Used 2005 Ford Taurus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,869 - $4,107

Used Taurus for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Not bad value

darin4, 12/10/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2007 with 130,000kms. on it. The first winter it would not start when cold. Dealer replaced the fuel sending unit ($600). Have had little to no problems since. I now have close to 280,000 kms. and the car works great. It's nothing fancy, but for the price I hit a home run.

Report Abuse

Ok in the city gave me money's worth.

bob, 12/16/2015
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

1990 to 1996 had transmission problems and Ford paid out generously to repair. After improving design they decided in mid 2000's to use the old style transmission and they went out again, but Ford refuses to repair past 36000. That cost me 2000.00. The rack and pinion steering handles well on the road and at high speeds. I've gotten 185000 out of vehicle. The accelerator pedal sticks when starting out from a stop. If you expect it just pump the pedal and that unsticks it. The catylictic convertor is bad and their design requires 3 converters be replaced at cost of 3500.00(happened at 150,000). I didnt replace instead use mystery oil in the gas tank eliminates any performance problems(8 oz per week)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

better than expected

maaky, 06/21/2011
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

The taurus really hasn't had a good name in quite some time.The 05 that i bought used in 05 has certainly changed my opinion of ford and the taurus.While it is not a flashy sporty ride by any means it has provided the reliability that I needed from a vehicle.Just rolled 90k 2 weeks ago without any failures.The only time it didn't start as back at 20k took it into ford they reprogramed it have had no problems since outside of basic maintenance.Averaging 25mpg per tank the ride is smooth (even at 80+),fairly quiet and accelerates smoothly as well. I must be lucky to have gotten one of the good ones off the line. Can't wait till the wife lets me get one of the new ones.

Report Abuse

Piece of Crap

Tigerman19, 05/20/2016
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR! Long story short.......this car has major transmission issues that FORD knows about but is too cheap to recall and fix. This started with the torque converter being sheered off at 60,000 miles and the total bill with the tow costing me right at $1,200. Then, only 14 months later, the transmission is now shot again. The cylinder clutch drum s going out and the transmission shop in town wants somewhere between $3,500 to $4,500 to completely rebuild the transmission. They will do a patch on it but won't guarantee how long that will last for only the low price of $1,500. When I purchased this car the vehicle had 46,000 miles on it. The car now only has 76,000 miles on it but is basically useless to drive as you can only get to 20 MPH before it kicks out of gear. I have been a lifetime Ford owner starting with the 1975 Maverick that I bought when I was in high school. I have owned also a 1988 Thunderbird which I loved and then a 1997 Expedition which was a very good vehicle. Besides the Taurus I have a 01 Expedition that I upgraded too after the 97 Expedition. I have had my share of headaches with the 01 Expedition as well. I am truly disappointed in FORD for their refusal to acknowledge they have a major flaw in the transmission of the Taurus for models around 2005. I have been a lifetime FORD advocate but not anymore. I will never buy another FORD again and hope that if you read this review that you think twice before buying a FORD and especially the Taurus.

Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Big comfy haul anything land Yacht

connemara, 09/18/2012
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Just turned 200,000 Kms and love this car. Big, comfortable for long trips, reliable and can pack in as much as most half tons. Other than a prematurely rusted weld in the gas tank neck I only do regular maintenance to this car. I look after it, keep the rustproofing going, fix anything like paint chips etc. After I do a total clean-up and wax it it looks, runs and drives like new. Just changed the left ball joint and did a complete brake job (only the 3rd since new- hyway miles only). Tried the new Taurus and it felt claustraphobic due to the small windows and I don't like the way it and the new Focus are high in the rear. Vulcan engine is a Will keep mine until it is done - 6 more years???

Report Abuse

Love my Taurus

Steve Book, 01/02/2016
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Solid Car - its a tank in the snow, and for a 3.0L engine, has lots of low end power.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't Waste Your Time

DDM, 04/28/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I had this car for about 4 1/2 years before a drunk driver totaled it. Before this one, I drove a 1999 Ford Taurus. As far as the car itself goes, I actually loved it. It was very comfortable, roomy (for a mid-sized sedan), and met the needs of my four-person family. I really liked the great gas economy, I tended to average 30 - 31 mpg hwy and 27 - 28 mpg city. I took care of this car to the best of my financial ability - getting everything serviced when it was time to according to the service manual. I did not neglect this car at all. So, that being said, let me warn you why you should not buy a Ford Taurus unless it was built 2012 or newer.....My '99 Taurus was bad enough, I just outright learned my lesson with the 2005 one: 1) The transmission goes out completely (needing a full rebuilt at $2k a pop) at around 140k miles. 2) The power steering goes completely out on you around 120k miles 3) When you hit 100k miles, everything electrical needs to be replaced 4) the windshield fluid hose is too close to the engine and actually constantly gets burned through, not to mention the sprayers get constantly clogged 5)The power steering fluid is somehow affected by the AC system - Our AC/Heat kept both going out and each time the power steering would act up. We'd flush the powersteering and the AC would work again, then act up and the power steering fluid would be thick and black. No mechanic (3 looked at it) could figure it out other than to constantly flush the power steering and charge us $80 a pop. So in a nutshell: buy a Taurus and wind up spending thousands of dollars in maintenance per year. The resale values of these are the lowest of any car on the market just about. The market is so saturated with junk Tauruses, you'd be better off not buying one unless you just love visiting your mechanic.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This Might Help - Eccelerator petal gets stuck

Terri Smalls, 09/22/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend ANYONE to ever by this car! Do you research on your own. This model has a record of the eccelerator petal getting stuck. Over 3 million reports. It happened to me and I had to call 911 while I was driving!! They refuse to recall until a certain number of fatalities. I am still paying for the car and can't drive it. This has been a nightmare!! I still owe a lot of money on the car, so MONTHS later. I watched a video on youtube of an older man suggesting a FIX for this EXACT model. I gave the Ford Mechanic the info from the video, he did it and it has worked for several months! The video man told us to do something with the Cruse Control Switch. It appears that once we fixed that. It would help. He was not sure how long, but it has HELPED! Once I can afford another car, I will get one QUICK! I called the better business bureau with my findings to contact ALL of you with the same problem to share info, but that brushed me off. This is a dangerous car. Don't buy it if you have not already!

Report Abuse

2005 Taurus Transmission Nightmare

sarany123, 10/14/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

The car was great until this week! No issues at all, until going 70 mph on major highway and revved to 7,000rpms, lost all gears except park and neutral. No warning light, no noise. We could have been killed! Just paid $3,000 for new transmission on a car that just turned 65,000 miles. Called Ford to complain,they are sorry, but too bad! No powertrain warranty after 36,000 miles. No recalls on this year/model! Yet hundreds of complaints of same situation on internet. Ford does nothing! This is my first and last Ford!

Report Abuse

I like my car taurus

irfan, 04/17/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in August 2009 with 74,500 miles though it's damaged from one side and mechanical problems when i got this car, i just changed the battery and the wheels in winter. Nothing else. Now 86k. No problem at all. Never went to mechanic. Reliable in any weather conditions. Ac works perfectly.

Report Abuse

i'm bullish on taurus

automobility, 12/05/2011
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

bought my '05 wagon new, replacing a '95 volvo 960. the volvo was my dream car become rude awakening, so i wanted an affordable, reliable car. i got one. i keep the mobile one fresh, am careful with the transmission, complete stops before shifting, etc. when i change the trans fluid, the old looks as clean as the new. 84,000 problem free miles so far. smooth ride, quiet cabin, ice cold air, wonderful stereo, cheap to insure, and invisible to cops. she is garage kept, and i always park her at the far edge of a lot, so she looks new. last oil change, my mechanic offered to buy the car. i'll drive her 'til she drops, then i'm buying a ford flex

Report Abuse

Can't beat the value

DJ, 06/23/2008
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Comfy (leather & power) seats, really smooth ride, quiet and good overall handling. Good ABS brakes and fwd is great in snow. Great hwy mpg at 27-29 with a/c going and going 75 mph! I bought this car because I had a 2001 Taurus I liked - person who bought it still drives it daily to work, no problems. I bought the 2005 SEL used for $13k with only 23k miles and only 2 yrs old. Much better deal than any Honda or Toyota, and it will cost me less overall, and not rattle like those foreign cars when it has 100k + miles on it. Great quality and value in this car! I like that its a sleeper - no cops. Old, middle aged or young, rich or poor, people can all drive this car and look OK doing so.

Report Abuse

Taurus 2004 - HAYES

Vhayestuu, 05/22/2004
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Was skeptical of performance, economy wise, during 1st 1000 miles. My 1st real test came during trip of 300mi. Averaged 24.1mpg, with some around town driving at the dest. Noticed appreciable increase in town driving since around 2000mi. Now averaging 20.6 town driving. Driving Taurus wagons since 1988. They fill my need for sedan like performance with extra cargo space. 1st experience with DOC engine. At first, a bit offset with the different sound resonated until I looked under the hood and saw the engine.

Report Abuse

Beware Ford Tauruses--Transmission issues!

meh123, 01/18/2012
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a 2005 Ford Taurus, currently in the shop with transmission out. I have also owned a 1996 Ford Taurus which had to have the transmission replaced twice. The 2005 also had a transmission issue that cost 1,000 to replace. I will have to buy a new car because this transmission will cost 4,400. I will never buy another automatic Ford again. Only plus is that it has a VERY sturdy build and is comfortable to drive.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

LeOndra, 11/29/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I don't know if I just got lucky but I have had my Taurus for 10 years and it is still going. The accelerator did start to stick at about 75,000 and that can be very dangerous, but my son did a quick fix and it's been just fine ever since. Other than that I have not had any problems with the car. I am very fortunate to own such a reliable car. if it starts to give me problems at this point I will not be disappointed because the car has served me very well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very disappointed.

mercede, 02/17/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 12 people found this review helpful

I've recently bought my first car, "Ford Taurus 05" my father had the same car for 5 years and it was such a reliable car we traveled a lot with it with over 40000 km on it never left us on the road. so I thought Id buy the same one so I did less then 4 months of owning this car its been nothing but hell. left me on the highway had to buy a new manifold for it witch cost me $1000 Canadian, I took it to the mechanic and they told me the car was fired hazard. I got that fixed but month after my car wont turn on nothing but a waste of money this car has been for me as a student and a full time this is not a car to save for. only thing is good on it is the BODY!

Report Abuse

If you love your family DO NOT BUY

Caligula's Ghost, 08/27/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Where do I start? First the A/C went out, then the original tires wore within the first year. I had to replace the battery twice. Alternator was replaced twice. Transmission went out at 40K. Air intake manifold needed to be replaced. Brakes wore earlier. Until the day I last had it there was an issue with the lights flickering (dealer said the alternator/battery were fine). The car made a terrible whirring noise. RPM gauge always fluctuated. I still have nightmares about that car. I spent 5K in one 6 month period to keep it running. Please STAY AWAY from this car!

Report Abuse

Ford Taurus DEATHTRAP

Robert D. Barry, 07/04/2004
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Recuring problem with acceleration, intermittant. Engin will rev up to about 1500 RPM after about 1 second, then it will stay there for 1.5 to 2 seconds, them increase. First occurance 73 miles after purchase, Has been back to dealer three times, for this problem. Recurring problem, turn signals. If signaling for a right turn, and the raod curves to the left, or signaling for a left turn, and the road curves to the right, turn signal cancelles. Driver must use one hand to hold turn signal on. Recall. Brake lights may not come on. Or the Brake lights may always be on. Recall. Air filter may burst into flames. The service department, DID NOT REPAIR

Report Abuse

2005 SE

2005 Taurus SE, 10/01/2007
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car after having a Taurus prior to this. It's a great roomy vehicle for the price. No other car in it's class seems to have the same price range, spaciousness, or fuel economy. The seats are not as comfortable as my older Taurus although more comfortable than the Camry. I drive lots and my back and behind my knees are very sore from the design of the seats.

Report Abuse

Very Bad Choice

Betty, 03/23/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought new 2005 Ford Taurus SE with flex fuel engine. Can't run e85 fuel transmission. Began to slip under 30,000k, water leak onto front passenger floor. Every 2005 to 2007 Ford Taurus I inspected had water under carpet on front passenger floor board causing a musty smell and metal rust. Very poor mpg 18 average.

Report Abuse

Garbage

Ashley, 09/27/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My Taurus has been an absolute nightmare. It has had problems with transmission (torque converter), the master cylinder, power steering, crusie control, ac, and multiple cylinder misfires. And the cherry on top of the crap cake: it only has 88,000 miles on it. Never buy this car if you value your money, time, and sanity.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

this is a horrible car

lou, 08/24/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

i bought this car in 2005 at time had 22,000 on it. At 61,000 the transmission went out on it to the cost of $2,000. The mpg is horrible. I got oil changed every 3,000 and took good care of this car. it is the worst thing i have ever owned.

Report Abuse

Paint literally dissolving off of hood!

Paula Odom, 08/02/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Within the last six months, the paint on my hood is literally dissolving away to bare metal. The vehicle drinks gas, the floor board leaks water into the car when it rains, the carpeting is terrible and the transmission is going out. This is probably the worse vehicle I have ever owned. I'll never buy another Ford again!

Report Abuse

First Taurus

First time owner, 09/01/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Transmission replaced at 26,000. New Ball joints at 30,000, brakes repaired twice, electrical problem with transmission, all repaired under warranty. Ford dealership that did the work was really good. If I buy a Ford again it will be because of the dealership. Car appears ok now, bought it used with 10,000 miles on it so it may have had rough use. Car is a little noisy on the highway, rear side visibility somewhat restricted. Car air and heat work good. Mileage about 27 to 30 on highway.

Report Abuse

none

wooie, 07/19/2004
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

great car, really a good by for that model car,i work a manheim auto auction and the taurus is the best car for that price range, no other car i drive is even close to its performanc eand drive ability

Report Abuse

Good buy for the money

John Cross, 09/07/2004
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my third Taurus and I have neverhad a bit of trouble with any of them.They are solid,dependable and economical.

Report Abuse

Nice car for the money

Bill, 04/26/2006
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Traded in the minivan for a sedan, mainly to improve gas mileage. We were averaging about 20 mpg with van, and about 21.5 on the Taurus after about a week; not a whole lot better, but at least it's not worse. The interior of the Taurus is nice with two-tone leather and a moon roof, definitely nice extras - makes losing the extra space in the van a little easier to take. Really like the vehicle so far - smooth ride, good acceleration, and good brakes. It has the Flex Fuel engine, but there's only one station in my area with e85 fuel, and they charge the same as regular unleaded, so that wasn't necessarily a selling point for me. Would recommend purchase of this vehicle.

Report Abuse

2005 Taurus Wagon

diane_s, 03/20/2013
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great value! Very useful for our needs.

Report Abuse

Taurus review

JohnnyVero, 04/01/2005
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

My only complaint is that the brakes don't have the stopping ability that most cars have; they feel spongy. Otherwise I like everything else about the car.

Report Abuse

2005 Taurus

big_big_jon, 03/19/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I never really liked Fords but this Taurus is great the only way it could be better would be if it had the DOHC 24 valve. it get's great gas milage. I'm gettig about 26 mpg which is better than I expected out of it. I've had no major problems with it. I love the car.

Report Abuse

Best used car I've ever owned

photowiz, 07/31/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2005 Taurus SE as a one owner used car with 60,000 miles. It has been driven daily and now has 122,000 in less than 2 years. It performs beautifully and has yet to let me down. I'm getting average 27 mpg and approaches 30 on the highway!. I switched to full synthetic oil when I bought it and use injector cleaner gas additive regularly. Engine power band is smooth and low end torque is impressive for a 3.0 liter engine. I live in a fairly mountainous area and the only thing that annoys me is the drain in power when running the AC on hot days. Fuel mileage drops about 2.5 mpg, which is more than my other vehicles. All in all I'm going to drive the wheels of this one. Great car.

Report Abuse

Big disappointment

disappointed, 07/30/2009
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this to replace our 1995 Taurus wagon, which I loved, and which would approach 30 mpg highway with careful driving. Well, the poor mileage (around 20 highway) was only the beginning of our disappointments. When we first bought the car, water would leak into the passenger floorboard every time it rained (up to a half-inch of standing water). It took the dealer 25 hours of labor to find all the leaks. Unfortunately, since then we have also lost roof brackets, the entire air conditioning system, the rear window hydraulic supports, the rear door latch, and multiple rust spots. I've never had a greater variety of problems with a single car. Good job, Ford. You've lost me.

Report Abuse

Taurus Smooth Ride

Corky, 01/25/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the Taurus 2005 Se from a private sale at 76000 milage and so far I am loving it. Nice and roomy and large trunk, good AC, fair mileage for a V6. Hope this feeling lasts. Happy so far.

Report Abuse

Still a Ford fan

Jackie, 05/28/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Taurus in 2007 with about 40K miles on it. Gas mileage ranging from 15 mpg to 18 mpg. No anti-lock brakes. After about a year I started having problems with the throttle sticking, the car continues to accelerate after I remove my foot from the gas pedal. The pedal is not sticking. O2 sensors 1 and 4 went out and the car misfires and occasionally stalls when backing up, or during slow turning (like pulling into a parking spot). I was quoted about $400 to replace both o2 sensors, then another couple hundred to diagnose the other problems. Car is getting repo'd, I lost my job and cannot afford to fix the car.

Report Abuse

Ford Has a Better Idea

Tony Tavares, 04/28/2005
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is very reliable, a good performer, and well made. As good as any Honda, Toyota, or Nissan. I liked my first one so well, a 1998 model, I went out and bought another one. I didn't even look at anything else. My daughter bought a 2005 Nissan Altima and it doesn't ride any better than the Taurus, and cost a lot more money. The buttons on the radio stick badly in cold weather on the Nissan.

Report Abuse

Impressive

Deric, 07/11/2005
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since I was not exactly convinced this was the right choice for me in the beginning, I must say I have been extremely impressed with this vehicle. Recently I took it on a road trip to Kansas City. I couldn't believe this car boasted 26 miles to the gallon LOADED down, the A/C running full blast, and yet it still asked for more, giving me excellent passing power on the highway. It is comfortable and roomy.

Report Abuse

2005 My Ford Taurus

Philip Sanders, 07/25/2005
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2005 Ford Taurus is comfortable and well appointed. It also handles well. It is the third Taurus I have owned.

Report Abuse

Ford Taurus

cobra venom, 05/28/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

cleanstyle, easy reach instruments, great visiability, nice comfortable seating, great cargo space,good stero

Report Abuse

Ford Taurus

Alex Lang, 07/15/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It drives very smooth you can't feel many bumps in the road. It also has been very dependable and doesn't have that bad of gas milege.

Report Abuse

Lots of value for your money

kddid98, 12/15/2004
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in March 2003. I chose the SEL premium package and I'm glad I did. It's got both a sporty flair and a touch of luxury. Friends have commented that it is a beautiful car and are surprised when they hear what I paid for it. It's a lot of car with a small price.

Report Abuse

last of the Taurus SEL Wagons

chris p, 08/09/2005
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have had 30 days. Great features -- moon roof, MACH stereo, great ease of audio and climate systems. Good highway mpg = 27. Only issue -- at 900 miles appeared to have transmission fluid leak, but dealer said it was over filled at factory. Hopefully no more remaining issues.

Report Abuse

2005 vs 1999

Sue, 11/12/2005
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It seems I get more miles from a tank of gas compared to my 1999 Taurus. The interior control panel not good-the speedometer is blocked by steering wheel on right and right hand or have to tilt wheel up higher to be able to view speedometer. Don't feel like I have the head room compared to the 1999- sitting close enough for pedals and steering wheel my head is very close to visor. Feels like less space in front seat.

Report Abuse

Watch out for the coolant and radiator

kazkiev, 02/23/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first car and I really enjoyed it for 2yrs, bought it with 43k, the head gasket blew at 99k, Ford has a reputation for overheating, the components of the car are cheaply made which is why they are cheap at the junk yards. Very smooth ride, quite good on gas for a V6, sporty handling. I would buy it with low miles and drive it lightly, after it reaches, 100k, get rid of it

Report Abuse

Solid

Nicol, 04/03/2008
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 112000 km's, so far excellent. Quiet and powerful on highway. Paid $7300. Fuel economy 9L/100k city and 10L/highway. Very happy so far.

Report Abuse

Car lasted me long enough

a24dude, 01/12/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2005 Ford Taurus in 2007 used with 60,000 (got a good deal on it). No issues within the first year of having the car then the bottom fell out. Every year for the last 3 years I have had to completely replace all 4 tires (and I rotated them at each oil change at 3,000). Have had to replace the brakes on the car twice in the time I have had it. Along with other regular repairs. Now a couple of days ago, the car will start jerking while accelerating up to around 40 - 45 MPH, and it will also jerk really bad while backing up. On top of all of that the car was horrible on gas mileage. I am really close to getting a new car, because it has 140,000 miles on it.

Report Abuse

great car

mkrawczyk, 03/05/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

owned this car 5 year bought with 8k miles now 68k never let me down i only put brakes and a battery in this car it runs great and still looks good anther great ford

Report Abuse

On my way to 400k

Carl Anderson, 10/19/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have over 360k on my 2005 Taurus and should pass 400k by this June. Great car and the junk yard always has replacement parts for cheap.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

DON'T BUY FORD

kimberly18, 08/03/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but trouble with this car since day 1!!! The paint is peeling off all over the car, forever replacing the brakes, the gauges don't work and to top it all off TRANSMUTATION went out !!! My car only has 80000 miles go figure.............ford seen me coming!! I would not recommend anyone to purchase a ford vehicle they DO NOT stand behind there vehicles. There have been too many complaints about the tarus alone and they will do nothing about them!!! I was on my way to my mothers radiation and the car just died no sign of nothing just won't go the cars engine runs but the car won't go!! To have it fixed its going to cost more then the value of the vehicle............

Report Abuse

not pleased

tparks865, 05/21/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

this car has needed repaired more times in the past 3 weeks than any car i have owned in the past 2 years. it has a major hesitation to it when you accelerate. it also has vibration to it when you turn slightly left or right. i am very unsatisfied with the performance of this car.

Report Abuse

2005 SE Wagon

Chau, 10/17/2005
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

It drives well, tracks down the road very confidently, and has a good steering centering ability. Car feels solid and secure. The car is quiet at highway speeds. There are many features that come standard on this model: keyless entry, strut hood supports, 16 inch wheels/tires, liftgate opening glass, rear window wiper/washer, roof rack, 50/50 split folding second row seats, AM/FM stereo cassette, air conditioning, automatic transaxle, and floor mats.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050