Used 2012 Hyundai Genesis Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,283 - $15,464

Used Genesis for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I Traded My Lexus GS430 - Total Happy

wadebbi, 07/27/2011
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

I traded my Lexus GS430 for the 2012 Genesis with the premium package. I am 100% satisfied with my decision. Many asked me why I would part with my Lexus. All I can say is you have to drive it. Dollar for Dollar it can't be beat! Oh ya, I added the Genesis branded hood, trunk, and wheel emblems which really look great. I asked the dealer to install them at cost as part of my deal. 333 horses for a v6 is more than plenty of power. It moves deliberately, but it's not a race car.

Report Abuse

Very Impressed with the 2012 Genesis

fernwood, 11/15/2011
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2012 Genesis 3.8L with premium package last week. After having test driven the 2011 model, I think that this is a nice upgrade in powertrain performance and exterior styling. For the price, I like this better than many of the higher priced Asian competitors such as Lexus, Infiniti and Acura. Fit and finish is excellent, it is fast and quiet and the price/value is tremendous for what you get. My wife likes it so much that she is trying to trade me her Audi A6 for it.

Report Abuse

As the other reviews say, What A Find!

jheaslet, 03/06/2012
4.6 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 8A)
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

I haven't been this excited with a new car in a very, very long time. I feel similarly about the Genesis as I did with my first car back when I was 16. It was an '83 Buick Skylark which required me to pour gasoline into its carb to get it started haha. Those were the best times. I'm by no means comparing the two, just the lovely feeling I had with my first car and how excited I was every time I had a chance to drive it. This is how I feel with the Genesis. I like nice things, but love saving money. This car fits the bill and provides me with a great feeling when I get settled into its wonderful seats. I find myself making up reasons just to drive it. Really, the experience is terrific.

Report Abuse

Built BMW's for a living, this car is better!

julioupward@aol.com, 02/25/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

When looking for a car the first thing I look for is a car that I prefer its looks to the others. The second thing that I look it is to find out how it compares to other cars. There was a lot of comparison to BMW, Mercedes, Infinity, Lexus and many other brands but at the end of the day I decided to buy the Hyundai because it was the most car for the least amount of money, an unbelievable value at 17K. We also bought the car because I and my wife thought we were done having children. We bought the car thinking we were a family of 4 but then when we got back from buying our Genesis (means Beginning) we found out that we were expecting baby number 3. In case you missed it we bought a silver 3.8 Sedan, black leather, great technology no gps (why they look old in a couple of years) How has the car performed after owning 1 1/2 years and going from 2 kids to 3 with a baby seat? We have had plenty of room although we would love a little bit more space. I just can't imagine trading a Genesis for a minivan. Interior is holding up great for a family of 5. Black on Black is timeless. Performance - 0-60 MPH this car a 1/2 second slower than the 2012 5.0 Rspec and is only .4 second slower than the 2015 5.0 Sedan and is a full second faster than the 2015 Hyundai Genesis. I believe the 3.8 car we would take the 5.0 Rspec in the qtr mile. Maintenance - I replaced the tires on the back with some Tiger Paws. the Fronts are originals. I took it the dealership (awesome service) once for some lights that were malfunctioning inside the cabin. I have done the routine maintenance on it. Most of our drives are about 40-60 minutes round trips. We have driven in to Orlando (many times), Birmingham (many times), Greenville, SC (once) and back from Houston(once). We just made it back from Orlando and I averaged 35 miles per gallon in a car that has 333 hp with a family of 5 and the car loaded with electronics, toys and the trunk completely full. I am completely happy with this car an would recommend anyone to buy one but I know you would be as happy as we are to have one that is a few years old for less than half the price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nearly Perfect in every way

bulldog12, 12/19/2011
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Have been looking at new cars for years and finally took the plunge. Bought a Black V6 with premium for a great deal at Evansville Hyundai from Les for 34k plus TTL and 149 doc fee. It looks incredible and I have am impressed at the build quality. I felt the V6 with premium offered the best combo of value and features. I've always been a white car guy but the black really grabbed my attention. Very proud of this car and feel it competes in both looks with cars that cost 20k more.

Report Abuse

can't complain - lots of car for the money

bubber1, 06/13/2012
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

I got a great deal on a 2012 genesis with the premium package - just a hair over $34k. After I got done pricing out an Exl Accord, the choice was simple. This car is loaded -- fantastic sound system, great navigation, adjustable lumbar support, upgraded leather, huge backseat and trunk. Really like driving this car. Its slick and classy looking without looking too sports car-like. I got the rebadging package to add the genesis wings to everything, which looks better IMO. I've been getting about 23 average on MPG, which is worse than my old 4 cylinder Honda but not that much worse, and better than most V6 cars. Tops out at 29 on freeway.

Report Abuse

I didn't want this car. But I'm glad I have it.

James, 12/22/2015
4.6 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought an Audi S4 from a Hyundai dealership and literally 5 days later it blew up. Long story short, I bought where is as is (car had 100K on it, and a new motor - so I didn't really care and I was willing to take my chances) After a bit of a fight, the dealership - they said "hey, if you buy this, we'll take the paperweight S4 in as a trade. I obliged. I'm a brand snob, I'll say it - BMW and VW/Audi have been my jam since I was in my early 20's. (TT, Jetta, 318i, M3 sedan, S4....) Well, I bit the bullet and swallowed my pride and took on this "cheap" korean wannabe luxobarge. My complaint: The car isn't ugly, it just doesn't have an identity - it's not unique or special in any way - until you drive it. The car is fantastic. 27 MPG on the interstate a low of 17 when driving around crowded Kansas City streets.... but who cares, the car has the most FANTASTIC stereo I've ever heard ANYWHERE. Car, house, boat... anywhere. There isn't much else to say - don't let your brand loyalty sway you from this car. It rules.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it......but

katherine jones, 02/10/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have LOVED, LOVED , LOVED this car. I am looking to buy another one. I have 69K miles and no problems! The interior is wonderful for my 6 ft 6 inch tall husband, even in the back seat. My ONLY complaints are the design of the gas nozzle....it is like there is a curve that cause the gas to splash back and cut off the gas nozzle from continuing to fill. I have to stand with the car and manually pump, manipulating the position of the nozzle so it will fill. The other thing is the cup holders do not allow 2 large drinks in the front holders, they are too small to accommodate. The last thing is there is a blind spot in the drivers side mirror if you are short like I am (5 foot). Small issues over the life of the car and it's wonderful performance!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

R Spec Genesis WOW!!

luv2nou2, 02/24/2013
5.0 R-Spec 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

429 HP! 429 HP! Unbelievable size engine for this beautiful car! Hyundai engineers out did themselves on the exterior design, moderate pass on interior (what's with the Accent Steering wheel?). Can't complain, you get a lot of stuff for this price! Lexus pfft! MB pfft! BMW pfft! For this price you can't go wrong! Outstanding value! Outstanding Warranty! This car averages about 21 MPG in our first 800 miles? Not bad for 429 HP!! Sound system is INCREDIBLE! 17 speakers put you in another world! Harmon Kaden, Bose & Fender have nothing on this Lexicon system.

Report Abuse

Impress yourself.

mcandc, 07/19/2011
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
44 of 49 people found this review helpful

I researched the 30-35k sedan landscape, ending up right where I thought I would, with a base 2012 Genesis 3.8 sedan. The Genesis joins our trouble-free 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe and replaces a V6 Honda Accord. Prior to the CPO Accord, acquired as a “quick need”, destined to be replaced in 12-18 months, I drove a Volvo S60 2.5 AWD and 2 Toyota Avalons, each for 3 years. Two Oldsmobile Auroras preceded those. Those around you are not likely to be impressed by the “H” on the trunk lid, so this is a car you drive solely for yourself and your passengers. When doing so, you will be rewarded with a strong sense of having chosen well.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050