMs. It is my opinion that these circumstances can only point to a manufacturing defect or a isolated and documented service error. Worse, Hyundai USA failed to meet agreed obligations. a Hyundai certified remanufactured engine was ordered and paid for. 28 days later, I was advised that they no longer make this engine. They had my money, my car, and now the only option is for a salvage engine, and a possible lawsuit. I am aware that [non-permissible content removed] happens, but the company's actions are reprehensible, and should make everyone reconsider a Hyundai purchase.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still going strong!

Rick Abate, 08/26/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

After 6 years and 88,000 miles we still love this car. This was an upgrade of a previous Santa Fe that we owned. The extra cost was definitely worth it. The larger engine will let you accelerate into traffic seamlessly, even with a full load. The AWD is great in snow and rain. The seats are comfy and have plenty of leg room. I am 6 feet tall and very overweight at 300 pounds and their is plenty of room for me. People still tell us how quiet and smooth the ride is.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great Car

mbowles, 09/16/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Had this 3.5 Santa fe about 3 months.Love the power the engine has. We owned a 2011 2.4 liter santa fe before and hated the engine.Had no power at all. Make shure you get the 3.5 engine . Its like a whole diferent carr. We love it.

Report Abuse

Great car for the money

em_libra62, 06/16/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for three months. So far, it has been great. Fun to drive, easy to handle. I have the V6, felt the 4 was short on power during the test drive. Avg 22mpg in the city, around 30 on the hwy. One of the features of this car which they don't push is its short turn radius. I can whip it around like a compact and have gotten some parking places that amaze my riders.

Report Abuse

Very satisfied with this SUV

vlasi, 08/20/2014
GLS 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought this suv new over two years ago. We absolutely love it. We have not had a single problem with it. Other than the seats being a little hard for me I can't think of a single thing I would like to change. Smooth riding, good acceleration and very good gas mileage. Update: The Santa Fe is now 5 years old and runs as well as when it was new. Have not had a single item go wrong with it. Very happy with this purchase. Accelerates as well if not better than my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan which is a 6 cylinder.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bring Duct Tape

SEZ, 09/03/2015
SE 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 15 people found this review helpful

Don't be misled by the appearance of the comfort of this vehicle. The 2012 Santa Fe, while performing well, is loaded with subpar craftsmanship and design. While the car performs amazingly well, the elctronics, switches, etc. are very subpar. I have had pieces literally fly off the car, constant recalls and a myriad of simple things being replaced -- from light switches to a sun roof that leaked. Added to this, the HVAC control is sporadic in its operation and will cost $900 to fix. Handling is OK, but there is more than comfortable body sway on corners. Winter driving is OK, but if you're in heavy snow areas, winter tires are highly recommended. The Blue Tooth set-up is second rate as is the navigation. In fact, the navigation is so whacked out, that even the dealer I bought the car from did not how to use it. Adjustments for things like auto door locks are non existent and the appointments, such as switches and controls and second rate -- at best. Quite honestly, if Toyota's Rav-4 did not have the goofy side-opening rear door (which they have since done away with) I would have gone with that car, or maybe the Chevy Equinox. I generally keep my cars for an extended period of time, but this will not be the case with the Santa Fe. Once the 10 yr/100k warranty expires -- the car is gone.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hyundai, the new people's car

Mike, 01/13/2016
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drove my 2012 Hyundai 6cyl SE for 3.5 years and 90,000 miles. No glitches. I changed from Subaru when my 13th displayed multiple flaws in quality, reliability and design. Hyundai is what Subaru used to be but with better styling. It's affordable, reliable and fun to drive. I recently traded it in on a 2016 Santa Fe 6 seat with 6cyl. and am pleased with the evolution to the new design.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Versatile, Useful everyday car

mike paterni, 03/06/2017
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I use this car to tow my raft for fishing, hauling my dog for exercise, retrieving groceries for my wife, and general transportation. I have put 40,000 miles on this car without the need for virtually any repairs. Vehicle has been regularly maintained (oil changes, periodic mileage driven inspections). New All season tires.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

"CUTE" SUV

sweetpe, 02/17/2012
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Santa Fe is a "cute" SUV, especially in Red, but it's not very comfortable when it comes to seating. The front seats are hard, the seat itself is too short and the power seat is very hard to adjust to a comfortable position. Actually the passenger seat is more comfortable than the driver's seat. The ride is way too stiff. When the back seat is flipped in the down position it does not lay flat making it hard to haul flat items or even packages. They keep sliding toward the back of the vehicle.

Report Abuse

No music for this Hyumdai owner

Ken V., 03/24/2017
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

We purchased a new 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe 4 1/2 years ago. About 7 weeks ago, the radio died and does not work. We were informed the warranty for electronics is good for 3 years. The dealer is willing to help us out for the cost of a new system, but Hyundai is not. Why would the radio die after 4 1/2 years of use? Needless to day, I am not sure if I will ever purchase a Hyundai again. I guess the advertised 5 year warranty is not what you pay for.

Performance
Report Abuse

Bought used, driven for 4 months/5000km

splatapus, 08/16/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought used, I have driven it for 4 months and 5000km now. Ride is a little rough, you can feel and hear some little bumps in the road. The fan and AC system sometimes has a mind of its own. It will turn on by itself after I turn it off. Although I'm starting to figure out how to get around it by adjusting the fan speed then hit OFF. Driving on highway to merge and stepping on accelerator, sometimes there will be a dead spot on how far you push the accelerator. The car will hesitate or not accelerate as fast as you want to for 2 seconds, then accelerate normally. It is roomy and comfortable inside. The center armrest between driver and passenger sometimes creaks. Overall not a bad car.

Report Abuse

Six years and still going strong

Lyn, 10/22/2019
Limited 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2012 Santa Fe Limited since 2013 with now just under 90,000 miles. The only thing I've had to do to this vehicle are brakes at 75,000 miles, routine maintenance and tires. Maybe I was just lucky; however, this vehicle hasn't given me one iota of trouble. Very comfortable ride, safety features, cargo space, technologies have all been great. I've been looking at reviews online to maybe trade-in for a newer CRV, RAV4, Forester -- now way now after reading all the trouble many people are having with these models. I'll stick with my gem.

Report Abuse

junk

gradstudent28, 11/04/2014
6 of 20 people found this review helpful

as an engineer I can reassure you this vehicle is junk. flimsy build materials inside and out. thin plastic on the inside, thin metal pieces, and doors. 40k miles the vehicle has more rattles then my dead grandma, and the shocks seem to be worn out!! I would NOT reccomend this vehicle.

Report Abuse

average SUV for the money

geologist26, 06/18/2012
2 of 8 people found this review helpful

2012 sante fe GLS AWD V6. the vehicle is just average on everything. it does nothing really "great." hyundai needs to try a little harder on build quality, exterior and interior design. doors and suspension feel tinny. engine is just ok. its not fun to drive BUT, for the money it is a decent small suv.

Report Abuse

piece of junk

geologist26, 10/04/2012
3 of 14 people found this review helpful

the sante fe is one big piece of junk. I purchased it new GLS V6 AWD and have had several minor issues with it. The biggest being the AWD DOES NOT WORK! it has a ton of cheap parts inside and out and is just a bunch of junk overall. Me and my parents have owned mercedes, chevys, cadillacs, and fords and this vehicle is one of the worst! HYUNDAI DOES NOT TAKE PRIDE IN THEIR VEHICLES, no matter how good they might look.

Report Abuse

Nice ride

Eric Balzer, 05/11/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

No memory no power passenger seat, no power lift gate.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Ruby car

Ruby Glasscock, 07/19/2017
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle. Love it. Just want a new red one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

BUYERS BEWARE- DEADLY ENGINE!

Ashley Gagas, 02/01/2020
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a second hand 2012 Santa Fe one year ago. Two weeks ago I had it towed to a Hyundai Dealership because of engine failure. They confirmed it is engine failure- THE SAME PROBLEM AS THOUSANDS OF OTHER HYUNDAIS out there that have been recalled and not recalled. They are unwilling to help with payment of the engine even though it is AN INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE (a problem that happened during the manufacturing process). The repairs are going to cost thousands. I am 8 months pregnant and was driving the car when the engine failed. My baby and I are lucky to be okay. I cannot afford the repairs and have no car to even put a car seat in. Why is Hyundai allowing these disastrous engines to still be out on the road??? HYUNDAI DOES NOT BUILD SAFE VEHICLES AND THEY DO NOT TAKE CARE OF THE PEOPLE WHO OWN THEM. A word of advise to anyone out there- Buy a car from another manufacturer. https://www.carcomplaints.com/Hyundai/Santa_Fe/2012/engine/engine_failure.shtml https://www.classaction.org/blog/what-hyundai-kia-drivers-need-to-know-about-the-758-million-engine-fire-settlement https://www.thedrive.com/news/9069/hyundai-kia-recall-1-5-million-vehicles-over-engine-failure

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050