Used 2018 Honda Ridgeline Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$28,522 - $32,995

Used Ridgeline for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Made the right dicision

Le, 11/23/2017
RTL-E 4dr Crew Cab AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I weighted between the 2017 Tacoma and the Ridgeline. Test drive both then decided to get the Ridgeline. After driving almost 1200 miles, I feel I made the right choice. The MPG is good. On the way to work, I drive 16 freeway miles + 4 city miles, I got between 27 - 30 mpg. After almost 1200 miles, the average MPG is 23.4 with lots of city mile. The truck is very comfortable, and quiet. It is like driving the suv, not the truck. It is the truck I want, good for every day commute, and it can tow stuffs when I need it. There are some features I dont think as good as I want but overall, it is an excellent truck.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Only Reasonable Choice for Many

Discerning Consumer, 02/13/2018
RTL-E 4dr Crew Cab AWD SB (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

No changes after second year of use. No new problems, still find some of tech difficult to use, can't figure out how to adjust fade and balance on stereo so music listening experience is bad, but I mostly listen to talk radio so I haven't put more time in to trying to figure out how to adjust stereo, but I shouldn't need to put any time into that--it should be obvious. When I installed a tailgate lock (which should be standard) I noticed that there is a small gap around the back-up camera on the original handle and the one that comes with the tailgate lock so the seal doesn't prevent water intrusion into the inside of the tailgate. Seem like it should have a better gasket there, but I'm not sure if the water will cause any problem. For flexibility, safety, comfort, and economy, there is no truck comparable. If you need to tow over 5,000 lbs., get something else, but don't say the Ridgeline isn't a real truck because it is clearly the best truck for how many people want to use it. Lots of room in cab around occupants and overhead. Rides as smooth and quiet as a nice sedan, and the best versions are loaded with safety features. Bad Honda though for making you buy a moon roof and an in-bed speaker system in order to get all the good safety features. And even the ten-way power adjustable driver's seat has a lousy lumbar support, about like the old Ridgeline. Also, controls have been a bit hard to figure out. Still not sure why sometimes it unlocks or locks, or worse yet beeps even though I thought I had it set not to do that, but at least it is a quiet beep--it doesn't come from the horn, although it will do those annoying and rude horn honks if you let it (folks, please don't honk horns when locking cars), but I still want to make sure I can avoid even the softer beeps so I have to read the directions again. Nice easy step-in height, and it's fairly low to get in and out of the bed, and the rear bumper is a better surface to step on than the old Ridgeline. UPDATE: Had excessive hood flutter fixed per Technical Service Bulletin. Seems to be OK, I've had it in some moderately high cross-winds but not as high as when I noticed the original problem. No other repairs or defects, no squeaks or rattles, so much better than my 2007 Ridgeline was when new. Many controls are very hard to use though. Have to read the manual to try to figure out what should be simple functions. E.g. hard to figure out how to control the fade so I couldn't listen to music because it was so annoyingly loud in front, only listened to talk radio until I figured out how to adjust the fade & balance, but truck won't let me do that while driving, although my wife could, I guess it detects somehow whose reaching over to adjust the control, and Honda decided it is too dangerous to let the driver do it while driving (which includes while stopped at a light)--that should have told Honda that it is too hard to make that adjustment. Other things don't work the way I want them to but I need to remember to look it up and figure it out when I'm not driving and once I'm home I tend to be busy so I forget, so it does annoying things like resets my mirrors after I've got them where I want and it's not obvious how to save my settings so I can't do that until I look it up. Good truck in many ways but annoyingly difficult to use. Also, the mpg calculation lies to me and tries to make me think my gas mileage is about 1.5 mpgs better than it really is. I think other owners have indicated the same thing. Update 8-20-19, no additional problems with truck, no changes to review, very nice to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wouldn't have bought it had known

Rudy, 03/08/2018
RTL-E 4dr Crew Cab AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
46 of 50 people found this review helpful

It snowed then thawed, then froze again. I went to the gas station to fill the tank and the cheap plastic flap on the capless fuel filler broke off. Water had gotten between the outer plastic fuel flap and the inner stainless steel flap and froze, blocking the filler path. Fortunately, there was a Honda dealer four blocks away. They replaced the defective plastic parts under warranty and I got it back the next day. The dealership washed it for me and when I went to fill the tank there was water from the car wash trapped between the two flaps. This happens every time it rains (frequently in the Pacific NW.) There are many complaints over the past couple years on Honda owners' forums about frozen/leaking fuel fillers. No solutions from Honda. My solution may be a plastic bag wrapped with a rubber band to keep the water and dirt out. C'mon Honda, RTL-E plus tax and license plus extended warranty is approaching $50k and it doesn't have a functional fuel filler.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ragtime

Stephen Zimney, 12/19/2017
RTL-E 4dr Crew Cab AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
62 of 68 people found this review helpful

On November 17, 2017 we purchased from Buerkle Honda a new 2018 Honda Ridgeline RTL-E, VIN 5FPYK3F75JB007572 for a cash price of $42,560.00. The truck is for my wife replacing a 2007 Ridgeline that she drove. I was the one to drive it off the lot. We got to the freeway and as soon as our speed reached 45 mph, I could hear air noise from the driver’s side front window. It was as though the window was open a crack. I called the dealer and made an appointment with their warranty manager. We took the vehicle back to Buerkle on November 24, 2017. A technician test drove it. He also heard the air noise. They took the vehicle into the shop. They came and told us that they thought it was a trim on the door causing the problem. They replaced a trim panel on the driver’s side door. We drove the vehicle and it appeared that the noise was gone. We left the dealer but by the time we arrived home, the noise was back. My wife drove the vehicle back and forth to work the next week. Each day she complained about the noise. Now the air noise started at very low speeds. I purchased a sound meter and did testing. Then I called Buerkle and made another appointment with the warranty manager. I took the vehicle in on December 12, 2017. A technician test drove the vehicle and confirmed he could still hear the noise. They took the vehicle into the shop. My wife and I and our granddaughter waited in the lounge area. About two hours later, they came and asked us to go for a test drive. My wife went for a drive while I stayed with our granddaughter. Later the technician came back with my wife. He told us that the noise was inherent in the vehicle. They had gotten complaints from other customers about the noise. He let my wife drive another new Ridgeline and she could hear noise in that one also. The technician said there was nothing they could do. He said we might try writing to Honda. I guess this the new standard for Honda Engineering and workmanship. Let the customer stuff rags in the areas where there is wind noise. I wrote a lot of letters to Honda and to others which I copied Honda on. I received a telephone call from North American Honda on 1-8-2018 at 1:16 p.pm Central Standard Time. The caller acknowledged receiving my letters. He said my issue was with Honda. He said "North American Honda does not warranty bad design and poor engineering". The air conditioning did not work on the vehicle when we first tried to use it. It was taken back to the dealer and repaired. One can drive the truck down a flat, smooth, dry, paved road at 55 mph and suddenly a big flashing warning comes "BRAKE". I took it back to the dealer and they could find nothing. It is still doing it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

truck I have been looking for...

james T., 04/05/2018
RTL 4dr Crew Cab (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Spent several days looking at all mid size trucks. The Colorado, Canyon and Tacoma were all too confining. The Ridgeline is the only mid size truck with the cabin room of a full size. Looks andcdrives great. I have only good things to say about this truck. With the unibody design, there is no bouncing like in the other trucks I drove and it is a smooth ride. The cargo space is unmatched compared to it's competitiors. Already has a bedliner that is standard and the two way tailgate is a plus. Yes you may pay a little more for this vehicle but it is worth it. I wanted to buy american but the mid size trucks are too small and the full size too large for what I need. Another reviewer put it best....you need a car 95% of the time and a truck 5% of the time...this vehicle is perfect for that scenario. No issues with wind noise or the heater warming quickly as others have commented. With about 200 miles on the odometer, I am getting 23 miles to the gallon. My crv got about 27 so this v6 is not far behind. Although not a fan of extended warranty I did get the 10 year because I plan to keep this truck for at least that long. Greatvtruck. Highly reccommend you do your due dilligence. Big difference is space and features with the mid size trucks. I bought the RTL model because I like the leather seats. That and the only mid size with remote start is a big plus. crew cab more spacious than any of the other comparable models. Hands down the best mid size truck for the money.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page: